DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19-27, 29, and 30 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 9, 11, 19, 21, and 29 are amended.
Claims 8, 18, and 28 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) Hwang fails to disclose or suggest that "a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs is received before receiving a first resource of the downlink data," as recited in independent claim 1, [Remarks, pages 10-11].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Hwang discloses wherein a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs is received before receiving a first resource of the downlink data [paragraphs 0177, 0181, 0183, 0184, 0188, 0199, 0203, 0219, 0222, wherein a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs is received before receiving a first resource of the downlink data (a time period from the ending symbol of a PDCCH to the first symbol of a slot carrying a PUSCH or the first symbol of a PUSCH transmission; a start symbol S, and an allocation length L for a PDSCH time-domain resource assignment, and information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)].
Regarding wherein a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs is received before receiving a first resource of the downlink data, Hwang discloses in paragraphs 0177, 0183, 0184, 0188, 0199, 0203, 0210, 0219, and 0272
[0177] FIG. 12 illustrates an exemplary UE operation according to the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 12, a UE may receive restriction information for determining whether to buffer a DL signal by higher-layer signaling and/or physical-layer signaling (S1201). The UE may receive a PDCCH including DCI (S1203). The DCI may include information for obtaining a slot offset K0, a start symbol S, and an allocation length L for a PDSCH time-domain resource assignment, and information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting. Specifically, the information included in the DCI may be based on Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 2 described below.
[0183] FIG. 14 is a diagram illustrating an exemplary network operation according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 14, a BS may transmit restriction information for determining whether to perform DL signal buffering to a UE by higher-layer signaling and/or physical-layer signaling (S1401). The BS may transmit a PDCCH including DCI to the UE (S1403). The DCI may include information for obtaining a slot offset K0, a start symbol S, and an allocation length L for a PDSCH time-domain resource assignment, and information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting. Specifically, the information included in the DCI may be based on Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 2 described below. The BS may then transmit a DL signal to the UE based on the restriction information and the DCI (S1405). …
[0184] The BS may not transmit the DL signal during a period in which the BS determines that the UE does not buffer the DL signal based on Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 2 described later. In other words, when it is said that the UE does not buffer a DL signal, this may mean that the UE does not receive the DL signal. For example, when the BS expects the UE not to perform PDSCH buffering, the BS may not transmit the PDSCH during a period in which the UE is not expected to perform PDSCH buffering.
[0188] Similarly, a UL grant may indicate measurement in an aperiodic CSI-RS resource. When the transmission timing of a corresponding CSI-RS may be set before PDCCH processing is completed, the UE may buffer the DL signal. Accordingly, while embodiments of the present disclosure are described in the context of PDSCH buffering for the convenience of description, the present disclosure may also be extended to buffering of other DL signals such as a CSI-RS.
[0199] The UE may not perform PDSCH buffering before the time limit indicated by the BS. For example, the UE may not expect a PDSCH transmission that starts before the time point indicated by the BS. Further, the BS may not transmit the PDSCH before the time limit indicated to the UE.
[0203] When UL grant DCI may trigger aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may not receive resources for CM and/or IM during a time period configured by a limited K0, SLIV, and/or start symbol index. For example, the UE may not receive a CSI-RS for CM and/or IM, a CSI-IM for CM and/or IM, or an SSB during a time period from a PDCCH transmission time to a time when a PDSCH configured by a limited K0, SLIV, and/or start symbol index may start.
[0210] In another example, resources for CM and/or IM may not be transmitted by the BS, and the UE may not receive the resources for CM and/or IM irrespective of whether the BS has transmitted the resources for CM and/or IM. In other words, it may be assumed that a limit for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset is equal to a limit for the restricted set for the PDSCH time-domain resource assignment.
[0219] When the BS restricts an aperiodic CSI triggering state, the UE may not receive a measurement resource during a specific time period. For example, the UE may not receive a measurement resource during a time period configured for the UE by the BS or a time period from the ending symbol of a PDCCH to the first symbol of a slot carrying a PUSCH or the first symbol of a PUSCH transmission. This restriction information may be provided to the UE by L1 signaling or higher-layer signalling from the BS.
