DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-26 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 contains the trademark/trade name Xirallic. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe diffraction markers and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (KR 20190070386 A).
Regarding claim 21, Hwang teaches:
A method comprising:
imaging a work piece with a camera (Fig. 6; [0150] “camera 121”) associated with a robotic gripper (Fig. 6; [0150] “robot hand 200”) that includes a visual-tactile contact pad integrated with each of a plurality of fingers (Fig. 6 shows each finger of the robot hand 200 includes a tactile sensor 144”; [0156] “... a plurality of tactile sensors 144 are provided at least in a part of the finger unit 220 of the robot hand 200.”; [0178] “Referring to FIG. 8, first, the camera 121 acquires an image of at least one first object 10 (S20).”);
determining an orientation of the work piece relative to a finger of the plurality of fingers of the robotic gripper ([0179] “Thereafter, the controller 180 determines at least one factor among the coordinates, sizes, and centers of the first object using the obtained image (S21),”);
orienting the finger to position the work piece in a gripping position based on the determining ([0180] “in the second embodiment, when the hand 200 is brought into contact with the first object 10 for gripping, the normal force, shear force (force) of the first object 10, a step S22 is performed in which the tactile sensor 144 senses at least one of shear force, conductive, and conductive.”; [0181] “In the case where the hand 200 desires to grasp the first object again in step S24, unlike the method in FIG. 5, in the second embodiment, by using the determined factor and at least one tactile factor sensed by the tactile sensor”); and
gripping the work piece between a visual-tactile contact pad of the finger and another finger of the plurality of fingers at a desired force ([0228] “the tactile sensor 144 is additionally utilized in the re-gripping operation to measure a normal force”) after the orienting ([0182] “In the case where the hand 200 desires to grasp the first object again in step S24, unlike the method in FIG. 5, in the second embodiment, by using the determined factor and at least one tactile factor sensed by the tactile sensor And the first object is again gripped (S25).”).
Regarding claim 24, Hwang further teaches:
determining a contact force of the finger ([0228] “the tactile sensor 144 is additionally utilized in the re-gripping operation to measure a normal force”).
Regarding claim 25, Hwang further teaches:
wherein the another finger includes a visual-tactile contact pad such that the work piece is positioned between visual-tactile contact pads of each of the fingers (Fig. 6 shows each finger of the robot hand 200 includes a tactile sensor 144”; [0156] “... a plurality of tactile sensors 144 are provided at least in a part of the finger unit 220 of the robot hand 200.” Fig. 7a shows the workpiece 10 is positioned between the two fingers 220 with each finger including a tactile sensor 144).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, 10-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (US 10,038,854 B1), in view of Adelson (US 2009/0315989 A1), and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2011/0302694 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cooper teaches:
An apparatus (Fig. 1 “robotic system 100”)); comprising:
a visual-tactile sensing device (Fig. 8; Col. 14 lines 57-58 “multi-lens imaging based tactile sensor”) structured to image a tactile impression of the work piece upon engagement of the work piece with a visual-tactile contact pad (Col. 14 line 62 “reflective elastic material 808”) to develop tactile image data (Col. 14 line 57 – Col. 15 line 2), the tactile sensing device having:
a lighting system structured to emit light (Col. 14 lines 64-66 “The light sources 806 may emit light toward the surface of the reflective elastic material, some of which reflects off the elastic material toward the array of lenses 804.”);
a camera structured to image electromagnetic radiation associated with the light emitted from the lighting system (Col. 14 line 66 – Col. 15 line 2 “The array of lenses direct light onto various regions of the image sensor 802, which generates an image of the shape impressed onto the reflective elastic material by an object.”);
wherein the visual-tactile contact pad includes:
a rigid base (Col. 15 lines 3-16 “The robotic finger illustrated in FIG. 8 may be incorporated within a robotic system. For example, the robotic system may include a robotic manipulator made of a number of components of actuators (serve as a rigid base that attaches the tactile sensors), enabling the robot system to interact with objects within the environment. The robotic manipulator may include a robotic arm and an end effector attached thereto ... An example end effector may be a gripping device including two or more robotic fingers that, when pressed together, enable the end effector to grip an object. In these instances, one or more of the robotic fingers may include the multi-lens imaging-based tactile sensors of the present application.”);
