DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 1 is amended. Support for amendment can be found in [0089] of the instant specification.
Claim 15 is cancelled.
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are considered on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 depends from claim 15 which has been cancelled. Therefore the metes and bounds of claim 17 are unclear. For purposes of examination Claim 17 is being considered as dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10, 12, 16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (CN211182396U) hereinafter "Liang", cited on the IDS filed 05/28/2024, in view of Sugiyo et al. (US 20210135276 A1) hereinafter "Sugiyo". Reference is made to previously provided machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Liang teaches a button-type secondary battery, comprising: an electrode assembly; a lower can in which the electrode assembly is disposed and on which a first screw thread is defined on an outer circumferential surface thereof; an upper can which is configured to cover an opening of an upper end of the lower can and on which a second screw thread corresponding to the first screw thread is defined on an inner circumferential surface thereof (Fig. 2 & 4; [0008]; [0032]-[0034]; ); and an insulator interposed between the upper can and the lower can to prevent the upper can and the lower can from being electrically short-circuited with each other (Fig. 2; [0014]-[0016]; [0027]; [0031]; [0008]), and a first electrode tab extending to be connected to the electrode assembly is in contact with the upper can (Fig. 2 & 4; [0027] electrode tab 40 + contact protrusion 401).
Liang does not teach wherein the electrode assembly is formed by horizontally stacking a plurality of first electrodes, a separator, and a second electrode, and a first electrode tab extending to be connected to each of the first electrodes, where the first electrode tab is in direct contact with the upper can, nor where wherein the outermost first electrode disposed at the outermost side of the electrode assembly is in direct contact with a bottom surface of the first electrode tab.
However, Sugiyo teaches wherein the electrode assembly is formed by horizontally stacking a plurality of first electrodes, a separator, and a second electrode ([0081]), and a first electrode tab extending to be connected to each of the first electrodes ([0082]; [0048] element 4 corresponds to a first electrode tab; [0051]; [0072]; Fig. 3 annotated below; [0036]-[0038] element 11 corresponds to the first electrode), where the first electrode tab is in direct contact with the upper can, and where wherein the outermost first electrode disposed at the outermost side of the electrode assembly is in direct contact with a bottom surface of the first electrode tab (Fig. 3 annotated below; [0048] element 11 is in contact with the bottom surface of element 41 which is in contact with metal case 7). Sugiyo teaches that the configuration of stacked electrodes and electrode tab groups allows for reduced weight and size of the coin-shaped battery ([0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the button-shaped battery taught by Liang such that the electrode assembly is formed by horizontally stacking a plurality of first electrodes, a separator, and a second electrode, and a first electrode tab extending to be connected to each of the first electrodes, where the first electrode tab is in direct contact with the upper can, and where wherein the outermost first electrode disposed at the outermost side of the electrode assembly is in direct contact with a bottom surface of the first electrode tab as taught by Sugiyo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the button-shaped battery taught by Liang such that the electrode assembly is formed by horizontally stacking a plurality of first electrodes, a separator, and a second electrode, and a first electrode tab extending to be connected to each of the first electrodes, where the first electrode tab is in direct contact with the upper can, and where wherein the outermost first electrode disposed at the outermost side of the electrode assembly is in direct contact with a bottom surface of the first electrode tab as taught by Sugiyo to reduce weight and size of the battery ([0078]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 1. Modified Liang teaches wherein the upper can comprises an upper can electrode terminal part connected to the first electrode of the electrode assembly through the first electrode tab to form a terminal and configured to cover the opening of the upper end of the lower can (Liang Fig. 2; [0027]-[0028] “Both the lower shell 10 and the upper cover 50 are made of conductive metal”). Modified Liang teaches the first electrode tab comprises: a contact part extending from the support part so as to be in contact with the upper can electrode terminal part (Sugiyo [0048]; [0082]; Fig. 3 element 4A comprising 41, 42, and 43).
Modified Liang does not explicitly teach a terminal connected to an external device.
However, Liang recognizes that it is conventional to utilize batteries to power external devices ([0004]). Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to connect the electrically conductive upper shell taught by modified Liang to an external device.
Liang does not teach wherein the first electrode tab comprises: a support part connected to the plurality of first electrodes of the electrode assembly; and a contact part extending from the support part so as to be in contact with the upper can electrode terminal part.
