DETAILED ACTION
Status of Amendments
Claims 1-12 are currently pending in this case and have been examined and
addressed below. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the
Amendment to the Claims and Remarks filed on 01/27/2023.
Claims 9-12 are amended claims.
Claims 1-8 are original claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C.
119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application KR10-2020-0094538, filed on 07/29/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/05/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1- 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 – Statutory Categories of Invention:
Claims 1-12 are drawn to a method, which are statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A – Judicial Exception Analysis, Prong 1:
Independent claim 1 recites a method comprising determining one or more sensors possessed by a user; determining whether a remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached an order guidance period; and when the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period, providing an order guidance message to the user, wherein the one or more sensors are continuously usable for a set use period.
These steps amount to certain methods of organizing human activity which includes functions relating to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) citing the abstract idea grouping for methods of organizing human activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people – also note MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II) stating certain activity between a person and a computer may fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping).
Step 2A – Judicial Exception Analysis, Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements within the claims only amount to instructions to implement the judicial exception using a computer [MPEP 2106.05(f)].
Claim 1 does not recite any additional elements.
The above claims, as a whole, are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B – Additional Elements that Amount to Significantly More:
The present claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to more than the abstract idea because the additional elements or combination of elements amount to no more than a recitation of instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the Claim 1 does not recite any additional elements.
For the reasons stated, these claims fail to amount to significantly more and are consequently rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Analysis of Dependent Claims
Dependent claim 2 recites wherein the determining of whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user has reached the order guidance period comprises: calculating a total usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on a usage period of each sensor possessed by the user and a number of the one or more sensors possessed by the user; and determining whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user has reached the order guidance period based on the total usage period.
Dependent claim 3 recites the determining of whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period further comprises determining whether one of the one or more sensors possessed by the user is used, and the total usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user is calculated based on the usage period of each sensor possessed by the user and the number of the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on a time point when the user uses the one of the one or more sensors.
Dependent claim 4 recites additionally register a new sensor during use of the one or more sensors; when the new sensor is additionally registered, changing information of the one or more sensors possessed by the user; and re-calculating the total usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on the usage period of each sensor possessed by the user and the number of the one or more sensors possessed by the user, wherein the determining of whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period is performed based on the re-calculated total usage period of the one or more sensors.
Dependent claim 5 recites determining whether a sensor registered as a sensor currently being used by the user is removed; at the time of removing the sensor registered as the sensor currently being used by the user, determining whether a remaining usage period of the sensor registered as the sensor currently being used by the user exists; and when the remaining usage period of the sensor currently being used exists, re- calculating the total usage period of the one or more sensors by subtracting the remaining usage period of the sensor currently being used from the total usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user, whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period is determined based on the re-calculated total usage period of the one or more sensors.
Dependent claim 6 recites wherein the determining of whether the sensor registered as the sensor currently being used by the user is removed comprises, when a sensor different from the sensor registered as the sensor currently being used is newly registered to be used, determining that the sensor registered as the sensor currently being used is removed.
Dependent claim 7 recites wherein the determining of whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period comprises: determining whether a last sensor is being currently used among the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on use history of the one or more sensors possessed by the user; when it is determined that the last sensor is being currently used among the one or more sensors possessed by the user, determining a remaining usage period of the last sensor; and determining whether the remaining usage period of the last sensor has reached the order guidance period.
Dependent claim 8 recites additionally registering a new sensor during use of the one or more sensors; and when the new sensor is additionally registered, changing information of the one or more sensors possessed by the user, wherein whether the last sensor is being currently used among the one or more sensors possessed by the user is determined based on the use history of the one or more sensors possessed by the user.
Dependent claim 9 recites wherein the one or more sensors are one or more sensors for continuous measurement of blood glucose.
Dependent claim 10 recites one or more sensors are provided to be packaged in a box, a code corresponding to each of the packaged one or more sensors is disposed on or in the box, a sensor identifier of each of the one or more sensors is acquired from the code, and the packaged one or more sensors are registered as the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on the acquired sensor identifier.
Dependent claim 11 recites a code having a sensor identifier is disposed on each of one or more sensors, the sensor identifier is acquired from the code, the one or more sensors are registered as the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on the acquired sensor identifier.
Dependent claim 12 recites providing a list of the one or more sensors possessed by the user to the user in response to a request of the user; and when a deletion request for selecting a sensor which the user requests to delete from the list is input, updating the list by deleting the selected sensor from the list, whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user has reached the order guidance period is determined based on the updated list.