an elastic layer (Col. 14 line 62 “reflective elastic material 808”); and
a diffraction layer (Fig. 8, Col. 14 line 63 “array of lenses 804”) structured to receive light from the lighting system (Col. 14 line 64 – Col. 15 line 2 “The light sources 806 may emit light toward the surface of the reflective elastic material, some of which reflects off the elastic material toward the array of lenses 804. The array of lenses direct light onto various regions of the image sensor 802, which generates an image of the shape impressed into the reflective elastic material by an object.”);
wherein the elastic layer of the visual-tactile contact pad are structured to deform upon engagement of the work piece with the visual-tactile contact pad (Col. 14 lines 59-62 “The robotic finger includes a reflective elastic material 808 that is flexible and may conform to the shape of objects or surfaces pressed thereon.”), wherein the tactile image data is generated in response at least in part to an apparent color emanating from the diffraction layer that is imaged by the camera upon engagement of the work piece to the visual-tactile contact pad (Col. 11 lines 13-26 “In this example configuration, each lens of the array of lenses 510 directs light onto a corresponding color filter sub-array of the color filter array 520. Each sub-array – labelled in FIG. 5A as “RGGB” – may contain one or more distance color filters ... Thus, light incident on a given lens is directed onto a color filter sub-array, which passes the filtered light onto a corresponding portion of the image sensor 530. The image sensor 530 may include groups of photodetectors (illustrated as white blocks beneath the color filter array 520) separated by non-photoactive regions (illustrated as black blocks separating each of the white blocks), such as non-photoactive region 532.”; Col. 14 line 66 – Col. 15 line 2 “The array of lenses direct light onto various regions of the image sensor 802, which generates an image of the shaped impressed into the reflective elastic material by an object.”).
Cooper does not specifically teach the elastic layer is coupled to the rigid base, the rigid base providing a structural support for the elastic layer; the diffraction layer positioned adjacent the elastic layer such that the elastic layer is positioned between the rigid base and the diffraction layer; and wherein the diffraction layer of the visual-tactile contact pad is structured to deform upon engagement of the work piece with the visual-tactile contact pad.
However, Cooper teaches the diffraction layer is positioned adjacent to the elastic layer such that the elastic layer is positioned above the rigid base and the diffraction layer (Col. 14 lines 57-67; Col. 15 lines 3-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper to position the diffraction layer adjacent to the elastic layer such that the elastic layer is positioned between the rigid base and the diffraction layer, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In addition, Adelson teaches:
an elastic layer is coupled to the rigid base, the rigid base providing a structural support for the elastic layer (Fig. 9, [0037] “The reflective skin 180 covers the clear elastomer 182 which is mounted on a rigid transparent support 184.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper to couple the elastic layer to the rigid base, the rigid base providing a structural support for the elastic layer, as taught by Adelson. Such modification provides a tactile sensor that attains high sensitivity, high spatial resolution, and low cost. In addition, it can be built in a compliant form, so that a robot finger incorporating this sensor can deform elastically in depth, following the profile of the object being manipulated, thereby allowing good control, as stated by Adelson in [0019].
Adelson does not specifically teach wherein the diffraction layer of the visual-tactile contact pad is structured to deform upon engagement of the work piece with the visual-tactile contact pad.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
a diffraction layer of the visual-tactile contact pad is structured to deform upon engagement of the work piece with the visual-tactile contact pad ([0169] “Pressure and shear may be obtained from the deformations of the array of Bragg gratings 1306, 1308, 1310, and 1312. The deformation of each pressure point may be determined by monitoring the shift 1322 in Bragg wavelength of the reflected signal with the changes in the measurand in each grating 1306, 1308, 1310, and 1312.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson, to structure the diffraction layer of the visual-tactile contact pad to deform upon engagement of the workpiece with the visual-tactile contact pad, as taught by Wang. Such modification allows the sensor to determine deformation of each pressure point by monitoring the shift in wavelength of the reflected signal with the changes in the measure and in each grating.
