DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/018,382 filed on 02/02/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. However, the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ishii et al. (U.20230262580, Aug. 17, 2023) and Zong et al. (US 20190297148, Sep. 26, 2019).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14 and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. (U.20230262580, Aug. 17, 2023) in view of Zong et al. (US 20190297148, Sep. 26, 2019).
Regarding Claim 1, Ishii disclose a method performed by an access and mobility function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system(page 5, par (0056), line 1-10, the wireless terminal to communicate with entities (e.g., AMF) of a CN(s), via access nodes of a RAN), the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE) (page 4, par (0048), line 1-5, cells include cells of which a UE terminal is allowed by a base station to transmit or receive information), a registration request message including first information on a requested network slice(page 3, par (0040), line 1-10, generate a registration accept message information comprises a list of network slice identifiers, each of the network slice identifiers identifying a network slice, each of some of the network slice identifiers being associated with a corresponding radio band(s), the network slice band association information being used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell selection/reselection procedure), a registration accept message including second information indicating the allowed network slice(page 20, par (0155), line 1-10, the network slice band association information provided during the registration procedure, preferably provided in a Registration Accept message the wireless terminal performs PLMN selection and then perform cell selection, using the regular cell selection with no limitation on bands in terms of network slices),
and transmitting, to the UE, wherein the allowed network slice indicated by the second information includes a second network slice that is available to be used simultaneously with a first network slice among the at least one network slice(page 7, par(0095-0096), line 1-10, Support for UE associating with multiple network slices simultaneously, a UE is associated with multiple slices simultaneously, only one signaling connection is maintained and for intra-frequency cell reselection, the UE always to camp on the best cell. For inter-frequency cell reselection, dedicated priorities used to control the frequency on which the UE camps).
Ishii discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first information indicates at least one network slice related to a packet data network (PDN) connection established in a first network; determining an allowed network slice available in a second network, based on the first information and a simultaneous use of a network slice (SUNS) policy; and transmitting, to the UE.
Zong is the same field of invention teaches the first information indicates at least one network slice related to a packet data network (PDN) connection established in a first network(page 1, par (0007), line 1-10, an established PDN connection can be transferred to a network slice in a network during inter-system mobility of a terminal); determining an allowed network slice available in a second network, based on the first information(page 1, par (0012), line 1-10, the corresponding network slice information used for transferring the established PDN connection to the network, such that when transferring the established PDN connection to the network, the terminal establishes a PDU session in a 5G network slice based on the corresponding network slice information (first information)) and a simultaneous use of a network slice (SUNS) policy(page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, the control plane function entity simultaneously establishes PDN connections for different terminals, for PDN connections corresponding to terminals).
Ishii and Zong analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify an allowed network slice available in a second network based on the first information the teaching of Ishii to include the terminal establishes a PDU session in a 5G network slice based on the corresponding network slice information the teaching of Zong because it is providing a mobility management method, which applied to an architecture for interworking between a 4G network and a 5G network.
Regarding Claim 2, Ishii discloses the at least one network slice indicated by the first information(page 3, par (0040), line 1-10, generate a registration accept message information comprises a list of network slice identifiers, each of the network slice identifiers identifying a network slice, each of some of the network slice identifiers being associated with a corresponding radio band(s), the network slice band association information being used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell selection/reselection procedure).
Ishii discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determined based on the SUNS policy or priority information for each network slice, and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management (UDM) entity.
Zong is the same field of invention teaches determined based on the SUNS policy or priority information for each network slice, and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management (UDM) entity(page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, the control plane function entity simultaneously establishes PDN connections for different terminals, for PDN connections corresponding to terminals), and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management(UDM) entity(page 4, par (0047), line 1-10, The PCF is a policy control function of the 5G network, the HSS+UDM entity is referred to as a user data management entity to as a control plane function entity).
Regarding Claim 4, Ishii discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except in the case that the SUNS policy is configured in the UE, the at least one network slice includes the first network slice and a fourth network slice, and wherein the fourth network slice belongs to the same group as the first network slice.
