DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species miRNA 192 (claim 18) and SEQ ID NO: 47 (claim 21) in the reply filed on 10/9/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 4-15, 17, 18, 21, 29, 30, 40-44 and 158-161 are currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/30/2023, 2/27/2023, 10/16/2023, 1/29/2024, 3/4/2024, 7/3/2024, 6/2/2025 and 10/9/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The use of the term BEGM (page 113), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5-15, 17, 17, 18, 21, 29, 30, 40-44 and 158-161 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1, 4, 14, 18, 30, 41, 42, 159 and 160 all recite “selected from…or…” When multiple members are recited in alternative, there would not be any selection. Claims dependent on the above claims are objected to for same reason. It is also suggested to amend “optimise” to “optimize” and “hybridise” to “hybridize” in claim 1. The “miRNA” in parenthesis in claim 1 appears redundant because it is already recited without parenthesis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 15, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being anticipated by Langlois (US 2018/0177863).
Claim 1 is drawn to a composition comprising a first mRNA construct that encodes a first antigen, wherein the antigen is from a pathogenic microbial antigen, and linked to at least three miRNA target sequences that are different from each other, wherein said miRNA target sequences are optimized to hybridize with a corresponding miRNA sequence.
Langlois teaches a modified live, attenuated virus that comprises miRNA recognition nucleic acid sequence (paragraph [0007]). Langlois teaches the virus may be influenza, RSV, polio virus, West Nile virus, Dengue virus SARS and MERS coronavirus (paragraph [0062]), all of which meets the limitation of microbial antigen. Langlois teaches said virus may comprise a plurality miRNA-recognition nucleic acid sequences that are same or different from each other, whereas the virus may contain at least two, three, four or more miRNA recognition sequences (paragraph [0047]). Langlois teaches the miRNA recognition sequence may be introduced downstream of the stop codon of a coding sequence (paragraph [0048], line 10-11), which meets the limitation of within an untranslated region (UTR). Therefore, the teaching from Langlois anticipates the claimed invention of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Langlois teaches the vaccine composition include one or more buffers, adjuvants or co-factors (paragraph [0064]), which meets the limitation of an in vivo delivery composition.
Regarding claims 4 and 29, the viral vaccine meets the limitation of viral protein because the virus encodes viral protein being an antigen.
Regarding claim 15, Langlois teaches the virus may contain at least two, three, four or more miRNA recognition sequences (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 30, Langlois teaches the virus may be influenza, RSV, polio virus, West Nile virus, Dengue virus SARS and MERS coronavirus (paragraph [0062]).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17, 18, 21, 29, 30 40-44 and 158-161 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being anticipated by Huang (IDS).
Huang teaches an antigen of interest encoded by an mRNA, provided on the same mRNA as the immune potentiator construct or a different mRNA construct, wherein said construct are formulated to be administered to a subject in need thereof to stimulate an immune response against the antigen in the subject (paragraph [0016] and [0034]). Huang teaches the mRNA construct can further include an open reading frame (ORF) encoding a polypeptide of interest and further comprises one or more miRNA binding sites provides for regulation based on tissue specific and/or cell type specific expression of naturally-occurring miRNAs (paragraph [0564]), wherein the construct may include at least two, three, four…miRNA-binding sites in the UTR in order to regulate cytotoxic or cytoprotective mRNA therapeutics to specific cells (paragraph [0575]), wherein the miRNA binding sites may be same or different (paragraph [0603]). Huang teaches the antigen of interest may include tumor antigen for vaccine (paragraph [0028]), or bacterial antigen (paragraph [0031]). Therefore, the teaching from Huang anticipates the claimed invention of claim 1.
Regarding claims 2, 7 and 14, Huang teaches the composition further comprises delivery vehicle such as a lipid nanoparticle (paragraph [0172]).
Regarding claims 4, 29 and 30, Huang teaches the antigen may be at least one bacterial antigen and viral antigen (paragraph [0026] and [0027]). The viral antigen may be an influenza antigen (paragraph [0474]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Huang teaches the immunopotentiator mRNA comprises stimulating type I interferon (IFN) (paragraph [0212]).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches mRNA construct encoding cytokine including IL-12 to induce T cell activation (paragraph [0520]).