Regarding claim 7, Cooper further teaches:
wherein the light system includes two light sources (Fig. 8 shows two light sources 806; Col. 14 lines 64-66 “The light sources 806 may emit light toward the surface of the reflective elastic material, some of which reflects off the elastic material toward the array of lenses 804.”).
Regarding claim 8, Cooper further teaches:
wherein the two light sources are disposed at differential angular orientations relative to a surface of the diffraction layer extending along the visual-tactile contact pad diffraction marker (Col. 13 lines 45-49 “In some embodiments, a multi-lens imaging-based tactile sensor may include a set of light sources – such as light-emitting diodes (LEDs) – positioned around the elastic material and pointed toward the reflective membrane from various positions and angles.”; Claim 6 “wherein each light source of the two or more light sources is configured to emit light toward the reflective membrane from a different angle.”; Fig. 8 also shows the left light source 806 and the right light source 806 are disposed at an angle relative to the surface of the diffraction layer 804).
Regarding claim 10, Cooper teaches:
A method of operating a visual-tactile sensing device (Fig. 8; Col. 14 lines 57-58 “multi-lens imaging based tactile sensor”), comprising:
emitting a light from a lighting system toward a visual-tactile contact pad of a robotic system (Col. 14 lines 64-66 “The light sources 806 may emit light toward the surface of the reflective elastic material, some of which reflects off the elastic material toward the array of lenses 804.”), the robotic system including a camera for imaging a work piece and contact of the work piece with the visual-tactile contact pad (Col. 14 line 66 – Col. 15 line 2 “The array of lenses direct light onto various regions of the image sensor 802, which generates an image of the shape impressed onto the reflective elastic material by an object.”), the visual-tactile contact pad including a rigid base (Col. 15 lines 3-16 “The robotic finger illustrated in FIG. 8 may be incorporated within a robotic system. For example, the robotic system may include a robotic manipulator made of a number of components of actuators (serve as a rigid base that attaches the tactile sensors), enabling the robot system to interact with objects within the environment. The robotic manipulator may include a robotic arm and an end effector attached thereto ... An example end effector may be a gripping device including two or more robotic fingers that, when pressed together, enable the end effector to grip an object. In these instances, one or more of the robotic fingers may include the multi-lens imaging-based tactile sensors of the present application.”), an elastic layer (Col. 14 line 62 “reflective elastic material 808”), and a diffraction layer (Fig. 8, Col. 14 line 63 “array of lenses 804”);
deforming the elastic layer upon engagement of the work piece with the visual-tactile contact pad (Col. 14 lines 59-62 “The robotic finger includes a reflective elastic material 808 that is flexible and may conform to the shape of objects or surfaces pressed thereon.”);
diffracting the light in the diffraction layer to emanate an apparent color from the diffraction layer (Col. 11 lines 13-26 “In this example configuration, each lens of the array of lenses 510 directs light onto a corresponding color filter sub-array of the color filter array 520. Each sub-array – labelled in FIG. 5A as “RGGB” – may contain one or more distance color filters ...”);
sensing, with the camera, the apparent color of the light emanating from diffraction layer in response to the deforming (Col. 11 lines 13-26 “In this example configuration, each lens of the array of lenses 510 directs light onto a corresponding color filter sub-array of the color filter array 520. Each sub-array – labelled in FIG. 5A as “RGGB” – may contain one or more distance color filters ... Thus, light incident on a given lens is directed onto a color filter sub-array, which passes the filtered light onto a corresponding portion of the image sensor 530. The image sensor 530 may include groups of photodetectors (illustrated as white blocks beneath the color filter array 520) separated by non-photoactive regions (illustrated as black blocks separating each of the white blocks), such as non-photoactive region 532.”; Col. 14 line 66 – Col. 15 line 2 “The array of lenses direct light onto various regions of the image sensor 802, which generates an image of the shaped impressed into the reflective elastic material by an object.”); and
determining a parameter associated with the deformed elastic layer and diffraction layer in response to the apparent color (Col. 11 lines 13-26 “In this example configuration, each lens of the array of lenses 510 directs light onto a corresponding color filter sub-array of the color filter array 520. Each sub-array – labelled in FIG. 5A as “RGGB” – may contain one or more distance color filters ... Thus, light incident on a given lens is directed onto a color filter sub-array, which passes the filtered light onto a corresponding portion of the image sensor 530. The image sensor 530 may include groups of photodetectors (illustrated as white blocks beneath the color filter array 520) separated by non-photoactive regions (illustrated as black blocks separating each of the white blocks), such as non-photoactive region 532.”; Col 11 lines 36-42).