Zong is the same field of invention teaches in the case that the SUNS policy is configured in the UE(page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, the control plane function entity simultaneously establishes PDN connections for different terminals, for PDN connections corresponding to terminals), the at least one network slice includes the first network slice and a fourth network slice, and wherein the fourth network slice belongs to the same group as the first network slice(page 1, par (0012), line 1-10, the corresponding network slice information used for transferring the established PDN connection to the network, such that when transferring the established PDN connection to the network, the terminal establishes a PDU session in a 5G network slice based on the corresponding network slice information (slice related to PDN connection)).
Regarding Claim 5, Ishii disclose a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system(page 5, par (0056), line 1-10, the wireless terminal to communicate with entities (e.g., AMF) of a CN(s), via access nodes of a RAN), the method comprising transmitting, to an access and mobility function (AMF) entity(page 4, par (0048), line 1-5, cells include cells of which a UE terminal is allowed by a base station to transmit or receive information), a registration request message including first information on a requested network slice(page 3, par (0040), line 1-10, generate a registration accept message information comprises a list of network slice identifiers, each of the network slice identifiers identifying a network slice, each of some of the network slice identifiers being associated with a corresponding radio band(s), the network slice band association information being used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell selection/reselection procedure), a registration accept message including second information indicating an allowed network slice available in a second network (page 20, par (0155), line 1-10, the network slice band association information provided during the registration procedure, preferably provided in a Registration Accept message the wireless terminal performs PLMN selection and then perform cell selection, using the regular cell selection with no limitation on bands in terms of network slices), wherein the allowed network slice indicated by the second information includes a second network slice that is available to be used simultaneously with a first network slice among the at least one network slice(page 7, par(0095-0096), line 1-10, Support for UE associating with multiple network slices simultaneously, a UE is associated with multiple slices simultaneously, only one signaling connection is maintained and for intra-frequency cell reselection, the UE always to camp on the best cell. For inter-frequency cell reselection, dedicated priorities used to control the frequency on which the UE camps).
wherein the first information indicates at least one network slice related to a packet data network (PDN) connection established in a first network; and receiving, from the AMF(page 1, par (0007), line 1-10, an established PDN connection can be transferred to a network slice in a network during inter-system mobility of a terminal), wherein the allowed network slice available in the second network is based on the first information(page 1, par (0012), line 1-10, the corresponding network slice information used for transferring the established PDN connection to the network, such that when transferring the established PDN connection to the network, the terminal establishes a PDU session in a 5G network slice based on the corresponding network slice information (first information)) and a simultaneous use of a network slice (SUNS) policy(page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, the control plane function entity simultaneously establishes PDN connections for different terminals, for PDN connections corresponding to terminals).
Ishii and Zong analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify an allowed network slice available in a second network based on the first information the teaching of Ishii to include the terminal establishes a PDU session in a 5G network slice based on the corresponding network slice information the teaching of Zong because it is providing a mobility management method, which applied to an architecture for interworking between a 4G network and a 5G network.
6. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 7, Ishii discloses the at least one network slice indicated by the first information(page 3, par (0040), line 1-10, generate a registration accept message information comprises a list of network slice identifiers, each of the network slice identifiers identifying a network slice, each of some of the network slice identifiers being associated with a corresponding radio band(s), the network slice band association information being used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell selection/reselection procedure).
Ishii discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determined based on the SUNS policy priority information for each network slice, and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management (UDM) entity.
Zong is the same field of invention teaches determined based on the SUNS policy priority information for each network slice, and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management (UDM) entity(page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, the control plane function entity simultaneously establishes PDN connections for different terminals, for PDN connections corresponding to terminals), and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management(UDM) entity(page 4, par (0047), line 1-10, The PCF is a policy control function of the 5G network, the HSS+UDM entity is referred to as a user data management entity to as a control plane function entity).
