Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amendment filed on 3/30/2026 have been considered and amendments addressed with new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
by Kim et al. (US20210144516A1 ) Hou et al. (US20230292164A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches, A terminal apparatus for communicating with a base station apparatus, the terminal apparatus comprising:
reception circuitry configured to receive, from the base station apparatus, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message via a Dedicated Control Channel (DCCH), the RRC message indicating establishment of a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) Radio Bearer (MRB) ; [67]- If the MBMS-related RRC message is changed in a specific MCCH, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmits an MBMS radio network temporary identity (M-RNTI)(=indication) and an indication for indicating the specific MCCH.[43]- The DCCH is a point-to-point bi-directional channel used by UEs having an RRC connection that transmits dedicated control information between a UE and the network.
Though Kim teaches, in [31] that a MBMS gateway 270 uses a PDCP and IP multicast to transmit user data but does not specifically teach using this being sent through a RRC message.
Kim does not teach, processing circuitry configured to establish a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message
Hou teaches, processing circuitry configured to establish a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message. Fig 8 [110]- Layer 2 preparation may include establishing a MAC entity, or the layer 2 preparation may further include establishing an RLC entity and even establishing a PDCP entity(=establish a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim, processing circuitry configured to establish a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message as taught by Hou to send PDCP using multicast establishment using RRC message.
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches, A base station apparatus for communicating with a terminal apparatus, the base station apparatus comprising: transmission circuitry configured to transmit, to the terminal apparatus, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message via a Dedicated Control Channel (DCCH), the RRC message indicating establishment of a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) Radio Bearer (MRB) Fig2 [43-45]- the eNodeB sends a PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel, physical downlink shared channel) to each relay , information of the dedicated control channel resource region used by the relay configuration information of a multicast broadcast single frequency network MBSFN subframe used by the relay(=message indicating establishing a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) Radio Bearer (MRB)); Fig 8 [110]- Layer 2 preparation may include establishing a MAC entity, or the layer 2 preparation may further include establishing an RLC entity and even establishing a PDCP entity(=establish a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message)
[44]- An RRC context of the terminal device 120 is stored in the base station, and the base station controls the master TRP 1 to establish an RRC connection and communication with the terminal device 120.(= configured to transmit, to the terminal apparatus, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message)
Though Kim teaches, in [31] teaches MBMS gateway 270 uses a PDCP and IP multicast to transmit user data but does not specifically teach using this being sent through a RRC message.
Kim does not teach, to cause the terminal apparatus to establish a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message.
Hou teaches, to cause the terminal apparatus to establish a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message. Fig 8 [110]- Layer 2 preparation may include establishing a MAC entity, or the layer 2 preparation may further include establishing an RLC entity and even establishing a PDCP entity(=establish a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim, to cause the terminal apparatus to establish a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message as taught by Hou to send PDCP using multicast establishment using RRC message.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim teaches, A method performed by a terminal apparatus for communicating with a base station apparatus, the method comprising: receiving, from the base station apparatus, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message via a Dedicated Control Channel (DCCH), the RRC message indicating establishment of a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) Radio Bearer (MRB). Fig2 [43-45]- the eNodeB sends a PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel, physical downlink shared channel) to each relay , information of the dedicated control channel resource region used by the relay configuration information of a multicast broadcast single frequency network MBSFN subframe used by the relay(=message indicating establishing a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) Radio Bearer (MRB)); Fig 8 [110]- Layer 2 preparation may include establishing a MAC entity, or the layer 2 preparation may further include establishing an RLC entity and even establishing a PDCP entity(=establish a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message)
[44]- An RRC context of the terminal device 120 is stored in the base station, and the base station controls the master TRP 1 to establish an RRC connection and communication with the terminal device 120.(= configured to transmit, to the terminal apparatus, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message)
Kim teaches, in [31] teaches MBMS gateway 270 uses a PDCP and IP multicast to transmit user data but does not specifically teach using this being sent through a RRC message.
Though Kim does not teach, and establishing a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message.
Hou teaches, and establishing a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message. Fig 8 [110]- Layer 2 preparation may include establishing a MAC entity, or the layer 2 preparation may further include establishing an RLC entity and even establishing a PDCP entity(=establish a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim, and establishing a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the MRB based on the RRC message as taught by Hou to send PDCP using multicast establishment using RRC message.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478