Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the gas generating agent” in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is this the same as the “gas producing agent” recited in line 4?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji et al. CN102429886A.
This rejection has been withdrawn in view of the Amendment filed 12/03/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reyes et al. US 20050058707 A1, in view of Ji et al. CN 102429886 A.
This rejection has been withdrawn in view of the Amendment filed 12/03/2025.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. CN 101269049 B, in view of Ji et al. CN 102429886 A.
Gao teaches an osmotic pump controlled release tablet comprising a tablet core and a coating. The core comprising ligustrazine phosphate, penetration enhancer, a binder, a lubricant, solubility regulator with proper amount of absolute ethyl alcohol solution containing 20% binder, the weight ratio of the ligustrazine phosphate, penetrating agent, binding agent and lubricant is 75: 240: 30 : 1,8, said coating is composed of cellulose acetate, polyethylene glycol 400, diethyl phthalate and solvent; the acetic acid cellulose, polyethylene glycol 400, diethyl phthaltate with weight volume ratio of the solvent is 30 mg: 6 to 12 ml: 3 to 9 ml: 1000 ml. See abstract and paragraph 0017. Coating weight gain of about 2% is found in paragraph 0018. Tablet core further comprises solubility regulator such as sodium bicarbonate is found in paragraph 0024.
Gao does not expressly teach the claimed penetration enhancing agent.
Ji teaches a tablet comprising a tablet core and a controlled release coating layer. Tablet core comprising indapamide as the main active agent, filling agent, penetrating agent, adhesive, release agent and lubricant, release coating layer film-forming material comprises a release film, plasticizer and/or a pore-forming agent, wherein the filling agent comprises agar, the tablet core contains 0.5%-2% main active agent, filling agent 1-20%, penetrating agent 50-90%, bond 1-15%, release regulator 1-20% and lubricant 0.5-3%. See Abstract. Filler, binder, solubilizer, glidant, lubricant, disintegrant, and penetration enhancing agent are found in paragraphs 0011 and 0015-0017. Controlled release film coating comprising semipermeable film material is found in paragraphs 0012-0013. Coating weight grain of less than 5% is found in paragraph 0019. Method for preparing the film coating tablet is found in paragraphs 0020-0027.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to, by routine experimentation select a penetration enhancing agent in view of the teaching in Ji with the expectation to obtain film coated tablet having a release rate suitable for the delivery of any active drug. This is because Ji teaches the use of the claimed penetration enhancing agent in a controlled release tablet formulation is known and useful in pharmaceutical art, and this is because Gao teaches the desirability to include any known penetration enhancing agent, and this is because Gao teaches the inclusion of sodium chloride in a tablet core is desired.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/03/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615