DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 01/02/2026 for response of the office action mailed 10/07/2025. Claims 16, 26 and 27 have been amended. Claims 16, 18-19, 26-31 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 16, 18-19 and 26-31 and have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument: Thus, Liberg discloses determining a polarization mode for transmission and reception of signals of a serving cell, and does not disclose that the UE receives configuration information including polarization information applicable to a measurement of neighbor cells, as recited in the present claims.
Response: In response to the following arguments, Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. Due to the amended features in Claims 16, 26 and 27, the Office introduces Cao to cover or disclose the features of amended independent Claims 16, 26 and 27. In ¶0007, Cao teaches the polarization information is for at least one neighboring (e.g., adjacent, nearby, contiguous, etc.) beam of the plurality of beams that neighbors a serving beam. Cao further teaches that the polarization information of neighboring beams could be useful in beam switching in specific NTN scenarios (¶0098, Cao) and that known polarization information of neighboring cell/SSB/beam/BWP may save UEs' processing time and power by avoiding blind try of possible polarization directions in beam switching (¶0106, Cao).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 26-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al. (WO 2021/058567), Liberg hereinafter, and further in view of Cao et al. (US 2022/0393754), Cao hereinafter.
Re. Claim 16, Liberg teaches a method by a user equipment (UE) comprising: (Fig. 4-6 & Page 5, Summary, ¶2 - These exemplary methods can be performed by a UE (e.g., wireless device));
receiving configuration information for a measurement; (Page 6, ¶2 - …receiving, from the network node, a radio resource configuration based on the polarization capabilities… Page 11, ¶1 - such embodiments enable accurate measurement of signal strength and/or quality by UEs… Please also see Page 11, ¶5);
performing the measurement for a downlink signal based on the configuration information; (Page 11,¶5 - The polarization mode of the signal received by the UE … may detect it autonomously by performing multiple hypothesis testing of polarization modes for a given received signal and selecting a particular polarization mode based on a metric (e.g., signal to noise ratio). Page 32, ¶3 - the one or more polarization capabilities include one or more of the following: … a polarization correspondence, between uplink and downlink signals, supported by the UE … Please also see Page 29, ¶3 and Page 30, ¶4);
Yet, Liberg does not explicitly teach and reporting measurement information including the measurement, wherein the configuration information for the measurement includes polarization information, which is applicable to the measurement, for a downlink transmission related to at least one cell, wherein the at least one cell includes a neighbor cell, and wherein the polarization information includes at least one of a right-handed circular polarization (RHCP), a left-handed circular polarization (LHCP) or a linear polarization.
However, in the analogous art, Cao explicitly teaches and reporting measurement information including the measurement, wherein the configuration information for the measurement includes polarization information, (Fig. 3-10 & ¶0005 - In some embodiments, the method includes reporting (e.g., transmitting, sending, delivering, broadcasting, etc.), by the wireless communication device to the base station, polarization capabilities of the wireless communication device);
which is applicable to the measurement, for a downlink transmission related to at least one cell, wherein the at least one cell includes a neighbor cell, (¶0007 - In some embodiments, the polarization information is for at least one neighboring (e.g., adjacent, nearby, contiguous, etc.) beam of the plurality of beams that neighbors a serving beam. ¶0026 - In some embodiments, the polarization information is for a resource including one or more of a cell, a target spot beam, neighboring beams, or Bandwidth Part (BWP). ¶0103 -A “second feature” relates to the BS indicating the polarization of resource (e.g., cell/a target spot beam/neighboring beams/bandwidth part) to one or more UEs. Please also see ¶0098 and ¶0106);
and wherein the polarization information includes at least one of a right-handed circular polarization (RHCP), a left-handed circular polarization (LHCP) or a linear polarization (¶0017 - In some embodiments, the polarization information includes one or more of linear polarization, cross linear polarization, Left Hand Circular Polarization (LHCP), or Right Hand Circular Polarization (RHCP). In some embodiments, the polarization capabilities include capabilities for one or more of the linear polarization, the cross linear polarization, the LHCP, the RHCP, fixed polarization, supporting only circular polarization, supporting LHCP-only polarization, supporting RHCP-only, adjusting the polarization, or synthesizing circular polarization via linear polarization. Please also see ¶0126).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cao to the teaching of Liberg. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications and, more particularly, to systems and methods for improving resource switching efficiency by using polarization information of beams within a network (¶0002, Cao).
