Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response to the last Office Action, filed 8/6/2025, has been entered and made of record.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 9, and 16. Claims 1-7, 9-16, and 23-27 are currently pending.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/6/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Skaff (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0083959).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16, 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akatsuka (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0394599) in view of Skaff (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0083959) in view of Yanagi (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0334620).
Regarding Claim 1, Akatsuka teaches a product detection device comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions; and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to (¶38 the processor 1001 reads a program (program code), a software module, and data from the storage 1003 and/or the communication device 1004 into the memory 1002 and executes various processes:)
acquire an image of a shelf on which a product is displayed (¶45 The image acquiring unit 11 acquires an image acquired by imaging product display shelves on which a plurality of products are arranged;)
determine, from the image, product display information including a shape of the product; (¶49 The detection unit 12 detects a product area image representing products from an image of product display shelves acquired by the image acquiring unit 11. More specifically, the detection unit 12, for example, recognizes each object extracted using a technique such as a known edge detection technique or the like for an image of product display shelves as a product area image representing products. In addition, the detection unit 12, for example, has learned a shape of each product in advance using a technique of known deep learning or the like and detects a product area image representing products from the image of product display shelves using learned data)
select a model to be used for detecting the image based on the determined product display information; and (¶51 The product recognizing unit 13 recognizes a product represented by a product area image detected by the detection unit 12 on the basis of information relating (model) to images of products stored in advance. In this embodiment, the information relating to images of products used for recognition of products is stored in the product data storing unit 30)
Akatsuka does not explicitly disclose determine, from the image, a shape of the shelf, a shape of the product, and a condition of a display of the product; select a model to be used for detecting the image based on a combination of the shape of the shelf, the shape of the product, and a condition of a display of the product; detect, from the image, a display state of the product displayed on the shelf by using the selected model.
Skaff is in the same field of art of image analysis. Further, Skaff teaches determine, from the image, a shape of the shelf (Fig. 4; ¶75 the image 300 is processed by a classifier 414 that classifies each pixel of the image 300 determine if the pixel is part of a shelf or not part of a shelf, to produce a binary mask, having pixels located on shelves flagged as a binary “1” in pixels not located on shelves flagged as a binary “0” ... The mask in FIG. 8 is the result of processing the image of FIG. 3 with the shelf segment classifier 414,) a shape of the product (¶65 Product detector 402 produces, as an output, the image with a bounding box as shown in FIG. 5. In some embodiments, the bounding box is represented in a data structure as a tuple of data of the form BB={x, y, w, h}. A tuple may comprise, for example, the x,y coordinates of a corner of the bounding box as well as the width (w) and the height (h) of the bounding box. Other information may be included in the tuple, for example, depth information,) and a condition of a display of the product (¶76 The binary mask showing the location of the shelves may be used to determine which of the shelf labels identified by shelf/section label classifier 408 are shelf labels representing product sitting on a shelf (condition) or are peg labels representing products hanging from a peg (condition);) select a model to be used for detecting the image based on a combination of the shape of the shelf, the shape of the product, and a condition of a display of the product (Fig. 4, 430 and 436; ¶86 At box 430 in pipeline 400, it is determined which shelf products are out-of-stock. This happens by consulting the dictionary of shelf label tuples and associated product tuples and determining which shelf label tuples have no associated product tuples. That is, which shelf labels have no products associated therewith; ¶87 at box 436, it is determined if products which have been classified as peg products are out-of-stock. In box 424, the peg labels were associated with peg products. In box 436, those peg label tuples in the dictionary having no associated product tuple; The model that determines out of stock state for the product is determined from the features detected in the image.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Akatsuka by detecting the shape of the shelf, the product, and condition of the product, and selecting a model to be used based on those features that is taught by Skaff; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references to be able to automate the tracking of inventory to determine when various products are out-of-stock, have been repositioned, or are otherwise not where they are expected to be (Skaff ¶9).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Yanagi is in the same field of art of image analysis. Further, Yanagi teaches detect, from the image, a display state of the product displayed on the shelf by using the selected model (¶137 When the background image appearing in monitoring area MA corresponds with the template image by pattern matching, lacking detector 213 detects that product 70 is not displayed in a region where the background image appears. In other words, shortage or lacking of product 70 corresponding to shelf label 51 is detected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Akatsuka in view of Skaff by detecting a display state that is taught by Yanagi; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references to monitor a display condition of goods or articles on the display shelf accurately (Yanagi ¶11).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, Akatsuka in view of Skaff in view of Yanagi discloses the product detection device according to claim 1,
wherein the one or more memories store one or more models learned for detecting the product from the image, the one or more models related to the product display information,
and wherein the one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to:
select the model matching the product display information from one or more memories (Akatsuka, ¶51 The product recognizing unit 13 recognizes a product represented by a product area image detected by the detection unit 12 on the basis of information relating to images of products stored in advance. In this embodiment, the information relating to images of products used for recognition of products is stored in the product data storing unit 30.)
