DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/13/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s various arguments in the remarks filed 9/3/2025 on pages 8-13 include “independent Claim 1 recites features, relationships, and steps which are not disclosed or suggested in Asterjadhi421 [US 2020/0077421 A1] (or Asterjadhi350 [US 2020/0029350 A1], Butt [US 2018/0279368 A1], Li [US 2019/0342769 A1] and Hao [US 2021/0321454 A1]). Further there is no apparent reason in the applied art to modify these references to include all of the subject matter recited”, “Asterjadhi421 is clear in stating that such non-low latency transmissions are discarded if they overlap with low latency transmissions on the secondary channels”, “the uplink data 640 transmission on the primary channel 605 is discarded when it overlaps with the QoS service period 625-a, during which the AP allocates exclusive resources for low latency data”, “The crux of our claimed invention is that the first contention period is dedicated exclusively for data of a low-latency service to participate in channel contention, meaning that no non-low latency service data is allowed to contend for access during this designated period. This contrasts with Asterjadhi421 's approach where non-low latency data can still contend for access through the primary channel at any time, albeit with the condition that it may be discarded if it conflicts with a low latency service's QoS requirements”, “the first contention period recited in the amended Claim 1 is configured in the low latency service access operation mode, indicating that this period is specifically tailored to the needs of low latency services, optimizing their access opportunities and preventing any interference from non-low latency services”, “Asterjadhi421 does not teach or suggest the claimed feature "at least one first contention period is configured in the low-latency service access operation mode, the first contention period is dedicated for data ...... to participate in contention of a channel access opportunity" of Claim 1, specifically the "dedication" of the first contention period for exclusive participation of low-latency services in channel contention”. Also, arguments on page 13 includes “It requires the AP to dedicate the first contention period exclusively for data of a specific low latency service (i.e., associated with a certain station, AC, and direction)” [emphasis by applicant]. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Initially, applicant’s amendments have introduced indefinite issues regarding the specific station (antecedent issues), and data that participate in contention of a channel access opportunity (as opposed to stations that participate in contention as understood based on the specification and arguments), and applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with claim language. Notwithstanding indefinite issues detailed in the 35 USC § 112(b) rejection below, arguments include “the first contention period recited in the amended Claim 1 is configured in the low latency service access operation mode, indicating that this period is specifically tailored to the needs of low latency services, optimizing their access opportunities and preventing any interference from non-low latency services”, however, claim language does not specifically “tailor” the first contention period, nor does the claim language require “the AP to dedicate the first contention period”; claim language merely indicates the AP to perform “obtaining [low-latency service access request or low-latency service access information of a station]” and “entering [low-latency service access operation mode]” and thus, claim language merely indicates the first contention period exists (the claimed “at least one first contention period is configured”) which has some type of association with “low-latency” (the claimed non-specific low-latency service access operation mode), and possesses some qualities / properties / conditions (the claimed for data of a low-latency service of the specific station, a specific Access Category (AC), and a specific direction), while, for example, the first contention period is not limited with regards to any particular channel(s) or bandwidth(s). Accordingly, these claimed limitations are taught in Asterjadhi421:
Fig. 6 (QoS Service Period 625-c) above along with para. 254 cited on page 4 of the OA of 6/10/2025 shows the claimed contention period and a specific Access Category (AC), (para. 254 “one or more secondary channels of the set of channels are available for wireless communications with the wireless communication device associated with the predetermined QoS parameter … the channel access manager 1825 may transmit an RTS signal to the wireless communication device responsive to a successful contention-based channel access procedure”), Fig. 6 above shows the claimed dedicated for data of a low-latency service (no non low latency communications in QoS Service Period 625-c), Fig. 6 above shows the claimed a specific direction (DL and UL data is a specific direction as described in applicant’s specification on page 15 lines 17-20 and remarks filed on 9/3/2025 on page 7 with “a specific direction (e.g., an uplink direction, a downlink direction, a direct connection direction, or a bidirectional direction)”), para. [254, 111 cited on page 14 of the OA of 6/10/2025] shows the claimed to participate in contention of a channel access opportunity (para. 254 “one or more secondary channels of the set of channels are available for wireless communications with the wireless communication device associated with the predetermined QoS parameter … the channel access manager 1825 may transmit an RTS signal to the wireless communication device responsive to a successful contention-based channel access procedure”; para. 111 “Such a deployment may allow for contention-based channel access for any STA and also provide reliable low latency resources for data traffic having relatively stringent latency requirements”). Further, in an similar but alternative fashion, these claimed limitations are taught in Asterjadhi421:
with the corresponding descriptions of Asterjadhi421 indicated above. Still further, para. 159 discloses the AP may concurrently exchange non-low latency communications in the primary channels and low latency communication in low latency (secondary) channels (i.e. dedicated to low latency). Even further, while applicant discusses Asterjadhi421 “discarding” particular transmissions, applicant’s own arguments support the examiner’s stance that Asterjadhi421 discloses the claimed limitations since applicant’s arguments of “if they [the low latency and non-low latency] overlap …” implies instances where the low latency and non-low latency do not overlap and thus discloses applicant’s claimed “dedicated” limitation. Thus, among various possible mappings, Asterjadhi421 discloses the first contention period is dedicated for data of a low-latency service of the specific station (periodic low latency channel for one STA for low latency communication; para. [111, 114], QoS service period 625-c only including low latency data, QoS service periods 625-x having periods exclusively for low latency communication, secondary channel using contention-based channel access; para. [151, 154, 159, 254] and Fig. 6), a specific Access Category (AC) (QoS indicator indicates industrial internet of things (IIoT), virtual reality (VR) services; para. 193, traffic associated with QoS parameter; para. [06, 24-27, 112-113, 125], QoS service period 625-c only including low latency data; para. 154 and Fig. 6), a specific direction to participate in contention of a channel access opportunity (QoS service period 625-c only including low latency data in downlink (DL) and uplink (UL); para. 154 and Fig. 6).
Regarding “no apparent reason in the applied art to modify these references to include all the subject matter recited”, the argument is moot in light of the above as Asterjadhi421 still teaches the newly added limitations.
Accordingly, the examiner respectfully finds the arguments non-persuasive.
Argument for remaining claims are based on the same arguments as above and thus, are correspondingly non-persuasive.
The examiner notes claim 14 is identified as “(Original)” but includes amendments; the applicant is respectfully reminded of MPEP 714 Amendments, Applicant’s Action [R-07.2022] “In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered)” and “All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of "currently amended,"” [emphasis added].
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1: Line 5 includes “entering the low-latency service access operation mode” which should be “in response to accepting the low-latency service access request or the low-latency service access information, entering the low-latency service access operation mode” [found on page 15 of the specification] to obviate contradiction with dependent claim 8 requiring not entering the low-latency service access operation mode.
Regarding claim 8: Lines 2-3 includes “not entering the low-latency service access operation mode” which should be “in response to rejecting the low-latency service access request of the station, not entering the low-latency service access operation mode” to obviate contradiction with parent claim 1 requiring entering the low-latency service access operation mode.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: lines 7-9 includes “the first contention period is dedicated for data of a low-latency service of the specific station, a specific Access Category (AC), and a specific direction to participate in contention of a channel access opportunity” [emphasis added] which includes ambiguity since: A) claim language indicates the data is to participate in contention of a channel access opportunity, however, as best understood based on arguments, the intention is to specify particular stations communicating particular low-latency data in a particular direction are to perform contention-based access at a particular time, and which the ambiguity is exacerbated in the same newly added limitation since: B) it is unclear whether “the specific station” which lacks antecedent basis is directed to B1) the station introduced in line 2, B2) is directed to another station besides the station of line 2, B3) is directed to an arbitrary station that may or may not include the station of line 2, or B4) is intended to imply some other meaning. Examination continued on the assumption “the specific station” may or may not be the station of line 2, and on the assumption of limiting a particular time to particular low-latency data to/from particular station(s). The examiner recommends amendments, supported by the disclosure, that follow applicant’s arguments.
Regarding claim 2-12 and 20-21, the claims, ultimately dependent upon claim 1 and thus including the same issues, are interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claim, having corresponding same issues as claim 1, is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14-16 and 22-23, the claims, ultimately dependent upon claim 13 and thus including the same issues, are interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13-15, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Asterjadhi et al. (US 2020/0077421 A1) hereinafter Asterjadhi421.