Each of these steps of the preceding dependent claims 2-12 only serve to further limit or specify the features of independent claims 1 accordingly, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as the independent claim and utilize the additional elements analyzed below in the expected manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (AU 2019220109 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1
Park teaches a method of guiding a use period of a sensor, the method comprising:
determining one or more sensors possessed by a user; ([Para. 0020] initializing and registering the sensor module of the continuous biometric information measuring device by receiving first sensor usage information stored in the sensor module of
the continuous biometric information measuring device)
determining whether a remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached an order guidance period; ([Para. 0023] Receiving the identifier, the
manufacturing date, or the production lot stored in the sensor module of the continuous biometric information measuring device from the continuous biometric information measuring device; determining whether or not the sensor module has validity of
use in accordance with the manufacturing date or production lot information of the sensor module. [Para. 0024] the determining of the validity of use of the sensor module may include: determining an expiration period of the sensor module from the identifier or the manufacturing date of the sensor module and determining whether or not the
expiration period of the sensor module has expired by comparing the expiration period of the sensor module with a current date)
and when the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period, providing an order guidance message to the user, wherein the one or more sensors are continuously usable for a set use period. ([Para. 0106] The calculated remaining use period is compared with a set threshold expiration period S250, and when the remaining use period is less than the threshold expiration period, a
replacement message is generated and the generated replacement message is activated and output through the display of the user terminal. [Para. 0024] the determining of the validity of use of the sensor module may include: determining an expiration period of the sensor module from the identifier or the manufacturing date
of the sensor module and determining whether or not the expiration period of the sensor module has expired by comparing the expiration period of the sensor module with a current date.)
REGARDING CLAIM 2
Park teaches the method of guiding the use period of the sensor according to claim 1, Park further teaches wherein the determining of whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user has reached the order guidance period comprises:
calculating a total usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on a usage period of each sensor possessed by the user and a number of the one or more sensors possessed by the user; ([Para. 0088] A remaining use
period calculator 157 calculates remaining use period of the sensor module from usage-start time of the sensor module, actual usage time of the sensor module until the remaining use period confirmation command is input, and the expiration date of the sensor module, and activates and outputs the calculated remaining use period information to the user terminal.)
and determining whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user has reached the order guidance period based on the total usage period. ([Para. 0034] determine the remaining use period of the sensor module on the
basis of the sensor usage information received from the continuous biometric information measuring device, thereby informing the user of the replacement time of the sensor module according to the remaining use period.)
REGARDING CLAIM 3
Park teaches the method of guiding the use period of the sensor according to claim 2, Park further teaches wherein:
the determining of whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period further comprises determining whether one of the one or more sensors possessed by the user is used, ([Para. 0030] When a remaining use period confirmation command is input, calculating a remaining use period in accordance with an actual usage period and the usage period of the sensor module, the actual usage period extending from the use-start time to a time at which the remaining use period confirmation command is input, and outputting information on the remaining use period to the user.)
and the total usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user is calculated based on the usage period of each sensor possessed by the user and the number of the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on a time point when the user uses the one of the one or more sensors. ([Para. 0105] the actual usage period of the sensor module is calculated from the input time of the user command for
requesting the remaining use period and the use-start time of the sensor module (i.e. usage period of each sensor possessed by the user).)
REGARDING CLAIM 7
Park teaches the method of guiding the use period of the sensor according to claim 1, Park further teaches wherein the determining of whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period comprises:
determining whether a last sensor is being currently used among the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on use history of the one or more sensors possessed by the user; ([Para. 0012] The continuous blood glucose meter includes a
sensor module that periodically measures the user's blood glucose from a user's body fluid.)
when it is determined that the last sensor is being currently used among the one or more sensors possessed by the user, determining a remaining usage period of the last sensor; ([Para. 0018] provide a biometric information management method capable of determining the remaining use period of a sensor module on the basis of sensor usage information received from a continuous biometric information measuring device to inform the user of the replacement timing of the sensor module according to the
remaining use period.)
