Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 04/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Greenawalt (20050150051 ) in view of Samrek (US 5926880).
Regarding Claim 1 Greenwalt discloses ….mold-pressing pillowcase (Figure 5, pillow-500), comprising a pillowcase top layer ( Figure 5, 510) a pillowcase bottom layer and a pillowcase peripheral wall (Figure 5, 520, 530), wherein the pillowcase peripheral wall is arranged between the pillowcase top layer and the pillowcase bottom layer (Figure 5, [0031]), and the pillowcase bottom layer is provided with a window position for carrying a pillow inner (Figure 5, [0031], 540). Greenawalt didn’t disclose the pillowcase top layer, the pillowcase bottom layer and the pillowcase peripheral wall are integrally mold-formed by polyester fabric. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Samrek discloses the pillowcase top layer, the pillowcase bottom layer and the pillowcase peripheral wall are integrally mold-formed by polyester fabric ( Col 7 line 39-42).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Greenwalt’s teaching with that of Samrek’s teaching of integrally molding of the pillow case for the purpose of better shape retention of the pillow.
Regarding Claim 2 Greenawalt discloses, wherein: the window position is a linear slotting arranged on the pillowcase bottom layer (Figure 5, opening-540, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 4 Greenwalt discloses, wherein: the pillowcase top layer is provided with a …concave-convex coordination structure which is coordinated with the pillow inner (Figure 5-6, inner i.e. the center section -540 with a concave-convex structure) . Further, "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim as physiological profiling is deemed to be the intended use of the pillow case.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (3) as unpatentable over Greenawalt (20050150051 ) in view of Samrek (US 5926880) as applied in Claim 3 further in view of CHEN (US 20130232697).
Regarding Claim 3 Greenawalt/Samrek disclose integrated mold-pressing pillowcase as discussed in Claim 1 but did not disclose that, the pillowcase top layer and the pillowcase bottom layer have heat-curing positioning corner ends. In the related filed of endeavor pertaining to the art, CHEN discloses pillowcase bottom layer have heat-curing/thermal pressing positioning corner ends (Figure -12, [0008], [0055]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Greenwalt’s teaching with that of CHEN’s for the purpose of creating sharp ends that holds its form and do not sag over time.
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741