Regarding claim 1, Asterjadhi421 teaches a service access method, applied to an access point (access point (AP) 105; para. 116 and Fig. 1) and comprising: obtaining a low-latency service access request or low-latency service access information of a station (AP receives Quality of Service (QoS) indicator of first station (STA) for service using data traffic; para. 166 and Fig. 8 step 815); and entering a low-latency service access operation mode (AP determines low latency of STA and sends indication to first STA to include secondary channel; para. [167, 168] and Fig. 8 steps [820, 830]), wherein at least one first contention period is configured in the low-latency service access operation mode (AP schedules QoS service periods [contention periods] and secondary node for low latency data; para. [150-156, 163, 169-170] and Figs. [6, 8 steps 830-835], contention-based communication between wireless communication device and AP; para. [7-10, 16, 24-27, 43, 60, 228, 254, 261, 266], low latency communication manager prioritizes [contention] data traffic associated with QoS parameter; para. [24-27, 205, 213, 219, 234, 295], QoS service period 625-c [first contention period] only including low latency data, QoS service periods 625-x having periods exclusively for low latency communication; para. 154 and Fig. 6), the first contention period is dedicated for data of a low-latency service of the specific station (periodic low latency channel for one STA for low latency communication; para. [111, 114], QoS service period 625-c only including low latency data, QoS service periods 625-x having periods exclusively for low latency communication, secondary channel using contention-based channel access; para. [151, 154, 159, 254] and Fig. 6), a specific Access Category (AC) (QoS indicator indicates industrial internet of things (IIoT), virtual reality (VR) services; para. 193, traffic associated with QoS parameter; para. [06, 24-27, 112-113, 125], QoS service period 625-c only including low latency data; para. 154 and Fig. 6), a specific direction to participate in contention of a channel access opportunity (QoS service period 625-c [opportunity] only including low latency data in downlink (DL) and uplink (UL); para. 154 and Fig. 6), and the low-latency service is a service satisfying a preset low-latency service condition (QoS indicator associated with low latency threshold; para. 167).
Regarding claim 3, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches wherein the low-latency service access information comprises at least one of: category information of the low-latency service (QoS indicator indicates industrial internet of things (IIoT), virtual reality (VR) services; para. 193, traffic associated with QoS parameter; para. [06, 24-27, 112-113, 125]), wherein the category information is used for indicating that a service requesting access is the low-latency service (QoS indicator indicates IIoT, VR services as low latency services; para. 193, traffic associated with QoS parameter as low latency services; para. [06, 24-27, 112-113, 125], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); access category information of the low-latency service (QoS indicator indicates IIoT, VR services as low latency services; para. 193); and a traffic identifier of the low-latency service (QoS indicator based on traffic specification (TSPEC); para. 146).
Regarding claim 4, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches wherein entry to the first contention period is indicated by a preset period category identifier (QoS service periods identified [identifier] by low latency [category] schedule information [preset period]; para. 155).
Regarding claim 5, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches sending low-latency service access operation mode configuration information to the station (AP broadcasts low latency schedule [QoS service period] in beacon received by low latency STA; para. [152, 155]), wherein the low-latency service access operation mode configuration information is used for instructing the station to enter the low-latency service access operation mode (low latency STA monitors secondary channel during QoS service period; para. [152, 155]).
Regarding claim 7, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches obtaining a transmission opportunity period (AP transmits trigger indicating use of secondary channel; para. 146), and determining the transmission opportunity period as the first contention period (AP transmits trigger indicating use of secondary channel; para. 146, low latency communications via secondary channels; para. 114, AP schedules QoS service periods and secondary node for low latency data; para. [150-156, 163, 169-170] and Figs. [6, 8 steps 830-835]).
Regarding claim 9, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches wherein at least one second contention period is further configured in the low-latency service access operation mode (time resources [second period] between QoS service periods [first period] configured by AP; para. 152), wherein the first contention period and the second contention period are different periods (time resources between QoS service periods; para. 152), the second contention period is dedicated for channel access of data of a non-low-latency service of the station (non-low latency STA uses secondary channel during time resource between QoS service periods; para. 152), and the non-low-latency service is a service satisfying a preset non-low-latency service condition (lower priority transmissions include latency above / different from QoS threshold, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); or at least one second contention period is further configured in the low-latency service access operation mode, wherein the first contention period and the second contention period are different periods, in the second contention period, channel access of data of the low-latency service of the station and data of the non-low-latency service of the station is permitted, and the non-low-latency service is a service satisfying a preset non-low-latency service condition.
