DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, 12, 14- 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewitt et al. (US Patent 7507229 hereinafter “Hewitt”) in view of Tal (WO 2019087191) and Azam et al. (US Patent 5860963 hereinafter “Azam”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hewitt teaches (Figs 2 and 6-9) an embolization microcatheter for embolization of peripheral arteries comprising:
an elongated tubular member comprising a multiplicity of sections (Figs 6-8), the multiplicity of sections forming a distal end (Annotated Fig 9), an intermediate section (see annotated Fig 9, inetermediate section is between distal end and the proximal end 40), and a proximal end (41), the distal end extending from a proximal marker (51) to a distal end opening (Annotated Fig 9), the distal end having an outer diameter of about 0.7 mm or less (Col 7 lines 57-59 teaches "the final outside diameter of the finished catheter was 1.7 F (0.57 mm--0.023'') at the distal end"),
each other section of the multiplicity of sections having a length of 5 mm -120 mm (See Fig 8; and table in Col 5), wherein a wall of each of the multiplicity of sections comprises a braid (Fig 4 and 6, braid 20), a polymer (30) formed around the braid (20) and an inner liner (10) coating an inner surface thereof;
wherein the polymer hardness decreases in each inner section towards the distal end (See Col 5 table teaching sections with different durometers; also see Col 5 lines 12-14 teaching “These sections vary in durometer of their polymers, wherein the proximal durometers are higher than the more distal durometers”) and
a distal tip (Annotated Fig 9) extending between a proximal end of a distal radiopaque marker (50) of the elongated tubular member and a distal end opening of the elongated tubular member;
wherein the wall of the distal tip is devoid of braid (see Figs 1-2, 4 and 9 the braid does not extend to the distal tip, only until distal band 50).
Annotated Fig 9 (Hewitt)
Hewitt does not specify a distal most section of the multiplicity of sections having a length of 5-15 mm, and the distal tip having a minimum a length greater than 1mm and a maximum length of 3mm.
Tal teaches an embolization microcatheter wherein a distal tip (section from marker 762 to the distal end opening 780) having a length of 1 mm (see Pg. 25 lines 4-6; since the instant application is defining the distal tip as the section from the distal marker to the distal end, the examiner is using the same interpretation here for Tal). Tal also teaches (Pg. 11, 2nd paragraph) that there are multiplicity of sections 110, 120 and distal most section 130. Tal teaches (Pg. 12 last paragraph) that the distal most section 130 has a length in the range of 2-15mm, 3-12mm 5-10mm or any suitable length within the range of 2-20mm (this includes the claimed range of 5-15mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wall thickness and length of the distal tip, and the length of the distal most section of the multiplicity of sections of Hewitt such that a distal most section of the multiplicity of sections having a length of 5-15 mm, and a thickness of the wall is less than 100 microns and having the distal marking be positioned 1mm from the distal end as taught by Tal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to improve flexural rigidity of the device (See Tal Pg. 14 lines 23-26). Furthermore, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Hewitt does not specify a filter formed in an at least one section of the multiplicity of sections, the filter comprising of a multiplicity of side openings and a plurality of sub-side openings, the multiplicity of side openings extending through the polymer formed around the braid and the inner liner, the plurality of sub-side openings extending only through the polymer formed around the braid, the multiplicity of side openings distributed in at least 5 circumferential rings spaced apart from each other by 100 microns -200 microns.
Tal teaches (Fig 1) a filter (120) formed in the wall of the elongate tubular member, the filter comprising a plurality of side openings (122) , the plurality of side openings distributed in at least 5 circumferential rings (see Pg. 17 lines 6-10 "According to some embodiments, the fluid-barrier forming section 120 may include 5-8 spaced apart circumferential sections, each section including 5-8 axial slits (e.g. 6 slits in each circumferential section)") spaced apart from each other by 200 microns (Pg. 17 lines 8-9 and 17 teach spaced apart by 0.2 mm). Tal also teaches in Fig 4 how the slits are formed over the braid/coil, forming sub-side openings (See annotated Fig 4, the sub-side openings are similar to the sub-side opening 225a shown in instant application fig 2d and explained in instant application [0086]).
Annotated Fig 4 (Tal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tubular member of Hewitt such that it a filter formed in an at least one section of the multiplicity of sections, the filter comprising of a multiplicity of side openings and a plurality of sub-side openings, the multiplicity of side openings extending through the polymer formed around the braid and the inner liner, the plurality of sub-side openings extending only through the polymer formed around the braid, the multiplicity of side openings distributed in at least 5 circumferential rings spaced apart from each other by 100 microns -200 microns as taught by Tal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow lateral outflow of a suspension fluid while blocking passage of beads/particles (i.e. embolization particles) flowing therein (Tal. Pg. 11 last paragraph).
