DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 13, 16, 20, 21, 23 and 25 in the reply filed on 23 January 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 16, the term “substantially” in the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Use of the term substantially renders indefinite the degree of copper oxide in the active layer.
As to claim 21, it is unclear as to how a single substrate can have an “average” surface area, a single component typically having a single surface area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 13, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Electro- and Photoreduction of Carbon Dioxide: The Twain Shall Meet at Copper Oxide/Copper Interfaces” to Janaky et al. (Janaky) in view of “Heterostructured Cu2O/CuO decorated with nickel as a highly efficient photocathode for photoelectrochemical water reduction” to Dubale et al. (Dubale).
As to claims 20, 13 and 16, Janaky teaches a nanostructured electrode, a photocathode, the nanostructured electrode formed by exposing a precursor electrode to a photoelectrochemical reaction, the precursor electrode comprising a copper foil substrate and a nanostructured copper oxide layer disposed on the copper foil substrate, the photoelectrochemical reaction forming an active layer on the copper oxide layer comprising metallic copper (Abstract; Page 334 Last Paragraph; Page 335; Figure 3). However, Janaky fails to further teach that the active layer/precursor electrode comprises nickel.
However, Dubale also discusses copper oxide electrodes and teaches that solar conversion efficiency of copper oxide photocathodes can be increased by surface decoration with metallic nickel (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to surface decorate the copper oxide precursor electrode of Janaky with nickel in order to increase the solar conversion efficiency as taught by Dubale. The combination thus forming, after photoelectrochemical reaction, an active outer surface on top of the copper oxide (thus not including the copper oxide) comprising metallic nickel and metallic copper.
As to claim 21, the combination of Janaky and Dubale teaches the electrode of claim 20. Janaky is silent as to a specific useful size of the electrode and corresponding copper foil substrate. However, Dubale further teaches a size of the photocathode, and corresponding substrate, of 1.5 cm x 3 cm or 4.5 cm2 (Section 2.1.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the substrate in the size of Dubale with the reasonable expectation of providing an effective photocathode.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Janaky and Dubale as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of “CO2 Reduction at Low Overpotential on Cu Electrodes Resulting from the Reduction of Thick Cu2O Films” to Li et al. (Li).
As to claim 23, the combination of Janaky and Dubale teaches the electrode of claim 20. However, Janaky is silent as to a specifically desired thickness of the copper oxide layer. However, Li also discusses copper oxide films on which copper is generated and teaches that effective electrode activity is generated at approximately 3 microns copper oxide layer thickness (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the copper oxide film of Janaky with a thickness of 3 microns with the expectation of having effective electrode activity as taught by Li.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Janaky and Dubale as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of US 2020/0141015 A1 to Dinh et al. (Dinh).
As to claim 25, the combination of Janaky and Dubale teaches the electrode of claim 20. However, the combination is silent as to the thickness of the nickel catalyst layer. However, Dinh also discusses catalysts layers for electrochemical carbon dioxide reduction and teaches that the catalyst layer should be balanced between thick for coverage and thin for diffusion and that an effective thickness is, for example, 100 nm (Paragraph 0026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the nickel catalyst layer of the combination with a thickness of 100 nm in order to balance the coverage and diffusion concerns as taught by Dinh.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794