Re. Claim 26, Liberg teaches a method by a non-terrestrial network (NTN) comprising: (Fig. 4-6 & Page 6, ¶7 - methods (e.g., procedures) for operating a network node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN));
transmitting configuration information for a measurement receiving measurement information including a measurement of a downlink signal based on configuration information, wherein the configuration information includes polarization information, (Page 6, ¶8 - These exemplary methods can include receiving, from a user equipment (UE) in a first cell of the NTN, an indication of one or more polarization capabilities of the UE. These exemplary methods and/or procedures can also include transmitting and/or receiving one or more signals or channels in the first cell according to the indicated polarization capabilities of the UE. Page 6, ¶9 - these exemplary methods can also include transmitting, to at least one UE, an indication of one or more of the following polarization capabilities of the first cell: --> one or more polarization modes; and a polarization correspondence between uplink and downlink signals. Page 11,¶5 - For example, a UE supporting polarization correspondence can transmit a signal (e.g., in the uplink) using the same polarization mode as a received reference signal that was transmitted by the network (e.g., in the downlink). The polarization mode of the signal received by the UE … may detect it autonomously by performing multiple hypothesis testing of polarization modes for a given received signal and selecting a particular polarization mode based on a metric (e.g., signal to noise ratio). Page 32, ¶3 - the one or more polarization capabilities include one or more of the following: … a polarization correspondence, between uplink and downlink signals, supported by the UE … Please also see Page 29, ¶3 and Page 30, ¶4);
Yet, Liberg does not explicitly teach which is applicable to the measurement, for a downlink transmission related to at least one cell, and wherein the polarization information includes at least one of a right-handed circular polarization (RHCP), a left-handed circular polarization (LHCP) or a linear polarization.
However, in the analogous art, Cao explicitly teaches which is applicable to the measurement, for a downlink transmission related to at least one cell, (Fig. 3-10 & ¶0007 - In some embodiments, the polarization information is for at least one neighboring (e.g., adjacent, nearby, contiguous, etc.) beam of the plurality of beams that neighbors a serving beam. ¶0026 - In some embodiments, the polarization information is for a resource including one or more of a cell, a target spot beam, neighboring beams, or Bandwidth Part (BWP). ¶0103 -A “second feature” relates to the BS indicating the polarization of resource (e.g., cell/a target spot beam/neighboring beams/bandwidth part) to one or more UEs);
and wherein the polarization information includes at least one of a right-handed circular polarization (RHCP), a left-handed circular polarization (LHCP) or a linear polarization (¶0017 - In some embodiments, the polarization information includes one or more of linear polarization, cross linear polarization, Left Hand Circular Polarization (LHCP), or Right Hand Circular Polarization (RHCP). In some embodiments, the polarization capabilities include capabilities for one or more of the linear polarization, the cross linear polarization, the LHCP, the RHCP, fixed polarization, supporting only circular polarization, supporting LHCP-only polarization, supporting RHCP-only, adjusting the polarization, or synthesizing circular polarization via linear polarization. Please also see ¶0126).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cao to the teaching of Liberg. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications and, more particularly, to systems and methods for improving resource switching efficiency by using polarization information of beams within a network (¶0002, Cao).
