Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 8, lines 1-2, “The elastic layer 68 can be coated the light layer 70” should read “The elastic layer 68 can be coated with the light layer 70”.
On page 12, lines 3-4 “a surface or near surface a layer” should read “a surface or a near surface layer”.
On page 14, lines 7-8, “yet feature of the present application” should read “yet another feature of the present application”.
On page 15, line 3, “Another aspect of the present application includes method of operating” should read “Another aspect of the present application includes a method of operating”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adelson (U.S. Patent No. RE45578).
Regarding claim 1, Adelson teaches an apparatus comprising:
A visual tactile sensing device structured to image a work piece (46) prior to engagement with a visual-tactile contact pad to develop work piece image data, and to image a tactile impression of the work piece (46) upon engagement of the work piece (46) with the visual-tactile contact pad to develop tactile image data, the visual tactile sensing device having (Abstract):
A lighting system structured to emit light (Column 1, lines 64-67; Column 2, line 1);
A camera (14) structured to image electromagnetic radiation associated with the light emitted from the lighting system (Column 4, lines 57-59; Fig. 4A, element 14); and
Wherein the visual-tactile contact pad includes:
A rigid base (17) (Column 4, lines 57-59; Fig. 4A, element 17);
An elastic layer (16) coupled to the rigid base (17), the rigid base (17) providing a structural support for the elastic layer (16) (Column 4, lines 57-59; Fig. 4A, elements 16, 17);
A light layer (18) structured to receive light from the lighting system and emanate a first electromagnetic wavelength therefrom, the light layer (18) positioned adjacent the elastic layer (16) such that the elastic layer (16) is positioned between the rigid base (17) and the light layer (18) (Column 4, lines 59-61); and
A spectrally absorbing layer positioned adjacent the elastic layer (16) such that the elastic layer (16) is positioned between the rigid base (17) and the spectrally absorbing layer, the spectrally absorbing layer structured to remove the first electromagnetic wavelength and permit passage of a second electromagnetic wavelength of light (Column 10, lines 14-21);
Wherein the elastic layer (16), the light layer (18), and the spectrally absorbing layer of the visual-tactile contact pad are structured to deform upon engagement of the work piece (46) with the visual-tactile contact pad, wherein the tactile image data is generated from the first electromagnetic wavelength emanating from the light layer (18) upon engagement of the work piece (46) to the visual-contact pad, and wherein the work piece image data is generated from the second electromagnetic wavelength emanating from the work piece (46) which passes through the spectrally absorbing layer (Column 4, lines 43-46, 59-61; Column 10, lines 24-28; Fig. 6A, elements 44, 46).
Regarding claim 2, Adelson teaches the light layer (18) is structured to reflect the first electromagnetic wavelength (Column 4, lines 59-61; Fig. 4A, element 18; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 3, Adelson teaches the light layer (18) is structured to fluoresce upon receipt of the first electromagnetic wavelength and produce a fluorescent wavelength as a result, and wherein the spectrally absorbing layer is structured to absorb the fluorescent wavelength (Column 10, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 4, Adelson teaches the lighting system includes two light sources (12) (Column 4, lines 57-59; Fig. 4A, element 12).
Regarding claim 5, Adelson teaches the two light sources (12) are disposed on opposite sides of the camera (14) (Fig. 4A, elements 12, 14).
Regarding claim 11, Adelson teaches a method of operating a visual tactile sensing device, comprising:
Emitting a light from a lighting system toward a visual-tactile contact pad of a robotic system, the robotic system including a camera (14) for imaging a work piece (46) and contact of the work piece (46) with the visual-tactile contact pad (Column 1, lines 64-67; column 2, line 1);
Passing the light through a rigid base (17) and an elastic layer (16) coupled to the rigid base (17) of the visual-tactile contact pad (Column 4, lines 57-59; Fig. 4A, elements 12, 16, 17);
Emitting a first electromagnetic wavelength from a light layer (18) which is attached to the elastic layer (16) and in a direction toward the camera (14) (Column 4, lines 59-61; fig. 4A, elements 14, 16, 18);
Absorbing the first electromagnetic wavelength in a spectrally absorbing layer attached to the light layer (18) (Column 10, lines 15-19);
Passing a second electromagnetic wavelength through the spectrally absorbing layer toward the camera (14) (Column 10, lines 24-28);
Deforming the elastic layer (16), light layer (18), and spectrally absorbing layer upon engagement of the work piece (46) with the visual-tactile contact pad (Column 4, lines 43-46, 59-61; Fig. 6A, elements 44, 46).
Regarding claim 12, Adelson teaches the emitting includes emitting light from a first light source (12) of the lighting system and emitting light from a second light source (12) of the lighting system (Column 4, lines 57-59; fig. 4A, element 12).
