DETAILED ACTION
Rejections Repeated
The 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 1-6,10-12,16 unpatentable over Yang et al. in view of Fuji et al. has been repeated as previously made in office action 8/12/25.
As to claim 1, the new limitation, “wherein the first direction is vertical direction, wherein the energy storage device is disposed in a posture in which the electrode terminal is directed in a second direction which is a direction intersecting with the first direction and extending along the bottom wall portion,” Yang et al. teaches wherein the first direction is vertical direction (figure 4 number z), wherein the energy storage device is disposed in a posture in which the electrode terminal (1N and 1P) is directed in a second direction (number x) which is a direction intersecting with the first direction (number z) and extending along the bottom wall portion (36).
As to the other new limitation in claim 1, “wherein the first plate-shaped member includes a first protruding portion which protrudes more than an end portion of the electrode terminal in the second direction, and wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction,” Yang et al. teaches wherein the first plate-shaped member (figure 4 number 36) includes a first protruding portion (36a) which protrudes more than an end portion of the electrode terminal (1N, 1P) in the second direction (number x). Yang et al. fail to disclose wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction. Fuji et al. teaches wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction (figure 6 number 33 and 1b) for the purpose of attaching to the outer main piece for easy alignment (paragraph 0057). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Yang et al. with wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction (figure 6 number 33 and 1b) for the purpose of attaching to the outer main piece for easy alignment (paragraph 0057).
As to the new limitation of claim 16, “wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction, and wherein the pair of external terminals are disposed at an end of the outer case in the third direction, and a length of the outer case in the third direction is longer than a length of the outer case in the second direction, “ Yang et al. teaches, and wherein the pair of external terminals are disposed at an end of the outer case in the third direction, and a length of the outer case in the third direction is longer than a length of the outer case in the second direction (figure 1 number 50N and 50P).
As to “wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction, “Yang et al. fail to disclose wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction. Fuji et al. teaches wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction (figure 6 number 33 and 1b) for the purpose of attaching to the outer main piece for easy alignment (paragraph 0057). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Yang et al. with wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction (figure 6 number 33 and 1b) for the purpose of attaching to the outer main piece for easy alignment (paragraph 0057).
Claims 13-15,17,38 are objected as being dependent upon a rejection claim as
previously made in office action 12/11/25.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. in view of Fuji et al.
Yang et al. discloses the energy storage apparatus described above. As to claims 25,29,34 Yang et al. discloses wherein the first plate- shaped member is made of metal (paragraph 0045).
As to claims 26,30, 35, Yang et al. discloses further comprising a spacer made of electrically insulating resin material and disposed adjacent to the energy storage device, wherein the spacer is a separate member distinct from the first plate-shaped member (paragraph 0044).
As to claims 27,36 Yang et al. discloses further comprising a bus bar joined to the electrode terminal, wherein the first protruding portion is disposed so as to protrude more than the bus bar in the second direction (figure 3 number 32).
As to claims 28,32, 37 Yang et al. discloses further comprising a second plate-shaped member disposed at an end portion opposite to the first plate-shaped member with the energy storage device interposed between the first plate-shaped member and the second plate-shaped member, wherein the second plate-shaped member includes a second protruding portion which protrudes more than the energy storage device in the second direction (figure 4 number 36,36a).
As to claim 33, Yang et al. discloses comprising: an energy storage device (figure 2 number 100) including an electrode terminal (50P and 50N); an outer case (20) which accommodates the energy storage device, the outer case including: an outer case body including an opening (21); and a lid body (22) which closes the opening, the outer case body including a bottom wall portion facing the lid body (22); a first plate-shaped member (11) disposed inside the outer case and disposed at an end portion of the energy storage device in a first direction which is an arrangement direction of the energy storage device and the bottom wall portion; and an electric device configured to monitor states of the energy storage device and control the energy storage device (paragraph 0052), wherein the energy storage device is disposed in a posture in which the electrode terminal (figure 4 number 1N and 1P) is directed in a second direction (number x) which is a direction intersecting with the first direction (number z) and extending along the bottom wall portion, wherein the first plate-shaped member (36) includes a first protruding portion (36a) which protrudes more than an end portion of the electrode terminal (1N or 1P) in the second direction (number x), and wherein the electric device is disposed inside the outer case (figure 2 number 20) at an end in a third direction (number y) which intersects with the first direction (number z) and the second direction (number x), and a length of the outer case in the third direction is longer than a length of the outer case in the second direction.
Yang et al. fail to disclose wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction. Fuji et al. teaches wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction (figure 6 number 33 and 1b) for the purpose of attaching to the outer main piece for easy alignment (paragraph 0057). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Yang et al. with wherein at least a portion of the electrode terminal overlaps with at least a portion of the first protruding portion in a third direction, the third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction (figure 6 number 33 and 1b) for the purpose of attaching to the outer main piece for easy alignment (paragraph 0057).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724