DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6,9,11-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite the term “culture media.” --Culture medium—is a more appropriate term to use because there appears to be only one culture medium present, not multiple culture mediums (media). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant) regards as the invention.
The instant clams recite a method of nanofiltering a culture medium containing a target growth factor. There are several indefinite issues associated with the claims, making the metes and bounds of the claims unclear. Claim 1 mentions that the lower threshold can retain at least 60% of the growth factor. However, it is not clear if the growth factor is retained on the actual filter or in the filtrate; therefore, the method cannot be clearly envisioned. The claims that depend from claim 1 do not better clarify this issue.
Claim 3 recites that 60% of the growth factor is retained but does not state if the growth factor is retained on the filter or in the filtrate. It is not clear how the nanofiltering with the non-ionic surfactant works and how the growth factor is retained. The claims that depend from claim 3 fail to clarify this issue.
Claim 5 fails to describe the nanofiltering process. Claim 5 does not clearly describe how the non-ionic surfactant is used to filter the cell culture medium. The claims that depend from claim 5 fail to clarify this issue.
Claim 12 recites, “wherein providing the level of non-ionic surfactant comprises removing non-ionic surfactant from the mammalian cell culture.” This is indefinite because “providing” means that you are giving a specific substance; however, “removing” means that it is being taken away. The two are opposites. It is unclear how the non-ionic surfactant can be provided and taken away at the same time.
Claims 13-16 recites that the cell culture medium is concentrated. It is not clear if the cell culture medium is concentrated before nanofiltration, during filtration, or after filtration.
Claim 17 recites “wherein the protein comprises a monoclonal antibody.” There is insufficient antecedent basis because protein and monoclonal antibody are not mentioned in independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9,11,13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pol (US 20070065907)
Pol teaches a method of nanofiltering mammalian cell culture medium (Pages 1-2), the method comprising: providing a level of non-ionic surfactant (the amount of non-ionic surfactant is at least 0.001 w/w% to 1 w/w% as taught in Paragraphs 5 and 7 of Pol, equivalent to .01 g/L to 10 g/L) in a quantity of mammalian cell culture media comprising a growth factor (Paragraph 19 of Pol) as in instant Claims 1-6 and 8.
Pol teaches a range of non-ionic surfactant that encompasses the range used by applicant. In Pol’s system, approximately 100% of the cells are retained by the filter and the growth factors can be concentrated in the filtrate after filtering (Example 1 of Pol). Because Pol teaches the same method as applicant using a non-ionic surfactant at the same concentration to concentrate and retain the desired target growth factor, one would be expect that at least 60% of the growth factor taught in Pol would be retained in the filtrate solution and the amount of non-ionic surfactant is effective to permit nanofiltration of the culture medium on a nanofilter surface area no more than 40% greater than a nanofilter surface needed to filter the quantify of mammalian cell culture medium without a non-ionic surfactant as in instant Claims 1-6.
MPEP § 2144.05 (II) states the following: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In reHoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc.v.Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In reKulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent”); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”). See also KSR Int' l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.”)
A review of the specification fails to provide evidence that the claimed concentrations and volumes of cell culture mediums are critical. Absent such evidence it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effectively filing Pol to try a finite number of possible concentrations of cell culture medium and desirable volume of the culture medium. An artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in optimizing the concentrations of cell culture medium and cell culture medium volume because determining these parameters were already known to be optimizable as demonstrated by Pol. Thus, Pol renders to concentration and volume of the cell culture medium. Furthermore, since Pol’s teaches the same nanofiltration with the same concentration of non-ionic surfactant, it would be expected to produce the same results as claimed as in instant Claims 9,13-16.
Pol teaches wherein the non-ionic surfactant comprises polaxmer 188 (Pluronic F68) as in instant Claim 7-8, Pol teaches wherein providing the level of non-ionic surfactant comprises adding non-ionic surfactant to the mammalian cell culture (Example 1, Paragraph 22) as in instant 11. Pol teaches that the culture medium can contain a monoclonal antibody (Paragraph 19 of Pol) as in instant Claim 17.
Pol teaches treating a cell culture medium with a non-ionic surfactant in order to improve the ability to retain target growth factors using nanofiltration. Pol teaches a broad range of non-ionic surfactants that can be successfully added to cell culture medium. It would be expected that an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the non-ionic surfactant concentration in order to successfully retain as much of the growth factor as desired. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of applicant’s invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the clamed invention.
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combinations would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (See KSA International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). People of ordinary skill in the art will be high educated individuals, possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.s and Ph.D.s. They will be medical doctors, scientists, or engineers. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable and well-read in the relevant literature. These people will have practical knowledge in molecular biology and nanofiltration. Therefore, the level of ordinary skill in this art is high.
Claims 1-11,13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pol (US 20070065907) in view of Romand “Improving Expression of Recombinant Human IGF-1 Using IGF-1R Knockout CHO Cell Lines” Biotechnology and Bioengineering, Vol 113, No. 5, May 2016.
Pol applies as above to teach claims 1-9,11-17. Pol fails to teach filtering out and retaining IGF-1. Pol does teach that target factors can be produced by cells such as (Chinese Hamster Ovary Cells) (Paragraphs 13 and 19 of Pol). Pol does not teach that CHO cells can produce IGF-1. However, Romand teaches that IGF-1 can be produced by CHO cells (Abstract). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art to have produced IGF-1 using CHO cells. An artisan would have been motivated to have filtered out IGF-1 (a growth factor) of interest because it is known that IGF-1R Knockout CHO lines can produce high levels of IGF-1 (Abstract). IGF-1 is valuable because it a therapeutic hormone (Page 1 of Romand. Because such cells can produce high titers of IGF-1, there would have been a high expectation for success (Abstract of Romand) as in instant Claim 10.
Pol teaches treating a cell culture medium with a non-ionic surfactant in order to improve the ability to factor out target factors using nanofiltration. Pol teaches a broad range of non-ionic surfactants that can be successfully added to cell culture medium. It would be expected that an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the non-ionic surfactant concentration in order to successfully retain as much as the target molecule/growth factor as desired. CHO cells, taught in Pol, are known to have the ability to produce growth factors/proteins of interest. An artisan would have been motivated to have produced IGF-1 using CHO cells as taught in Romand since it is known that CHO cells can be appropriately modified to produce high titers of IGF-1. IGF-1 is a valuable pharmaceutical hormone. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of applicant’s invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the clamed invention.
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combinations would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (See KSA International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). People of ordinary skill in the art will be high educated individuals, possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.s and Ph.D.s. They will be medical doctors, scientists, or engineers. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable and well-read in the relevant literature. These people will have practical knowledge in molecular biology and nanofiltration. Therefore, the level of ordinary skill in this art is high.
Conclusion
All claims stand rejected.
LAUREN K. VAN BUREN
Examiner
Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638