Claims 1,3-8,19, 38-44 are amended. Claims 45-49 are newly added. Claims 2,9-18,20-37 were previously cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3-8,19,38-49 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The 112 rejections are withdrawn.
The 101 rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3-8,38-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1,19,38 recites, “converting metrics reporting data to a second metrics collection and reporting configuration framework that is compatible with a media format and is different to the first metrics collection and reporting configuration framework”. It is unclear what applicant meant by converting metrics reporting data to a second metrics collection and reporting configuration framework that is compatible with a media format. Does applicant mean a second metrics collection and reporting configuration framework that is compatible with a media format is the format of the receiving device? For the purpose of examination, examiner interprets mentioned limitation as converting metrics reporting data to a format of the second device which is the device receiving the metric data.
The dependent claims 3-8,39-49 are depended on the rejected base claims 1,19, 38, therefore rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-8, 19, 38-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi et al (us 2012/0151009) (hereinafter Bou009) in view of Bouazizi et al (us 2023/0292226) (hereinafter Bou226) and further in view of Goves, JR. (us 2014/0079057) (hereinafter Groves).
As regarding claim 1, Bou009 discloses reporting configuration framework defining the metrics to be collected and reported for a media session over the media streaming network (see Bou009, 0027,0030-0032, media presentation description specify definition of syntax and semantics for QoE metric to be report to the server).
Bou009 is silent in regard to the concept of providing a metrics collection and reporting configuration framework to an application function using a media streaming provisioning interface.
Bou226 teaches the concept of providing a first metrics collection and reporting configuration framework to an application function using a media streaming provisioning interface (see Bou226 0040,0043, 0090 service/application provider provision parameters to the client by indicating/providing type and parameter to AF via interface, also see figure 4A).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Bou226 to Bou009 because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Bou009 with Bou226’s teaching for the purpose of efficiently collecting QoE from the client relate to the media session.
Bou009-Bou226 is silent in regard to the concept of converting metrics reporting data to a second metrics collection and reporting configuration framework that is compatible with a media format and is different to the first metrics collection and reporting configuration framework.
Groves teaches the concept of converting metrics reporting data to a second metrics collection and reporting configuration framework that is compatible with a media format and is different to the first metrics collection and reporting configuration framework (see Groves 0005,0018, receiver destination policy comprises receiver ID, telemetry stream type…where telemetry data (i.e. metric reporting data) formatted according to telemetry stream type of the receiver (i.e. second metrics collection and reporting configuration framework that is compatible with a media format; also see 0022, 0028 which discloses similar feature. It’s obvious that format of the telemetry data after formatted is different than the original telemetry data (i.e. first metrics collection and reporting configuration framework), otherwise there’s no need to format the telemetry data in the first place).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Groves to Bou009-Bou226 because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Bou009-Bou226 with Groves’ teaching for the purpose of efficiently transmitting telemetry data to the recipient (see Groves 0001).
As regarding claim 3, Bou009-Bou226-Groves discloses the metrics collection and reporting configuration framework is a metrics reporting data format identifier that identifies the metric data format to be used in metrics collection and reporting (see Bou009, 0031, send trigger to client to report which include address of server, metrics to be reported and format be reported).
As regarding claim 4, Bou009-Bou226-Groves discloses the metrics reporting data format identifier is smaller in size than the metrics data format that it identifies (see Bou009, figure.10, XML version identifier (i.e. format identifier)).
As regarding claim 5, Bou009-Bou226-Groves discloses the metrics reporting data format identifier is either a number or a free-format text string or a structured data object (see Bou009, 0004-0005, metric value).
As regarding claim 6, Bou009-Bou226-Groves discloses the metrics collection and reporting configuration framework includes a location indicating to where the metrics reports are to be provided (see Bou009, 0030-0033, address of server, also see Groves 0005, destination IP address, destination port).
As regarding claim 7, Bou009-Bou226-Groves discloses the location is outside the network domain of the mobile network operator that operates the media streaming network (see Bou009, figure.1, metric collecting ser 104 is separate from the web server 106, also see Bou226, figure.4, AF and AS are separate from one another and also separate from the UE).
As regarding claim 8, Bou009-Bou226-Groves discloses sending, from the application function to a user terminal, a metrics reporting object that includes a metrics system format used to collect and report the metrics (see Bou009, 0025,0031, xml format, Bou226, 0090, AF communicates parameters, metrics etc, direct to media session handler to collect and report the QoE metric).
As regarding claims 19, 38-49, limitations of claims 19,38-49 are similar to limitations of rejected claims 1,3-8, therefore rejected for the same rationale.
Conclusion
/DUYEN M DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459