Regarding claims 10, 11 and 15, Huang teaches the construct may include at least two, three, four…miRNA-binding sites in the UTR in order to regulate cytotoxic or cytoprotective mRNA therapeutics to specific cells (paragraph [0575]), wherein the miRNA binding sites may be same or different (paragraph [0603]).
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches miRNA sequences corresponding to different tissues and/or cell types including liver (miR-122), muscle (miR-133, miR206, miR208), kidney (miR-192, miR-194)…etc (paragraph [0578]) may be included in the construct for cytotoxic or cytoprotective mRNA therapies.
Regarding claim 21, SEQ ID NO: 47, the elected sequence, having 100% sequence homology with miR-192 (see attached alignment), which is taught by Huang to be liver specific miR (paragraph [0578]).
Regarding claims 42, 43 and 44, Huang teaches the antigen is a tumor associated antigen that is a neoantigen (paragraph [0447]) or MUC1 (paragraph [0425]). Since MUC1 is commonly expressed in liver, lung, breast and pancreas, it is considered as liver antigen, lung antigen, breast antigen and pancreas antigen.
Regarding claims 158-161, Huang teaches the antigen of interest may be one or more tumor antigens specific for the subject (one or more neoepitopes), wherein said antigens may be encoded by one or more mRNAs, same or different mRNA construct (paragraph [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of the sequence having accession number (BFU97828).
The teaching from Huang has been discussed above.
However, Huang does not teach that the immunopotentiator IL-12 is encoded by a sequence having at least 90% identity with SEQ ID NO: 59.
The sequence having accession number BFU97828 has 100% homology with SEQ ID NO:59, and is a codon optimized human interleukin-12 transgene (see attached alignment).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art to make a composition as claimed to include IL-12 encoded by SEQ ID NO:59, which is known in prior art to be a codon optimized human interleukin-12 transgene. The ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so to ensure optimal expression in human cells, which is the intended utility of the composition taught by Huang. The ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to make an RNA construct comprising said sequence because all claimed elements are known in prior art. Therefore, the claimed invention of claim 9 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
The teaching from Huang has been discussed above. Huang teaches at least 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10 or more miRNA binding site may be engineered into a 3’ UTR of a polynucleotide, wherein said miRNA binding sites may be same or different, so that targeted expression in same or different tissues in the body may be achieved. Huang teaches introduction of different combination of cell type specific, tissues specific and/or disease specific miRNA binding sites into the construct so that expression of the polypeptide of interest may be regulated (paragraph [0608]).
However, Huang does not specifically teach the at least 3 miRNA binding sequence in the first mRNA construct is same or different from the 3 miRNA binding sequence in the second mRNA construct.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art whether the miRNA binding sites in the first mRNA construct encoding an antigen, and the second mRNA construct encoding the immunopotentiator are same or different depends on the type of what tissue/cell the antigen is intended to be expressed based on the teaching from Huang. The ordinary skilled in the art would use different combination of miRNA binding sites when the antigen is intended to be expressed in a tumor cell, i.e. liver cancer, whereas the immunopotentiator is intended to be expressed in an immune cell. The ordinary skilled in the art would have recognized if both antigen and the immunopotentiator is intended to be expressed in hematopoietic cells, same combination of miRNA binding sites would be used for both mRNA construct. Since Huang teaches cell type/tissue or tumor specific miRNAs, the ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to pick from said miRNA binding sites to regulate the expression of the antigen and immunopotentiator of interest at desired site in a subject. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 12 and 13 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Claim(s) 40 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Tupin (US 2015/0165014).
The teaching from Huang has been discussed above. Huang gave some example of bacterial antigen including antigens from S. aureus (paragraph [0466]), and Chlamydia (paragraph [0470]).
However, Huang did not give an example of bacterial antigen being from Mycobacterium tuberculosis (claim 40), wherein the protein may be one of ESAT-6, Ag85b (claim 41).