However, Sugiyo teaches wherein the first electrode tab comprises: a support part connected to the plurality of first electrodes of the electrode assembly (Fig. 4 & 6 element 40/40A corresponds to support part); and a contact part extending from the support part so as to be in contact with the upper can electrode terminal part ([0048]; [0082]; Fig. 3 element 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the button-type secondary battery taught by modified Liang such that the first electrode tab comprises: a support part connected to the plurality of first electrodes of the electrode assembly; and a contact part extending from the support part so as to be in contact with the upper can electrode terminal part as taught by Sugiyo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would further modify the button-type secondary battery taught by modified Liang such that the first electrode tab comprises: a support part connected to the plurality of first electrodes of the electrode assembly; and a contact part extending from the support part so as to be in contact with the upper can electrode terminal part as taught by Sugiyo with a reasonable expectation of successfully producing a button-type battery with stacked electrodes because an electrode tab configuration of a support part and contact part are known in the art for use in a button-type battery with a stacked electrode configuration.
Regarding claim 10, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 1. Modified Liang teaches an outer insulator disposed outside the lower can (Fig. 2).
Modified Liang does not teach wherein the insulator comprises: an inner insulator disposed inside the lower can and a connection insulator configured to connect the inner insulator to the outer insulator.
However, Sugiyo teaches a button battery including a positive electrode shell, a negative electrode shell, a battery cell and an insulating ring ([0028] gasket 9 corresponds to insulating ring) wherein the insulating ring has an inner insulator disposed inside the lower can; an outer insulator disposed outside the lower can; and a connection insulator configured to connect the inner insulator to the outer insulator (Fig. 1; [0032]-[0033]). Sugiyo teaches that the gasket configuration having an inner portion, an outer portion, and a connection portion allows an upper can (metal case 7) and a lower can (metal sealing plate 8) to be joined together while being electrically insulated from each other and sealing the gap between the two ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulating ring taught by modified Liang by incorporating an inner insulator disposed inside the lower can; an outer insulator disposed outside the lower can; and a connection insulator configured to connect the inner insulator to the outer insulator as taught by Sugiyo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the insulating ring taught by modified Liang by incorporating an inner insulator disposed inside the lower can; an outer insulator disposed outside the lower can; and a connection insulator configured to connect the inner insulator to the outer insulator as taught by Sugiyo to allow an upper can (metal case 7) and a lower can (metal sealing plate 8) to be joined together while being electrically insulated from each other and seal the gap between the two ([0033]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 10. Sugiyo further teaches wherein the inner insulator is disposed between the first electrode tab and the lower can to prevent the first electrode tab and the lower can from being in contact with each other (Fig. 1 annotated below; [0033]; [0009]). Modifying the insulator taught by Liang according to the teachings of Sugiyo, as described above, would result in an insulator ring meeting the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 2. Modified Liang teaches wherein the outermost first electrode disposed at the outermost side of the electrode assembly is in contact with a bottom surface of the contact part (Fig. 3 annotated above; [0048] element 11 is in contact with the bottom surface of element 41 which is in contact with metal case 7).
Regarding claim 18, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 1. Liang further teaches wherein an end of the upper can is bent in a direction of a central axis of the lower can (Fig. 2 & 4 reproduced above; [0034]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 10. Modified Liang teaches wherein the outer insulator extends downward along an outer wall of the lower can (Liang Fig. 2, [0034], [0027]; Sugiyo Fig. 3).
Modified Liang does not explicitly teach wherein an end of the outer insulator further extends downward than an end of the upper can.
However, both Fig. 2 & 4 of Liang and Fig. 1 of Sugiyo show an end of the outer insulator further extending more downward than an end of the upper can. Further, Liang teaches that the upper can has a recessed portion that squeezes the insulating ring ([0034], in order for a recessed portion to squeeze the insulating ring the insulating ring must extend downward at least slightly past the end of the upper can) while Sugiyo teaches that the side wall of the upper case and the side wall of the sealing plate are swaged together in such a manner as to sandwich an outer peripheral part of the gasket therebetween ([0033]).
In view of Liang and Sugiyo it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have an end of the outer insulator further extend more downward than an end of the upper can.
Claim(s) 3, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (CN211182396U) in view of Sugiyo (CN111224054A), as applied above, in further view of Feng et al. (WO2021114329A1) hereinafter "Feng". Reference is made to previously enclosed translations.