The combination does not specify the filter having three separate sections, a most distal filter section positioned 5 mm from the distal end opening.
However, Tal does teach in Pg 26 line 1 – Pg. 28 line 3 that the barrier forming section (the filter) may be varied by having multiple sections (2, 3, 4 sections), or by having varying number of axial slits in each row, or in each circumferential section all based on the desired outflow. Tal also teaches various designs of the barrier forming section for the different embodiments. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Hewitt and Tal device to have “the filter having three separate sections, a most distal filter section positioned 5 mm from the distal end opening”, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hewitt and Tal by making the “the filter having three separate sections, a most distal filter section positioned 5 mm from the distal end opening” as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
The combination does not specify the distal tip having a minimum length greater than 1 mm and a maximum length of 3 mm.
Azam teaches (col 4 lines 10-12) a catheter with a distal tip (30) having a length between about 0.060 inches (0.15cm) to about 0.20inches (0.51cm) (this is about 1.5mm-5.1mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal tip of Hewitt to be a minimum length greater than 1 mm and a maximum length of 3 mm as taught by Azam. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as this is a known length used for a distal tip of a catheter (Col 4 lines 10-12). Furthermore, the instant disclosure describes the parameter of “having a minimum length greater than 1 mm and a maximum length of 3 mm” as being merely preferable, and does not describe the parameter as contributing any unexpected results to the system (instant PG Pub [0011] only recites that the distal tip has a length of 0.5mm-3mm without providing any unexpected results). As such, parameters such as “having a minimum length greater than 1 mm and a maximum length of 3 mm” are considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of “having a minimum length greater than 1 mm and a maximum length of 3 mm” would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application.
The combination does not specify wherein a thickness of the wall is less than 100 microns, and the inner liner coating the inner surface of the wall having a thickness between 5 microns and 15 microns. The instant disclosure describes the parameters of “a thickness of the wall is less than 100 microns, and the inner liner coating the inner surface of the wall having a thickness between 5 microns and 15 microns” as being merely preferable, and does not describe the parameter as contributing any unexpected results to the system. As such, parameters such as “a thickness of the wall is less than 100 microns, and the inner liner coating the inner surface of the wall having a thickness between 5 microns and 15 microns” are considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of “a thickness of the wall is less than 100 microns, and the inner liner coating the inner surface of the wall having a thickness between 5 microns and 15 microns” would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1, wherein an inner lumen of the distal end is in a range of 0.3 mm - 0.7 mm (Hewitt Col 3 lines 28-30 teaches inner lumen dimeter of 0.008 inches to - 0.03 inches, which is equivalent to 0.20 mm - 0.76mm).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1, wherein an inner lumen of the distal tip is below 0.5 mm (Hewitt Col 3 lines 28-30 teaches inner lumen dimeter of 0.008 inches to -0.03 inches, which is equivalent to 0.20 mm - 0.76mm).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1. The combination does not specify wherein the thickness of the is less than 90 microns. The instant disclosure describes the parameter of “wherein the thickness of the is less than 90 microns” as being merely preferable, and does not describe the parameter as contributing any unexpected results to the system. As such, parameters such as “wherein the thickness of the is less than 90 microns” are considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the limitation of “wherein the thickness of the is less than 90 microns” would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Hewitt teaches (Col 4 lines 6-7) the braid material 20 may be formed of a metallic thread, such as Nitinol, stainless steel, or other metal. Hewitt does not specify wherein the braid is made of tungsten wires.
Tal teaches (Pg. 19 first paragraph) a braided coil that could be made from tungsten or Nitinol wires.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the braid of Hewitt such that it is made of tungsten wires as taught by Tal. It has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose of stronger support in the catheter and prevent kinking (see MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1, wherein the braid is made of wires having a diameter of 15-20 microns (Hewitt Col 4 lines 31-34 teaches an example of a wire diameter including 0.0007 inches, which is 17.78 microns).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1, wherein the braid has a picks per inch (PPI) of 150-220 (See Hewitt Col 4 lines 18 - 19 teaching "the distal end pic rate is preferably greater than 80 ppi.").
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1, wherein the multiplicity of sections comprises at least 5 sections (See Hewitt Fig 8, there are at least five sections; also see Hewitt Col 5 lines 10-12 teaching "the outer jacket 30 includes at least two and preferably 5-10 segments").
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 9, wherein the multiplicity of sections comprises at least 9 sections (see Hewitt Col 5 lines 10-12 teaching "the outer jacket 30 includes at least two and preferably 5-10 segments").
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Hewitt does not specify the embolization microcatheter wherein the distal radiopaque marker comprises a metal marker band.
