DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s amendment to claim 25 in the filing of 26 August 2026 has been entered been considered for this Action. The prior objection to claim 25 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-16, 18-19 and 22-25 are pending.
Claims 1-11 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 20 August 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-15, 18-19, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al. (US 2015/0004089 A1) in view of Doering et al. (US 2014/0072497 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Agarwal teaches a method for preparing trisilylamine (abstract) comprising the steps of introducing reactants into a reactor (providing a reaction mixture of trisilylamine and monochlorosilane into a reactor…contacting the reaction mixture with ammonia; [0012]); reacting the introduced reactants to produce trisilylamine and a reaction by-product (to provide a crude mixture comprising trisilylamine and an ammonium chloride solid; [0012]); discharging trisilylamine from the reactor (once the reaction is completed, crude TSA can be transferred from the reactor; [0027]); wherein, in the step of reacting, the temperature in the reactor is maintained at a temperature of about 25°C to about 30°C during the step of reacting (in certain embodiments the reaction occurs at room temperature, or about 25°C to about 30°C; [0020]), which is lower than the boiling point of trisilylamine is (52 °C).
Agarwal further teaches discharging the ammonium chloride by product from the system using a flow of nitrogen gas ([0031]), but does not teach pyrolyzing the byproduct in the reactor after discharging trisilylamine. Agarwal also does not teach the reactor comprising a plurality of reaction vessels that are connected in parallel to sources of reactants or the step of reacting being performed simultaneously of alternately in the plurality of reaction vessels.
However, Doering teaches that at temperatures higher than the decomposition temperature of the co-product (by-product) (the temperature of the gas mixture … is higher than the decomposition temperature of the coproduct of hydrogen halide and ammonia…in the range from 340 °C to 550 °C; [0008] and [0010]), hydrogen halide and ammonia can be removed from the reactor in the gas phase after the reaction (the product mixture is discharged as a gaseous mixture from the reactor. The gaseous product mixture typically contains trisilylamine, hydrogen halide and ammonia; [0008]). Doering further teaches that heating above the decomposition temperature of the co-products prevent solid ammonium halide formation ([0014]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Doering is describing that at temperatures in the range 340 °C to 550 °C ammonium halides, and ammonium chloride in particular, decompose (pyrolyze) to gaseous ammonia and hydrogen halides.
Doering also teaches that the reaction to generate ammonium halide precipitate can be conducted in plurality of reaction vessels which are connected in parallel and which can be operated simultaneously or alternately, and that such a configuration enables the precipitate to be removed from one vessel while the other continues to operate ([0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention add to the method of Agarwal the steps of pyrolyzing the reaction by-product (ammonium chloride) in the reactor after discharging trisilylamine and discharging the gaseous by-products produced in the step of pyrolyzing the reaction by-product (ammonia and hydrogen chloride) from the reactor, wherein the step of pyrolyzing the reaction by-product comprises a step of heating the reaction space of the reactor to a temperature of 340 °C to 550 °C, which is equal to or higher than the decomposition temperature of the reaction by-product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Agarwal teaches that it is desirable to remove the accumulated solid ammonium chloride from the reactor after discharging the trisilylamine, and Doering teaches a method for removing ammonium chloride from the reactor involving the instantly claimed steps.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the process of modified Agarwal in a reactor comprising a plurality of reaction vessels that are connected in parallel to sources of reactants, where the step of reacting is performed simultaneously of alternately in the plurality of reaction vessels, as taught by Doering. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because such a configuration enables the product of one reaction to be removed from one vessel while the reaction continues in the other vessel, as taught by Doering.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, modified Agarwal teaches the method of claim 12, where Agarwal also teaches introducing an inert gas comprising nitrogen to assist in the carrying away of the ammonium chloride . Agarwal does not teach the inert gas being heated to a temperature equal to or higher than the decomposition temperature of the reaction by-product.
However, Doering teaches that it is preferable to heat the system containing the gaseous products and an inert gas, preferably nitrogen or argon ([0012]), to a temperature higher than the decomposition temperature of the byproduct (coproduct) in order to prevent solid ammonium chloride formation ([0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to heat the inert gas comprising nitrogen taught by Agarwal to a temperature higher than the decomposition temperature of the reaction by-product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent the ammonium chloride from re-precipitating as a solid, thereby inhibiting its gas phase discharge in the method of modified Agarwal.