Regarding claim 3, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 2. Modified Liang teaches a support part connected to a plurality of electrodes (Sugiyo [0048], [0082], Fig. 6).
Modified Liang does not explicitly teach wherein the first electrode comprises: a first electrode coating portion which is coated with an electrode active material on an electrode collector; and a first electrode non-coating portion which extends laterally from the first electrode coating portion and is not coated with the electrode active material, but is configured as only the electrode collector, wherein the support part is connected to the plurality of first electrode non-coating portions.
However, Feng teaches a button-type battery ([0036]; [0054]) including a bottom shell, a cap, and a sealing component sandwiched between the walls ([0045]) wherein each electrode includes a current collector and an active material coated on the current collector ([0079]. Feng teaches that the current collector has an extension portion extending in the radial direction of the cell ([0079]) which is subsequently bent to form a tab ([0079]). Feng teaches that by extending the current collector and bending it to form a tab, the strength of the tab is increased ([0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the button-type secondary battery cell taught by modified Liang to have an electrode coating portion and an electrode non-coating portion as taught by Feng. Further it would have been obvious to form the tab support part taught by modified Liang connected to each uncoated current collector portion taught by Feng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the button-type secondary battery cell taught by modified Liang to have an electrode coating portion and an electrode non-coating portion as taught by Feng and further to form the tab support part taught by modified Liang connected to each uncoated current collector portion taught by Feng because forming an uncoated portion is conventional in the art and forming an integrally connected tab increases the strength of the tab ([0079]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 10. Modified Liang further teaches wherein the outer insulator is interposed between the first screw thread and the second screw thread, and wherein the outer insulator is pressed by a protruding shape of each of the first screw thread and the second screw thread to define an uneven shape an d is fitted between the first screw thread and the second screw thread (Fig. 2 & 4; [0032]-[0033]).
Modified Liang does not teach wherein the upper can and the lower can are screw-coupled to each other by the first screw thread and the second screw thread.
However, Feng teaches a button-type battery ([0036]; [0054]) including a bottom shell, a cap, and a sealing component sandwiched between the walls ([0045]). Feng teaches that the walls of the bottom shell and cap have corresponding curved portions that press the seal ([0045]-[0046]). The curved portions can be symmetrically arranged or spirally wound around the bottom shell and the corresponding portions can be symmetrically arrange or spirally wound around the cap ([0049]). Feng teaches that a spirally wound configuration allows the cap to be screwed onto the bottom shell enhancing the seal and reducing wear on the seal ([0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the button-type secondary battery taught by modified Liang such that the sealing teeth are arranged in a configuration to allow screwing on of an upper can as taught by Feng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated modify the button-type secondary battery taught by modified Liang such that the sealing teeth are arranged in a configuration to allow screw coupling of an upper can as taught by Feng to enhance the seal and reduce wear on the seal ([0049]).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (CN211182396U) in view of Sugiyo (CN111224054A) and Feng (WO2021114329A1), as applied above, in further Wang et al. (US 20170069880 A1) hereinafter "Wang".
Regarding claim 4, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 3.
Modified Liang does not teach wherein the plurality of first electrode non-coating portions are bonded to each other to define a first electrode non-coating portion bundle, and wherein the support part is connected to the first electrode non-coating portion bundle.
However, Wang teaches a coin cell comprising two cases to form a housing and an assembly of stacked electrodes ([0007]). Wang teaches wherein the plurality of first electrodes are constructed of a metallic foil or mesh with cathode or anode materials coated on both sides ([0029]-[0039]). Wang teaches where non-coating portions are bonded to each other to define a first electrode non-coating portion bundle ([0032]-[0033]; [0044]; contact tabs are not coated). Wang teaches that all negative or positive electrode contact tab portions are welded together in order to electrically connect together the respective electrodes (Fig. 2-3; [0031]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to connect the plurality of electrode non-coating portions taught by modified Liang in view of Feng to each other to define a first electrode non-coating portion bundle as taught by Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to connect the plurality of electrode non-coating portions taught by modified Liang in view of Feng to each other to define a first electrode non-coating portion bundle as taught by Wang to electrically connect respective electrodes ([0031]-[0033]).
