DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The applicants amended claim 1 to recite:
“without otherwise removing from the solution”.
The applicants that paragraphs [0006], [0009-11], [0018], [0023] and [0027] of the specification support the newly introduced limitations.
This is not persuasive.
None of the cited paragraphs support the negative limitation now recited by the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker (WO 2015/153,161, US 2017/0173206, citations by the US document) in view of Holland et al (US 5,129,999).
Tucker teaches a method.
The method comprises providing a lens cleaner (10) comprising a lens cleaning tank (20), and two probes/electrodes (Cd, Ad) arranged opposite to each other; adding a lens to be cleaned in the lens holder (90) and an electrolyte solution (S) in the tank and forming an anode and a cathode by application of electric power to the electrodes by an electric circuit (at least [0042], [0048]).
The method also comprises switching on a circuit to form a conductive loop and generating a current (at least [0040-48]).
Tucker teaches the use of solutions and exemplifies the use of solutions of NaCl.
Rehmeyer et al exemplifies the use of the saline solution (solution of NaCl) with the preferred concentration of 0.7-1.0%.
See at least Figures 2A-2C, and the related description and the description at Summary of the Invention, Detailed Description of Embodiments of the Invention.
Tucker teaches application of the method to the lenses as claimed (at least [0033]).
Thus, Tucker teaches a method as claimed except for the specific recitation of the concentration of NaCl of 0.9.
However, since Tucker teaches the use of the solution of NaCl of 0.7-1.0%, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum concentration of NaCl by routine experimentation.
It has been held that differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
The applicants have not demonstrated any unexpected results achieved by the use of the claimed concentration of NaCl.
Moreover, the NaCl solution with concentration 0.9% (saline solution) was known to be used in the art for disinfecting contact lenses, as evidenced by Holland et al (at least column 1, line 66 – column 2, line 8, column 2, lines 51-60, column 9, lines 53 – 57).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to use a known saline solution (0.9% NaCl) in the method of Tucker in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to the actions of the ions, formed compounds and contaminants recited by the claims:
Such is inherent in the method of Tucker.
Since modified Tucker teaches the use of a cleaner as claimed to clean the lenses as claimed, teaches the use of the solutions as claimed and teaches application of electric power as claimed, the results of the methods such as actions of ions, formed compounds and contaminants recited by the claims will be the same as claimed or the invention is not disclosed/claimed in the correspondence with the requirements of 35 USC 112.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants amended the claims and allege that the claims are allowable.
This is not persuasive for the reasons presented above.
The amended claims have been examined.
The claims are not supported by the original disclosure.
With respect to the art rejection the applicants argue that Tucker does not disclose cleaning tank having only two electrodes.
This is not persuasive at least because the claims are written using an open language comprising and thus are not limited to exclude providing any additional electrodes in the tank.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711