[0272] The processor 202 may control the transceiver 206 to transmit restriction information based on which it is determined whether to buffer a DL signal by higher-layer signaling and/or physical-layer signaling. The processor 202 may control the transceiver 206 to transmit a PDCCH including DCI. The DCI may include information for obtaining a slot offset K0, a start symbol S, and an allocation length L for a PDSCH time-domain resource assignment, and may include information for configuring an aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting. Specifically, information included in the DCI may be based on the afore-described Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 2. The processor 202 may then control the transceiver 206 to transmit a DL signal based on the restriction information and DCI. The processor 202 may control the transceiver 206 not to transmit a DL signal during a time period in which the first wireless device 100 does not buffer the DL signal. The operation of the processor 202 may be based on the afore-described Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 2.
In other words, Hwang discloses wherein the UE does not receive communication (e.g., PDSCH) during a time period configured for aperiodic CSI (the BS may not transmit the PDSCH before the time limit indicated to the UE; a limit for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset is equal to a limit for the restricted set for the PDSCH time-domain resource assignment).
Therefore, given that Hwang discloses limits (start-end) for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset restricts transmission of PDSCH transmissions, then Hwang discloses wherein a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs is received before receiving a first resource of the downlink data.
Regarding the rejection of claims 11 and 21, claims 11 and 21 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 11 and 21, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-7, 9, 10, 12-17, 19, 20, 22-27, 29, and 30, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-13, 19-23, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al., (hereinafter Hwang), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0296697.
As per claim 1, Hwang discloses a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) [Abstract, paragraphs 0006, 0177, method of wireless communication by a user equipment (a method of receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system)], comprising:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first transmission of a plurality of aperiodic (AP) channel state information (CSI) reference signals (AP-CSI- RSs) and indicating a second transmission of downlink data [fig. 12, paragraphs 0177, 0181, 0183, receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first transmission of a plurality of aperiodic (AP) channel state information (CSI) reference signals (AP-CSI- RSs) and indicating a second transmission of downlink data (UE may receive a PDCCH including DCI (S1203); DCI may include information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)];
receiving the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the downlink data, the reception of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs indicating to the UE to transmit an AP-CSI report based on receiving the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [paragraphs 0061, 0078, 0159, 0177, 0215, 0223, 0272, receiving the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the downlink data, the reception of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs indicating to the UE to transmit an AP-CSI report based on receiving the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs (ACK/NACK information about DL data, channel state information (CSI), and a scheduling request (SR), may be transmitted on the PUCCH; configuring an aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; the UE transmits, to the BS, a CSI report indicated by CSI-ReportConfigs associated with a corresponding CSI resource setting)], wherein a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs is received before receiving a first resource of the downlink data [paragraphs 0177, 0181, 0183, 0184, 0188, 0199, 0203, 0210, 0219, 0222, wherein a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs is received before receiving a first resource of the downlink data (a time period from the ending symbol of a PDCCH to the first symbol of a slot carrying a PUSCH or the first symbol of a PUSCH transmission; a start symbol S, and an allocation length L for a PDSCH time-domain resource assignment, and information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; wherein the UE does not receive communication (e.g., PDSCH) during a time period configured for aperiodic CSI (the BS may not transmit the PDSCH before the time limit indicated to the UE; a limit for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset is equal to a limit for the restricted set for the PDSCH time-domain resource assignment))]; and
refraining from transmitting the AP-CSI report based on at least one of a change in a channel condition of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for receiving the downlink data or receiving the downlink data [paragraphs 0214, 0215, refraining from transmitting the AP-CSI report based on at least one of receiving the downlink data (received restriction information and DCI; the UE may skip HARQ-ACK transmission for the PDSCH transmitted by the BS; the UE may skip HARQ-ACK transmission only for a CBG including CBs for which decoding and/or channel estimation has been skipped)].