Further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to connect the tab support part taught by modified Liang to the first electrode non-coating portion bundle in order to allow electrical connection between the electrodes and a terminal.
Claim(s) 5-6, 8, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (CN211182396U) in view of Sugiyo (CN111224054A) and Zhu (US 20190348702 A1), as applied above, in further view of Peng et al. (CN111613739A) hereinafter “Peng”, cited on the IDS filed 05/28/2024. Reference is made to the previously enclosed translations.
Regarding claim 5, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 2. Modified Liang teaches wherein the support part has a bar shape (Subiyo Fig. 4).
Modified Liang does not teach wherein the contact part has a circular ring shape.
However, Peng teaches a button battery inside a housing with a tab having a support part and a contact part extending from the support part so as to be in contact with the upper can electrode terminal part and wherein the support part has a bar shape, and wherein the contact part has a circular ring shape ([0075]; Fig. 2 & 3 annotated below; [0093]-[0094]). Peng teaches that increasing contact area between a conductive portion of a cover and a tab improves the reliability of the electrical connection ([0095]; [0102]). Peng teaches a circular structure (Fig. 2; [0086]) with an electrolyte injection port located in the center ([0102]; [0098]; [0086]).
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the contact portion of the electrode tab taught by modified Liang such that the contact part has a circular ring shape as taught by Peng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the shape of the contact portion of the electrode tab taught by modified Liang such that the contact part has a circular ring shape as taught by Peng to improve the reliability of the electrical connection ([0095]; [0102]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Liang in view of Peng teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 5.
Modified Liang in view of Peng does not explicitly teach wherein the contact part having the circular ring shape has a thickness greater than a thickness of the support part.
However, modified Liang teaches the importance of reduced weight and size (Sugiyo [0011]). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the thickness of a support part and a contact part, for example such that the contact part having the circular ring shape has a thickness greater than a thickness of the support part, to achieve the predictable result of appropriate space utilization, i.e. weight and size. Modifications in size or proportions are within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) (See MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 8, modified Liang in view of Peng teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 5.
Modified Liang in view of Peng does not explicitly teach wherein an outer circumferential diameter of the contact part formed in the circular ring shape and an outer circumferential diameter of the electrode assembly have sizes corresponding to each other.
However, Fig. 2 & 3 of Peng clearly show an wherein an outer circumferential diameter of the contact part formed in the circular ring shape and an outer circumferential diameter of the electrode assembly have sizes corresponding to each other.
In view of modified Liang and Peng it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have an outer circumferential diameter of the contact part formed in the circular ring shape and an outer circumferential diameter of the electrode assembly have sizes corresponding to each other.
Regarding claim 20, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim1.
Modified Liang is silent as to the height and diameter of the button-type battery.
However, Peng teaches that it is conventional in the art for button cell batteries to have a larger diameter and thinner thickness ([0004]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to set the diameter and thickness of the button type battery taught by modified Liang such that a diameter is greater than the thickness as taught by Peng.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have set the diameter and thickness of the button type battery taught by modified Liang such that a diameter is greater than the thickness as taught by Peng with a reasonable expectation of success because this is a known in the art configuration of button cell batteries.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (CN211182396U) in view of Sugiyo (CN111224054A), as applied above, in further Wang et al. (US 20170069880 A1) hereinafter "Wang".
Regarding claim 17, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 1.
Modified Liang is silent as to the presence of active material on both sides or one side of the outermost electrode.
However, Wang teaches wherein the outermost first electrode comprises a single-sided electrode in which an outer surface facing the upper can is not coated with an electrode active material, but only an inner surface is coated with the electrode active material ([0029]-[0030]). Wang teaches that it is preferable to have a blank metallic side of an electrode facing the upper and lower portions of a housing ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the button-type electrode taught by modified Liang by making the outermost first electrode a single-sided electrode as taught by Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the button-type electrode taught by modified Liang by making the outermost first electrode a single-sided electrode as taught by Wang because it is known to be a preferably configuration in the art ([0030]).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (CN211182396U) in view of Sugiyo (CN111224054A), as applied above, in further view of Kobayashi (JP 2007294111A), cited on the IDS filed 5/28/2025. Reference is made to enclosed translations.
Regarding claim 7, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 2. Modified Liang teaches wherein the support part has a bar shape (Fig. 4 & 6 element 40/40A corresponds to bar shaped support part). Modified Liang teaches a circular button-type battery wherein electrode layers are circular ([0029]-[0030]; [0038]-[0040]).
