DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9-11, and 22-26 in the reply filed on 2/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 36-38, 40, and 43-46 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/18/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9-11, 13, 22-26, are pending and are examined. Claims 36-38,40 and 43-46 are withdrawn and not examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The previous rejection under 35 USC 102(a)(1) is withdrawn since claims 36-38, 40, and 43-46 were withdrawn from consideration of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9-11, 13, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imrich (US Patent 5,415,994; previously cited), in view of Fleming (US Pub 2015/0010992; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Imrich teaches a system (devices, methods and kits for detecting analytes in biological samples. More particularly, the present invention provides means by which analytes requiring extraction from biological samples prior to detection may be extracted and detected in a single step. See background of invention) comprising:
an extraction container for receiving a biological sample collected by a sample collection tool, the extraction container capable of containing a first buffer for extracting a target material associated with one or more health conditions from the sample to form a sample mixture comprising the target material and the first buffer (Fig. 2A and 2B extracting chamber, Col. 9, line 10);
a testing container comprising:
a holder (container 42 holding the extraction solution, Col. 9, line 42),
a first and second well configured to receive the sample mixture wherein the first and second well each comprise one or more additional buffers, that, when mixed with the sample mixture, form a first target sample solution in the first well, and a second target sample solution in the second well, the one or more additional buffers associated with the one or more health conditions (Figs. 1A and 1B for wells with buffers, no reference signs are shown in Figs. 1A and 1B for each feature in the prior art; The examiner notes that the limitation “when” is a conditional limitation and therefore directed to intended use of the system and that the “mixture” and “buffers” are not positively recited and are directed to intended use of the device.) and
a base of the holder (bowl 12, Col. 9 line 11).
Imrich is silent to a signal output device comprising a housing containing at least a first and second strip secured within the housing, wherein an end portion of the first strip is positioned within the signal output device for being placed into fluid communication with the first target sample solution of the first well, and an end portion of the second strip is positioned within the signal output device for being placed into fluid communication with the second target sample solution of the second well, the signal output device configured to provide an indication of a status of the one or more health conditions for the first target sample solution and the second target sample solution.
However, Fleming teaches in the related art of lateral flow devices. [0057] FIGS. 6 and 7 illustrate schematic representations of the operation of reader system 10. As shown in FIG. 6, excitation member 24 (e.g., a Xenon flashlamp) emits light 31 at a detection zone 32. In the illustrated embodiment, detection zone 32 comprises a portion of a lateral flow strip 33 that comprises one or more reporters (e.g., fluorescent beads 35) that emit fluorescent light 34 when illuminated by excitation member 24. Emitted fluorescent light 34 is directed towards imaging system 26, which can comprise at least one lens 36 and a CMOS sensor 38. Lens 36 can comprise multiple lenses configured to direct and focus light on the sensor 38. [0058] As shown in FIG. 6, imaging system 26 can have a field of view 37 that is capable of detecting the entire detection zone 32. As discussed in more detail below in other embodiments, field of view 37 can be sufficiently large to detect multiple detection zones. These multiple detection zones can include portions of multiple lateral flow strips 33 (or other analytical test members) and/or other viewable elements that contain information about the analytical tests being performed by the reader system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a signal output device comprising a housing containing at least a first and second strip secured within the housing, wherein an end portion of the first strip is positioned within the signal output device for being placed into fluid communication with the first target sample solution of the first well, and an end portion of the second strip is positioned within the signal output device for being placed into fluid communication with the second target sample solution of the second well to the system of Imrich, as taught by Fleming, for determining the presence and/or amount of analytes in a fluid sample (Fleming: Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Imrich teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the housing of the signal output device completely or partially surrounds the first and second strips (there are two plastic components in the device. The top piece contains the sample processing features, the bottom piece is used for strip placement. The top and bottom components are constructed so that a press fit secures the assembly. Col. 7, lines 37-41).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Imrich teaches the system of claim 1.