As per claim 2, Hwang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the downlink data is associated with an ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) session [paragraphs 0003, 0004, 0042, 0116, 0259, wherein the downlink data is associated with an ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) session (transmitting and receiving a downlink data channel; communication scenarios are divided into enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), ultra-reliability and low-latency communication (URLLC))].
As per claim 3, Hwang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the DCI includes a downlink control indicator that indicates the first transmission of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [paragraphs 0177, 0181, 0183, 0203, 0223, 0266, 0272, wherein the DCI includes a downlink control indicator that indicates the first transmission of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs (DCI may include information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)].
As per claim 9, Hwang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising
determining whether a time gap between the last AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the first resource of the downlink data is greater than, equal to, or less than a threshold time gap [paragraphs 0163, 0203, 0204, 0209, 0210, determining whether a time gap between the last AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the first resource of the downlink data is greater than, equal to, or less than a threshold time gap (a limit for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset is equal to a limit for K0; the minimum value of K0 is indicated, the K0 value may be regarded as the minimum value of the aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset)].
As per claim 10, Hwang discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
receiving, based on the time gap being greater than or equal to the threshold time gap, the downlink data via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configured based on at least one of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs; or receiving, based on the time gap being less than the threshold time gap, the downlink data via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that is not configured based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [paragraphs 0163, 0203, 0204, 0209, 0210, receiving, based on the time gap being less than the threshold time gap, the downlink data via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that is not configured based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs (a limit for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset is equal to a limit for K0; the minimum value of K0 is indicated, the K0 value may be regarded as the minimum value of the aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset)].
As per claim 11, Hwang discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory comprising instructions; a transceiver; and one or more processors operatively coupled with the memory and the transceiver, the one or more processors configured to execute instructions in the memory [fig. 16, paragraphs 0016, 0263, 0274, 0275, a memory comprising instructions; a transceiver; and one or more processors operatively coupled with the memory and the transceiver, the one or more processors configured to execute instructions in the memory (a UE may include at least one transceiver, at least one processor, and at least one memory operatively coupled to the at least one processor, and storing instructions which, when executed, cause the at least one processor)] to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first transmission of a plurality of aperiodic (AP) channel state information (CSI) reference signals (AP-CSI- RSs) and indicating a second transmission of downlink data [fig. 12, paragraphs 0177, 0181, 0183, receive downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first transmission of a plurality of aperiodic (AP) channel state information (CSI) reference signals (AP-CSI- RSs) and indicating a second transmission of downlink data (UE may receive a PDCCH including DCI (S1203); DCI may include information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)];
receive the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the downlink data, the reception of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs indicating to the UE to transmit an AP-CSI report based on receiving the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [paragraphs 0061, 0078, 0159, 0177, 0215, 0223, 0272, receive the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the downlink data, the reception of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs indicating to the UE to transmit an AP-CSI report based on receiving the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs (ACK/NACK information about DL data, channel state information (CSI), and a scheduling request (SR), may be transmitted on the PUCCH; configuring an aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; the UE transmits, to the BS, a CSI report indicated by CSI-ReportConfigs associated with a corresponding CSI resource setting)], wherein a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs is received before receiving a first resource of the downlink data [paragraphs 0177, 0181, 0183, 0184, 0188, 0199, 0203, 0210, 0219, 0222, wherein a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs is received before receiving a first resource of the downlink data (a time period from the ending symbol of a PDCCH to the first symbol of a slot carrying a PUSCH or the first symbol of a PUSCH transmission; a start symbol S, and an allocation length L for a PDSCH time-domain resource assignment, and information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; wherein the UE does not receive communication (e.g., PDSCH) during a time period configured for aperiodic CSI (the BS may not transmit the PDSCH before the time limit indicated to the UE; a limit for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset is equal to a limit for the restricted set for the PDSCH time-domain resource assignment))]; and
refrain from transmitting the AP-CSI report based on at least one of a change in a channel condition of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for receiving the downlink data or receiving the downlink data [paragraphs 0214, 0215, refrain from transmitting the AP-CSI report based on at least one of receiving the downlink data (received restriction information and DCI; the UE may skip HARQ-ACK transmission for the PDSCH transmitted by the BS; the UE may skip HARQ-ACK transmission only for a CBG including CBs for which decoding and/or channel estimation has been skipped)].