Regarding Claim 8, Ishii disclose an access and mobility function (AMF) entity of a wireless communication system, the AMF entity comprising a transceiver configured to transmit and receive signals(page 5, par (0056), line 1-10, the wireless terminal to communicate with entities (e.g., AMF) of a CN(s), via access nodes of a RAN); and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from a user equipment (UE) (page 4, par (0048), line 1-5, cells include cells of which a UE terminal is allowed by a base station to transmit or receive information), a registration request message including first information on a requested network slice(page 3, par (0040), line 1-10, generate a registration accept message information comprises a list of network slice identifiers, each of the network slice identifiers identifying a network slice, each of some of the network slice identifiers being associated with a corresponding radio band(s), the network slice band association information being used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell selection/reselection procedure), a registration accept message including second information indicating the allowed network slice(page 20, par (0155), line 1-10, the network slice band association information provided during the registration procedure, preferably provided in a Registration Accept message the wireless terminal performs PLMN selection and then perform cell selection, using the regular cell selection with no limitation on bands in terms of network slices), wherein the allowed network slice indicated by the second information includes a second network slice that is available to be used simultaneously with a first network slice among the at least one network slice page 7, par(0095-0096), line 1-10, Support for UE associating with multiple network slices simultaneously, a UE is associated with multiple slices simultaneously, only one signaling connection is maintained and for intra-frequency cell reselection, the UE always to camp on the best cell. For inter-frequency cell reselection, dedicated priorities used to control the frequency on which the UE camps).
Ishii discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first information indicates at least one network slice related to a packet data network (PDN) connection established in a first network, determine an allowed network slice available in a second network, based on the first information and a simultaneous use of the requested a network slice (SUNS) policy, and transmit, to the UE.
Zong is the same field of invention teaches the first information indicates at least one network slice related to a packet data network (PDN) connection established in a first network(page 1, par (0007), line 1-10, an established PDN connection can be transferred to a network slice in a network during inter-system mobility of a terminal), determine an allowed network slice available in a second network, based on the first information(page 1, par (0012), line 1-10, the corresponding network slice information used for transferring the established PDN connection to the network, such that when transferring the established PDN connection to the network, the terminal establishes a PDU session in a 5G network slice based on the corresponding network slice information (first information)) and a simultaneous use of the requested a network slice (SUNS) policy, and transmit, to the UE(page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, the control plane function entity simultaneously establishes PDN connections for different terminals, for PDN connections corresponding to terminals).
Ishii and Zong analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify an allowed network slice available in a second network based on the first information the teaching of Ishii to include the terminal establishes a PDU session in a 5G network slice based on the corresponding network slice information the teaching of Zong because it is providing a mobility management method, which applied to an architecture for interworking between a 4G network and a 5G network.
Regarding Claim 9, Ishii discloses the at least one network slice indicated by the first information(page 3, par (0040), line 1-10, generate a registration accept message information comprises a list of network slice identifiers, each of the network slice identifiers identifying a network slice, each of some of the network slice identifiers being associated with a corresponding radio band(s), the network slice band association information being used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell selection/reselection procedure).
Ishii discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determined based on a simultaneous use of a network slice (the SUNS) policy or priority information for each network slice, and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management (UDM) entity.
Zong is the same field of invention teaches determined based on a simultaneous use of a network slice (the SUNS) policy or priority information for each network slice, and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management (UDM) entity(page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, the control plane function entity simultaneously establishes PDN connections for different terminals, for PDN connections corresponding to terminals), and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management(UDM) entity(page 4, par (0047), line 1-10, The PCF is a policy control function of the 5G network, the HSS+UDM entity is referred to as a user data management entity to as a control plane function entity).
Regarding Claim 11, Ishii discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the controller is further configured to acquire UE capability information indicating whether the UE supports the SUNS policy, wherein in the case that the SUNS policy is configured in the UE, the at least one network slice includes a first network slice and a fourth network slice, and wherein the fourth network slice belongs to the same group as the first network slice.
Zong is the same field of invention teaches the controller is further configured to acquire UE capability information indicating whether the UE supports the SUNS policy, wherein in the case that the SUNS policy is configured in the UE(page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, the control plane function entity simultaneously establishes PDN connections for different terminals, for PDN connections corresponding to terminals), the at least one network slice includes a first network slice and a fourth network slice, and wherein the fourth network slice belongs to the same group as the first network slice(page 1, par (0012), line 1-10, the corresponding network slice information used for transferring the established PDN connection to the network, such that when transferring the established PDN connection to the network, the terminal establishes a PDU session in a 5G network slice based on the corresponding network slice information (slice related to PDN connection)).