Modified Imrich is silent to the housing of the signal output device is sized to fit over an upper portion of the target container, above the base, to allow the first and second strips to be lowered into the first and second well, configured to sit on top of the testing container, and comprises at least one wedge or peg configured to prevent movement or displacement of each of the at least first and second strips within the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sized the housing of the signal output device to fit over an upper portion of the target container, above the base, in the system as taught by modified Imrich, for a more compact system.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Imrich teaches the system of claim 6, further comprising one or more pressure points at one or more locations within the housing configured to prevent movement or displacement of the first and second strips and configured to provide vertical fluid flow or horizontal fluid flow of the first and second target sample solution (there are two plastic components in the device. The top piece contains the sample processing features, the bottom piece is used for strip placement. The top and bottom components are constructed so that a press fit secures the assembly. Col. 7, lines 37-41).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Imrich teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises at least a first and second window for viewing the first and second strips and reading the indication of the status of the one or more health conditions ([0079] The completed card was cut into 4.3 mm strips. Strips were inserted into custom plastic cassettes with a hole/well located in the sample application area and a window in the test reading area.).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Imrich teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each strip comprises: an absorbent pad, a conjugate release pad, a wicking pad, a test line, and a control line ([0071] Referring to FIG. 8, a test strip 50 can comprise a sample pad 52, a conjugate pad 54, a nitrocellulose membrane 56, and an absorbent pad 58. The membrane-based immunoassay strip can have a test line and a reference/control line provided on the membrane (e.g., by spraying) at specific positions.).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Imrich teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each strip of the one or more strips comprises: a loading zone capable of receiving the target sample solution; a reaction zone coupled to the loading zone and comprising a first reaction substance conjugated to a first label, wherein the first reaction substance is capable of preferentially coupling to a first target of the target material within the target sample solution, a testing zone coupled to the reaction zone and comprising a first testing substance retained at a first region of the testing zone, wherein the first testing substance is capable of preferentially coupling to the first target of the target material within the target sample solution; and a control zone comprising a control substance retained at the control zone, wherein the control substance is not capable of preferentially coupling to the target material within the target sample solution ([0071] Referring to FIG. 8, a test strip 50 can comprise a sample pad 52, a conjugate pad 54, a nitrocellulose membrane 56, and an absorbent pad 58. The membrane-based immunoassay strip can have a test line and a reference/control line provided on the membrane (e.g., by spraying) at specific positions. The test line reagent can comprise an anti-beta TSH antibody and reference/control line can comprise immobilized streptavidin. After treating conjugate pad 54 with a buffer, a reference conjugate of Europium labeled BSA-Biotin can be provided on conjugate pad 54 (e.g., by spraying). A backing 60 can be applied to the membrane 56 and the entire test strip 50 can be inserted into a structural support, such as a cassette.).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Imrich teaches the system of claim 1, wherein a health condition of the one or more health conditions is a health condition associated with at least one of a Streptococcus pyogenes infection, Chlamydia trachomatis infection, a Neisseria gonorrhoeae infection, a Trichomonas vaginalis infection, a Treponema pallidum infection, a Gardnerella vaginitis infection, human immunodeficiency virus, human papillomavirus infection, Hepatitis B, herpes simplex virus, a fertility status, or a pregnancy status (the health condition is capable of being any health condition. The claim is not limited to a specific health condition as it is not positively recited in the system).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Imrich teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the sample is one of a vaginal fluid, a vaginal tissue, a vaginal washing, a vaginal swab, a vaginal discharge, a cervical swab, a cervical tissue urethral swab, a urethral discharge, a rectal swab, a rectal material, a rectal washing, urine, blood, serum, plasma, saliva, tears, a skin swab, semen, seminal fluid, sputum, bronchial fluid, bronchial washing, peritoneal fluid, peritoneal washing, pleural fluid, pleural washing, cerebrospinal fluid, eye fluid, eye tissue, lung fluid, lung tissue, liver fluid, liver tissue, heart fluid, heart tissue, brain fluid, brain tissue, kidney fluid, kidney tissue, spleen fluid, spleen tissue, muscle fluid, muscle tissue, nasal fluid, nasal swab, throat fluid, or throat swab (the sample is capable of being any sample. The claim is not limited to a specific sample as it is not positively recited in the system).
Regarding Claim 23, modified Imrich teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the signal output device is capable of being signal processed using at least one of an optical sensor, optical reader, or a smartphone (the signal output device would be capable of being signal processed using at least one of an optical sensor, optical reader, or a smartphone).
Regarding Claim 24, modified Imrich teaches the system of claim 1.
Modified Imrich is silent to the at least first and second wells are separately housed within the testing container, and wherein the at least first and second wells are not fluidically connected.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have separated the first and second wells, in the system of modified Imrich, for detecting different analytes that are housed in different wells.
Regarding Claim 25, modified Imrich teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises at least a first chamber configured to hold the first strip, and a second chamber configured to hold the second strip, and wherein the first and second chambers are not fluidically connected (there are two plastic components in the device. The top piece contains the sample processing features, the bottom piece is used for strip placement. The top and bottom components are constructed so that a press fit secures the assembly. Col. 7, lines 37-41).