As per claim 12, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 11,
wherein the downlink data is associated with an ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) session [paragraphs 0003, 0004, 0042, 0116, 0259, wherein the downlink data is associated with an ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) session (transmitting and receiving a downlink data channel; communication scenarios are divided into enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), ultra-reliability and low-latency communication (URLLC))].
As per claim 13, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 11,
wherein the DCI includes a downlink control indicator that indicates the first transmission of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [paragraphs 0177, 0181, 0183, 0203, 0223, 0266, 0272, wherein the DCI includes a downlink control indicator that indicates the first transmission of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs (DCI may include information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)].
As per claim 19, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
determine whether a time gap between the last AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the first resource of the downlink data is greater than, equal to, or less than a threshold time gap [paragraphs 0163, 0203, 0204, 0209, 0210, determine whether a time gap between the last AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the first resource of the downlink data is greater than, equal to, or less than a threshold time gap (a limit for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset is equal to a limit for K0; the minimum value of K0 is indicated, the K0 value may be regarded as the minimum value of the aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset)].
As per claim 20, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive based on the time gap being greater than or equal to the threshold time gap, the downlink data via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configured based on at least one of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs; or receive based on the time gap being less than the threshold time gap, the downlink data via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that is not configured based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [paragraphs 0163, 0203, 0204, 0209, 0210, receive, based on the time gap being less than the threshold time gap, the downlink data via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that is not configured based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs (a limit for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset is equal to a limit for K0; the minimum value of K0 is indicated, the K0 value may be regarded as the minimum value of the aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset)].
As per claim 21, Hwang discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first transmission of a plurality of aperiodic (AP) channel state information (CSI) reference signals (AP-CSI- RSs) and indicating a second transmission of downlink data [fig. 12, paragraphs 0177, 0181, 0183, means for receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first transmission of a plurality of aperiodic (AP) channel state information (CSI) reference signals (AP-CSI- RSs) and indicating a second transmission of downlink data (UE may receive a PDCCH including DCI (S1203); DCI may include information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)];
means for receiving the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the downlink data, the reception of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs indicating to the UE to transmit an AP-CSI report based on receiving the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [paragraphs 0061, 0078, 0159, 0177, 0215, 0223, 0272, means for receiving the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the downlink data, the reception of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs indicating to the UE to transmit an AP-CSI report based on receiving the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs (ACK/NACK information about DL data, channel state information (CSI), and a scheduling request (SR), may be transmitted on the PUCCH; configuring an aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; the UE transmits, to the BS, a CSI report indicated by CSI-ReportConfigs associated with a corresponding CSI resource setting)], wherein a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs is received before receiving a first resource of the downlink data [paragraphs 0177, 0181, 0183, 0184, 0188, 0199, 0203, 0210, 0219, 0222, wherein a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs is received before receiving a first resource of the downlink data (a time period from the ending symbol of a PDCCH to the first symbol of a slot carrying a PUSCH or the first symbol of a PUSCH transmission; a start symbol S, and an allocation length L for a PDSCH time-domain resource assignment, and information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; wherein the UE does not receive communication (e.g., PDSCH) during a time period configured for aperiodic CSI (the BS may not transmit the PDSCH before the time limit indicated to the UE; a limit for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset is equal to a limit for the restricted set for the PDSCH time-domain resource assignment))]; and
means for refraining from transmitting the AP-CSI report based on at least one of a change in a channel condition of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for receiving the downlink data or receiving the downlink data [paragraphs 0214, 0215, means for refraining from transmitting the AP-CSI report based on at least one of receiving the downlink data (received restriction information and DCI; the UE may skip HARQ-ACK transmission for the PDSCH transmitted by the BS; the UE may skip HARQ-ACK transmission only for a CBG including CBs for which decoding and/or channel estimation has been skipped)].