Cooper does not specifically teach deforming the diffraction layer upon engagement of the work piece with the visual-tactile contact pad; and passing the light through the rigid base and the elastic layer coupled to the rigid base of the visual-tactile contact pad.
However, in the same field of endeavor; Adelson teaches:
passing the light through the rigid base and the elastic layer (Fig. 5A; [0030] “FIG. 5A shows an exemplary embodiment of a sensor 30 using an extended diffuse source of light 31. The diffuse light source 31 and camera 36 are positioned on a rigid support 32.”) coupled to the rigid base of the visual-tactile contact pad (Fig. 5A; [0030] “A volume of clear elastomer 34 is positioned on the rigid support 32.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper to pass the light through the rigid base and the elastic layer coupled to the rigid base of the visual-tactile contact pad., as taught by Adelson. Such modification provides a tactile sensor that attains high sensitivity, high spatial resolution, and low cost. In addition, it can be built in a compliant form, so that a robot finger incorporating this sensor can deform elastically in depth, following the profile of the object being manipulated, thereby allowing good control, as stated by Adelson in [0019].
Adelson does not specifically teach deforming the diffraction layer upon engagement of the work piece with the visual-tactile contact pad.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
deforming the diffraction layer upon engagement of the work piece with the visual-tactile contact pad ([0169] “Pressure and shear may be obtained from the deformations of the array of Bragg gratings 1306, 1308, 1310, and 1312. The deformation of each pressure point may be determined by monitoring the shift 1322 in Bragg wavelength of the reflected signal with the changes in the measurand in each grating 1306, 1308, 1310, and 1312.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson, to structure the diffraction layer of the visual-tactile contact pad to deform upon engagement of the workpiece with the visual-tactile contact pad, as taught by Wang. Such modification allows the sensor to determine deformation of each pressure point by monitoring the shift in wavelength of the reflected signal with the changes in the measure and in each grating.
Regarding claim 11, Cooper further teaches:
wherein emitting the light includes emitting light from a first light source of the lighting system and emitting light from a second light source of the lighting system (Fig. 8 shows two light sources 806; Col. 14 lines 64-66 “The light sources 806 may emit light toward the surface of the reflective elastic material, some of which reflects off the elastic material toward the array of lenses 804.”).
Regarding claim 12, Cooper further teaches:
wherein the first light source is arranged to emit light at an angle relative to the second light source (Col. 13 lines 45-49 “In some embodiments, a multi-lens imaging-based tactile sensor may include a set of light sources – such as light-emitting diodes (LEDs) – positioned around the elastic material and pointed toward the reflective membrane from various positions and angles.”; Claim 6 “wherein each light source of the two or more light sources is configured to emit light toward the reflective membrane from a different angle.”; Fig. 8 also shows the left light source 806 emits light at an angle relative to the right light source 806).
Regarding claim 14, Cooper further teaches:
wherein the parameter includes a surface contour of the work piece (Col. 15 lines 17-20 “A robotic control system may receive information about a gripped object’s surface features, size, and/or orientation and instruct the end effector to perform a task based on the that information.”).
Regarding claim 15, Cooper further teaches:
wherein emitting the light includes emitting the light in a discrete spectrum (Claim 7 “wherein each light source of the two or more light sources is configured to emit a different color of light.”).