Regarding claim 15, modified Agarwal teaches the method of claim 13, where Doering further teaches treating the gaseous by-products (precipitation of the co-product by cooling; [0018]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Agarwal teaches the method of claim 12, where Agarwal also teaches heating the reaction space of the reactor to a temperature of 50 °C to 100 °C ([0028]), which includes temperatures equal to and higher than the boiling point of trisilylamine.
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01). Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 19, modified Agarwal teaches the method of claim 12, where the step of reacting is performed in a batch manner (the reactions were conducted in a batch wise manner; [0037]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Agarwal teaches the method of claim 12, where Agarwal also teaches condensing and collecting gaseous trisilylamine (TSA can be collected in an optional condenser ([0027]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Agarwal teaches the method of claim 12, and Agarwal also teaches the discharging of a solid reaction by-product from the reactor (solid ammonium chloride remains in the reactor and can be removed safely from the reactor. Solid ammonium chloride contains sorbed TSA and polysilazanes; [0028]). The modifications taught by Doering teach an alternate method to remove the ammonium chloride, but do not teach removing polysilazanes, some of which can be solids ([0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maintain in the method of Agarwal the step of discharging solids that are accumulated in the reactor and not pyrolyzed in the step of pyrolyzing. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to clean out the reactor of accumulated solids and enable its future use.
Regarding claim 24, modified Agarwal teaches the method of claim 12 where the reactants include monochlorosilane and ammonia, and the reaction byproduct includes ammonium chloride (a reaction mixture of trisilylamine and monochlorosilane …contacting the reaction mixture with ammonia to provide a crude mixture comprising … ammonium chloride solid; [0012] and Eq. 1).
Regarding claim 25, modified Agarwal teaches the method of claim 12, where Doering teaches that the reaction is carried out in a plurality of vessels where one reaction vessel can be operated while precipitate is removed from the other ([0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform Agarwal’s step of reacting in at least one of the plurality of reaction vessels while the step of pyrolyzing or the step of discharging is performed in at least one other reaction vessel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the pyrolysis and discharging steps are used in the method of modified Agarwal to empty the reaction vessel, and Doering teaches that the generation of the precipitate and its removal can be operated simultaneously in different vessels.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al. (US 2015/0004089 A1) and Doering et al. (US 2014/0072497 A1), as applied to claim 15, and further in view of Wan et al. (US 2006/0199357 A1).
Regarding claim 16, modified Agarwal teaches the method of claim 15, but neither Agarwal or Doering teach removing gaseous by-products by a scrubber.
However, Wan teaches a process, which like that of modified Agarwal, has discharge streams that may include hydrogen chloride and/or ammonia (Fig. 2 and [0056]). Wan further teaches that unreacted process gases and gaseous reaction by-products from this process are exhausted to a scrubber to condense environmentally dangerous fumes before exhausting to the atmosphere ([0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a scrubber in the method of Agarwal as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to remove the environmentally dangerous gases of hydrogen chloride and ammonia generated by the process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 August 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 12-16 and 18-19, and 22-25 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, pages 9-12, assert that Doering’s teaching of multiple precipitations vessels in which ammonium chloride is formed would not lead one of ordinary skill in the art to the multiple reaction vessels of the instant claims. This argument is not persuasive because in the combination of Agarwal and Doering that forms the basis of the rejections above, the precipitation of ammonium chloride occurs in the reactor vessel, as specifically taught by Agarwal. Agarwal also teaches stopping the reaction to allow the removal of ammonium chloride ([0027]), as analyzed above.
Doering then teaches that using multiple copies of the vessel in which the ammonium chloride is generated allows for the chemical operations to continue while the ammonium chloride is being removed from the system ([0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use multiple instances of any vessel in which the ammonium chloride is formed and from which it must be removed, whether this is the same vessel as the initial reaction (as in Agarawal and the instant claims) or a separate vessel (as in Doering). The basic motivation for doing so is exactly as Doering lays out: so that the reaction generating trisilylamine can continue while the ammonium chloride is being removed. Given this advantage of continuous operations, the higher costs associated with establishing the equipment to implement the multiple vessels would be considered acceptable, just as they are to Doering.
For these reasons, the prior rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A. PIRO/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735