DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and monosilicate, claims 75-83, 86-95, 98 and 99, in the reply filed on January 21, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the finding of lack of unity is premature because a full search of the prior art has yet to have been conducted. This is not found persuasive because PCT Rule 13.1 and 13.2 do not require a full search to be conducted prior to determining lack of unity. Further, given the technical feature linking the inventions of Groups I-IV does not provide a contribution over the prior art, see below discussion, and no single general inventive concept exits, there is a lack of unity among the stated groups. As such, the restriction is proper under PCT Rule 13.1 and 13.2.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 84, 85, 96, 97 and 100-113 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species and method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 21, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 75-83, 86-95, 98 and 99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beall et al. (US 2016/0102010).
Regarding claim 75, Beall teaches a microcrystalline glass-ceramic comprising SiO2, Al2O3, Li2O, ZrO2 and P2O5, see abstract, Table 1 and [0010 & 0170]. In some embodiments, the glass-ceramic has a composition comprising, in wt %: SiO2: 55-80%; Al2O3: 2-20%; Li2O: 5-20%; P2O5: 0.5-6%; and ZrO2: 0.2-15% [0010-0018]. Note that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 76, the reference discloses the composition comprises, in wt %: B2O3: 0-10%; Na2O: 0-5%; and ZnO: 0-10%, which overlap the claimed ranges [0010-0018]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 77, based on the ranges disclosed for the claimed components, the reference is considered to render obvious one or more of the claimed situations [0010-0018]. For example, the reference renders obvious Applicant’s example 2 of Table 1, which satisfies one or more of the claimed situations, see Beall [0010-0024].
Regarding claim 78, based on the ranges disclosed for the claimed components, the reference is considered to render obvious one or more of the claimed situations [0010-0018]. For example, the reference renders obvious Applicant’s example 2 of Table 1, which satisfies one or more of the claimed situations, see Beall [0010-0024].
Regarding claim 79, the reference discloses the composition comprises, in wt %: SiO2: 55-80%; Al2O3: 2-20%; Li2O: 5-20%; P2O5: 0.5-6%; ZrO2: 0.2-15%; B2O3: 0-10%; Na2O: 0-5%; and ZnO: 0-10%, which overlap one or more of the claimed ranges [0010-0018]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 80, the reference renders obvious a composition that does not include any of the claimed components [0010-0024].
Regarding claims 81-83, the reference discloses the glass-ceramic contains a lithium silicate crystalline phase of lithium disilicate or lithium metasilicate, which corresponds to lithium monosilicate, in range amounts that are the same as the claimed ranges and with examples within the claimed ranges [0149 & 0151]; see MPEP 2131.03 I. Additionally, the reference discloses lithium silicate as the crystalline phase with a higher weight percentage than any other crystalline phase [0063, 0118 and 0149-0151].
Regarding claim 86, the reference discloses the glass-ceramic has an ion exchange depth of layer of 40 microns of greater [0188].
Regarding claim 87, Beall teaches a microcrystalline glass-ceramic comprising SiO2, Al2O3, Li2O, ZrO2 and P2O5, see abstract, Table 1 and [0010 & 0170]. In some embodiments, the glass-ceramic has a composition comprising, in wt %: SiO2: 55-80%; Al2O3: 2-20%; Li2O: 5-20%; P2O5: 0.5-6%; and ZrO2: 0.2-15% [0010-0018]. Note that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 88, the reference discloses the composition comprises, in wt %: B2O3: 0-10%; Na2O: 0-5%; and ZnO: 0-10%, which overlap the claimed ranges [0010-0018]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 89, based on the ranges disclosed for the claimed components, the reference is considered to render obvious one or more of the claimed situations [0010-0018]. For example, the reference renders obvious Applicant’s example 2 of Table 1, which satisfies one or more of the claimed situations, see Beall [0010-0024].
Regarding claim 90, based on the ranges disclosed for the claimed components, the reference is considered to render obvious one or more of the claimed situations [0010-0018]. For example, the reference renders obvious Applicant’s example 2 of Table 1, which satisfies one or more of the claimed situations, see Beall [0010-0024].
Regarding claim 91, the reference discloses the composition comprises, in wt %: SiO2: 55-80%; Al2O3: 2-20%; Li2O: 5-20%; P2O5: 0.5-6%; ZrO2: 0.2-15%; B2O3: 0-10%; Na2O: 0-5%; and ZnO: 0-10%, which overlap one or more of the claimed ranges [0010-0018]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 92, the reference renders obvious a composition that does not include any of the claimed components [0010-0024].
Regarding claims 93-95, the reference discloses the glass-ceramic contains a lithium silicate crystalline phase of lithium disilicate or lithium metasilicate, which corresponds to lithium monosilicate, in range amounts that are the same as the claimed ranges and with examples within the claimed ranges [0149 & 0151]; see MPEP 2131.03 I. Additionally, the reference discloses lithium silicate as the crystalline phase with a higher weight percentage than any other crystalline phase [0063, 0118 and 0149-0151].
Regarding claim 98, the reference discloses the glass-ceramic has an ion exchange depth of layer of 40 microns of greater [0188].
Regarding claim 99, the reference discloses a microcrystalline glass article with the claimed composition [0008-0024].
Double Patenting
Claims 75-84, 86-96 and 98-103 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 75-83, 85-95, 97, 98 and 105-107 of copending Application No. 18/103,974 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claims a microcrystalline glass with similar compositions and crystalline phases.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783