As per claim 22, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 21,
wherein the downlink data is associated with an ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) session [paragraphs 0003, 0004, 0042, 0116, 0259, wherein the downlink data is associated with an ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) session (transmitting and receiving a downlink data channel; communication scenarios are divided into enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), ultra-reliability and low-latency communication (URLLC))].
As per claim 23, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 21,
wherein the DCI includes a downlink control indicator that indicates the first transmission of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [paragraphs 0177, 0181, 0183, 0203, 0223, 0266, 0272, wherein the DCI includes a downlink control indicator that indicates the first transmission of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs (DCI may include information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)].
As per claim 29, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 21, further comprising
means for determining whether a time gap between the last AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the first resource of the downlink data is greater than, equal to, or less than a threshold time gap [paragraphs 0163, 0203, 0204, 0209, 0210, means for determining whether a time gap between the last AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and the first resource of the downlink data is greater than, equal to, or less than a threshold time gap (a limit for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset is equal to a limit for K0; the minimum value of K0 is indicated, the K0 value may be regarded as the minimum value of the aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset)].
As per claim 30, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 29, further comprising:
means for receiving, based on the time gap being greater than or equal to the threshold time gap, the downlink data via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configured based on at least one of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs; or means for receiving, based on the time gap being less than the threshold time gap, the downlink data via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that is not configured based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [paragraphs 0163, 0203, 0204, 0209, 0210, means for receiving, based on the time gap being less than the threshold time gap, the downlink data via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that is not configured based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs (a limit for an aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset is equal to a limit for K0; the minimum value of K0 is indicated, the K0 value may be regarded as the minimum value of the aperiodic CSI-RS triggering offset)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 14-16, and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, in view of Grant et al., (hereinafter Grant), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0280409.
As per claim 4, Hwang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the DCI includes a radio resource control (RRC) parameter that indicates whether the UE is to perform a UE receive beam [paragraph 0126, wherein the DCI includes a radio resource control (RRC) parameter that indicates whether the UE is to perform a UE receive beam (RRC parameter indicating a CSI-RS usage (e.g., a BM-related parameter))] based on a time between a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and receiving the downlink data exceeding a time gap or perform a PDSCH parameter update process based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [fig. 9, 11, paragraphs 0181, 0183, 0204, 0223, 0266, a time between a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and receiving the downlink data exceeding a time gap (obtaining a slot offset K0, a start symbol S, and an allocation length L for a PDSCH time-domain resource assignment, and information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)].
Hwang does not explicitly disclose a UE receive beam refinement process.
However, Grant teaches a UE receive beam refinement process [paragraphs 0286, 0287, 0306, a UE receive beam refinement process (the UE is triggered to perform a measurement on a set or sets of aperiodic CSI-RS resources for the purposes of beam management - beam refinement)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Hwang by including a beam refinement process as taught by Grant because it would provide the Hwang’s method with the enhanced capability of improving network performance [Grant, paragraph 0151].
As per claim 5, Hwang discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising, based on the RRC parameter being a repetition parameter [paragraph 0126, the RRC parameter being a repetition parameter (RRC parameter indicating a CSI-RS usage (e.g., a BM-related parameter ‘repetition’))],
Hwang does not explicitly disclose performing the UE receive beam refinement process on one or more UE reception beams based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the downlink data is received using at least a portion of the one or more UE reception beams after the UE reception beam refinement process.
However, Grant teaches performing the UE receive beam refinement process on one or more UE reception beams based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the downlink data is received using at least a portion of the one or more UE reception beams after the UE reception beam refinement process [paragraphs 0286, 0287, 0307, performing the UE receive beam refinement process on one or more UE reception beams based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the downlink data is received using at least a portion of the one or more UE reception beams after the UE reception beam refinement process (a P2 beam refinement, the initialized QCL reference to the periodic resource is useful for the UE to help it set its Rx beam for receiving the aperiodic CSI-RS resources)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Hwang by including a beam refinement process as taught by Grant because it would provide the Hwang’s method with the enhanced capability of improving network performance [Grant, paragraph 0151].