Tupin teaches mycobacterial antigen vaccine (title). Tupin teaches the antigen may be obtained from Mycobacterium tuberculosis (paragraph [0045]). Tupin teaches the antigenic protein may include ESAT-6, Ag85B and TB10.4 (paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that the composition taught by Huang is not limited to bacterial antigen from S. aureus and Chlamydia. It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that antigen vaccine from M. tuberculosis (taught by Tupin) would also benefit from the inclusion of miRNA binding sites to achieve tissue/cell specific protection based on combined teaching from Huang and Tupin. The ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to replace the bacterial protein in the composition taught by Huang with M. tuberculosis protein such as ESAT-6, Ag85B and TB10.4 taught by Tupin following combined teaching from Huang and Tupin. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 40 and 41 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 14, 18, 21, 29 and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2-6, 9, 10, 13, 14 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,596,685. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition claimed in claim 1 of the ‘685 patent anticipates claims 1, 2, 4-7, 29 of the present application.
Claims 2-5 of ‘685 patent recites same limitation as claim 30 of present application that the viral antigen is from a coronavirus spike protein.
Claim 6 of the ‘685 patent recites the same limitation as claim 14 of the present application, wherein the composition includes a delivery vehicle being lipid nanoparticle.
Claim 9 of the ‘685 patent recites same limitation as claim 18 of present application, wherein the OPS comprises at least three miRNA target sequence including miRNA-122, miRNA-125…etc.
Claim 10 of the ‘685 patent recites same limitation as claim 21 of the present application, wherein the miRNA target sequences are selected from one or more SEQ ID NO: 44-57.
Claim 13 of the ‘685 patent recites same limitation as claim 8 of the present application, wherein the second ORF codes for IL-12 protein, subunit, derivative agonist or homologue thereof.
Claim 14 of ‘685 patent recites same limitation as claim 6 of the present application, wherein the first mRNA further comprises a second ORF that encodes a proinflammatory cytokine including IL-1…GM-CSF.
Claim 16 of the ‘685 patent recites same limitation as claim 10 of the present application, wherein the second UTR that comprises at least 3 miRNA target sequences all different from each other.
Claims 11-13, 15, 17, 158-161 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,596,685, in view of Huang.
As discussed above, claim 1 of ‘685 patent anticipates the claimed invention of claim 1 of present application. The minor variation recited in the following claims would have been obvious in view of the teaching from Huang (set forth above).
Regarding claims 11 and 15, Huang teaches the construct may include at least two, three, four…miRNA-binding sites in the UTR in order to regulate cytotoxic or cytoprotective mRNA therapeutics to specific cells (paragraph [0575]), wherein the miRNA binding sites may be same or different (paragraph [0603]).
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches miRNA sequences corresponding to different tissues and/or cell types including liver (miR-122), muscle (miR-133, miR206, miR208), kidney (miR-192, miR-194)…etc (paragraph [0578]) may be included in the construct for cytotoxic or cytoprotective mRNA therapies.
Regarding claims 158-161, Huang teaches the antigen of interest may be one or more tumor antigens specific for the subject (one or more neoepitopes), wherein said antigens may be encoded by one or more mRNAs, same or different mRNA construct (paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Huang teaches at least 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10 or more miRNA binding site may be engineered into a 3’ UTR of a polynucleotide, wherein said miRNA binding sites may be same or different, so that targeted expression in same or different tissues in the body may be achieved. Huang teaches introduction of different combination of cell type specific, tissues specific and/or disease specific miRNA binding sites into the construct so that expression of the polypeptide of interest may be regulated (paragraph [0608]).
However, Huang does not specifically teach the at least 3 miRNA binding sequence in the first mRNA construct is same or different from the 3 miRNA binding sequence in the second mRNA construct.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art whether the miRNA binding sites in the first mRNA construct encoding an antigen, and the second mRNA construct encoding the immunopotentiator are same or different depends on the type of what tissue/cell the antigen is intended to be expressed based on the teaching from Huang. The ordinary skilled in the art would use different combination of miRNA binding sites when the antigen is intended to be expressed in a tumor cell, i.e. liver cancer, whereas the immunopotentiator is intended to be expressed in an immune cell. The ordinary skilled in the art would have recognized if both antigen and the immunopotentiator is intended to be expressed in hematopoietic cells, same combination of miRNA binding sites would be used for both mRNA construct. Since Huang teaches cell type/tissue or tumor specific miRNAs, the ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to pick from said miRNA binding sites to regulate the expression of the antigen and immunopotentiator of interest at desired site in a subject. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 12 and 13 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art in view of claim 1 of ‘685 patent and teaching from Huang.