Regarding claim 13, Adelson teaches the emitting a first electromagnetic wavelength is from reflecting the first electromagnetic wavelength (Column 4, lines 59-61; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 14, Adelson teaches the emitting a first electromagnetic wavelength is from fluorescing the light layer (18) as a result of excitation wavelength from the lighting system (Column 10, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 16, Adelson teaches an apparatus comprising:
A visual tactile sensing device structured to develop data associated with an image of a work piece (46) and tactile contours of the work piece, the visual tactile sensing device having (Abstract):
A camera (14) structured to image a first electromagnetic wavelength and a second electromagnetic wavelength (Column 4, lines 57-59);
A lighting system structured to produce light at the first electromagnetic wavelength and the second electromagnetic wavelength (Column 1, lines 64-67; Column 2, line 1);
A visual-tactile contact pad having a layered construction and structured to deform through at least some of the layers of the layered construction when in contact with the work piece (46), the visual-tactile contact pad having (Column 4, lines 43-46, 59-61; Fig. 6A, elements 44, 46):
A rigid base (17) (Column 4, lines 57-59);
An elastic layer (16) coupled to the rigid base (17) (Column 4, lines 57-59);
A light layer (18) coupled to the elastic layer (16) such that the elastic layer (16) is between the rigid base (17) and the light layer (18), the light layer (18) structured to emanate light as a result of the first electromagnetic wavelength and according to deformations in the light layer (18) associated with the tactile contours of the work piece (46) when the work piece (46) engages the visual-tactile contact pad (Column 1, lines 61-64; Column 2, lines 1-6); and
A spectrally absorbing layer coupled to the light layer (18) such that the light layer (18) is between the elastic layer (16) and the spectrally absorbing layer, the spectrally absorbing layer structured to pass the second electromagnetic wavelength (Column 10, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 17, Adelson teaches the lighting system includes two light sources (12) (Column 4, lines 57-59; Fig. 4A, element 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adelson in view of Kato et al (WO 2020017177).
Regarding claim 6, Adelson fails to teach a controller for the lighting system. Kato et al teaches a visual-tactile sensor comprising a controller (6), and wherein the controller (6) is structured to activate the two light sources (2A) in an alternating manner such that when a first light source of the two light sources is ON then a second light source of the two light sources is OFF, and vice versa (Page 8, paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Kato et al in Adelson to facilitate the creation of a controller that can detect the proximity of the work piece based on the light received from the light source (Page 8, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 15, Adelson fails to teach a controller. Kato et al teaches a visual-tactile sensor, comprising controlling the light system to selectively activate and deactivate a plurality of light sources (2A) (Page 8, paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Kato et al in Adelson to facilitate the creation of a controller that can detect the proximity of the work piece based on the light received from the light source (Page 8, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 18, Adelson fails to teach a controller for the lighting system. Kato et al teaches a visual-tactile sensor, comprising a controller (6) configured to alternate light emanating from the two light sources (2A) (Page 8, paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Kato et al in Adelson to facilitate the creation of a controller that can detect the proximity of the work piece based on the light received from the light source (Page 8, paragraph 5).
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adelson in view of Lee et al (US 10562190).
Regarding claim 7, Adelson fails to teach an elastic layer of PDMS. Lee et al teaches a visual-tactile sensor with rigid base, and an elastic layer made of polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) (Column 2, lines 11-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Lee et al in Adelson to create an elastic layer using PDMS in order to achieve good light transmission and sharper images as taught by Adelson (Column 8, lines 16-21).
Adelson as modified by Lee et al does not disclose polycarbonate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create a rigid base using polycarbonate, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 8, Adelson in view of Lee et al discloses the present invention except for Xirallic T60-24 SW Stellar Green flakes. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use flakes of Xirallic T60-24 SW Stellar Green, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 9, Adelson further teaches the flakes are oriented substantially aligned to the plane of the surface of the elastic layer (16) (Column 3, lines 49-51, 59-62).
Claim(s) 19, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in further view of Adelson.
Regarding claim 19, Adelson discloses the present invention except for polycarbonate material. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create a rigid base using polycarbonate, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 21, Adelson discloses the present invention except for Xirallic. Then, go into case law. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use flakes of Xirallic T60-24 SW Stellar Green, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 22, Adelson teaches the light layer (18) includes metal microparticles (Column 3, lines 17-18, 23-27). Adelson discloses the claimed invention except for nickel. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use nickel microparticles, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adelson in view of Ikeda et al (DE 112018000492).
Adelson fails to teach a dye layer. Ikeda et al teaches a display module with a touch sensor wherein the spectrally absorbing layer (41) is a dye layer, and wherein the spectrally absorbing layer (41) contacts the light layer (23) (Page 17, paragraphs 9, 10; Page 23, paragraph 1; Fig. 10, elements 23, 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Ikeda et al in Adelson to facilitate the creation of a dye layer that can transmit light of a certain color as taught by Ikeda et al (Page 23, paragraph 1).
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654