Tal teaches (Pg. 15 lines 6-7) a distal marker (114) that is metallic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal marker of Hewitt such that it is a metallic marker as taught by Tal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow the catheter to withstand forces of at least 5N and serve distinct indications of the proximal and distal ends with the difference in radio-opaqueness (See Tal Pg. 15 lines 12-16). Furthermore, it has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose of providing indications of the section of the catheter that is marked (see MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of openings (Tal 122) is in the form of axial slits (See Tal Pg. 15 lines 18-19 "Fluid-barrier forming section 120 includes a plurality of axial slits 122").
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 14, wherein the axial slits (122) have a length of about 100-150 microns (Tal Pg. 19 third paragraph teaches "According to some embodiments, each of the axial slits may have a length within the range of 50-400 microns") and a height of about 20-40 microns (See Tal Pg. 20 teaches second paragraph "According to some embodiments, the width of each of the plurality of axial slits at the inner surface of the microcatheter may be in the range of 10-80 microns, in the range of 10-25 microns, in the range of 15-20 microns, in the range of 20-70 microns, in the range of 30-60 microns, in the range of 40-60 microns or any other suitable range within the range of 10-80 microns.).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1, wherein a distal most of the circumferential rings of the distal most filter section is positioned about 2-6 mm proximally to the distal end opening (See Tal Pg. 27 line 25-26 teaching "The distal most of circumferential sections 724 is located approximately 3.5 mm proximal to distal end opening 780 (L2)", and Pg. 32 lines 19-20 teaching "The distal most circumferential section is located approximately 2.9 mm proximal to distal end opening 980 (L2).") .
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of side opening is distributed in at least 8 circumferential rings (See Tal Pg. 17 lines 6-10 "According to some embodiments, the fluid-barrier forming section 120 may include 5-8 spaced apart circumferential sections, each section including 5-8 axial slits (e.g. 6 slits in each circumferential section)").
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1, wherein each of the circumferential rings comprises 4-8 axial slits (See Tal Pg. 17 lines 6-10 "According to some embodiments, the fluid-barrier forming section 120 may include 5-8 spaced apart circumferential sections, each section including 5-8 axial slits (e.g. 6 slits in each circumferential section)").
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 1, wherein a proximal most circumferential ring of the at least 5 circumferential rings comprise fewer side openings than rings distal thereto (See Tal Pg. 26 second paragraph teaching “According to some embodiments, the number of axial slits in the row may be different. As a non-limiting example, some (e.g. 4) rows may include 6 axial slits, while others (e.g. 1) may include 3 axial slits.” This is interpreted as reading on the instant claim as the distal four rows ( “circumferential rings”) would include 6 slits each, while the proximal most one row ( “circumferential ring”) would include only 3 slits, resulting in the proximal ring having fewer side openings than the rings distal).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 19, wherein the side openings, of the proximal most circumferential section, is circumferentially shifted relative to the side openings in its neighboring circumferential section (See Tal Pg. 27 lines 1-2, which state the slits may be staggered, zigzagged or any uneven distribution; this is interpreted as resulting in a circumferentially shifted set of side openings).
Regarding Claim 40, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches the embolization microcatheter according to claim 8, wherein the braid at the distal tip is 200 PPI (See Hewitt Col 4 lines 18 - 19 teaching "the distal end pic rate is preferably greater than 80 ppi."; 200 PPI is greater than 80 ppi therefore Hewitt anticipates this limitation).
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewitt, Tal and Azam as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Yao et al. (US 20160074621 hereinafter “Yao”).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Hewitt, Tal and Azam teaches all elements of claim 40 as described above. The combination does not specify the embolization microcatheter wherein the braid at the distal tip includes a transition zone wherein the PPI of the braid transitions from 200 PPI to 160 PPI distal to the distal tip.
Yao teaches (Fig 1c) a microcatheter with a braid (28) that has a pitch that may be adjusted between 100-200 PPI in the distal end based on the desired strength.
As seen in Yao, the PPI of a braid can be varied to change the desired strength at the particular section of the catheter, and even transition the flexibility between the sections of the catheter. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Hewitt device to have “the braid at the distal tip includes a transition zone wherein the PPI of the braid transitions from 200 PPI to 160 PPI distal to the distal tip”, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hewitt by making the “the braid at the distal tip includes a transition zone wherein the PPI of the braid transitions from 200 PPI to 160 PPI distal to the distal tip” as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection takes into consideration the amendments filed 9/17/2026.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
O’Day (US Patent Pub. 20130138077) teaches a difference in density between the slits on a proximal side compared to the distal side of a catheter.
Tal (US 20190217052) teaches a filter formed on a side wall comprising a plurality of slits.
Jin (EP 2450077) teaches a microcatheter with multiple sections.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEERAJA GOLLAMUDI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783