Re. Claim 27, Liberg teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: a radio frequency (RF) transceiver; and a processor connected to the RF transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to: (Fig. 8);
control the RF transceiver to receive configuration information for a measurement; (Page 6, ¶2 - …receiving, from the network node, a radio resource configuration based on the polarization capabilities… Page 11, ¶1 - such embodiments enable accurate measurement of signal strength and/or quality by UEs… Please also see Page 11, ¶5);
perform the measurement for a downlink signal; (Page 11,¶5 - The polarization mode of the signal received by the UE … may detect it autonomously by performing multiple hypothesis testing of polarization modes for a given received signal and selecting a particular polarization mode based on a metric (e.g., signal to noise ratio). Page 32, ¶3 - the one or more polarization capabilities include one or more of the following: … a polarization correspondence, between uplink and downlink signals, supported by the UE … Please also see Page 29, ¶3 and Page 30, ¶4);
Yet, Liberg does not explicitly teach and control the RF transceiver to report measurement information including the measurement, wherein the configuration information includes polarization information, which is applicable to the measurement, for a downlink transmission related to at least one cell, wherein the at least one cell includes a neighbor cell, and wherein the polarization information includes information at least one of right-handed circular polarization (RHCP), left-handed circular polarization (LHCP) or linear polarization for the downlink signal and information for at least one cell related to the polarization information.
However, in the analogous art, Cao explicitly teaches and control the RF transceiver (Fig. 4) to report measurement information including the measurement, wherein the configuration information includes polarization information, (Fig. 3-10 & ¶0005 - In some embodiments, the method includes reporting (e.g., transmitting, sending, delivering, broadcasting, etc.), by the wireless communication device to the base station, polarization capabilities of the wireless communication device);
which is applicable to the measurement, for a downlink transmission related to at least one cell, wherein the at least one cell includes a neighbor cell, (¶0007 - In some embodiments, the polarization information is for at least one neighboring (e.g., adjacent, nearby, contiguous, etc.) beam of the plurality of beams that neighbors a serving beam. ¶0026 - In some embodiments, the polarization information is for a resource including one or more of a cell, a target spot beam, neighboring beams, or Bandwidth Part (BWP). ¶0103 -A “second feature” relates to the BS indicating the polarization of resource (e.g., cell/a target spot beam/neighboring beams/bandwidth part) to one or more UEs. Please also see ¶0098 and ¶0106);
and wherein the polarization information includes information at least one of right-handed circular polarization (RHCP), left-handed circular polarization (LHCP) or linear polarization for the downlink signal and information for at least one cell related to the polarization information (¶0017 - In some embodiments, the polarization information includes one or more of linear polarization, cross linear polarization, Left Hand Circular Polarization (LHCP), or Right Hand Circular Polarization (RHCP). In some embodiments, the polarization capabilities include capabilities for one or more of the linear polarization, the cross linear polarization, the LHCP, the RHCP, fixed polarization, supporting only circular polarization, supporting LHCP-only polarization, supporting RHCP-only, adjusting the polarization, or synthesizing circular polarization via linear polarization. Please also see ¶0126).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cao to the teaching of Liberg. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications and, more particularly, to systems and methods for improving resource switching efficiency by using polarization information of beams within a network (¶0002, Cao).
Re. Claim 28¸ Liberg and Cao teach Claim 16.
Liberg further teaches the configuration information further includes information for at least one synchronization signal block (SSB) related to the measurement, (Page 4, ¶6 - In general, a DL “beam” is a coverage area of a network-transmitted RS that may be measured or monitored by a UE. In NR, for example, such RS can include any of the following, alone or in combination: SS/PBCH block (SSB) and wherein the downlink signal includes the at least one SSB (Page 6, ¶2 - the downlink signal or channel can be one of the following: a primary synchronization signal, a secondary synchronization signal, and a broadcast control channel (BCCH)).
Re. Claim 30, Liberg and Cao teach Claim 16.
Liberg further teaches the configuration information indicates that the at least one cell is to be configured with the same polarization information (Page 12, ¶4 - For example, if the UE indicates support for a particular polarization mode (e.g., LHCP), the network node can select a cell (or spotbeam) supporting the indicated polarization mode for handing over the UE, or as a secondary cell for the UE).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg and Cao, in view of Nam et al. (US 2020/0008188), Nam hereinafter, Xu et al. (CN 102595636B), Xu hereinafter, and further in view of Luo et al. (US 2023/0043937), Luo hereinafter.