As per claim 6, Hwang discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising, based on the RRC parameter being a tracking reference signal information (TRS-info) parameter [paragraphs 0035, 0126, the RRC parameter being a tracking reference signal information (TRS-info) parameter (RRC parameter indicating a CSI-RS usage (e.g., a tracking-related parameter ‘trs-Info’))]:
Hwang does not explicitly disclose determining one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties of a QCL channel based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the QCL channel is quasi-co- located with a PDSCH for receiving the downlink data; and updating one or more PDSCH channel parameters based on the one or more QCL channel properties, wherein the downlink data is received via the PDSCH channel after updating the one or more PDSCH channel parameters.
However, Grant teaches determining one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties of a QCL channel based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the QCL channel is quasi-co- located with a PDSCH for receiving the downlink data [paragraphs 0272, 0279, 0281, 0285, 0286, determining one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties of a QCL channel based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the QCL channel is quasi-co- located with a PDSCH for receiving the downlink data (updates the spatial QCL reference that the UE should use for PDCCH/PDSCH demodulation when indicated in a future QCL indication message)]; and updating one or more PDSCH channel parameters based on the one or more QCL channel properties, wherein the downlink data is received via the PDSCH channel after updating the one or more PDSCH channel parameters [paragraphs 0272, 0279, 0281, 0285, 0286, updating one or more PDSCH channel parameters based on the one or more QCL channel properties, wherein the downlink data is received via the PDSCH channel after updating the one or more PDSCH channel parameters (updates the spatial QCL reference that the UE should use for PDCCH/PDSCH demodulation when indicated in a future QCL indication message)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Hwang by determining one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties as taught by Grant because it would provide the Hwang’s method with the enhanced capability of improving network performance [Grant, paragraph 0151].
As per claim 14, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 11,
wherein the DCI includes a radio resource control (RRC) parameter that indicates whether the UE is to perform a UE receive beam [paragraph 0126, wherein the DCI includes a radio resource control (RRC) parameter that indicates whether the UE is to perform a UE receive beam (RRC parameter indicating a CSI-RS usage (e.g., a BM-related parameter))] based on a time between a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and receiving the downlink data exceeding a time gap or perform a PDSCH parameter update process based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [fig. 9, 11, paragraphs 0181, 0183, 0204, 0223, 0266, a time between a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and receiving the downlink data exceeding a time gap (obtaining a slot offset K0, a start symbol S, and an allocation length L for a PDSCH time-domain resource assignment, and information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)].
Hwang does not explicitly disclose a UE receive beam refinement process.
However, Grant teaches a UE receive beam refinement process [paragraphs 0286, 0287, 0306, a UE receive beam refinement process (the UE is triggered to perform a measurement on a set or sets of aperiodic CSI-RS resources for the purposes of beam management - beam refinement)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the UE described in Hwang by including a beam refinement process as taught by Grant because it would provide the Hwang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving network performance [Grant, paragraph 0151].
As per claim 15, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, based on the RRC parameter being a repetition parameter [paragraph 0126, the RRC parameter being a repetition parameter (RRC parameter indicating a CSI-RS usage (e.g., a BM-related parameter ‘repetition’))],
Hwang does not explicitly disclose perform the UE receive beam refinement process on one or more UE reception beams based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the downlink data is received using at least a portion of the one or more UE reception beams after the UE reception beam refinement process.
However, Grant teaches perform the UE receive beam refinement process on one or more UE reception beams based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the downlink data is received using at least a portion of the one or more UE reception beams after the UE reception beam refinement process [paragraphs 0286, 0287, 0307, perform the UE receive beam refinement process on one or more UE reception beams based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the downlink data is received using at least a portion of the one or more UE reception beams after the UE reception beam refinement process (a P2 beam refinement, the initialized QCL reference to the periodic resource is useful for the UE to help it set its Rx beam for receiving the aperiodic CSI-RS resources)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the UE described in Hwang by including a beam refinement process as taught by Grant because it would provide the Hwang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving network performance [Grant, paragraph 0151].
