DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (US 20190337086 A1), in view of Byun et al. (US 20110244309 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nishimura discloses
A dissimilar metal welded body (bimetal 1, fig.2) comprising:
a first member (high thermal expansion layer 2, fig.2);
a second member (low thermal expansion layer 3, fig.2);
a welded portion (clad material joined, Par.0018) formed by pressure-welding an end face of the first member and an end face of the second member to each other [Par.0018 cited: “…high thermal expansion layer 2 and the low thermal expansion layer 3 constitute a clad material joined through rolling, diffusion annealing, and the like…”]; and
a metal film (corrosion resistant plating layer 4, fig.2) that continuously covers an entire outer surface the first member (high thermal expansion layer 2), the welded portion (clad material joined, Par.0018), and at least a part of the second member (low thermal expansion layer 3),
However, Nishimura does not disclose a first member made of a metal containing aluminum as a main component; a second member made of a metal containing copper as a main component; and the metal film is a film made of a metal containing copper as a main component.
Byun discloses a first member (bus bar 33, fig.5) made of a metal containing aluminum as a main component; a second member (negative electrode rivet 13, fig.5) made of a metal containing copper (negative electrode rivet 13 is copper, fig.5) as a main component; and the metal film (rivet terminal 23, fig.5) is a film made of a metal containing copper as a main component [Par.0049 cited: “…rivet terminal 23 formed of a copper material and the bus bar 33 formed of an aluminum material …”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify dissimilar metal welded body of Nishimura, by including a first member made of a metal containing aluminum as a main component; a second member made of a metal containing copper as a main component; and the metal film is a film made of a metal containing copper as a main component, as taught by Byun, in order to improve a method for forming materials.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of Nishimura and Byun does not disclose the metal film has a thickness of 3 μm or less.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the metal film Nishimura, has a thickness of 3 μm or less, as it well known in the art of manufacturing design choice purpose, in order suitable for the user application.
Regarding claim 3, Byun discloses
one of the first member (bus bar 33, fig.5) and the second member (negative electrode rivet 13, fig.5) is an electroconductive component [bus bar 33, fig.5, is an electroconductive], and the other (negative electrode rivet 13) is a terminal, a wiring, or an electrode of the electroconductive component [negative electrode rivet 13, fig.5, is an electrode].
Regarding claim 4, Byun discloses
the first member (bus bar 33, fig.5) and the second member (negative electrode rivet 13, fig.5) are each any one among a coil, a terminal, and a busbar [bus bar 33, fig.5, is a busbar, and negative electrode rivet 13 is a terminal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify dissimilar metal welded body of Nishimura, by including a first member made of a metal containing aluminum as a main component; a second member made of a metal containing copper as a main component; and the metal film is a film made of a metal containing copper as a main component, as taught by Byun, in order to improve a method for forming materials.
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Nishimura and Byun does not disclose a resin film is provided on the metal film.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the metal film Nishimura, by including a resin film, as it well known in the art of manufacturing design choice purpose, in order to protect the metal film.
Regarding claim 14, Nishimura discloses
the metal film (corrosion resistant plating layer 4, fig.2) continuously covers a region that occupies substantially 100% of an entire outer surface of the first member (high thermal expansion layer 2, fig.2) and at least a part of the second member (low thermal expansion layer 3, fig.2).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura (US 20190337086 A1), in view of Byun et al. (US 20110244309 A1) and further in view of Tamura et al. (US 20090212896 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the modification of Nishimura and Byun discloses the first member and the second member, does not disclose the first member is a coil and second member is a terminal.
Tamura discloses a welded body (illustrates in fig.1) comprises a first member (coil assembly, fig.1) is a coil and a second member (terminal members 2, fig.1) is a terminal [Par.0005 cited: “…the electric wires or coil windings are made of aluminum, it is not infrequently required for those electric wires or coil windings to be electrically welded or soldered to existing electric terminal members or wires made of copper…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify replace a first member and a second member of Nishimura, by using a coil and a terminal, as taught by Tamura, in order to provide a welding process of coil and terminal.
Response to Amendment
With respect to Claim Objections and Rejection 112b: the amended claim filed on 05/27/2026, that overcame the Claim Objections and Rejection 112b.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as the following reasons:
The applicants argued: “…the cited references fail to disclose or suggest "the metal film is a film made of a metal containing copper as a main component" as claimed…”, in Remark Pages 6-8.
The examiner’s response: the applicant’s argument above is not persusasive because in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the secondary Byun reference is only used to disclose a metal which containing copper material, as cited in Par.0049; the other limitation such as “the metal film is a film” that already disclosed by the primary Nishimura reference as shown in fig.2, with corrosion resistant plating layer 4 is considered as “a metal film”. Additionally, the Nishimura and Byun references are related as the same technical field of welding area, such that it would have been obvious to combine them.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. De Luca (US 4151392) is considered as a relevant prior art in field of two dissimilar metal of cooper and aluminum are metallurgically joined by welding, as cited in background but does not disclose a metal film….
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
06/04/2026