DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments, filed on February 4, 2026, with respect to objections to claims 1, 10, and 12 have been considered and are persuasive. Objections to claims 1, 10, and 12 have been withdrawn, with the exception noted below.
3. Applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of claims 1, 4-5, and 10-12, as amended, under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any combination of the references being used in the current rejection. Examiner has applied Chen ‘301 (US 2020/0107301) to clearly teach the amended limitations in claims 1, 4-5, and 10-12.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“The PUSCH" in claim 12 (line 2) should be replaced with - - the PUSCH repetition - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a PUSCH repetition” in claim 1 (line 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung ‘957 (US 2023/0123957; “Jung ‘957”; Jung ‘957 was filed on April 8, 2021, claiming priority to US provisional application 63/007,940 filed on April 9, 2020, and thus Jung ‘957 was effectively filed before the claimed invention; further, the US provisional application 63/007,940 fully supports all citations made in the rejection from the Jung ‘957 reference), in view of Chen ‘301 (US 2020/0107301, “Chen ‘301”).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Jung ‘957 discloses a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 1, para 10; UE 110) comprising:
at least one transceiver (FIG. 4, para 98 and 100; transceiver 470);
at least one processor (FIG. 4, para 98 and 100; controller 420 is a processor); and
at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to perform operations (FIG. 4, para 98 and 100; memory 450 is connected to the controller; the memory stores software and operating system; the controller executes instructions to perform operations) including:
receiving information for resource allocation, wherein a starting symbol within a slot for transmission of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetitions and a number of consecutive symbols counting from the starting symbol are determined based on the information (para 35-37 and 48, page 11, List of Abbreviations; UE receives resource allocation information for PUSCH repetition Type B transmission within a slot, by receiving downlink control information (DCI); DCI includes a start symbol S relative to the start of the slot; DCI further includes a number of consecutive symbols L counting from the symbol S);
determining resources for the PUSCH repetitions based on the starting symbol and the number of the consecutive symbols (para 35-37 and 48; UE receives resource allocation information for PUSCH repetition by receiving the DCI, where the DCI includes the start symbol S and the number of consecutive symbols L; thus, UE determines resources for the PUSCH repetition based on the start symbol S and the number of consecutive symbols L); and
based on whether a predetermined condition is satisfied, performing a PUSCH repetition with a single symbol based on one of the determined resources or omitting the PUSCH repetition, wherein the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is omitted except for a case where the predetermined condition is satisfied (para 48; PUSCH repetition Type B transmission with a single symbol is omitted except for the case of L=1; thus, PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is transmitted with the single symbol in case of L = 1, and PUSCH repetition is omitted in case of L ≠ 1; therefore, PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is omitted except for a case where a condition that L = 1 is satisfied).
Although Jung ‘957 discloses based on whether a predetermined condition is satisfied, performing a PUSCH repetition with a single symbol based on one of the determined resources or omitting the PUSCH repetition, wherein the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is omitted except for a case where the predetermined condition is satisfied, Jung ‘957 does not specifically disclose wherein the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is omitted except for a case where the predetermined condition including i) an immediately next symbol of the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is a start symbol of another PUSCH or ii) an immediately next symbol of the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is configured as an uplink symbol through a radio resource control configuration for a time division duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink configuration is satisfied.
Chen ‘301 teaches wherein the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is omitted except for a case where the predetermined condition including
i) an immediately next symbol of the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is a start symbol of another PUSCH (FIG. 1, para 24 and 41-48; a grant-free resource pool for uplink transmission by a terminal is pre-configured, where the grant-free resource pool includes a set of grant-free resources; after acquiring a data packet to send, the terminal selects a grant-free resource out of the set of grant-free resources, to use for data packet transmission; the grant-free resource is K continuous time slots used for K retransmissions; thus, the grant-free resource includes K immediately subsequent time slots used for the K retransmissions, and an uplink retransmission is omitted beyond the Kth retransmission; therefore, an uplink retransmission is omitted except for a case where an immediately next time slot of a retransmission is the time slot of the next retransmission in the K retransmissions; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art) or
ii) an immediately next symbol of the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is configured as an uplink symbol through a radio resource control configuration for a time division duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink configuration
is satisfied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jung ‘957’s UE that omits a PUSCH repetition, to include Chen ‘301’s K continuous time slots used for K retransmissions. The motivation for doing so would have been to define a grant-free resource for uplink transmission (Chen ‘301, para 5).
