DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 reads: The combination appliance according to claim 10, wherein the operation parameter of the cooking hob indicates changes of said light parameter over the time at the illumination device.
It is not apparent the meaning of wherein the operation parameter of the cooking hob indicates changes of said light parameter over the time at the illumination device.
Claim 12 is interpreted as follows:
The combination appliance according to claim 10, wherein the operation parameter of the cooking hob [is indicated by] changes of said light parameter at the illumination device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gagas (US 7687748B2).
Gagas discloses in reference to claim:
1. A combination appliance 15 comprising a cooking hob, which comprises a support surface 28 and a recess 34 formed therein, and an extraction device 40 arranged below the support surface of the cooking hob, wherein the extraction device comprises a fan 44 for sucking air from a space above the cooking hob through the recess of the support surface, and a lid 31 for the recess, a control module, comprising: an extraction control 98 that controls an operation parameter of the extraction device, a hob control 52 that controls an operation parameter of the cooking hob, and an interface unit (remote 62) connected to the extraction control and to the hob control, wherein the interface unit is adapted to send signals to the extraction control, and wherein the extraction control controls the extraction device in response to the signals received from the interface unit.
Gagas discloses:
(22) A controller is preferably present to control the appliance, e.g., operations such as ventilator movement, element heating, etc. In one embodiment, the controller is preferably an electronic controller to control blower speed. Such an electronic controller includes at least one of: a touch device, a keypad, a slide, and a knob. The keypad controller may be located on the cook top, located remotely, split into parts between the top and another location, or matched to a size, appearance, and function of another neighboring appliance and the cook top. The controller includes an electronic control panel having at least one of a piezo, tactile, membrane, inductive, capacitance, and resistance device. The panel is constructed from at least one of: glass, metal, plastic, wood, and composite substrates. The controller is at least one of: a piezo, capacitance, and resistance type touch control keypad for use with any size appliance, a membrane switch, a tactile, resistance, inductive, capacitance control with decorative overlays, labels, or trim, and a complete control panel assembly. The controller is preferably installed in a plane relative to the cooking surface and may be flush, raised, recessed, and remotely located. The controller may have an integrated control board. The board may be in at least one of the following locations: on the cook top, remotely, and split into several parts between the cook top and other locations and attached thereto. The circuit board may also include: a microcontroller, an IC, a driver, a PC board, a processor, and a power controller in communication with the electronic controller.
(23) In another embodiment, the controller is a remote control for wireless control of an operation. A device may be provided for making such a controller at least one of: automatic with no user interface, semi-automatic with a limited user interface, and completely manual with the user setting, operating, and adjusting the system or parts thereof. As such, the controller may also include a programmable controller to monitor at least one of: temperature, operations, speed, time, blower efficiency, lighting, and air movement.
(24) In another embodiment, a sound activated control is used to control at least one operation of the appliance. A computer system including a full memory and processor may also be used for connecting the appliance to a whole house system. A display interface may also be available with the controller to help the operator with the functions, temperatures, speeds, need for a filter change, and time. The controller may have a graphic specific to the design and function of at least one of the blower assembly, lighting, and the ventilator.
2. The combination appliance according to claim 1, further comprising one or more measuring elements adapted to detect one or more parameter values, respectively, of the cooking hob and/or the extraction device, wherein the interface unit is adapted to process said parameter value.
Sensors for the appliance may be also used to detect at least one of: filter buildup, back pressure, air flow, gas, smoke, heat, temperature, filter change requirements, speed, power, resistance, voltage, programmed operations, and set points.
3. The combination appliance according to claim 1, wherein the operation parameters of the extraction device and/or the cooking hob are selected from one or more of: selection of the fan, regulation of the fan's power, a power level of the cooking hob, rotational speed of the fan, suction capacity of the fan, interval operation of the extraction device, selection of a heating zone and changing of a heating zone.