Claims 2-5 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (US 10,038,854 B1), in view of Adelson (US 2009/0315989 A1) and Wang et al. (US 2011/0302694 A1), and further in view of Web et al. (US 2010/0025475 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the teachings of Cooper in view of Adelson and Wang have been discussed above with respect to claim 1. The modified teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, do not specifically teach wherein the diffraction layer includes diffraction markers embedded in an elastic material.
However, Web teaches:
wherein a diffraction layer includes diffraction markers ([0114] “With respect to FIGS. 1 and 2, after the laminate is applied, a signature field is applied to the back surface 12 of card 5 (step 175) and the holographic foil 15 is applied to the front 10 of card 5 (step 190).”; [0117] “With respect to the holographic foil 15, the foil 15 can be any color, contain any hologram, can be applied to any location on card 5, and can be cut to any size, shape and thickness. In an exemplary embodiment, the holographic foil 15 sheet preferably includes a gray adhesive on the bottom side and a blue, mirror-like, three-dimensional holographic surface on the top side containing numerous holographic images about 1¼″×-1¼″ each. The exemplary hologram includes a 360 degree viewability and diffracts a rainbow of colors under white light.”) embedded in an elastic material ([0112] “The cards may be constructed by laminating the layers together using heat and pressure. For example, the transaction cards may be roll laminated with adhesives, platen laminated, or other lamination process to laminate the cards together. Processing temperatures may range from about 200° F. to about 500° depending on the material used in the layers of the multilayer transaction card (such as PETG, polycarbonate, or other like materials).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, to include diffraction markers embedded in an elastic material, as taught by Web, in order to diffract light into 360 degree viewability in a rainbow of colors.
Regarding claim 3, the teachings of Cooper in view of Adelson and Wang have been discussed above with respect to claim 2. The modified teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, do not specifically teach wherein the diffraction markers are comprised of a holographic foil.
However, Web teaches:
wherein the diffraction markers are comprised of a holographic foil ([0114] “With respect to FIGS. 1 and 2, after the laminate is applied, a signature field is applied to the back surface 12 of card 5 (step 175) and the holographic foil 15 is applied to the front 10 of card 5 (step 190).”; [0117] “With respect to the holographic foil 15, the foil 15 can be any color, contain any hologram, can be applied to any location on card 5, and can be cut to any size, shape and thickness. In an exemplary embodiment, the holographic foil 15 sheet preferably includes a gray adhesive on the bottom side and a blue, mirror-like, three-dimensional holographic surface on the top side containing numerous holographic images about 1¼″×-1¼″ each. The exemplary hologram includes a 360 degree viewability and diffracts a rainbow of colors under white light.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson, Wang and Web, to include diffraction markers comprised of a holographic foil, as taught by Web, in order to diffract light into 360 degree viewability in a rainbow of colors.
Regarding claim 4, Cooper further teaches:
the diffraction layer extending along the visual-tactile contact pad (Fig. 8).
The modified teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, do not specifically teach wherein the diffraction markers are arranged so that diffraction is produced in plane of a surface of the diffraction layer.
However, Web teaches:
wherein the diffraction markers are arranged so that diffraction is produced in plane of a surface of the diffraction layer ([0114] “With respect to FIGS. 1 and 2, after the laminate is applied, a signature field is applied to the back surface 12 of card 5 (step 175) and the holographic foil 15 is applied to the front 10 of card 5 (step 190).”; [0117] “With respect to the holographic foil 15, the foil 15 can be any color, contain any hologram, can be applied to any location on card 5, and can be cut to any size, shape and thickness. In an exemplary embodiment, the holographic foil 15 sheet preferably includes a gray adhesive on the bottom side and a blue, mirror-like, three-dimensional holographic surface on the top side containing numerous holographic images about 1¼″×-1¼″ each. The exemplary hologram includes a 360 degree viewability and diffracts a rainbow of colors under white light.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson, Wang and Web, to arrange diffraction markers so that diffraction is produced in plane of a surface of the diffraction layer, as taught by Web, in order to diffract light into 360 degree viewability in a rainbow of colors.