Regarding claim 10, Jung ‘957 discloses a base station (BS) (FIG. 1, para 10; network entity 120 is a base station) comprising:
at least one transceiver (FIG. 4, para 98 and 100; transceiver 470);
at least one processor (FIG. 4, para 98 and 100; controller 420 is a processor); and
at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that when executed cause the at least one processor to perform operations (FIG. 4, para 98 and 100; memory 450 is connected to the controller; the memory stores software and operating system; the controller executes instructions to perform operations) including:
transmitting information for resource allocation to a user equipment (UE), wherein a starting symbol within a slot for transmission of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetitions and a number of consecutive symbols counting from the starting symbol are determined based on the information (para 35-37 and 48, page 11, List of Abbreviations; UE receives resource allocation information for PUSCH repetition Type B transmission within a slot, by receiving downlink control information (DCI) from the network; DCI includes a start symbol S relative to the start of the slot; DCI further includes a number of consecutive symbols L counting from the symbol S);
determining resources for the PUSCH repetitions based on the starting symbol and the number of the consecutive symbols (para 35-37 and 48; the network sends to the UE resource allocation information for PUSCH repetition by sending the DCI, where the DCI includes the start symbol S and the number of consecutive symbols L; thus, the network determines resources for the PUSCH repetition based on the start symbol S and the number of consecutive symbols L); and
based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, receiving a PUSCH repetition with a single symbol based on one of the determined resources, wherein the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is omitted except for a case where the predetermined condition is satisfied (para 48; PUSCH repetition Type B transmission with a single symbol is omitted except for the case of L=1; thus, PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is transmitted with the single symbol in case of L = 1, and PUSCH repetition is omitted in case of L ≠ 1; therefore, reception of the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is omitted except for a case where a condition that L = 1 is satisfied).
Although Jung ‘957 discloses based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, receiving a PUSCH repetition with a single symbol based on one of the determined resources, wherein the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is omitted except for a case where the predetermined condition is satisfied, Jung ‘957 does not specifically disclose wherein the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is omitted except for a case where the predetermined condition including i) an immediately next symbol of the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is a start symbol of another PUSCH or ii) an immediately next symbol of the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is configured as an uplink symbol through a radio resource control configuration for a time division duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink configuration is satisfied.
Chen ‘301 teaches wherein the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is omitted except for a case where the predetermined condition including
i) an immediately next symbol of the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is a start symbol of another PUSCH (FIG. 1, para 24 and 41-48; a grant-free resource pool for uplink transmission by a terminal is pre-configured, where the grant-free resource pool includes a set of grant-free resources; after acquiring a data packet to send, the terminal selects a grant-free resource out of the set of grant-free resources, to use for data packet transmission; the grant-free resource is K continuous time slots used for K retransmissions; thus, the grant-free resource includes K immediately subsequent time slots used for the K retransmissions, and an uplink retransmission is omitted beyond the Kth retransmission; therefore, an uplink retransmission is omitted except for a case where an immediately next time slot of a retransmission is the time slot of the next retransmission in the K retransmissions; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art) or
ii) an immediately next symbol of the PUSCH repetition with the single symbol is configured as an uplink symbol through a radio resource control configuration for a time division duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink configuration
is satisfied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jung ‘957’s base station that omits a PUSCH repetition, to include Chen ‘301’s K continuous time slots used for K retransmissions. The motivation for doing so would have been to define a grant-free resource for uplink transmission (Chen ‘301, para 5).
7. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung ‘957, in view of Chen ‘301, further in view of Abdelghaffar ‘912 (US 2023/0163912, “Abdelghaffar ‘912”), further in view of Ramireddy ‘676 (US 2022/0029676, “Ramireddy ‘676”), and further in view of Takeda ‘269 (US 2020/0367269, “Takeda ‘269”).
Regarding claim 4, Jung ‘957 in combination with Chen ‘301 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1, as outlined above.
However, Jung ‘957 in combination with Chen ‘301 does not specifically disclose wherein i) a number of resources repeated in consecutive symbols are determined based on the information.
Abdelghaffar ‘912 teaches wherein i) a number of resources repeated in consecutive symbols are determined based on the information (FIG. 5, para 3-4 and 120-121; UE determines resources for reference signal repetition, based on resource configuration received from a base station; reference signal repetitions occur in a number of consecutive symbols; thus, resource configuration includes the number of repeated symbol resources in a set of consecutive symbols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Jung ‘957 and Chen ‘301, to include Abdelghaffar ‘912’s UE that determines resources for reference signal repetition, based on resource configuration received from a base station. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow a UE to save power, increase battery life, and improve reliability (Abdelghaffar ‘912, para 143).