The present invention preferably includes a control board and related circuitry to control power/control to the motor, control to the fan(s)/blower(s), control to an electronic controller, glass touch pad, or mechanical controls. Controls can be built with power control to sensors. AC or DC power supplies the electronic current to the board and other components. As mentioned, the control board can be located on/in the cook top or remotely. It can also be divided into more than one board and located at different locations. The electronic board also can use the flex technology, which permits the board to be or bend into any shape. There are a number of types of controls that may be connected to the board. For example, one control may have a real or simulated mechanical look with electronics below and a knob for turning on the top. Also, a rotary encoder for high precision sensing and control such as the position detection may be present for control at different heating levels.
4. The combination appliance according to claim 2, wherein the one or more parameter values are selected from the group consisting of: temperature, heat output density of a heating zone, detection of one or more pots, voltage, frequency, current, humidity value, time and flame-size.
Sensors for the appliance may be also used to detect at least one of: filter buildup, back pressure, air flow, gas, smoke, heat, temperature, filter change requirements, speed, power, resistance, voltage, programmed operations, and set points.
5. The combination appliance according to claim 2, wherein the operation parameter of the extraction device is a rotational speed of the fan, a power level of the fan, or a suction capacity of the fan, the operation parameter of the extraction device being controlled based on at least one of the one or more parameter values detected by the one or more measuring elements.
Sensors for the appliance may be also used to detect at least one of: filter buildup, back pressure, air flow, gas, smoke, heat, temperature, filter change requirements, speed, power, resistance, voltage, programmed operations, and set points.
6. The combination appliance according to claim 1, wherein the interface unit comprises a storage for data, said data comprising reference data and/or user settings and/or default settings.
The user may also select settings or preset settings for the electronic control(s) to maintain the desired exhaust flow within the vent's chamber. FIG. 5 shows a remote sensing and receiving system which includes a sensors and/or a remote receiver 107 along with remote control panel 62 at a different location. Here, the sensor preferably includes a transducer to sense a physical parameter on the cook top of range. The transducer will generate an electrical signal representative of the physical parameter and apply the data to a processor. In response, the processor drives a digital display, which produces visual indications of these parameters. The processor provides communication between the sensor(s) and the remote receiver which drives some operations by the ventilator. For example, the receiving unit 62 controls the ventilator from signals for turning on, to adjusting the speed of the blowers. The sensor(s) and receiver(s) may both have a transmitter and receiver to enable communication through signals. This would be helpful when changing set points or detection points.
7. The combination appliance according to claim 1, wherein the control module comprises a user interface, wherein interface unit and/or the user interface of the control module, comprises a receiver unit adapted to receive voice commands.
(65) The appliance 15 may also be equipped with a sound- or voice-activated system that in one embodiment lets the user speak to the appliance and state what controls and operations the user wants. This provides the user the ability to operate hands free, therefore, allowing the users to do something else with their hands. Alternatively, the appliance can be hooked up to a PC computer or a whole house computer system for operation and control.
8. The combination appliance according to claim 1, wherein the operation parameter of the extraction device is a power level of the fan or a rotational speed of the fan, and is adjustable by user settings.
(72) As mentioned, another aspect of the present invention is to have nearly infinite fan speed adjustment levels. This can be done, for example, by having the user touch down on a glass resistance keypad until the speed required is reached. Once the speed is reached, the electronic control may reduce or completely cut off current/power to the blower(s)/fan(s). The keypad may have one or more keypad location(s) for operating the increase or decrease/on or off of the speed by the user. For example, three locations for independent operations can provide the user with better control. A display may show the user the speed level and may be used to assist in finding proper speeds, which then can be programmed in to the electronic control circuit for repeated operations later. Alternatively, the sensor 93c for controlling the fan 44 may be connected to fan regulator 48 as shown in FIG. 3.
9. The combination appliance according to claim 1, wherein the control module is coupled with at least one illumination device that comprises one or more light sources and is arranged in an area of the recess.