Claims 40 and 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,596,685 in view of Tupin.
Claim 1 of ‘685 patent differs from claim 40 and 41 of present application for not specifying the bacterial antigen being from Mycobacterium tuberculosis (claim 40), wherein the protein may be one of ESAT-6, Ag85b (claim 41).
Tupin teaches mycobacterial antigen vaccine (title). Tupin teaches the antigen may be obtained from Mycobacterium tuberculosis (paragraph [0045]). Tupin teaches the antigenic protein may include ESAT-6, Ag85B and TB10.4 (paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that the composition claimed in claim 1 of ‘685 patent encompasses many bacterial protein. It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that antigen vaccine from M. tuberculosis (taught by Tupin) would also benefit from the inclusion of miRNA binding sites to achieve tissue/cell specific protection based on combined claim 1 of ‘685 patent and Tupin. The ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to place the bacterial protein from M. tuberculosis protein such as ESAT-6, Ag85B and TB10.4 taught by Tupin in the claimed composition. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 40 and 41 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Claim 1, 2, 5, 6-8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17 and 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5, 7 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,195,746. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the composition claimed in claim 1 of the ‘746 patent anticipates the claimed invention of claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 10, 11 of the present application.
Claim 2 of the ‘746 patent recites same limitation as claim 15 of the present application, wherein the first OPS comprises at least 4 miRNA binding sites.
Claim 3 of the ‘746 patent recites same limitation as claim 17 of the present application for protect one or more organ including liver, brain, lung, breast and pancreas.
Claim 4 of ‘746 patent and claim 18 of the present application recite the one of the miRNA binding site comprises miR-122.
Claim 5 of the ‘746 patent recites delivery particle comprise aminoalcohol lipidoids, which anticipates the lipidoid particle recited in claim 14 of the present application.
Claim 7 of the ‘746 patent recites same limitation as claim 6 of the present application, wherein the second mRNA codes cytokines including IL-1, IL-2…IL-12.
Claim 8 of ‘746 patent recites same limitation as claim 8 of the present application, wherein the second ORF codes for IL-12.
Claims 12-13, 21, 42-44 and 158-161 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12/195,746 in view of Huang.
As discussed above, claim 1 of ‘746 patent anticipates the claimed invention of claim 1 of present application. The minor variation recited in the following claims would have been obvious in view of the teaching from Huang (set forth above).
Regarding claim 21, SEQ ID NO: 47, the elected sequence, having 100% sequence homology with miR-192 (see attached alignment), which is taught by Huang to be liver specific miR (paragraph [0578]).
Regarding claims 42, 43 and 44, Huang teaches the antigen is a tumor associated antigen that is a neoantigen (paragraph [0447]) or MUC1 (paragraph [0425]). Since MUC1 is commonly expressed in liver, lung, breast and pancreas, it is considered as liver antigen, lung antigen, breast antigen and pancreas antigen.
Regarding claims 158-161, Huang teaches the antigen of interest may be one or more tumor antigens specific for the subject (one or more neoepitopes), wherein said antigens may be encoded by one or more mRNAs, same or different mRNA construct (paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Huang teaches at least 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10 or more miRNA binding site may be engineered into a 3’ UTR of a polynucleotide, wherein said miRNA binding sites may be same or different, so that targeted expression in same or different tissues in the body may be achieved. Huang teaches introduction of different combination of cell type specific, tissues specific and/or disease specific miRNA binding sites into the construct so that expression of the polypeptide of interest may be regulated (paragraph [0608]).
