DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Applicant’s arguments and amendments dated 9/15/26 have been received and entered in the application.
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-12, 15, 20, 24, 27, 34, 38-40, 42-45 are currently pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 1, 6, 20, 34, 45 are currently amended.
Withdrawn Objections & Rejections
The objections and rejections presented herein represent the full set of objections and rejections currently pending in this application. Any objections or rejections not specifically reiterated are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 38-40, 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Rho et al., (1998) Cellular composition and viability of demi- and quarter-embryos made from bisected bovine morulae and blastocysts produced in vitro. Theriogenology, 50: pp. 885-895 (hereinafter Rho) in view of Silvestri, G. (2017) Novel approaches of generating and selecting high genetic merit in vitro produced pig and cattle embryos. Thesis, University of Kent (hereinafter Silvestri).
Regarding claims 6-7, 38-39, 45, Rho compares methods of bovine embryo splitting, including serial splitting (Abstract). Rho discloses mechanically bisecting a blastocyst with a microsurgical blade (Bisection and quality classification of embryos). In some embodiments, following 24 hours of culture, the demi-embryos are bisected a second time to produce quarter-embryos (Bisection and quality classification of embryos). Rho explains that serial bisection produced a similar quantity of transferable embryos to embryos bisected a single time (Discussion).
Regarding claim 40, embryos are cultured in M199 media containing Earle’s salts supplemented with sodium pyruvate, glutamine, antibiotics, and polyvinyl alcohol (Media).
Regarding claim 42, Rho discloses producing bovine morulae and blastocytes by in vitro fertilization (Embryo preparation).
Regarding claims 6, 45, Rho does not disclose disrupting the zona pellucida using non-mechanical means. Regarding claim 8, Rho does not disclose that the embryos are serially split at least two times. Regarding claim 43, Rho does not disclose that the embryos are selected based on genetic criteria.
Silvestri compares methods for splitting embryos to increase offspring (Abstract). Silvestri discloses that embryos may be serially split; an embryo may be split from an embryo derived from a previous split (1.4.2.9). Silvestri discloses serial splitting bovine embryos using three different strategies. In the first strategy, eight-cell stage embryos are split into two 4/8 splits (2.2.3.4, 4.4.6, 4.4.6.1, Fig. 2.5). Embryos that progress to form a blastocyst are split a second time via bisectioning (2.2.3.4, 4.4.6,4.4.6.1, Fig. 2.5). For the second strategy, two-cell stage embryos are split via disaggregation (2.2.3.5, 4.4.6). Embryos that demonstrate cleavage are disaggregated a second time (2.2.3.5, 4.4.6, 4.4.6.2). For the third strategy, embryos are disaggregated a third time to form third serial splits (2.2.3.5, 4.4.6, 4.4.6.2). Silvestri explains that triple embryo splitting results in a decrease in blastulation rate of the splits, but produces an increase in the net output of blastocysts (4.5.5).
Silvestri discloses that the embryos are subjected to enzymatic digestion or mechanical removal of the zona pelucida (ZP) followed by separation of the blastomere (1.4.2.1, Fig. 1.17). Silvestri explains that splitting at the cleavage stage embryo is that it can lead to the formation of a number of embryos equal to the number of blastomeres recovered (1.4.2.1). Alternatively, a blastocyst may be bisectioned by passing a fine bore pipette through an embryo to produce two demi-embryos (1.4.2.2, Fig. 1.18).
Silvestri further discloses that embryos may be biopsied for preimplantation genetic diagnosis, genetic screening, or genomic selection prior to splitting (1.6, 1.7, 1.9, Fig. 1.22).
As both Silvestri and Rho are directed to methods of splitting embryos, in particularly serial splitting, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the references could be combined. Regarding claims 6, 45, a skilled artisan would understand that the non-mechanical means could be used to disrupt the zona pellucida as Silvestri teaches that mechanical removal and enzymatic digestion are art recognized alternatives. Regarding claim 8, a skilled artisan would be motivated to combine the references for the successful production of multiple, optimized monozygotic embryos as taught by Rho. Regarding claim 43, a skilled artisan would be motivated to select embryos based on genetic criteria as application of a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments dated 9/15/26 have been fully considered but are moot in part and not persuasive in part due to the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments, and in view of applicant’s arguments. To the extent that the arguments are pertinent to the current grounds of rejection they are responded to below.
Claims 6-8, 38-40, 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Rho in view of Silvestri.
Applicant argues that the teachings of Silvestri that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use non-mechanical means, nor would there be a reasonable expectation of success (Response p11). Applicant argues that strategy A of Silvestri requires enzymatic disaggregation of an 8-cell stage embryo followed by mechanical bisection (Response p11-12). Applicant argues that Silvestri teaches that strategy A is not successful such that a skilled artisan would not be motivated to try enzymatic disruption at the more disruption resistant 16-cell stage (Response p12-13).
In response, Silvestri discloses multiple strategies for embryo splitting; Silvestri discloses each of bisectioning (2.2.3), serial splitting with disaggregation and bisectioning (2.2.3.4, i.e., Strategy A), and serial splitting with serial disaggregation (2.2.3.5, 4.4.6, i.e., Strategy B and C). Silvestri explains that both strategy B and C successfully produce higher numbers of blastocyst stage embryos as compared to single splitting strategies. Therefore, applicant’s assertions that Silvestri does not disclose enzymatic disruption alone, and that a skilled artisan would have no expectation of success, are considered without merit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-12, 15, 20, 24, 27, 34 are allowed.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-12, 15, 20, 24, 27, 34 are allowed. Claims 6-8, 38-40, 42-45 are rejected.
/KARA D JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632