Modified Liang does not explicitly teach where the contact part is formed in a circular plate shape.
However, Kobayashi teaches a button cell battery ([0017]) with a terminal plate and terminal connection portion electrically connected to a respective electrode ([0028]). Kobayashi teaches a disk-shaped terminal plate ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the contact part of the tab taught by modified Liang such that the shape is disk-shaped as taught by Kobayashi.
One of ordinary skill in the art could modify the shape of the contact part of the tab taught by modified Liang such that the shape is disk-shaped as taught by Kobayashi with a reasonable expectation of success because a disk-shaped terminal plate (or contact part of a tab) is known in the art. Modifications in shape are within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. In reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (CN211182396U) in view of Sugiyo (CN111224054A), as applied above, in further view of Honda et al. (US 20220216546 A1) hereinafter "Honda".
Regarding claim 9, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 1.
Modified Liang is silent as to the material of the insulator.
However, Honda teaches a button-type secondary battery with an electrically isolating sealing member provided between an upper container member and a lower container member ([0016]; [0018]; Fig. 1; [0027]). Honda teaches that the sealing member may include one or organic insulators such as polybutylene terephthalate ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the to have modified the insulator taught by modified Liang by using a polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) material as taught by Honda.
One of ordinary skill in the art could modify the insulator taught by modified Liang by using a polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) material as taught by Honda with a reasonable expectation of successfully providing an insulating material. Polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) is known in the art for use as an insulating material for sealing button-type battery cells. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP §2144.07).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (CN211182396U) in view of Sugiyo (CN111224054A), as applied above, in further view of Yoo et al. (US 20170047559 A1) hereinafter "Yoo", cited on the IDS filed 05/28/2025.
Regarding claim 13, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim1.
Modified Liang is silent as to the type of separator used.
However, Yoo teaches a stacked battery structure with a separator disposed between positive and negative electrodes ([0013]) where the separator is an organic/inorganic composite porous safety reinforcing separator (SRS) for improving the safety of a battery having high-energy density ([0053]-[0054]). Yoo teaches that an SRS separator is manufactured by applying active layer components to a separator base ([0054] meeting the limitation of single-sided coating). Yoo further teaches that by using the SRS separator it is possible to restrains the increase in the thickness of the battery due to swelling ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the separator taught by modified Liang with the SRS separator taught by Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute the separator taught by modified Liang with the SRS separator taught by Yoo to increase safety of the battery and restrain an increase in the thickness of the battery due to swelling ([0053]-[0055]).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (CN211182396U) in view of Sugiyo (CN111224054A), as applied above, in further Wang (US 20170069880 A1) and Gotlib Vainshtein et al. (US 20180175355 A1) hereinafter "Gotlib".
Regarding claim 14, modified Liang teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim1. Modified Liang further teaches wherein the plurality of first electrodes, the separator, and the second electrode are stacked horizontally, and where the separator has a circular shape (Sugiyo [ Fig. 3&4; [0040]; [0081]).
Modified Liang does not teach wherein the plurality of first electrodes and the second electrode have a circular shape and the entire stack is vertically bonded by heat and a pressure.
However, Wang teaches a coin cell battery stacked disc-shaped positive electrodes ([0007]; [0030]; [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the electrodes taught by modified Liang to have a substantially disc shape as taught by Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably modify the shape of the electrodes taught by modified Liang to have a substantially disc shape as taught by Wang because modification in shape are within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. In reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (See MPEP 2144.04).
Modified Liang in view of Wang does not teach where the entire stack is vertically bonded by heat and a pressure.
However, Gotlib teaches a method of manufacturing a stacked electrochemical cell (abstract) where an electrode stack undergoes pressing or calendaring while also applying heat to enhance the binding strength of the cell separator to the electrode ([0067]-[0068]; [0072]; [0091]; [0093]; [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the button-type secondary battery taught by modified Liang by applying heat and pressure to the electrode stack as taught by Gotlib.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the button-type secondary battery taught by modified Liang by applying heat and pressure to the electrode stack as taught by Gotlib to enhance the binding strength of the cell separator to the electrode ([0067]-[0068]; [0072]; [0091]; [0093]; [0103]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.B.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728