Regarding claim 11, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches wherein entering the low-latency service access operation mode comprises one of: entering the low-latency service access operation mode according to pre-configured start time of the low-latency service access operation mode; or entering the low-latency service access operation mode under a condition that a service of the station is the low-latency service (AP receives QoS indicator of first STA for service using priority of data traffic; para. 166 and Fig. 8 step 815, AP determines low latency of STA and sends indication to first STA to include secondary channel; para. [167, 168] and Fig. 8 steps [820, 830], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); or receiving management information used for instructing to enter the low-latency service access operation mode (AP receives QoS indicator of first STA for service using data traffic; para. 166 and Fig. 8 step 815), and entering the low-latency service access operation mode in response to the management information (AP determines low latency of STA and sends indication to first STA to include secondary channel; para. [167, 168] and Fig. 8 steps [820, 830]); or receiving an access request sent by the station and used for instructing the access point to enter the low-latency service access operation mode (AP receives QoS indicator of first STA for service using data traffic; para. 166 and Fig. 8 step 815), and entering the low-latency service access operation mode in response to the access request (AP determines low latency of STA and sends indication to first STA to include secondary channel; para. [167, 168] and Fig. 8 steps [820, 830]).
Regarding claim 20, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (computer readable medium storing program; para. 328), wherein the computer program is executed by a processor to execute the service access method of claim 1 (hardware / processor executing software; para. 318-319).
Regarding claim 21, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches an electronic device (AP 300; para. 134 and Fig. 3), comprising a memory and a processor (memory 320, processor 310; para. 134 and Fig. 3), wherein a computer program is stored in the memory (computer readable medium storing program; para. 328), and the processor is configured to run the computer program, so as to execute the service access method of claim 1 (hardware / processor executing software; para. 318-319).
Regarding claim 13, Asterjadhi421 teaches a service access method, applied to a station (station (STA) 115; para. 116 and Fig. 1) and comprising: receiving low-latency service access operation mode configuration information from an access point (access point (AP) determines low latency of STA and sends indication to first STA to include secondary channel; para. [167, 168] and Fig. 8 steps [820, 830], low latency communications via secondary channels; para. 114), wherein the low-latency service is a service satisfying a preset low-latency service condition (Quality of Service (QoS) indicator associated with low latency threshold; para. 167); and entering a low-latency service access operation mode (low latency communications via secondary channels; para. 114), wherein at least one first contention period is configured in the low-latency service access operation mode (AP schedules QoS service periods [contention periods] and secondary node for low latency data; para. [150-156, 163, 169-170] and Figs. [6, 8 steps 830-835], contention-based communication between wireless communication device and AP; para. [7-10, 16, 24-27, 43, 60, 228, 254, 261, 266], low latency communication manager prioritizes [contention] data traffic associated with QoS parameter; para. [24-27, 205, 213, 219, 234, 295]), and the first contention period is dedicated for data of a low-latency service of the specific station (periodic low latency channel for one STA for low latency communication; para. [111, 114], QoS service period 625-c only including low latency data, QoS service periods 625-x having periods exclusively for low latency communication, secondary channel using contention-based channel access; para. [151, 154, 159, 254] and Fig. 6), a specific Access Category (AC) (QoS indicator indicates industrial internet of things (IIoT), virtual reality (VR) services; para. 193, traffic associated with QoS parameter; para. [06, 24-27, 112-113, 125], QoS service period 625-c only including low latency data; para. 154 and Fig. 6), a specific direction to participate in contention of a channel access opportunity (QoS service period 625-c [opportunity] only including low latency data in downlink (DL) and uplink (UL); para. 154 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 13.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches sending a low-latency service access request or low-latency service access information to the access point (AP receives QoS indicator of first STA for service using priority of data traffic; para. 166 and Fig. 8 step 815, AP determines low latency of STA and sends indication to first STA to include secondary channel; para. [167, 168] and Fig. 8 steps [820, 830]), wherein the low-latency service access request or the low-latency service access information is used for requesting (AP determines low latency of STA and sends indication to first STA to include secondary channel; para. [167, 168] and Fig. 8 steps [820, 830], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or instructing the access point to enter the low-latency service access operation mode (AP determines low latency of STA and sends indication to first STA to include secondary channel; para. [167, 168] and Fig. 8 steps [820, 830]); and receiving feedback information that is sent by the access point and indicates permission of the channel access (AP determines