Regarding claim 5, Cooper further teaches:
the diffraction layer extending along the visual-tactile contact pad (Col. 14 lines 57-65 “The light sources 806 may emit light toward the surface of the reflective elastic material, some of which reflects off the elastic material toward the array of lenses; Fig. 8 shows layer 804 extending along the visual-tactile contact pad).
The modified teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, do not specifically teach wherein the diffraction markers are arranged so that diffraction is produced in a plane normal to a surface of the diffraction layer.
However, Web teaches wherein the diffraction markers are arranged so that diffraction is produced in a plane normal to a surface of the diffraction layer ([0112] “The cards may be constructed by laminating the layers together using heat and pressure. For example, the transaction cards may be roll laminated with adhesives, platen laminated, or other lamination process to laminate the cards together. Processing temperatures may range from about 200° F. to about 500° depending on the material used in the layers of the multilayer transaction card (such as PETG, polycarbonate, or other like materials).”; [0114] “With respect to FIGS. 1 and 2, after the laminate is applied, a signature field is applied to the back surface 12 of card 5 (step 175) and the holographic foil 15 is applied to the front 10 of card 5 (step 190).”; [0117] “With respect to the holographic foil 15, the foil 15 can be any color, contain any hologram, can be applied to any location on card 5, and can be cut to any size, shape and thickness. In an exemplary embodiment, the holographic foil 15 sheet preferably includes a gray adhesive on the bottom side and a blue, mirror-like, three-dimensional holographic surface on the top side containing numerous holographic images about 1¼″×-1¼″ each. The exemplary hologram includes a 360 degree viewability and diffracts a rainbow of colors under white light.”) Figs. 7C-7E show hologram emitted from diffractive hologram foil is normal to surfaces of the layered structure”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson, Wang, and Web, to arrange the diffraction markers so that diffraction is produced in a plane normal to a surface of the diffraction layer, as taught by Web, in order to diffract light into 360 degree viewability in a rainbow of colors.
Regarding claim 17, the teachings of Cooper in view of Adelson and Wang have been discussed above with respect to claim 10. The modified teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, do not specifically teach wherein the diffraction layer includes a plurality of diffraction markers.
However, Web teaches:
wherein the diffraction layer includes a plurality of diffraction markers ([0114] “With respect to FIGS. 1 and 2, after the laminate is applied, a signature field is applied to the back surface 12 of card 5 (step 175) and the holographic foil 15 is applied to the front 10 of card 5 (step 190).”; [0117] “With respect to the holographic foil 15, the foil 15 can be any color, contain any hologram, can be applied to any location on card 5, and can be cut to any size, shape and thickness. In an exemplary embodiment, the holographic foil 15 sheet preferably includes a gray adhesive on the bottom side and a blue, mirror-like, three-dimensional holographic surface on the top side containing numerous holographic images about 1¼″×-1¼″ each. The exemplary hologram includes a 360 degree viewability and diffracts a rainbow of colors under white light.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, to include diffraction markers, as taught by Web, in order to diffract light into 360 degree viewability in a rainbow of colors.
Regarding claim 18, the teachings of Cooper in view of Adelson and Wang have been discussed above with respect to claim 17. The modified teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, do not specifically teach wherein the diffraction markers are comprised of flakes of diffractive material embedded in a layer of elastic material.
However, Web teaches:
wherein the diffraction markers are comprised of flakes of diffractive material embedded in a layer of elastic material ([0114] “With respect to FIGS. 1 and 2, after the laminate is applied, a signature field is applied to the back surface 12 of card 5 (step 175) and the holographic foil 15 is applied to the front 10 of card 5 (step 190).”; [0117] “With respect to the holographic foil 15, the foil 15 can be any color, contain any hologram, can be applied to any location on card 5, and can be cut to any size, shape and thickness. In an exemplary embodiment, the holographic foil 15 sheet preferably includes a gray adhesive on the bottom side and a blue, mirror-like, three-dimensional holographic surface on the top side containing numerous holographic images about 1¼″×-1¼″ each. The exemplary hologram includes a 360 degree viewability and diffracts a rainbow of colors under white light.”; [0112] “The cards may be constructed by laminating the layers together using heat and pressure. For example, the transaction cards may be roll laminated with adhesives, platen laminated, or other lamination process to laminate the cards together. Processing temperatures may range from about 200° F. to about 500° depending on the material used in the layers of the multilayer transaction card (such as PETG, polycarbonate, or other like materials).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, to include flakes of diffractive material embedded in a layer of elastic material, as taught by Web, in order to diffract light into 360 degree viewability in a rainbow of colors.