Regarding Claim 12, Ishii disclose a user equipment (UE) of a wireless communication system, the UE comprising a transceiver configured to transmit and receive signals(page 5, par (0056), line 1-10, the wireless terminal to communicate with entities (e.g., AMF) of a CN(s), via access nodes of a RAN); and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: transmit, to an access and mobility function (AMF) entity(page 4, par (0048), line 1-5, cells include cells of which a UE terminal is allowed by a base station to transmit or receive information), a registration request message including first information on a requested network slice(page 3, par (0040), line 1-10, generate a registration accept message information comprises a list of network slice identifiers, each of the network slice identifiers identifying a network slice, each of some of the network slice identifiers being associated with a corresponding radio band(s), the network slice band association information being used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell selection/reselection procedure), a registration accept message including second information indicating an allowed network slice available in a second network (page 20, par (0155), line 1-10, the network slice band association information provided during the registration procedure, preferably provided in a Registration Accept message the wireless terminal performs PLMN selection and then perform cell selection, using the regular cell selection with no limitation on bands in terms of network slices), wherein the allowed network slice indicated by the second information includes a second network slice that is available to be used simultaneously with a first network slice among the at least one network slice(page 7, par(0095-0096), line 1-10, Support for UE associating with multiple network slices simultaneously, a UE is associated with multiple slices simultaneously, only one signaling connection is maintained and for intra-frequency cell reselection, the UE always to camp on the best cell. For inter-frequency cell reselection, dedicated priorities used to control the frequency on which the UE camps).
Ishii discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first information indicates at least one network slice related to a packet data network (PDN) connection established in a first network, and receive, from the AMF, wherein the allowed network slice available in the second network is based on the first information and a simultaneous use of a network slice (SUNS) policy.
Zong is the same field of invention teaches the first information indicates at least one network slice related to a packet data network (PDN) connection established in a first network(page 1, par (0007), line 1-10, an established PDN connection can be transferred to a network slice in a network during inter-system mobility of a terminal), and receive, from the AMF, wherein the allowed network slice available in the second network is based on the first information(page 1, par (0012), line 1-10, the corresponding network slice information used for transferring the established PDN connection to the network, such that when transferring the established PDN connection to the network, the terminal establishes a PDU session in a 5G network slice based on the corresponding network slice information (first information)) and a simultaneous use of a network slice (SUNS) policy(page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, the control plane function entity simultaneously establishes PDN connections for different terminals, for PDN connections corresponding to terminals).
Ishii and Zong analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify an allowed network slice available in a second network based on the first information the teaching of Ishii to include the terminal establishes a PDU session in a 5G network slice based on the corresponding network slice information the teaching of Zong because it is providing a mobility management method, which applied to an architecture for interworking between a 4G network and a 5G network.
13. (Cancelled)
Regarding Claim 14, Ishii discloses the at least one network slice indicated by the first information (page 3, par (0040), line 1-10, generate a registration accept message information comprises a list of network slice identifiers, each of the network slice identifiers identifying a network slice, each of some of the network slice identifiers being associated with a corresponding radio band(s).
Ishii discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determined based on the SUNS policy or priority information for each network slice, and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management (UDM) entity.
Zong is the same field of invention teaches determined based on the SUNS policy or priority information for each network slice, and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management (UDM) entity(page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, the control plane function entity simultaneously establishes PDN connections for different terminals, for PDN connections corresponding to terminals), and wherein the SUNS policy is stored in a user data management(UDM) entity(page 4, par (0047), line 1-10, The PCF is a policy control function of the 5G network, the HSS+UDM entity is referred to as a user data management entity to as a control plane function entity).
Regarding Claim 16, Ishii disclose acquiring UE capability information indicating whether the UE supports the SUNS policy(page 7, par(0095-0096), line 1-10, Support for UE associating with multiple network slices simultaneously, a UE is associated with multiple slices simultaneously, only one signaling connection is maintained and for intra-frequency cell reselection, the UE always to camp on the best cell. For inter-frequency cell reselection, dedicated priorities used to control the frequency on which the UE camps).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claim 3 is incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 5 would be allowable if (i) claim 17 is incorporated into the independent claim 5.
Claim 8 would be allowable if (i) claim 10 is incorporated into the independent claim 8.
Claim 12 would be allowable if (i) claim 15 is incorporated into the independent claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
Foti et al. (US 20250113216, Apr. 3, 2025) teaches Dynamic Retrieval of NSAC Information.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464