As per claim 16, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, based on the RRC parameter being a tracking reference signal information (TRS-info) parameter [paragraphs 0035, 0126, the RRC parameter being a tracking reference signal information (TRS-info) parameter (RRC parameter indicating a CSI-RS usage (e.g., a tracking-related parameter ‘trs-Info’))]:
Hwang does not explicitly disclose determine one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties of a QCL channel based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the QCL channel is quasi-co- located with a PDSCH for receiving the downlink data; and update one or more PDSCH channel parameters based on the one or more QCL channel properties, wherein the downlink data is received via the PDSCH channel after updating the one or more PDSCH channel parameters.
However, Grant teaches determine one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties of a QCL channel based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the QCL channel is quasi-co- located with a PDSCH for receiving the downlink data [paragraphs 0272, 0279, 0281, 0285, 0286, determine one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties of a QCL channel based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the QCL channel is quasi-co- located with a PDSCH for receiving the downlink data (updates the spatial QCL reference that the UE should use for PDCCH/PDSCH demodulation when indicated in a future QCL indication message)]; and update one or more PDSCH channel parameters based on the one or more QCL channel properties, wherein the downlink data is received via the PDSCH channel after updating the one or more PDSCH channel parameters [paragraphs 0272, 0279, 0281, 0285, 0286, update one or more PDSCH channel parameters based on the one or more QCL channel properties, wherein the downlink data is received via the PDSCH channel after updating the one or more PDSCH channel parameters (updates the spatial QCL reference that the UE should use for PDCCH/PDSCH demodulation when indicated in a future QCL indication message)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the UE described in Hwang by determining one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties as taught by Grant because it would provide the Hwang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving network performance [Grant, paragraph 0151].
As per claim 24, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 21,
wherein the DCI includes a radio resource control (RRC) parameter that indicates whether the UE is to perform a UE receive beam [paragraph 0126, wherein the DCI includes a radio resource control (RRC) parameter that indicates whether the UE is to perform a UE receive beam (RRC parameter indicating a CSI-RS usage (e.g., a BM-related parameter))] based on a time between a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and receiving the downlink data exceeding a time gap or perform a PDSCH parameter update process based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs [fig. 9, 11, paragraphs 0181, 0183, 0204, 0223, 0266, a time between a last-in-time AP-CSI-RS of the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs and receiving the downlink data exceeding a time gap (obtaining a slot offset K0, a start symbol S, and an allocation length L for a PDSCH time-domain resource assignment, and information for configuring aperiodic CSI-RS transmission and/or aperiodic CSI reporting)].
Hwang does not explicitly disclose a UE receive beam refinement process.
However, Grant teaches a UE receive beam refinement process [paragraphs 0286, 0287, 0306, a UE receive beam refinement process (the UE is triggered to perform a measurement on a set or sets of aperiodic CSI-RS resources for the purposes of beam management - beam refinement)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the UE described in Hwang by including a beam refinement process as taught by Grant because it would provide the Hwang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving network performance [Grant, paragraph 0151].
As per claim 25, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 24, further comprising, based on the RRC parameter being a repetition parameter [paragraph 0126, the RRC parameter being a repetition parameter (RRC parameter indicating a CSI-RS usage (e.g., a BM-related parameter ‘repetition’))],
Hwang does not explicitly disclose means for performing the UE receive beam refinement process on one or more UE reception beams based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the downlink data is received using at least a portion of the one or more UE reception beams after the UE reception beam refinement process.
However, Grant teaches means for performing the UE receive beam refinement process on one or more UE reception beams based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the downlink data is received using at least a portion of the one or more UE reception beams after the UE reception beam refinement process [paragraphs 0286, 0287, 0307, means for performing the UE receive beam refinement process on one or more UE reception beams based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the downlink data is received using at least a portion of the one or more UE reception beams after the UE reception beam refinement process (a P2 beam refinement, the initialized QCL reference to the periodic resource is useful for the UE to help it set its Rx beam for receiving the aperiodic CSI-RS resources)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the UE described in Hwang by including a beam refinement process as taught by Grant because it would provide the Hwang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving network performance [Grant, paragraph 0151].