Regarding claim 19, the teachings of Cooper in view of Adelson and Wang have been discussed above with respect to claim 18. The modified teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, do not specifically teach wherein the flakes are comprised of reflective diffractive grating material of holographic foil.
However, Web teaches:
wherein the flakes are comprised of reflective diffractive grating material of holographic foil ([0114] “With respect to FIGS. 1 and 2, after the laminate is applied, a signature field is applied to the back surface 12 of card 5 (step 175) and the holographic foil 15 is applied to the front 10 of card 5 (step 190).”; [0117] “With respect to the holographic foil 15, the foil 15 can be any color, contain any hologram, can be applied to any location on card 5, and can be cut to any size, shape and thickness. In an exemplary embodiment, the holographic foil 15 sheet preferably includes a gray adhesive on the bottom side and a blue, mirror-like, three-dimensional holographic surface on the top side containing numerous holographic images about 1¼″×-1¼″ each. The exemplary hologram includes a 360 degree viewability and diffracts a rainbow of colors under white light.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson, Wang and Web, to include reflective diffractive grating material of holographic foil, as taught by Web, in order to diffract light into 360 degree viewability in a rainbow of colors.
Claims 9, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (US 10,038,854 B1), in view of Adelson (US 2009/0315989 A1), and Wang et al. (US 2011/0302694 A1), and further in view of Hickerson et al. (US 2015/0168954 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the teachings of Cooper in view of Adelson and Wang have been discussed above with respect to claim 8. The modified teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, do not specifically teach a controller, and wherein the controller is structured to activate the two light sources in an alternating manner such that when a first light source of the two light sources is ON then a second light source of the two light sources is OFF, and vice versa.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hickerson teaches:
a controller, and wherein the controller is structured to activate the two light sources in an alternating manner such that when a first light source of the two light sources is ON then a second light source of the two light sources is OFF, and vice versa ([0034] “ A synchronization circuit 504 receives a synchronization signal from a visual sensor 500 and alternately pulses the lasers 508 and 509 on and off.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, to include a controller, and activate the two light sources in an alternating manner such that when a first light source of the two light sources is ON then a second light source of the two light sources is OFF, and vice versa, as taught by Hickerson, in order to an illumination pattern for easily detecting the difference between different images captured.
Regarding claim 13, the teachings of Cooper in view of Adelson and Wang have been discussed above with respect to claim 11. The modified teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, do not specifically teach wherein the first light source and the second light source are operated to emit light at a different timing from one another.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hickerson teaches:
wherein the first light source and the second light source are operated to emit light at a different timing from one another ([0034] “ A synchronization circuit 504 receives a synchronization signal from a visual sensor 500 and alternately pulses the lasers 508 and 509 on and off.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, to operate the first light source and the second light source to emit light at a different timing from one another, as taught by Hickerson, in order to an illumination pattern for easily detecting the difference between different images captured.
Regarding claim 16, the teachings of Cooper in view of Adelson and Wang have been discussed above with respect to claim 10. The modified teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, do not specifically teach wherein emitting the light includes fat least one of: emitting the light via a single point light source, emitting the light via an annulus-shaped light source, and emitting the light via a collimated light source.
However, Hickerson teaches:
wherein emitting the light includes at least one of: emitting the light via a single point light source ([0012] “ The light source can be a simple point source, such as a laser beam or a focused LED beam, can be a stripe of light, or can be any other fixed projection pattern.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cooper, in view of Adelson and Wang, to emit the light via a single point light source, as taught by Hickerson, in order to detect an object point from the captured image.