However, Huang does not specifically teach the at least 3 miRNA binding sequence in the first mRNA construct is same or different from the 3 miRNA binding sequence in the second mRNA construct.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art whether the miRNA binding sites in the first mRNA construct encoding an antigen, and the second mRNA construct encoding the immunopotentiator are same or different depends on the type of what tissue/cell the antigen is intended to be expressed based on the teaching from Huang. The ordinary skilled in the art would use different combination of miRNA binding sites when the antigen is intended to be expressed in a tumor cell, i.e. liver cancer, whereas the immunopotentiator is intended to be expressed in an immune cell. The ordinary skilled in the art would have recognized if both antigen and the immunopotentiator is intended to be expressed in hematopoietic cells, same combination of miRNA binding sites would be used for both mRNA construct. Since Huang teaches cell type/tissue or tumor specific miRNAs, the ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to pick from said miRNA binding sites to regulate the expression of the antigen and immunopotentiator of interest at desired site in a subject. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 12 and 13 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art in view of claim 1 of ‘746 patent and teaching from Huang.
Claim 1, 2, 4-8, 10-14, 15, 17, 18, 21, 29, 30, 158-161 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 9, 10-15 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,931,409 in view of Huang.
The composition claimed in claim 1 of the present application overlaps in scope with the composition claimed in claim 1 of the ‘409 patent. The only difference is that the miRNA binding sequences claimed in claim 1 of the ‘409 patent is in the second mRNA construct that encodes the proinflammatory cytokine instead of the first construct encoding the bacterial and/or viral antigen.
Huang teaches an antigen of interest encoded by an mRNA, provided on the same mRNA as the immune potentiator construct or a different mRNA construct, wherein said construct are formulated to be administered to a subject in need thereof to stimulate an immune response against the antigen in the subject (paragraph [0016] and [0034]). Huang teaches the mRNA construct can further include an open reading frame (ORF) encoding a polypeptide of interest and further comprises one or more miRNA binding sites provides for regulation based on tissue specific and/or cell type specific expression of naturally-occurring miRNAs (paragraph [0564]). Huang teaches the construct may include at least two, three, four…miRNA-binding sites in the UTR in order to regulate cytotoxic or cytoprotective mRNA therapeutics to specific cells (paragraph [0575]), wherein the miRNA binding sites may be same or different (paragraph [0603]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that the miRNA binding sites may be present in either the first construct, the second construct or both as taught by Huang based on which tissue and/or cell specific expression is intended for the antigen and/or the immunopotentiator. The ordinary skilled in the art would recognize that the claimed composition of claim 1, 2, 4-7 and 29 would have been an obvious variant of the composition of claim 1 of the ‘409 patent.
Claims 2 and 3 of ‘409 patent recites same limitation as claim 8 of present application, wherein the second ORF codes for IL-12.
Claims 9 and 21 of ‘409 patent recites same limitation of as claim 18 of present application, wherein at least 3 different miRNA target sequence includes miRNA-122…miRNA-6761.
Claim 10 of ‘409 patent recites same limitation as claim 21 of present application, wherein the OPS comprises SEQ ID NO: 44-57.
Claim 11-13 of ‘409 patent recites same limitation as claim 15 of present application that the OPS comprises 4, 5 and 6 miRNA target sequences.
Claim 14 and 15 of ‘409 patent recites same limitation as claim 30 of present application that the antigen include coronavirus spike protein.
Claim 18 of ‘409 patent recites same limitation as claim 14 of present application that the delivery composition comprises a lipid nanoparticle.
Regarding claims 10, 11 and 17, Huang teaches the construct may include at least two, three, four…miRNA-binding sites in the UTR in order to regulate cytotoxic or cytoprotective mRNA therapeutics to specific cells (paragraph [0575]), wherein the miRNA binding sites may be same or different (paragraph [0603]). Huang teaches miRNA sequences corresponding to different tissues and/or cell types including liver (miR-122), muscle (miR-133, miR206, miR208), kidney (miR-192, miR-194)…etc (paragraph [0578]) may be included in the construct for cytotoxic or cytoprotective mRNA therapies.
Regarding claims 158-161, Huang teaches the antigen of interest may be one or more tumor antigens specific for the subject (one or more neoepitopes), wherein said antigens may be encoded by one or more mRNAs, same or different mRNA construct (paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Huang teaches at least 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10 or more miRNA binding site may be engineered into a 3’ UTR of a polynucleotide, wherein said miRNA binding sites may be same or different, so that targeted expression in same or different tissues in the body may be achieved. Huang teaches introduction of different combination of cell type specific, tissues specific and/or disease specific miRNA binding sites into the construct so that expression of the polypeptide of interest may be regulated (paragraph [0608]).