Re. Claim 18, Liberg and Cao teach Claim 16.
Yet, Liberg and Cao do not explicitly teach receiving RACH configuration information including mapping information between a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a RACH occasion through RRC signaling; transmitting a random access channel (RACH) on the RACH occasion; and receiving a random access response (RAR) in response to the RACH, and wherein the UE obtains first polarization information related to the RACH based on an index of the SSB, and wherein the RAR includes a Random Access Preamble Identifier (RAPID) including a polarization identifier for distinguishing the first polarization information.
However, in the analogous art, Nam explicitly teaches receiving RACH configuration information including mapping information between a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a RACH occasion through RRC signaling; (Fig. 4 & ¶0094 - The UE 404 may receive the PRACH configuration 424. ¶0021 - the base station configures the apparatus with a first set of PRACH occasions and the first RA preamble for the first PRACH transmission, the first set of PRACH occasions and the first RA preamble are associated with a first SSB, the base station configures the apparatus with a second set of PRACH occasions and the second RA preamble for the second PRACH transmission, and the second set of PRACH occasions and the second RA preamble are associated with a second SSB. Please also see ¶0018. Fig. 3 & ¶0066 - Similar to the functionality described in connection with the DL transmission by the base station 310, the controller/processor 359 provides RRC layer Functionality associated with system information (e.g., MIB, SIBs) acquisition). Examiner interprets the configuration of the first and second set of PRACH occasions with the first and second SSB as mapping information, including details from ¶0081-¶0082 and Fig. 2A-2D);
transmitting a random access channel (RACH) on the RACH occasion; (Fig. 4-8 & ¶0085 - configuring a UE to transmit multiple concurrent PRACH transmissions. Concurrent PRACH transmissions imply RA preambles transmitted in the same RACH occasion);
and receiving a random access response (RAR) in response to the RACH, (Fig. 4 & ¶0078 - the UE 350 may receive, from the base station 310, a first RA response (RAR) associated with the first PRACH transmission);
and wherein the UE obtains first polarization information related to the RACH based on an index of the SSB, (Fig. 5A & ¶0138 - the UE 500 may transmit a first PRACH transmission that may be associated with a first beam 504a that is beamformed using the first antenna subarray 502a with the first polarization. ¶0081 - The SSB may be identified, e.g., using part of a time index carried by the PBCH DM-RS and the SSB time index carried by the PBCH data. Based on the identification of the SSB(s), the UE may determine a preferred SSB, and transmit a PRACH transmission using a set of resources on the preferred SSB time index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Nam to the teachings of Liberg and Cao. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to communications systems, and more particularly, to contention-free concurrent physical random access channel (PRACH) transmissions (¶0002, Nam).
Yet, Liberg, Cao and Nam do not explicitly teach and wherein the RAR includes a Random Access Preamble Identifier (RAPID) including a polarization identifier for distinguishing the first polarization information.
However, in the analogous art, Xu explicitly teaches and wherein the RAR includes a Random Access Preamble Identifier (RAPID) (Fig. 2 & ¶0009 - As shown in fig. 2, the Msg2 is a data packet transmission unit (MAC pdu) of a media Access control layer, and includes a MAC header (MAC header) and a MAC load (MAC payload), where the MAC header includes a plurality of subheaders (subheaders), each subheader carries a Preamble identifier (RA Preamble ID, RAPID) of a Random Access Response returned by an eNB, and the MAC payload carries corresponding Random Access Responses (RAR) in an order of the RAPID carried in the MAC header).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Xu to the teachings of Liberg, Cao and Nam. The motivation would be because the invention provides a method, a device and a system for determining random access response, which are used for enabling a user terminal to effectively identify the format of the random access response, improving the compatibility of user terminals of different versions, enabling the user terminals of different versions to accurately analyze and acquire RARs belonging to the user terminals, and improving the success rate of random access (¶0015, Xu).