Claims 22-23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (KR 20190070386 A), in view of Moore (US 2013/0325181 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Hwang teaches wherein the imaging includes providing a pre-contact image of the work piece ([0178] “Referring to FIG. 8, first, the camera 121 acquires an image of at least one first object 10 (S20).”; [0180] “in the second embodiment, when the hand 200 is brought into contact with the first object 10 for gripping, the normal force, shear force (force) of the first object 10, a step S22 is performed in which the tactile sensor 144 senses at least one of shear force, conductive, and conductive.” – Step S20 is performed before step S22; hence, the imaging is performed before the robot hand is brought into contact with the workpiece).
Hwang does not specifically teach wherein the imaging includes providing a pre- contact image of the work piece through the visual-tactile contact pad.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Moore teaches:
wherein the imaging ([0018] “the sensor 350 is an optical proximity sensor. This optical sensor 350 may be an infrared (IR) sensor, laser, photo sensor, and/or the like.”) includes providing a pre-contact image of the work piece through the visual-tactile contact pad ([0022] “For instance, prior to the manipulator 105 making contact and/or grasping an object, one or more sensors 350 may be directed to sweep in any desired range of angles and/or direction from a contact surface of the manipulator 105 to develop a robust understanding of the surface features of an object targeted.”; [0026] “The skin sensor 400, (tactile sensors) may be an array of force sensing cells, i.e., sensels, configured to measure the spatial distribution and magnitude of forces perpendicular to the sensing area. Similar to sensors 350, these tactile sensors 400 may be configured to provide real-time pressure profiles on flat, curved, rigid or soft surfaces and can be used to improve the quality of industrial processes as well as of commercial products.” – Fig. 2 shows optical sensor 350 located within each robotic finger for sensing an object through the tactile sensor/visual-tactile contact pad 400).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hwang to provide a pre-contact image of the work piece through the visual-tactile contact pad, as taught by Moore, in order to develop a robust understanding of the surface features of an object targeted, as stated by Moore in [0022].
Regarding claim 23, Hwang does not specifically teach wherein the imaging includes providing a pre-contact image of the work piece through a gap provided between fingers of the robotic gripper.
However, Moore teaches:
wherein the imaging includes providing a pre-contact image of the work piece through a gap provided between fingers of the robotic gripper (Fig. 2; [0022] “For instance, prior to the manipulator 105 making contact and/or grasping an object, one or more sensors 350 may be directed to sweep in any desired range of angles and/or direction from a contact surface of the manipulator 105 to develop a robust understanding of the surface features of an object targeted.”; [0028] “With reference to FIG. 2, the sensor 350 may operate down a channel 356 through one or more through holes 355 through the contact surface of the manipulator 105.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hwang to provide a pre-contact image of the work piece through a gap provided between fingers of the robotic gripper, as taught by Moore, in order to develop a robust understanding of the surface features of an object targeted, as stated by Moore in [0022].
Regarding claim 26, Hwang does not specifically teach wherein the imaging includes providing a pre-contact image of the work piece through the visual-tactile contact pads associated with the finger and the another finger.
However, Moore teaches:
wherein the imaging includes providing a pre-contact image of the work piece through the visual-tactile contact pads associated with the finger and the another finger (Fig. 2; [0022] “For instance, prior to the manipulator 105 making contact and/or grasping an object, one or more sensors 350 may be directed to sweep in any desired range of angles and/or direction from a contact surface of the manipulator 105 to develop a robust understanding of the surface features of an object targeted.”; [0028] “With reference to FIG. 2, the sensor 350 may operate down a channel 356 through one or more through holes 355 through the contact surface of the manipulator 105.” – This indicates each sensor 350 housed in each robotic finger 220 senses the object through the visual-tactile contact pad 400 of each robotic finger 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hwang to provide a pre-contact image of the work piece through the visual-tactile contact pads associated with the finger and the another finger, as taught by Moore, in order to develop a robust understanding of the surface features of an object targeted, as stated by Moore in [0022].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yerazunis et al. (US 2021/0107166 A1) teaches a tactile sensor including a camera positioned to capture images of marks.
Salisbury (US 9,052,775 B1) teaches a tactile sensor that senses normal load and/or shear load.
/NHI Q BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656