DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson (Pub. No.: 2014/0376001) in view of Shen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0250532).
Consider claim 1, Swanson discloses a sensor system for diffuse reflectance monitoring of tissue (Abstract, optical photonic phased array for scanning a biomedical specimen used in conjunction with a swept-source OCT system), the sensor system comprising:
one or more integrated photonic silicon or silicon nitride broadband transceiver circuits for multi-wavelength diffuse reflectance tissue monitoring (paragraph [0158], Fig. 27, transceivers coupled into a photonic phased array wherein wide-band grating couplers made silicon nitride are used to direct (couple) light off of the PIC and into circulator(s)),
wherein the one or more transceiver circuits includes a transmitter photonic integrated circuit (PIC), the transmitter PIC comprising an optical phased array (OPA) the OPA (claim 7, photonic integrated circuit (PIC) including an optical phased array) comprising a steering mechanism to steer transmitted light across the tissue (paragraph [0191]).
Swanson does not specifically disclose an optical splitter optically coupled to a free propagation region, FPR and wherein the steering mechanism comprising phrase shifters.
Shen discloses an optical splitter optically coupled to a free propagation region, FPR (paragraph [0556], a waveguide optical splitter that couples a guided mode wherein an optical coupler couples a guided mode of the optical fiber to a free-space propagation mode, see paragraph [0238]) and wherein the steering mechanism comprising phrase shifters (paragraph [0537], generator 1404 that includes phase shifters wherein generator can be configured to generate images of tissues or cells associated with at least one of diseases of humans, see paragraph [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace optical splitter as disclosed by Swanson with the optical splitter as taught by Shen to modify the weights of the neural network (Shen, paragraph [0537]).
Consider claim 2, Swanson discloses wherein the OPA comprises: An optical splitter configured to receive light from one of the one or more coherent light sources and to split the light into a plurality of splitter output waveguides (paragraph [0039], Fig. 28, waveguide splitters); and the steering mechanism (paragraph [0191]);
wherein the optical splitter output waveguides are configured to generate a combined optical output beam of the transmitter PIC and wherein the PIC produces a statistically uncorrelated speckle pattern reflecting from the tissue when the output beam is steered over the surface of the tissue by the steering mechanism (paragraph [0211).
Consider claim 3, Swanson discloses wherein the optical splitter comprises one or more of: an optical splitter, star coupler, and/or a 1xM MMI (paragraph [0136]).
Consider claim 4, Swanson discloses wherein the steering mechanism comprises phase shifters (paragraph [0178]).
Consider claim 5, Swanson discloses wherein the steering mechanism comprises wavelength tuning (paragraph [0148]).
Consider claim 6, Swanson discloses wherein the steering mechanism comprises delay lines (paragraph [0180]).
Consider claim 7, Swanson discloses a MEMS mirror wherein the OPA is configured to steer the beam in a first axis and the MEMS mirror is configured to steer the beam in a second axis orthogonal to the first axis, such that the surface can be scanned in two dimensions (paragraph [0004]).
Consider claim 14, Swanson discloses wherein the one or more integrated photonic silicon or silicon nitride broadband transceiver circuits comprise a receiver PIC in addition to the transmitter PIC (paragraph [0211], Fig. 38(a)).
Consider claim 15, Swanson discloses wherein the receiver PIC (paragraph [0211], Fig. 38(a), optical system PIC that contains a quadrature receiver (DB I/Q RX)) is located on a separate chip from the transmitter PIC (paragraph [0211], Fig. 38(a), light reflected from the probe modules, phase array channel and reference channels is coupled back into the optical system PIC).
Consider claim 17, Swanson discloses a transmitter PIC (paragraph [0211], Fig. 38(a), light reflected from the probe modules, phase array channel and reference channels is coupled back into the optical system PIC) comprising:
one or more integrated photonic silicon or silicon nitride broadband transmitter circuits for multi-wavelength diffuse reflectance tissue monitoring (paragraph [0158], Fig. 27, transceivers coupled into a photonic phased array wherein wide-band grating couplers made silicon nitride are used to direct (couple) light off of the PIC and into circulator(s)),
wherein the transmitter PIC comprises an optical phased array (OPA) (claim 7, photonic integrated circuit (PIC) including an optical phased array) the OPA comprising a steering mechanism to steer transmitted light across the tissue (paragraph [0191]).
Swanson does not specifically disclose the steering mechanism comprising a plurality of phrase shifters.
Shen discloses the steering mechanism comprising a plurality of phrase shifters (paragraph [0537], generator 1404 that includes phase shifters wherein generator can be configured to generate images of tissues or cells associated with at least one of diseases of humans, see paragraph [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace optical splitter as disclosed by Swanson with the optical splitter as taught by Shen to modify the weights of the neural network (Shen, paragraph [0537]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art fails to disclose the combined optical output beam of the transmitter PIC is generated within a free propagating region, FPR.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the transmitter PIC further comprises a reflection reduction mechanism.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the receiver PIC is a photodiode.
Regarding claims 9, 10, 12 and 13, due to dependency of objected claims, these claims are objected to.
Claims 18-21 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to disclose a plurality of lasers, each laser of the plurality of lasers operating at a wavelength that is different from the wavelength of the others.
Conclusion
/Gerald Johnson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797