Yet, Liberg, Cao, Nam and Xu do not explicitly teach including a polarization identifier for distinguishing the first polarization information.
However, in the analogous art, Luo explicitly teaches including a polarization identifier for distinguishing the first polarization information (Fig. 4A-B & ¶0016 - The dimension, namely, the polarization parameter is introduced into a manner of obtaining the first identity. Please see ¶0015-¶0016).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Luo to the teachings of Liberg, Cao, Nam and Xu. The motivation would be because the invention introduces a dimension, namely, a polarization parameter, is introduced, so that a preamble capacity is increased (¶0006, Luo).
Re. Claim 19, Liberg, Cao, Nam, Xu and Luo teach Claim 18.
Yet, Liberg, Cao, Nam and Xu do not explicitly teach the RAPID is pre-mapped for each of the RHCP and the left LHCP.
However, in the analogous art, Luo explicitly teaches the RAPID is pre-mapped for each of the RHCP and the left LHCP (Fig. 4A & ¶0010 - A connection request message sent by the terminal device includes a preamble. Fig. 4B & ¶0016 - If the terminal device sends the connection request message in a left-handed circular polarization mode, the second polarization parameter is a polarization parameter corresponding to the left-handed circular polarization mode. If the terminal device sends the connection request message in a right-handed circular polarization mode, the second polarization parameter is a polarization parameter corresponding to the right-handed circular polarization mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Luo to the teachings of Liberg, Cao, Nam and Xu. The motivation would be because the invention introduces a dimension, namely, a polarization parameter, is introduced, so that a preamble capacity is increased (¶0006, Luo).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg and Cao, and further in view of Qiao et al. (US 2023/0139924), Qiao hereinafter.
Re. Claim 29, Liberg and Cao teach Claim 16.
Yet, Liberg and Cao do not explicitly teach the measurement is an intra-frequency measurement for the at least one cell.
However, in the analogous art, Qiao explicitly teaches the measurement is an intra-frequency measurement for the at least one cell (Fig. 3 & ¶0146 - cell measurement is performed if the current serving cell meets the cell measurement enabling threshold. For example, for an intra-frequency cell, when an S value of the current serving cell is less than or equal to an intra-frequency measurement threshold (S_IntraSearch), the terminal performs cell measurement based on the polarization priority information. Please also see ¶0147).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Qiao to the teachings of Liberg and Cao. The motivation would be to ensure that a terminal device determines a more suitable cell to be camped on, implement load balancing, and ensure a better communication effect (¶0006, Qiao).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg and Cao, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0092925), Wang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 31, Liberg and Cao teach Claim 16.
Yet, Liberg and Cao do not explicitly teach the configuration information further includes information on a measurement gap between the measurement of the at least one cell and the measurement of another cell having different polarization information.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly teaches the configuration information further includes information on a measurement gap between the measurement of the at least one cell and the measurement of another cell having different polarization information (¶0137 - The satellite set indicates a set of satellites of corresponding positioning levels, and may include one or more of the following attributes: ¶0138 - … a measurement gap, and a frequency or a polarization direction of a satellite. ¶0071 - In an example, the positioning assistance information indicates information about a second satellite, and a frequency and/or a polarization direction of the first satellite are/is different from the frequency and/or the polarization direction of the second satellite. For example, the frequency of the first satellite is different from the frequency of the second satellite. Alternatively, the frequency of the first satellite is the same as the frequency of the second satellite, but the polarization direction of the first satellite is different from the polarization direction of the second satellite. Alternatively, frequencies of the first satellite and the second satellite are different, and polarization directions of the first satellite and the second satellite are different).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Wang to the teachings of Liberg and Cao. The motivation would be because the invention provides a positioning method where a terminal device can perform multi-satellite, multi-frequency, and multi-polarization direction measurement, to implement positioning of the terminal device, and reduce bandwidth resource overheads (¶0005, Wang).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wei Chao et al. (WO 2017/193934 A1) – Please see Abstract, ¶0001-¶00136 & Fig. 1-18.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B /AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465