and determining whether the remaining usage period of the last sensor has reached the order guidance period.([Para. 0030] When a remaining use period confirmation command is input, calculating a remaining use period in accordance with an actual usage period and the usage period of the sensor module, the actual usage period extending from the use-start time to a time at which the remaining use period confirmation command is input, and outputting information on the remaining use period to the user. [Para. 0107] when the remaining use period exceeds the threshold period, a guide message having a remaining use period is generated and the generated guide message is activated and output to the display of the user terminal)
REGARDING CLAIM 9
Park teaches the method of guiding the use period of the sensor according to claim 1, Park further teaches wherein the one or more sensors are one or more sensors for continuous measurement of blood glucose. ([Para. 0050] a continuous biometric information measuring device 100 is attached to the skin of the user 1. The continuous biometric information measuring device 100 periodically extracts the body fluid of the user 1 to measure the user's biometric information, for example, blood glucose, using the extracted body fluid. [Para. 0063] The sensor module 110 measures the blood glucose concentration using the body fluid. The blood glucose concentration may be measured using various types of sensors, such as a measuring sensor used in a conventional blood collection-type blood glucose meter.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (AU 2019220109 A1) in view of Cox (US 20200185107 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 8
Park teaches the method of guiding the use period of the sensor according to claim 7, however Cox teaches further comprising:
additionally registering a new sensor during use of the one or more sensors; ([Para. 0027] generating a further instruction for activating the second sensor with the processor arrangement and transmitting the further instruction to the second sensor)
and when the new sensor is additionally registered, changing information of the one or more sensors possessed by the user, ([Para. 0028] Additional sensors may be only activated when the patient's physical condition is suspected to be in flux, e.g. in order to more accurately monitor changes to this physical condition by monitoring more operating parameters pertaining to this physical condition, which again provides a particularly energy-efficient implementation of the sensor arrangement monitoring respective physiological parameters of the patient.)
wherein whether the last sensor is being currently used among the one or more sensors possessed by the user is determined based on the use history of the one or more sensors possessed by the user. ([Para. 0015] the one or more sensors monitoring the patient may be operated in an energy saving mode as long as the patient's physical condition is stable, and may be switched to a more energy consuming mode, e.g. a higher sampling frequency, when the simulation indicates that the equilibrium of the patient's physical condition is likely to be disturbed and a closer monitoring of the patient becomes desirable.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of managing biometric information using sensor usage information as taught by Park and incorporate altering a mode of operation of at least one sensor of the one or more sensors in response to said evaluation or in response to a user request as taught by Cox, with the motivation of monitoring patient status changes (Cox Para. 0008).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (AU 2019220109 A1) in view of Scott (US 20210267500 A1) in view of DeBusk (US 20160110780 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 10
Park teaches the method of guiding the use period of the sensor according to claim 1, however Scott teaches wherein:
one or more sensors are provided to be packaged in a box, ([Para. 0356] The devices can be distributed to the users in the form of a kit or package (i.e. box) that can include one or more sensors.)
a code corresponding to each of the packaged one or more sensors is disposed on or in the box, ([Para. 0290] As with factory-calibrated in vivo sensors, the calibration code is determined for a production lot of in vitro sensors (or multiple production lots) and each in vitro sensor within the production lot is assigned the same calibration code. [Para. 0358] Groups having the same calibration code can be packaged and sold as one unit [Para. 0360] The calibration information can be provided to a processing device 2949 in the field that is being used to process biochemical data collected by the individual medical device after its distribution. For example, a reader device, a meter, or other processing device can obtain the identifier of the individual medical device. The identifier can be obtained directly from its packaging (i.e. box) and inputting it into the processing device 2949.)
a sensor identifier of each of the one or more sensors is acquired from the code, ([Para. 0351] The identifier can be in the form of a barcode, printed QR code, optical character recognizable (OCR) text such as an alphanumeric string, a resistive code, a radio frequency (RF) readable device (e.g., an RFID element or a Near Field Communication (NFC) element), or the like. The identifier (or a second identifier) can also identify the production lot with which the medical device is associated.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of managing biometric information using sensor usage information as taught by Park and incorporate determining or utilizing calibration information specific to individual medical devices as taught by Scott, with the motivation of improving the performance of manufactured biochemical sensors (Scott Para. 0006).