(27) The appliance preferably further comprises movable lighting on either the backing, cook top, or the ventilator for illuminating a work surface. The lighting can be any device to illuminate the cook top including a device that is at least one of: an adjustable light level device, adjustable light position, hidden lights, exposed lights, a series of lights, a mini fluorescent tube, mini neon tube, an LED, rope lights under a decorative flange trim of the ventilator, recessed lighting, direct lighting, and indirect lighting.
(50) Alternatively, lighting may come from ventilator and provide lighting at different angles. Lighting provided may also be on a bendable, moveable arm, e.g., a snake light system.
10. The combination appliance according to claim 9, wherein the control module is adapted to control a light parameter of each light source of the illumination device, said light parameter being on/off switching, light intensity and/or light color, as a function of time.
Also mounted on the backing may be lighting 45 which preferably includes a control for the lighting 96. (63) Another aspect of the present invention is a multi-function display. For example, a clock may be on the electronic(s) display when not in use or when in use. See, e.g., item 112 in FIG. 8. It may also be changed to permit other programmable information to be displayed, such as, messages or computer information. This area may also have an LED night light included in the electronics such that the LED would come on when the room is dark. The use of an LED or a bulb of this type can save energy and space.
11. The combination appliance according to claim 10, wherein the operation parameter of the extraction device is indicated at the illumination device by changing said light parameter over time.
(64) Another aspect of this invention is the ability to have "no switch" controls. Here, for example, the cook top backing 29 acts as the switch. For example, a user may touch the trim top surface in the front, top, or sides and this would operate the ventilator by moving it and turning on the blower. Alternatively, a user may touch the ventilator a number of times to move it up or down or to speed up or slow down the fan. The user may also touch the ventilator and hold for a longer time to which the blower would turn off or on. The user may turn a light on in the same manner.
12. The combination appliance according to claim 10, wherein the operation parameter of the cooking hob indicates changes of said light parameter over the time at the illumination device.
The combination appliance according to claim 10, wherein the operation parameter of the cooking hob [is indicated by] changes of said light parameter at the illumination device.
Gagas discloses the use of lighting to display to the user changes to the cooking hob control.
(26) The appliance may also be equipped with at least one of: an output display, a rotating display, an LED display, a LCD display, a sliding panel, a retractable display, a removable display, a fixed display, an illuminated display that can be adjusted in color and intensity, a plasma display, a dot matrix display, a vacuum fluorescent display, and a pop up display. The display is preferably mounted on the cooking surface or backing for easy viewing. The display device preferably displays to the operator at least one of: operations, temperature, functions, range position, and times.
13. The combination appliance according to claim 1, wherein the interface unit is integrated in the extraction control or in the hob control. See Figure 5 showing interface unit 110/130.
14. The combination appliance according to claim 1, wherein at least one component of the extraction device comprises an anti-bacterial material.
(48) As mentioned, a filter or catch 74 is preferably used for removal of effluents. The filter 74 may use carbon for removing odors, particulates, greases and oils, and moisture that condensates on the median. Additional filters may also be included. A metal mesh filter also may be used as well as a louver type filter. A combination of these filters with a charcoal element may also be used in this application. In a preferred embodiment, the filters are angled to drain fluids off and collect them into a grease trap. A grease trap or trough is also preferably provided. These troughs are removable for ease of cleaning.
Note the filter is disclosed as having charcoal which can be considered anti-bacterial material in that charcoal exhibits antibacterial effects through adsorption and toxin neutralization.
15. An air filter 73 comprising the combination appliance according to claim 1. The use of the combination device serves as an air filter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record fails explicitly disclose or reasonably teach to one of ordinary skill in the art a combination appliance substantially as claimed and specifically including inter alia, first and second linear arrays of LEDs arranged concentrically adjacent to a perimeter of said opening in the support surface, and a control module said control module being configured to operate said first and second arrays of LEDs sequentially to simulate drawing light emitted sequentially by the respective arrays into said opening.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure..
/THOR S CAMPBELL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761
tsc