Regarding Claim 3, Akatsuka in view of Skaff in view of Yanagi discloses the product detection device according to claim 1, wherein
the shape of the product includes a shape of the product imaged from a plurality of angles (Yanagi, ¶182 In addition, as described above, the recognition model appropriate for video recognition changes depending on the imaging direction, and thus, the recognition model may be prepared in advance for each of different imaging directions.)
Regarding Claim 4, Akatsuka in view of Skaff in view of Yanagi discloses the product detection device according claim 1, wherein
the shape of the product includes a shape of the product placed on one stage and a shape of the products placed on a plurality of stages in a stacking manner (Akatsuka, ¶59 the planogram analyzing unit 14 acquires planogram data on the basis of a positional relation between the position of a shelf board acquired from the image of product display shelves and the position of a product area image detected by the detection unit and information of products represented by a product area image recognized by the product recognizing unit 13 ... The number of stacking stages is the number of products of the same kind stacked at a certain position on a shelf board.)
Regarding Claim 5, Akatsuka in view of Skaff in view of Yanagi discloses the product detection device according to claim 1, wherein
one or more models includes a first model, for a certain product, in which a first difference between a displayable region, in a first image of a shelf on which the product is displayed, in which the product is allowed to be displayed and the displayable region in a second image acquired after acquisition of the first image is learned (Yanagi, ¶96 Lacking detector 213 is an example of a monitoring section and, for example, monitors a stock (or may be referred to as “display condition”) of product 70 in display shelf 50 based on a change in video corresponding to the presence or absence of a product in the monitoring area set by monitoring area setter 212; ¶101 a template image (i.e., “recognition model”) used for pattern matching of video recognition corresponding to the camera position may be prepared. In this embodiment, the recognition model is a template image, and the shape of shelf label and/or the background image is recognized by pattern matching. However, other implementation methods are possible. For example, a trained model generated by machine learning of each of the shelf label and/or the background image may be used as the recognition model to recognize the shelf label and/or the background image.)
Regarding Claim 6, Akatsuka in view of Skaff in view of Yanagi discloses the product detection device according to claim 5, wherein
the one or more models includes a second model, for the certain product, in which association between the first difference and a second difference between the number of the products appearing in the first image and the number of the products appearing in the second image is learned (Yanagi, ¶168 since the number of products 70, which are monitoring targets in monitoring area MA, can be known, for example, lacking detector 213 can more accurately perform stepwise detecting of lacking. Examples of the stepwise detecting of lacking will be described later.)
Regarding Claim 7, Akatsuka in view of Skaff in view of Yanagi discloses the product detection device according to claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to:
notify an external terminal of a result of the detection when an anomaly in a display state of the product is detected (Yanagi, ¶103 Output section 214 is, an example of a notification information generator that generates and outputs information to be presented (e.g., sent as a notification) to, for example, the stock manager. Output section 214, for example, generates notification information including a detection result of lacking detector 213 and/or information based on the detection result and outputs the notification information to output device 203 and/or communicator 206.)
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 has been analyzed with regard to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above as well as in accordance with Akatsuka further teaching on: a product detection method (¶151 a method described in the present disclosure, elements of various steps are presented in an exemplary order, and the method is not limited to the presented specific order.)
Claim 10 recites limitations similar to claim 2 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 11 recites limitations similar to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 12 recites limitations similar to claim 4 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 13 recites limitations similar to claim 5 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 14 recites limitations similar to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 15 recites limitations similar to claim 7 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 has been analyzed with regard to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above as well as in accordance with Akatsuka further teaching on: A recording medium storing a product detection program (¶39 The memory 1002 is a computer-readable recording medium and, for example, may be configured by at least one of a read only memory (ROM).)
Claim 23 recites limitations similar to claim 3 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 24 recites limitations similar to claim 4 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 25 recites limitations similar to claim 5 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 26 recites limitations similar to claim 6 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Claim 27 recites limitations similar to claim 7 and is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN BILODEAU/Examiner, Art Unit 2664
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664