DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on December 29, 2025. Claims 2, 10, 12, and 15-33 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-9, 11, 13, and 14 are currently pending and are under examination.
Withdrawal of Rejections
The rejection of claims 20, 21, and 31 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite is withdrawn based on the cancellation of the claims.
The rejection of claims 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1 to refer to the lipokine as 12,13-diHOME and the cancellation of claim 2.
The rejection of claims 11-14, 20, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 11 to refer to the Ephx polypeptide, the cardiovascular diseases and description of the lipokine as 12,13-diHOME; The rejection is also withdrawn for the cancelled claims 12, 20, and 21.
The rejection of claims 22 and 31-33 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn based on the cancellation of the claims.
The rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, scope of enablement for increasing any lipokine level with any epoxide hydrolase is withdrawn based on the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 11-14, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, scope of enablement to practice the claimed method of treating any cardiovascular disease by administering any genus of epoxide hydrolases is withdrawn based on the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 22 and 31 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, scope of enablement to practice the claimed method of treating any inflammatory disease by administering any genus of epoxide hydrolases is withdrawn based on the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claim(s) 21, 22, 32, and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc (WO 2018/142379 A1) in view of NCBI Reference Sequence NP_001365357.1/ UniProt P07099 is withdrawn based on the amendment to the claims.
Pending Objection(s) and Rejection(s)
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the chemical name of the abbreviation of 12,13-diHOME should be recited at its first occurrence in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “level of a lipokine” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what a low level of a lipokine is claiming. Clarification is requested.
Claims 4 and 14 claim “at least about” a percentage identical to a SEQ ID NO:, but the phrasing “at least” and “about” make the minimum percentage unclear. Suggest, at least 80% percent to define the lower boundary.
Claims dependent on a rejected claim are rejected for failing to cure the indefiniteness.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 1 and 11 refer to the alternative of Ephx1 polypeptide or Ephx2 polypeptide, but dependent claims 3 and 13 refer to the combination of Ephx 1 and Ephx2. These are improper dependent claims, because they broaden the scope of the claim from which they depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc (WO 2018/142379 A1; previously cited) in view of NCBI Reference Sequence NP_001365357.1/ UniProt P07099; previously cited.
Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc disclose a method of treating a human subject having a metabolic disorder, said method comprising administering an effective amount of 12,13-dihydroxy-9Z-octadecenoic acid (12,13-diHOME). The human subject can have a disorder selected from diabetes, atherosclerosis, and heart disease (see claims 1-4).
Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc does not disclose the administration of epoxide hydrolase. It was known in the art that soluble epoxide hydrolase (sEH) metabolize 12,13-epoxyoctadecnoic acid (12,13-EpOME) to 12,13-dihydroxyoctadecenoic acid (12,13-DiHOME; Isoleukotoxin Diol) as evidenced by Hildreth et al. (see figure 1) and see also Joslin Diabetes Center (WO 2018/142379 A1) page 12, lines 2-7 and Figure 5C. Joslin Diabetes Center defines “cardiovascular disease” or “heart disease” to include cardiomyopathy, which would overlap with wall thickness and chamber dilation. NCBI Reference Sequence NP_001365357.1/ UniProt P07099 is the amino acid sequence of the epoxide hydrolase.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to administer the known soluble epoxide hydrolas polypeptide to thereby produce 12,13-DiHOME to treat diabetes and heart disease as disclosed by Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc.
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc (WO 2018/142379 A1) in view of NCBI Reference Sequence NM_010145.3 (June 30, 2020, mRNA transcript sequence submission) and Clement and Grieger (Molecular Therapy – Methods & Clinical Development (2016) 3, 16002).
Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc disclose a method of treating a human subject having a metabolic disorder, said method comprising administering an effective amount of 12,13-dihydroxy-9Z-octadecenoic acid (12,13-diHOME). The human subject can have a disorder selected from diabetes, atherosclerosis, and heart disease (see claims 1-4).
Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc does not disclose the administration of epoxide hydrolase. It was known in the art that soluble epoxide hydrolase (sEH) metabolize 12,13-epoxyoctadecnoic acid (12,13-EpOME) to 12,13-dihydroxyoctadecenoic acid (12,13-DiHOME; Isoleukotoxin Diol) (see Joslin Diabetes Center (WO 2018/142379 A1) page 12, lines 2-7 and Figure 5C). Joslin Diabetes Center defines “cardiovascular disease” or “heart disease” to include cardiomyopathy, which would overlap with wall thickness and chamber dilation. NCBI Reference Sequence NM_010145.3 is the mRNA nucleotide sequence of the epoxide hydrolase. Clement and Grieger disclose the use of recombinant adeno-associated virus vectors for transfer of genes into subjects for gene therapy (see entire document, also Abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to administer the known mRNA polynucleotide as disclosed by NM_010145.3 in a adeno-associated viral vector as disclosed by Clement and Grieger to express epoxide hydrolase polypeptide to thereby produce 12,13-DiHOME to treat diabetes and heart disease as disclosed by Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc.
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc (WO 2018/142379 A1) in view of NCBI Reference Sequence NM_010145.3 (June 30, 2020, mRNA transcript sequence submission) and Derosa et al. (WO 2014/089486 A1).
Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc disclose a method of treating a human subject having a metabolic disorder, said method comprising administering an effective amount of 12,13-dihydroxy-9Z-octadecenoic acid (12,13-diHOME). The human subject can have a disorder selected from diabetes, atherosclerosis, and heart disease (see claims 1-4).
Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc does not disclose the administration of epoxide hydrolase. It was known in the art that soluble epoxide hydrolase (sEH) metabolize 12,13-epoxyoctadecnoic acid (12,13-EpOME) to 12,13-dihydroxyoctadecenoic acid (12,13-DiHOME; Isoleukotoxin Diol) (see Joslin Diabetes Center (WO 2018/142379 A1) page 12, lines 2-7 and Figure 5C). Joslin Diabetes Center defines “cardiovascular disease” or “heart disease” to include cardiomyopathy, which would overlap with wall thickness and chamber dilation. NCBI Reference Sequence NM_010145.3 is the mRNA nucleotide sequence of the epoxide hydrolase. Derosa et al. disclose a composition comprising a mRNA that encodes a polypeptide that can be delivered by a lipid nanoparticle (see entire document, also Abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to administer the known mRNA polynucleotide as disclosed by NM_010145.3 in a lipid nanoparticle as disclosed by Derosa et al. to express epoxide hydrolase polypeptide to thereby produce 12,13-DiHOME to treat diabetes and heart disease as disclosed by Joslin Diabetes Center, Inc.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655