low latency of STA and sends indication to first STA to include secondary channel [permission of channel access of the data of the low-latency service of the specific station, the specific AC, and the specific direction of parent claim 13]; para. [167, 168] and Fig. 8 steps [820, 830]) of the data of the low-latency service of the specific station (periodic low latency channel for one STA for low latency communication; para. [111, 114], QoS service period 625-c only including low latency data, QoS service periods 625-x having periods exclusively for low latency communication, secondary channel using contention-based channel access; para. [151, 154, 159, 254] and Fig. 6), the specific AC (QoS indicator indicates industrial internet of things (IIoT), virtual reality (VR) services; para. 193, traffic associated with QoS parameter; para. [06, 24-27, 112-113, 125], QoS service period 625-c only including low latency data; para. 154 and Fig. 6), and the specific direction (QoS service period 625-c only including low latency data in downlink (DL) and uplink (UL); para. 154 and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 13.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches wherein at least one second contention period is further configured in the low-latency service access operation mode (time resources [second period] between QoS service periods [first period] configured by AP; para. 152), wherein the second contention period is dedicated for channel access of data of a non-low-latency service of the station by the access point (non-low latency STA uses secondary channel during time resource between QoS service periods; para. 152), and the non-low-latency service is a service satisfying a preset non-low-latency service condition (lower priority transmissions include latency above / different from QoS threshold, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); or at least one second contention period is further configured in the low-latency service access operation mode, wherein in the second contention period, channel access of data of the low-latency service of the station and data of the non-low-latency service of the station is permitted by the access point, and the non-low-latency service is a service satisfying a preset non-low-latency service condition.
Regarding claim 22, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (computer readable medium storing program; para. 328), wherein the computer program is executed by a processor to execute the service access method of claim 13 at runtime (hardware / processor executing software; para. 318-319).
Regarding claim 23, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches an electronic device (STA 400; para. 139 and Fig. 4), comprising a memory and a processor (memory 420, processor 410; para. 139 and Fig. 4), wherein a computer program is stored in the memory (computer readable medium storing program; para. 328), and the processor is configured to run the computer program, so as to execute the service access method of claim 13 (hardware / processor executing software; para. 318-319).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi421 in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US 2020/0029350 A1) hereinafter Asterjadhi350.
Regarding claim 2, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 does not explicitly disclose wherein the low-latency service access request carries at least one of following information: a service quality parameter of the low-latency service in an uplink direction, and a service quality parameter of the low-latency service in a downlink direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Asterjadhi350 teaches wherein the low-latency service access request carries at least one of following information: a service quality parameter of the low-latency service in an uplink direction (AP receives uplink QoS parameter; para. 56, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), and a service quality parameter of the low-latency service in a downlink direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Asterjadhi350 to the system of Asterjadhi421, where Asterjadhi421’s shared resources (para. 03-04) along with Asterjadhi350’s reduced interference on shared resources (para. [03, 23]) improves the system by improving channel conditions.
Regarding claim 8, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 does not explicitly disclose rejecting the low-latency service access request of the station, and not entering the low-latency service access operation mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Asterjadhi350 teaches rejecting the low-latency service access request of the station (AP determines cannot satisfy QoS parameter and uses different mode; para. [20, 62]), and not entering the low-latency service access operation mode (AP determines cannot satisfy QoS parameter and uses mode or STA uses different AP; para. [20, 62, 80, 84, 112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Asterjadhi350 to the system of Asterjadhi421, where Asterjadhi421’s shared resources (para. 03-04) along with Asterjadhi350’s reduced interference on shared resources (para. [03, 23]) improves the system by improving channel conditions.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi421 in view of Butt et al. (US 2018/0279368 A1) hereinafter Butt.
Regarding claim 6, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches sending a beacon (AP broadcasts beacon; para. [38, 152, 155]), wherein parameter information of the first contention period is indicated in the beacon (AP broadcasts low latency schedule [QoS service period] in beacon; para. [152, 155]), and the parameter information comprises: the number of at least one first contention period in a beacon interval (scheduling includes one or more QoS service periods; para. 151).