Although Jung ‘957 in combination with Chen ‘301 and Abdelghaffar ‘912 discloses wherein i) a number of resources repeated in consecutive symbols are determined based on the information, Jung ‘957 in combination with Chen ‘301 and Abdelghaffar ‘912 does not specifically disclose wherein ii) a number of slots in which consecutive resources are repeated are determined based on the information.
Ramireddy ‘676 teaches wherein ii) a number of slots in which consecutive resources are repeated are determined based on the information (para 8 and 245; UE is configured with a CSI-RS resource set, including the number of consecutive slots that the CSI-RS is repeated in).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Jung ‘957, Chen ‘301, and Abdelghaffar ‘912, to include Ramireddy ‘676’s UE that is configured with a CSI-RS resource set, including the number of consecutive slots that the CSI-RS is repeated in, based on resource configuration received from a base station. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an extension of an existing CSI-RS to track channel time-evolution, in order to reduce or avoid a feedback overhead (Ramireddy ‘676, para 233).
Although Jung ‘957 in combination with Chen ‘301, Abdelghaffar ‘912, and Ramireddy ‘676 discloses wherein i) a number of resources repeated in consecutive symbols are determined based on the information, Jung ‘957 in combination with Chen ‘301, Abdelghaffar ‘912, and Ramireddy ‘676 does not specifically disclose wherein iii) a number of resources used for one transport block are determined based on the information.
Takeda ‘269 teaches wherein iii) a number of resources used for one transport block are determined based on the information (para 39 and 42; the number of symbols where a transport block is mapped is configured by higher layer signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Jung ‘957, Chen ‘301, Abdelghaffar ‘912, and Ramireddy ‘676, to include Takeda ‘269’s number of symbols where a transport block is mapped, that is configured by higher layer signaling. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce interference against predetermined signals, even when UL/DL is controlled on a dynamic basis (Takeda ‘269, para 12).
8. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung ‘957, in view of Chen ‘301, and further in view of Awadin ‘213 (US 2023/0140213, “Awadin ‘213”; Awadin ‘213 was filed on March 19, 2021, claiming priority to US provisional application 62/992366 filed on March 20, 2020, and thus Awadin ‘213 was effectively filed before the claimed invention; further, the US provisional application 62/992366 fully supports all citations made in the rejection from the Awadin ‘213 reference).
Regarding claim 11, Jung ‘957 in combination with Chen ‘301 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1, as outlined above.
Further, Jung ‘957 teaches wherein the resource allocation is based on PUSCH repetition Type B (para 35-37 and 48; UE receives resource allocation information for PUSCH repetition Type B transmission within a slot, by receiving the DCI).
Although Jung ‘957 in combination with Chen ‘301 discloses wherein the resource allocation is based on PUSCH repetition Type B, Jung ‘957 in combination with Chen ‘301 does not specifically disclose wherein the resource allocation is based on PUSCH repetition Type B in which the PUSCH repetitions are concatenated back-to-back.
Awadin ‘213 teaches wherein the resource allocation is based on PUSCH repetition Type B in which the PUSCH repetitions are concatenated back-to-back (para 62; PUSCH repetition Type B enables back-to-back repetitions in multiple consecutive slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Jung ‘957 and Chen ‘301, to include Awadin ‘213’s PUSCH repetition Type B that enables back-to-back repetitions in multiple consecutive slots. The motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate PDSCH and PUSCH repetitions for blind coverage enhancement (Awadin ‘213, para 3-4).
9. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung ‘957, in view of Chen ‘301, and further in view of Khoshnevisan ‘934 (US 2020/0351934, “Khoshnevisan ‘934”).
Regarding claim 12, Jung ‘957 in combination with Chen ‘301 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1, as outlined above.
However, Jung ‘957 in combination with Chen ‘301 does not specifically disclose wherein the PUSCH is transmitted in an unlicensed band.
Khoshnevisan ‘934 teaches wherein the PUSCH is transmitted in an unlicensed band (para 66; multi-transmission time interval (multi-TTI) PUSCH grants are in unlicensed spectrum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of Jung ‘957 and Chen ‘301, to include Khoshnevisan ‘934’s PUSCH grants that are in unlicensed spectrum. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology as demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase (Khoshnevisan ‘934, para 6).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.0.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474