Regarding Claim 26, Imrich teaches a sample kit comprising:
an extraction container (Fig. 2A and 2B extracting chamber, Col. 9, line 10);
for receiving a sample collection tool for mixing of the sample with a buffer within the extraction container to form a sample mixture and for performing a first step in an extraction process to extract from the sample, where present, the following: (a) a first target material from one or more agents associated with a first health condition, and (b) a second target material from one or more agents associated with a second health condition (the limitation “for receiving…” is directed to intended use);
a testing container for receiving, from the extraction container, the sample mixture comprising the buffer mixed with the sample (bowl 12, Col. 9 line 11)
the testing container having at least the following: a first well containing one or more first reagents specific to the first health condition, the first well for receiving a portion of the sample mixture to combine with the one or more first reagents as a first target sample solution, and a second well containing one or more second reagents specific to the second health condition, the second well for receiving a portion of the sample mixture to combine with the one or more second reagents as a second target sample solution (Figs. 1A and 1B for wells with buffers, no reference signs are shown in Figs. 1A and 1B for each feature in the prior art; The examiner notes that the limitation “when” is a conditional limitation and therefore directed to intended use of the system and that the “mixture” and “buffers” are not positively recited and are directed to intended use of the device.).); and
Imrich is silent to a signal output device having a housing containing at least a first test strip and a second test strip, wherein, upon coupling of the housing to the testing container, the first test strip fluidically contacts the first target sample solution and the second test strip contacts the second target sample solution, the first test strip including one or more zones with substances for interaction with the first target material to indicate whether the first health condition is present, and the second test strip including one or more zones with substances for interaction with the second target material to indicate whether the second health condition is present.
Fleming teaches in the related art of lateral flow devices. [0057] FIGS. 6 and 7 illustrate schematic representations of the operation of reader system 10. As shown in FIG. 6, excitation member 24 (e.g., a Xenon flashlamp) emits light 31 at a detection zone 32. In the illustrated embodiment, detection zone 32 comprises a portion of a lateral flow strip 33 that comprises one or more reporters (e.g., fluorescent beads 35) that emit fluorescent light 34 when illuminated by excitation member 24. Emitted fluorescent light 34 is directed towards imaging system 26, which can comprise at least one lens 36 and a CMOS sensor 38. Lens 36 can comprise multiple lenses configured to direct and focus light on the sensor 38. [0058] As shown in FIG. 6, imaging system 26 can have a field of view 37 that is capable of detecting the entire detection zone 32. As discussed in more detail below in other embodiments, field of view 37 can be sufficiently large to detect multiple detection zones. These multiple detection zones can include portions of multiple lateral flow strips 33 (or other analytical test members) and/or other viewable elements that contain information about the analytical tests being performed by the reader system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a signal output device comprising a housing containing at least a first and second strip secured within the housing, wherein an end portion of the first strip is positioned within the signal output device for being placed into fluid communication with the first target sample solution of the first well, and an end portion of the second strip is positioned within the signal output device for being placed into fluid communication with the second target sample solution of the second well, as taught by Fleming, to the system of Imrich, for determining the presence and/or amount of analytes in a fluid sample, as taught by Fleming, in the Abstract.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 9/2/26, with respect to the 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues on pages 10 and 11 of Remarks that Imrich is silent to the signal output device in claim 1. Applicant argues that the prior art of Fleming is relied upon to teach this missing element but even when considered with the prior art of Imrich it does not disclose first and second strips within a housing; end portions of the first strip and second strip in fluid communication with the sample solution of the first well and fluid communication with the sample solution in the second well, respectively.
In response, the examiner notes that applicant argues two aspects of the prior art rejection. The first aspect is that the prior art does not disclose first and second strips within a housing. The examiner notes that the prior art of Fleming teaches a plurality of multiple lateral flow strips. In one instance, Fleming teaches in [0131] FIG. 30 illustrates an embodiment with more than two biased members. Multiple lateral flow strips can be provided in a single cassette. FIG. 30 illustrates a back of a cassette 130 that comprises four pairs of biased members 132 and 133, 134 and 135, 136 and 137, and 138 and 139. The second aspect is that the prior art does not teach end portions of the first strip and second strip in fluid communication with the sample solution of the first well and fluid communication with the sample solution in the second well.
In regard to this part of applicant’s argument, the examiner independent claim 1 states “an end portion of the first strip…for being placed into fluid communication with the first target sample solution…and an end portion of the second strip…for being placed into fluid communication with the second target sample solution.” This claim language is directed to intended use of the device. The first strip and the second strip are not claimed to be in direct contact with the wells. Rather, the claim states that it is “for being placed” which is intended use. The multiple lateral flow strips, as taught by Fleming, are capable of being placed into solution(s) in a well(s). The examiner reviewed Fig. 4D of the instant application which shows the first strip and second strip 1) separate from the signal output device, 2) separate from the housing and 3) arranged in the wells of the testing container. However, the claim does not positively recite this arrangement. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JB/
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798