However, Huang does not specifically teach the at least 3 miRNA binding sequence in the first mRNA construct is same or different from the 3 miRNA binding sequence in the second mRNA construct.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art whether the miRNA binding sites in the first mRNA construct encoding an antigen, and the second mRNA construct encoding the immunopotentiator are same or different depends on the type of what tissue/cell the antigen is intended to be expressed based on the teaching from Huang. The ordinary skilled in the art would use different combination of miRNA binding sites when the antigen is intended to be expressed in a tumor cell, i.e. liver cancer, whereas the immunopotentiator is intended to be expressed in an immune cell. The ordinary skilled in the art would have recognized if both antigen and the immunopotentiator is intended to be expressed in hematopoietic cells, same combination of miRNA binding sites would be used for both mRNA construct. Since Huang teaches cell type/tissue or tumor specific miRNAs, the ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to pick from said miRNA binding sites to regulate the expression of the antigen and immunopotentiator of interest at desired site in a subject. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 12 and 13 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art in view of claim 1 of ‘409 patent and teaching from Huang.
Claims 40 and 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,931,409 in view of Tupin.
Claim 1 of ‘409 patent differs from claim 40 and 41 of present application for not specifying the bacterial antigen being from Mycobacterium tuberculosis (claim 40), wherein the protein may be one of ESAT-6, Ag85b (claim 41).
Tupin teaches mycobacterial antigen vaccine (title). Tupin teaches the antigen may be obtained from Mycobacterium tuberculosis (paragraph [0045]). Tupin teaches the antigenic protein may include ESAT-6, Ag85B and TB10.4 (paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that the composition claimed in claim 1 of ‘685 patent encompasses many bacterial protein. It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that antigen vaccine from M. tuberculosis (taught by Tupin) would also benefit from the inclusion of miRNA binding sites to achieve tissue/cell specific protection based on combined claim 1 of ‘409 patent and Tupin. The ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to place the bacterial protein from M. tuberculosis protein such as ESAT-6, Ag85B and TB10.4 taught by Tupin in the claimed composition. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 40 and 41 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Claims 1, 4-8, 14, 15, 18, 21, 29, 42, 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 19, 26-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,220,456 in view of Huang.
The composition claimed in claim 1 of the present application overlaps in scope with the composition claimed in claim 1 of the ‘456 patent. The only difference is that the miRNA binding sequences claimed in claim 1 of the ‘456 patent is in the second mRNA construct that encodes the proinflammatory cytokine instead of the first construct encoding tumor antigen
Huang teaches an antigen of interest encoded by an mRNA, provided on the same mRNA as the immune potentiator construct or a different mRNA construct, wherein said construct are formulated to be administered to a subject in need thereof to stimulate an immune response against the antigen in the subject (paragraph [0016] and [0034]). Huang teaches the mRNA construct can further include an open reading frame (ORF) encoding a polypeptide of interest and further comprises one or more miRNA binding sites provides for regulation based on tissue specific and/or cell type specific expression of naturally-occurring miRNAs (paragraph [0564]). Huang teaches the construct may include at least two, three, four…miRNA-binding sites in the UTR in order to regulate cytotoxic or cytoprotective mRNA therapeutics to specific cells (paragraph [0575]), wherein the miRNA binding sites may be same or different (paragraph [0603]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that the miRNA binding sites may be present in either the first construct, the second construct or both as taught by Huang based on which tissue and/or cell specific expression is intended for the antigen and/or the immunopotentiator. The ordinary skilled in the art would recognize that the claimed composition of claim 1, 2, 4-7 and 29 would have been an obvious variant of the composition of claim 1 of the ‘456 patent.
Claims 3 and 4 of the ‘456 patent recites same limitation as claim 8 of present application that the second ORF codes for IL-12 protein, derivative, agonist or homologue thereof.
Claim 8, 27 and 28 of the ’456 patent recites same limitation as claim 18 of present application that the first, second and third miRNA target sequence includes miRNA-122…miRNA-6761.
Claim 9 of ‘456 patent recites same limitation as claim 21 of present application that miRNA target sequence includes SEQ ID NO: 44-57.
