DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 09/04/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 and 6 have been amended. Claims 4, 9, 21, and 23-26 have been previously cancelled.
Thus, claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-20 & 22 are still pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 16-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tal et al (WO 2019087191 A1) in view of Jalgaonkar et al (US 20190366036 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tal et al disclose an embolization microcatheter (700, fig 7A) comprising: an elongated tubular member (701) forming a lumen (opening of 701, see fig 7A), the elongated tubular member (701) and the lumen terminating with a distal end opening (780), wherein a wall (750) of the elongated tubular member comprises a braid (790), a polymer formed around the braid (abstract and page 18-lines 1-3) and an inner liner coating an inner surface of the wall (page 33, lines 1-3 and page 36-para 5); wherein the wall of the part of the elongated tubular member extending between a proximal radiopaque marker (760) and the distal end opening (780) has a thickness of less than or equal to 130 microns (see page 20, para 4: the diameter of the opening at the outer surface of the microcatheter is about 20-40 microns larger, e.g. 30 microns larger than the diameter of the opening at the inner surface of the microcatheter, thus the thickness is about 20-40 microns which is less than 130 microns); and a distal radiopaque (762) marker located in proximity to the distal end opening (see fig 7B); and a filter (720) formed in the wall of the elongated tubular member (fig 7B), the filter comprising two or more filter segments (7B-D, 724, 726), each filter segment comprising a plurality of side openings (722) penetrating the wall (page 25, para 3), the plurality of side openings distributed circumferentially around the elongated tubular member (fig 7B, page 26, para 2), the plurality of side openings of a first filter segment (724) circumferentially shifted relative to the plurality of side openings of a neighboring filter segment (726, page 27, lines 1-2, the distribution of the slits may be staggered or zig-zagged meaning arranging an alternating, offset, or non-uniform pattern, rather than all at once or in a straight line and fig 7B).
Tal et al fail to explicitly teach the part of elongated tubular member extending between a proximal end of the distal radiopaque marker and the distal end opening is devoid of the inner liner coating the inner surface of the wall;
Jalgaonkar et al disclose a catheter (10 in figure 1) comprising an elongated tubular member (20), a liner (28) and a distal end opening (34) wherein part of elongated tubular member extending between a proximal end of a distal radiopaque marker (40) and the distal end opening is devoid of the inner liner coating the inner surface of the wall of the elongated tubular member (para 0072 and 0095 and fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the microcatheter of Tal et al and incorporate the teachings of Jalgaonkar et al to have the part of elongated tubular member extending between the proximal end of the distal radiopaque marker and the distal end opening be devoid of the inner liner coating the inner surface of the wall. This would provide the benefit of having a tip that is softer than the material from which inner liner is formed and said tip may include a preferential bending location proximal of a distal marker band. The preferential bending location also may facilitate guiding the catheter through vasculature of a patient and make the catheter less traumatic upon contacting tissue of the patient (para 0097-98).
Regarding claim 2, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1,
Tal et al further disclose wherein an outer diameter of the elongated tubular member is less than or equal to 1.5 mm (page 10, para 4-lines 7-8, and page 11-lines 14-15) and an inner diameter of the elongated tubular member is 700 microns or more (see claim 13).
Regarding claim 3, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1,
Tal et al further disclose wherein the thickness of the distal end of the wall is less than or equal to 120 microns (see page 20, para 4: the diameter of the opening at the outer surface of the microcatheter is about 20-40 microns larger, e.g. 30 microns larger than the diameter of the opening at the inner surface of the microcatheter, thus the thickness is about 20-40 microns which is less than 120 microns).
Regarding claim 5, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1,
Tal et al disclose wherein a proximal most of the filter segments comprises fewer side openings than at least two rings distal thereto (see fig 7D, there are fewer side openings in proximal most of the filter segment than rings of filer segment 726).
Regarding claim 6, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1,
Tal et al disclose wherein a distal most of the filter segment is positioned 2-4 mm proximally to the distal end opening (page 27, para 3, lines 9-10: the distal most of circumferential sections 724 is located approximately 3.5 mm proximal to distal end opening 780).