Asterjadhi421 does not explicitly disclose start time of each first contention period, and end time of each first contention period.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Butt teaches start time of each first contention period (beacon from AP includes start time of low latency (LL) mode; para. 111), and end time of each first contention period (beacon from AP includes end time of low latency (LL) mode; para. 111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Butt to the system of Asterjadhi421, where Asterjadhi421’s shared resources (para. 03-04) along with Butt’s time-critical applications (para. 06-09) improves user experience by enabling time-critical applications requiring shorter delays using shared resources.
Regarding claim 16, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 13.
Asterjadhi421 further teaches receiving a beacon sent by the access point (AP broadcasts low latency schedule [QoS service period] in beacon received by low latency STA; para. [152, 155]), wherein parameter information of the first contention period is indicated in the beacon (AP broadcasts low latency schedule [QoS service period] in beacon; para. [152, 155]), and the parameter information comprises: the number of at least one first contention period in a beacon interval (scheduling includes one or more QoS service periods; para. 151) .
Asterjadhi421 does not explicitly disclose start time of each first contention period, and end time of each first contention period.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Butt teaches start time of each first contention period (beacon from AP includes start time of low latency (LL) mode; para. 111), and end time of each first contention period (beacon from AP includes end time of low latency (LL) mode; para. 111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Butt to the system of Asterjadhi421, where Asterjadhi421’s shared resources (para. 03-04) along with Butt’s time-critical applications (para. 06-09) improves user experience by enabling time-critical applications requiring shorter delays using shared resources.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi421 in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0342769 A1) hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 10, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 9. Asterjadhi421 does not explicitly disclose wherein the number of the at least one first contention period and/or a length of time of the first contention period are/is determined according to a service quality parameter of the low-latency service and a channel environment indicator; and/or the number of the at least one second contention period and/or a length of time of the second contention period are/is determined according to a service quality parameter of the low-latency service and a channel environment indicator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein the number of the at least one first contention period and/or a length of time of the first contention period (configuration information includes time duration for low latency service; para. [10, 75-76, 79-80]) are/is determined according to a service quality parameter of the low-latency service (configuration information corresponds to services with low latency performance requirements; para. 75) and a channel environment indicator (Uplink Control Information (UCI) including Channel State Information (CSI) for short latency determines duration; para. 67-72); and/or the number of the at least one second contention period and/or a length of time of the second contention period are/is determined according to a service quality parameter of the low-latency service and a channel environment indicator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Li to the system of Asterjadhi421, where Asterjadhi421’s shared resources (para. 03-04) along with Li’s flexible scheduling (para. [53, 66]) improves user experience by enabling different services requiring different communication configurations using shared resources.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi421 in view of Hao et al. (US 2021/0321454 A1) hereinafter Hao.
Regarding claim 12, Asterjadhi421 teaches the limitations of previous claim 1.
Asterjadhi421 does not explicitly disclose setting a category identifier for a queue in which data of the low-latency service is located, wherein the category identifier of the queue in which data of the service satisfying the preset low-latency service condition is located is set as a low-latency category identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hao teaches setting a category identifier for a queue in which data of the low-latency service is located (create low jitter (LJ) access category for data meeting LJ service data condition; para. 140-142 and Fig. 11, LJ represents low latency; para. [57-60, 71]), wherein the category identifier of the queue in which data of the service satisfying the preset low-latency service condition is located is set as a low-latency category identifier (LJ access category for data meeting LJ service data condition; para. 140-142 and Fig. 11, LJ represents low latency; para. [57-60, 71]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Hao to the system of Asterjadhi421, where Asterjadhi421’s shared resources (para. 03-04) along with Hao’s low latency jitter (para. 03) improves user experience by improving feedback during operation, reducing lag in display, and maintaining connection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2017/0019930 A1) discloses a method for allocating temporary identifier to terminal in random access procedure in wireless communication system and apparatus [therefor].
Kim et al. (US 2023/0022414 A1) discloses a technique for performing low latency communication in wireless LAN system.
Oviedo et al. (US 2022/0167407 A1) discloses a system and method for channel occupancy time (COT) sharing for in an unlicensed spectrum.
Cavalcanti et al. (US 2022/0286947 A1) discloses extreme high throughput (EHT) communication of QoS frames during restricted target wake time (R-TWT) service periods.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474