Claim 10 of ‘456 patent recites same limitation as claim 15 of present application that OPS comprises at least 3, 4, and 5 miRNA target sequences.
Claim 13 of ‘456 patent recites same limitation as claim 42 of present application that the tumor antigen is a cancer specific antigen.
Claim 14 of ‘456 patent recites same limitation as claim 44 of present application that the tumor associated antigen is a neoantigen.
Claim 19 of ‘456 patent recites same limitation as claim 14 of present application that the delivery composition comprises lipid nanoparticle.
Claim 26 of ‘456 patent recites same limitation as claim 1 of present application that the first mRNA comprises at least one miRNA target sequence.
Regarding claims 10, 11 and 17, Huang teaches the construct may include at least two, three, four…miRNA-binding sites in the UTR in order to regulate cytotoxic or cytoprotective mRNA therapeutics to specific cells (paragraph [0575]), wherein the miRNA binding sites may be same or different (paragraph [0603]). Huang teaches miRNA sequences corresponding to different tissues and/or cell types including liver (miR-122), muscle (miR-133, miR206, miR208), kidney (miR-192, miR-194)…etc (paragraph [0578]) may be included in the construct for cytotoxic or cytoprotective mRNA therapies.
Regarding claims 42, 43 and 44, Huang teaches the antigen is a tumor associated antigen that is a neoantigen (paragraph [0447]) or MUC1 (paragraph [0425]). Since MUC1 is commonly expressed in liver, lung, breast and pancreas, it is considered as liver antigen, lung antigen, breast antigen and pancreas antigen.
Regarding claims 158-161, Huang teaches the antigen of interest may be one or more tumor antigens specific for the subject (one or more neoepitopes), wherein said antigens may be encoded by one or more mRNAs, same or different mRNA construct (paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Huang teaches at least 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10 or more miRNA binding site may be engineered into a 3’ UTR of a polynucleotide, wherein said miRNA binding sites may be same or different, so that targeted expression in same or different tissues in the body may be achieved. Huang teaches introduction of different combination of cell type specific, tissues specific and/or disease specific miRNA binding sites into the construct so that expression of the polypeptide of interest may be regulated (paragraph [0608]).
However, Huang does not specifically teach the at least 3 miRNA binding sequence in the first mRNA construct is same or different from the 3 miRNA binding sequence in the second mRNA construct.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art whether the miRNA binding sites in the first mRNA construct encoding an antigen, and the second mRNA construct encoding the immunopotentiator are same or different depends on the type of what tissue/cell the antigen is intended to be expressed based on the teaching from Huang. The ordinary skilled in the art would use different combination of miRNA binding sites when the antigen is intended to be expressed in a tumor cell, i.e. liver cancer, whereas the immunopotentiator is intended to be expressed in an immune cell. The ordinary skilled in the art would have recognized if both antigen and the immunopotentiator is intended to be expressed in hematopoietic cells, same combination of miRNA binding sites would be used for both mRNA construct. Since Huang teaches cell type/tissue or tumor specific miRNAs, the ordinary skilled in the art would have reasonable expectation of success to pick from said miRNA binding sites to regulate the expression of the antigen and immunopotentiator of interest at desired site in a subject. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 12 and 13 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art in view of claim 1 of ‘456 patent and teaching from Huang.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 14, 18, 21 and 44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5, 9-11, 13-15 of copending Application No. 19/048760 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 5 of ‘760 application anticipates the claimed composition of claims 1, 4, 5 of the present application.
Claim 9 of ‘760 application recites same limitation as claim 44 of present application that the antigen is a neoantigen.
Claim 10 of ‘760 application recites same limitation as claim 6 of present application that the proinflammatory cytokine includes IL-1…GM-CSF.
Claim 11 of ‘760 application recites same limitation as claim 8 of present application that the proinflammatory cytokine is IL-12.
Claim 13 of ‘760 application recites same limitation as claim 18 of present application that the miRNA target sequence binds to miRNA-122…miRNA-6761.
Claim 14 of ‘760 application recites same limitation as claim 21 of present application that OPS comprises SEQ ID NO: 44-57.
Claim 15 of ‘760 application recites same limitation as claim 14 of present application that the delivery composition comprises a lipid nanoparticle.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/CELINE X QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637