Regarding claim 16, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1,
Tal et al disclose wherein the braid (790) is made of tungsten (page 19, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1,
Tal et al disclose wherein the inner liner comprises Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (page 33, lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 18, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1,
Tal et al further disclose wherein a radiopaque marker comprises a metal marker band (page 15, lines 6-7).
Regarding claim 19, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1,
Tal et al further disclose wherein a radiopaque marker is located 0.5-2 mm proximally to the distal end opening (page 25, lines 5-6, 1 mm is within 0.5-2 mm).
Regarding claim 20, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1, being suitable for delivery of embolization beads having a particle size of about 900 microns (page 35, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 22, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al disclose a method for delivering embolization beads, the method comprising: delivering the embolization microcatheter of claim 1 to a target location via a delivery catheter (page 11); and injecting beads through the microcatheter (page 33, para 3).
Claims 7, 8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tal et al (WO 2019087191 A1) in view of Jalgaonkar et al (US 20190366036 A1) and further in view of Periakaruppan et al (US 20040006318 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al disclose the limitations of claims 1 but fail to expressly teach wherein side openings of the distal most filter segment are essentially square shaped.
However, Periakaruppan et al disclose a catheter (102) comprising a side opening (100) which is essentially square shaped (see fig 10 and para 0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the side opening of Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and incorporate the teachings of Periakaruppan et al to have the distal most filter segment essentially square shaped as alternative design side opening to filter substance though lumen of said microcatheter (see para 0038).
Regarding claim 8, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al fail to expressly disclose the essentially square shaped side openings have a dimension of 50x50 microns.
However, Tal et al disclose any other dimensions or geometries of slit 122 may be adjusted according to the size of the beads used (page 16, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the microcatheter of Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al to have the essentially square shaped side openings have a dimension of 50x50 microns since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the microcatheter of Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al would not operate differently with the claimed dimension. Further, applicant places no criticality on the dimension claimed, indicating simply that the essentially square shaped side openings have a dimension of 50x50 microns (specification pp. [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 7,
Tal et al disclose wherein the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments are in a form of axial slits (see figs 7A-D, and page 15, para 3).
Regarding claim 11, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 10, wherein the length of the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments varies between the side openings (page 15 and 16) but fail to teach the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have a width of 20 microns.
However, Tal et al disclose the width of slits may be approximately 50 microns (page 16, lines 7-8, claims 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the microcatheter of Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al by making the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have a width of 20 microns as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 12, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al disclose the embolization microcatheter according to claim 11,
Tal et al disclose wherein the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have a length of at least 200 microns (page 16, lines 7-8, length may be approximately 320 microns which is at least 200 microns).
Regarding claim 13, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al fail to explicitly teach wherein at least some of the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have dimension of 2700x20 microns.
However, Tal et al disclose any other dimensions or geometries of slit 122 may be adjusted according to the size of the beads used (page 16, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the microcatheter of Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al to have at least some of the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have dimension of 2700x20 microns since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the microcatheter of Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al would not operate differently with the claimed dimension. Further, applicant places no criticality on the dimension claimed, indicating simply that the at least some of the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have dimension of 2700x20 microns (specification pp. [0023]).
Regarding claim 14, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al fail to explicitly teach at least some of the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have a dimension of 1350x20 microns.
However, Tal et al disclose any other dimensions or geometries of slit 122 may be adjusted according to the size of the beads used (page 16, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the microcatheter of Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al to have at least some of the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have dimension of 1350x20 microns since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the microcatheter of Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al would not operate differently with the claimed dimension. Further, applicant places no criticality on the dimension claimed, indicating simply that the at least some of the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have dimension of 1350x20 microns (specification pp. [0023]).
Regarding claim 15, Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al fail to explicitly teach at least some of the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have a dimension of 300x20 microns.
However, Tal et al disclose any other dimensions or geometries of slit 122 may be adjusted according to the size of the beads used (page 16, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the microcatheter of Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al to have at least some of the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have dimension of 300x20 microns since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the microcatheter of Tal et al in view of Jalgaonkar et al and Periakaruppan et al would not operate differently with the claimed dimension. Further, applicant places no criticality on the dimension claimed, indicating simply that the at least some of the side openings of the remainder of the at least two filter segments have dimension of 300x20 microns (specification pp. [0023]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-20 & 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FATIMATA SAHRA DIOP/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783