As per claim 26, Hwang discloses the UE of claim 24, further comprising, based on the RRC parameter being a tracking reference signal information (TRS-info) parameter [paragraphs 0035, 0126, the RRC parameter being a tracking reference signal information (TRS-info) parameter (RRC parameter indicating a CSI-RS usage (e.g., a tracking-related parameter ‘trs-Info’))]:
Hwang does not explicitly disclose means for determining one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties of a QCL channel based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the QCL channel is quasi-co- located with a PDSCH for receiving the downlink data; and means for updating one or more PDSCH channel parameters based on the one or more QCL channel properties, wherein the downlink data is received via the PDSCH channel after updating the one or more PDSCH channel parameters.
However, Grant teaches means for determining one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties of a QCL channel based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the QCL channel is quasi-co- located with a PDSCH for receiving the downlink data [paragraphs 0272, 0279, 0281, 0285, 0286, means for determining one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties of a QCL channel based on the plurality of AP-CSI-RSs, wherein the QCL channel is quasi-co- located with a PDSCH for receiving the downlink data (updates the spatial QCL reference that the UE should use for PDCCH/PDSCH demodulation when indicated in a future QCL indication message)]; and means for updating one or more PDSCH channel parameters based on the one or more QCL channel properties, wherein the downlink data is received via the PDSCH channel after updating the one or more PDSCH channel parameters [paragraphs 0272, 0279, 0281, 0285, 0286, means for updating one or more PDSCH channel parameters based on the one or more QCL channel properties, wherein the downlink data is received via the PDSCH channel after updating the one or more PDSCH channel parameters (updates the spatial QCL reference that the UE should use for PDCCH/PDSCH demodulation when indicated in a future QCL indication message)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the UE described in Hwang by determining one or more quasi-co-located (QCL) channel properties as taught by Grant because it would provide the Hwang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving network performance [Grant, paragraph 0151].
Claim(s) 7, 17, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, in view of Grant, and in further view of Rastegardoost et al., (hereinafter Rastegardoost), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0280409.
As per claim 7, the modified Hwang discloses the method of claim 6, Hwang does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more PDSCH channel properties include at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift.
However, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the one or more PDSCH channel properties include at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift [paragraphs 0169, 0178, 0340, wherein the one or more PDSCH channel properties include at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift (channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, spatial Rx parameter, fading, and/or the like) from a transmission)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in the modified Hwang by including a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift as taught by Rastegardoost because it would provide the modified Hwang’s method with the enhanced capability of improving system performance [Rastegardoost, paragraphs 0424, 0497].
As per claim 17, the modified Hwang discloses the UE of claim 16, Hwang does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more PDSCH channel properties include at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift.
However, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the one or more PDSCH channel properties include at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift [paragraphs 0169, 0178, 0340, wherein the one or more PDSCH channel properties include at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift (channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, spatial Rx parameter, fading, and/or the like) from a transmission)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the UE described in the modified Hwang by including a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift as taught by Rastegardoost because it would provide the modified Hwang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving system performance [Rastegardoost, paragraphs 0424, 0497].
As per claim 27, the modified Hwang discloses the UE of claim 26, Hwang does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more PDSCH channel properties include at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift.
However, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the one or more PDSCH channel properties include at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift [paragraphs 0169, 0178, 0340, wherein the one or more PDSCH channel properties include at least one of a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift (channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, spatial Rx parameter, fading, and/or the like) from a transmission)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the UE described in the modified Hwang by including a delay spread, a Doppler spread, an average delay, or a Doppler shift as taught by Rastegardoost because it would provide the modified Hwang’s UE with the enhanced capability of improving system performance [Rastegardoost, paragraphs 0424, 0497].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0362701 discloses a dynamic indication of an aperiodic CSI-RS presence may be signaled in the EPDCCH search space.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469