DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Debski et al. [CN 102379014] in view of Gettino et al. [US 3,145,357].
Regarding claim 1, Debski et al. discloses a current transformer [1, figures 1-5] comprising:
- a head tank and a head tank cover [3], both comprising or consisting of an electrically conductive material [figures 1-5], at least one primary winding for conducting a current to be measured, the primary winding comprising at least one primary bar, and a secondary winding [7] wound around the at least one primary bar, wherein the primary and secondary windings are arranged within a cavity defined within the head tank and head tank cover arranged on the head tank [figures 1-5], wherein an upper flange of the head tank is configured for fluid tightly sealing against a cover flange of the head tank cover by a sleeve [14], wherein the head tank and the head tank cover respectively comprise a primary terminal for electrically contacting the primary winding, wherein one or more connection points [terminals 12] are provided within the head tank and within the head tank cover, respectively, to electrically connect a respective end of the primary winding to the head tank or to the head tank cover.
Debski et al. further discloses the sleeve of head cover is sealed between the head cover and the head tank [figure 1].
Debski et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for an insulating ring arranged between the cover flange and the upper flange.
Gettino et al. discloses a transformer [figure 1] comprising:
- a tank [1] having a cover [2]; and
- core/coil assembly [8] of the transformer arranged inside the tank filled with fluid [7], wherein the tank is sealed with insulating/compressible ring [gasket 5, column 2, lines 20-21, figure 3] arranged between flange [4] and cover of the tank [figure 3].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include insulating ring between cover and tank of Debski et al., as suggested by Gettino et al., for the purpose improving liquid/fluid sealing.
Regarding claims 2-3, Debski et al. further discloses the primary winding comprises a number of primary bars extending in parallel and a number of return conductors connecting one respective primary bar to another one, wherein the return conductors are wound around the secondary winding [loop conductors show in figure 1], wherein the return conductors are located within the cavity defined within the head tank and head tank cover [figures 1-3].
Regarding claim 4, the specific of paper insulated copper wire would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving insulation.
Regarding claim 5, Debski et al. discloses the tank with head tank including a widen space provided to support the conductor loops of the primary and secondary windings [figure 1].
Regarding claim 6, Debski further discloses other external terminals [K1, K2, K3] arranged externally [figures 1-3] and for connection of the windings to external devices.
Regarding claim 7, Debski et al. further discloses the connection point between the primary and secondary winding to current supply ends [P1, P2, figure 1] with screw holes [15, 16].
The specific connection means use for connection point would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving connections.
Regarding claim 10, Debski et al. discloses the external terminals [K1, K2, K3] arranged on the same level [figure 3].
The specific arrangement of the external terminals would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving external connections and/or arrangement.
Regarding claim 11, Debski et al. discloses the external terminals [K1, K2, K3] arranged at different locations [figure 3].
Regarding claim 12, Gettino et al. discloses wherein the cover flange comprises a plurality of cover flange holes and the upper flange comprises a plurality of corresponding upper flange holes configured to allow for securing the head tank cover on the head tank by screws [3], wherein the upper flange holes or the cover flange holes are threaded and/or configured as blind holes, wherein in each cover flange hole and/or in each upper flange hole, a respective electrically insulating axle box is arranged and the screws are lead through the axle boxes [figures 1-4].
Regarding claim 13, the specific arrangement of the primary and/or secondary conductors would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing and/or assembling.
Regarding claim 14, Gettino et al. further discloses the upper flange and the cover comprise a respective circumferential notch [figures 2-3] in which a respective O-ring or gasket arranged.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the gasket also as the insulating ring provided for insulation and/or sealing for the head cover.
Regarding claim 15, the specific material use for the insulating ring would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving sealing and/or insulation.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Debski et al. in view of Gettino as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of GB190213934A.
Regarding claim 8, Debski et al., as modified, disclose the instant claimed invention except for one or more handling tabs.
GB190213934A discloses a head tank [A’, figure 1] for a current transformer, wherein the head tank including a plurality of handling tabs [figure 1].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include one or more handling tabs in Debski et al. head tank, as suggested by GB190213934A for the purpose of providing handling means.
Regarding claim 9, GB190213934A discloses the handling tabs include hole [figure 1].
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837