Park/ Scott do not explicitly teach, however DeBusk teaches
and the packaged one or more sensors are registered as the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on the acquired sensor identifier. ([Para. 0039] Each item (i.e. medical item) is marked with a distinctive identifier, such as a bar code, QR code, or other symbol, that uniquely identifies the item. [Para. 0072] the treatment protocol application 33 generates and sends item dispensing information, which may include product codes and quantities for the items to be dispensed, a patient identifier, and a billing code to the inventory client application 20 (step 186). Based on the item dispensing information, the inventory client application 20 displays information on the display device 19 indicating the item to be dispensed, the bin, shelf or drawer where the item may be found in the inventory space, and patient identification information (step 188). [Para. 0079] One or more RFID sensors 24 are disposed in the discharge closet.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of managing biometric information using sensor usage information as taught by Park, determining or utilizing calibration information specific to individual medical devices as taught by Scott, and incorporate inventory management system as taught by DeBusk, with the motivation of managing inventories of medical supply items (DeBusk Para. 0002).
REGARDING CLAIM 11
Park teaches the method of guiding the use period of the sensor according to claim 1, however Scott teaches wherein:
a code having a sensor identifier is disposed on each of one or more sensors, ([Para. 0290] As with factory-calibrated in vivo sensors, the calibration code is determined for a production lot of in vitro sensors (or multiple production lots) and each in vitro sensor within the production lot is assigned the same calibration code. [Para. 0358] Groups having the same calibration code can be packaged and sold as one unit [Para. 0360] The calibration information can be provided to a processing device 2949 in the field that is being used to process biochemical data collected by the individual medical device after its distribution. For example, a reader device, a meter, or other processing device can obtain the identifier of the individual medical device. The identifier can be obtained directly from its packaging (i.e. box) and inputting it into the processing device 2949.)
the sensor identifier is acquired from the code, ([Para. 0351] The identifier can be in the form of a barcode, printed QR code, optical character recognizable (OCR) text such as an alphanumeric string, a resistive code, a radio frequency (RF) readable device (e.g., an RFID element or a Near Field Communication (NFC) element), or the like. The identifier (or a second identifier) can also identify the production lot with which the medical device is associated.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of managing biometric information using sensor usage information as taught by Park and incorporate determining or utilizing calibration information specific to individual medical devices as taught by Scott, with the motivation of improving the performance of manufactured biochemical sensors (Scott Para. 0006).
Park/ Scott do not explicitly teach, however DeBusk teaches
the one or more sensors are registered as the one or more sensors possessed
by the user based on the acquired sensor identifier. ([Para. 0039] Each item (i.e. medical item) is marked with a distinctive identifier, such as a bar code, QR code, or other symbol, that uniquely identifies the item. [Para. 0072] the treatment protocol application 33 generates and sends item dispensing information, which may include product codes and quantities for the items to be dispensed, a patient identifier, and a billing code to the inventory client application 20 (step 186). Based on the item dispensing information, the inventory client application 20 displays information on the display device 19 indicating the item to be dispensed, the bin, shelf or drawer where the item may be found in the inventory space, and patient identification information (step 188). [Para. 0079] One or more RFID sensors 24 are disposed in the discharge closet.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of managing biometric information using sensor usage information as taught by Park, determining or utilizing calibration information specific to individual medical devices as taught by Scott, and incorporate inventory management system as taught by DeBusk, with the motivation of managing inventories of medical supply items (DeBusk Para. 0002).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (AU 2019220109 A1) in view of Mears (US 8929823 B2).
REGARDING CLAIM 12
Park teaches the method of guiding the use period of the sensor according to claim 1, however Mears teaches further comprising:
providing a list of the one or more sensors possessed by the user to the user in response to a request of the user; ([Col. 15 Lines 8-12] Referring to FIG. 12A, an exemplary manage-current-pairings screen 1200 of the diabetes manager 104 is illustrated. The diabetes manager 104 shall display all devices at the top of the list followed by PCs and managers on the manage-current-pairings screen 1200.)
and when a deletion request for selecting a sensor which the user requests to delete from the list is input, updating the list by deleting the selected sensor from the list, ([Col. 9 Lines 33-42] An exemplary communication screen 600 of the diabetes manager 104 is illustrated. Pressing (or touching) the communication button 512 of the home screen 500 displays the communication screen 600. The communication screen 600 may include various buttons (mechanical or touch buttons) that can be activated by touch or stylus or other selector device to display a corresponding detailed screen. The communication screen 600 may include a connect-to-PC button 604, a set-up-new-pairing button 608, a manage-current-pairings button (i.e. list of connected devices) 612. [Col. 11, Lines 18-24] he diabetes manager 104 can terminate the existing data connection as indicated at 824. In some embodiments, a further determination may be made as to the type of device the existing data connection pertains to. The diabetes manager 104 may elect to terminate the existing data connection depending on the device type. [Col 15, Lines 41-43] Pressing the yes button of the confirm-delete screen deletes the selected paired device, updates a list of paired devices, and displays the manage-current-pairings screen 1200.)
whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user has reached the order guidance period is determined based on the updated list. ([Col. 19, Lines 34-41] FIG. 25 illustrates an exemplary meter-information screen 2500 of the diabetes manager 104. With reference to FIGS. 24A, 24B, 24C, and 25, pressing (or touching) the meter-information button 2404 of the about screen 2400 displays the meter-information screen 2500. The meter-information screen 2500 may include various pieces of information, such as a meter serial number, a selected language, or battery information.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of managing biometric information using sensor usage information as taught by Park and a handheld diabetes manager as taught by Brewer, with the motivation of helping to manage diabetes (Col. 2, Lines 15-16).
Subject Matter Free of the Prior Art
The following is an examiner’s statement of subject matter free of the prior art:
The ordered limitation in Claim 4 stating: “and re-calculating the total usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on the usage period of each sensor possessed by the user and the number of the one or more sensors possessed by the user, wherein the determining of whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period is performed based on the re-calculated total usage period of the one or more sensors” is free of the
prior art.
The most remarkable prior arts of record are as follows:
Park (AU 2019220109 A1) teaches determining the expiration date of continuous blood glucose measurement system and determining the calculation of a remaining usage period of the medical sensor.
Cox (US 20200185107 A1) teaches generating the activation of more than one sensor and transmitting instructions to active additional sensors.
Dilmaghani et al, Wireless Sensor Networks for Monitoring Physiological Signals of Multiple Patients, teaching the design of a novel wireless sensor network structure to monitor patients with chronic diseases in their own homes through a remote monitoring system of physiological signals.
While Park teaches determining the remaining usage period of a medical sensor and Cox teaches the activation of additional sensors, neither teaches, individually or in combination re-calculating the total usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user based on the usage period of each sensor possessed by the user and the number of the one or more sensors possessed by the user, wherein the determining of whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period is performed based on the re-calculated total usage period of the one or more sensors. Dilmaghani does not cure the deficiency. Therefore, Claim 4 is free of the prior art.
The following is an examiner’s statement of subject matter free of the prior art:
The ordered limitation in Claim 5 stating: “and when the remaining usage period of the sensor currently being used exists, re- calculating the total usage period of the one or more sensors by subtracting the remaining usage period of the sensor currently being used from the total usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user, whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period is determined based on the re-calculated total usage period of the one or more sensors” is free of the prior art.
The most remarkable prior arts of record are as follows:
Park (AU 2019220109 A1) teaches determining the expiration date of continuous blood glucose measurement system and determining the calculation of a remaining usage period of the medical sensor.
Cox (US 20200185107 A1) teaches generating the activation of more than one sensor and transmitting instructions to active additional sensors.
Dilmaghani et al, Wireless Sensor Networks for Monitoring Physiological Signals of Multiple Patients, teaching the design of a novel wireless sensor network structure to monitor patients with chronic diseases in their own homes through a remote monitoring system of physiological signals.
While Park teaches determining the remaining usage period of a medical sensor and Cox teaches the activation of additional sensors, neither teaches, individually or in combination, when the remaining usage period of the sensor currently being used exists, re- calculating the total usage period of the one or more sensors by subtracting the remaining usage period of the sensor currently being used from the total usage period of the one or more sensors possessed by the user, whether the remaining usage period of the one or more sensors has reached the order guidance period is determined based on the re-calculated total usage period of the one or more sensors. Dilmaghani does not cure the deficiency. Therefore, Claim 5 is free of the prior art. By virtue of dependency on Claim 5, Claim 6 is also free of the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Goldberg et al (US 20160042154 A1), which discloses the integrated modular health platform may include one or more sensors (120) configured to monitor a patient usage of a medical device (110).
Semen et al (US 11501868 B2), which discloses the medical device data is provided as an icon indicating compliance or non-compliance by the medical device user in connection with a predetermined set of usage criteria. Compliance is calculated based on usage data that is provided by the medical device.
Dilmaghani et al, Wireless Sensor Networks for Monitoring Physiological Signals of Multiple Patients, which discloses the design of a novel wireless sensor network structure to monitor patients with chronic diseases in their own homes through a remote monitoring system of physiological signals.
/P.K.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682