DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant states that Samrek's integral molding concerns the pillow body/foam core, whereas Claim 1 requires integral mold-forming of the pillowcase.
Examiner maintains that Samrek’s discloses pillow components (which could include different components of the pillow) that are made using injection molding techniques (Col 4 line 24-27) and are integrally molded (Col 7 line 39-42). Greenwalt discloses mold-pressing pillowcase (Figure 5, pillow-500), comprising a pillowcase top layer ( Figure 5, 510) a pillowcase bottom layer and a pillowcase peripheral wall (Figure 5, 520, 530). Therefore, combining two references the limitation re: integral mold forming the pillow case with a pillowcase top layer- a pillowcase bottom layer; and a pillowcase peripheral wall is met.
Further, Applicant states that the Samrek's integral molding is directed to polyurethane/urethane foam, whereas Claim 1 requires polyester fabric.
However, in Samrek it’s discloses that the upper and lower body are integrally molded where polyurethane foam is preferred (Col 7 line 39-42); however Samrek didn’t preclude that polyester fabric can’t be used. In the related endeavor of pillow making CN’284 discloses that upper and lower surfaces and the side surfaces are integrally molded with polyester fabric (Example -2, example-4, page-4,5 translated). Combining Greenwalt with Samrek as discussed above the molding operation where mold-pressing a polyester-fabric pillowcase into an integrated form is met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Greenawalt (US 20050150051 ) in view of Samrek (US 5926880) in view of CN 110638284 translated version attached hereinafter CN’284.
Regarding Claim 1 Greenwalt discloses ….mold-pressing pillowcase (Figure 5, pillow-500), comprising a pillowcase top layer ( Figure 5, 510) a pillowcase bottom layer and a pillowcase peripheral wall (Figure 5, 520, 530), wherein the pillowcase peripheral wall is arranged between the pillowcase top layer and the pillowcase bottom layer (Figure 5, [0031]), and the pillowcase bottom layer is provided with a window position for carrying a pillow inner (Figure 5, [0031], 540). Greenawalt didn’t disclose the pillowcase top layer, the pillowcase bottom layer and the pillowcase peripheral wall are integrally mold-formed by polyester fabric. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Samrek discloses pillow components (which could include different components of the pillow) that are made using injection molding techniques (Col 4 line 24-27) which could be polyurethane ( Col 7 line 39-42).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Greenwalt’s teaching with that of Samrek’s teaching of integrally molding of the pillow case for the purpose of better shape retention of the pillow.
However, the above combination didn’t explicitly teach that pillow components are made of polyester fabric. In the related endeavor of pillow making CN’284 discloses that upper and lower surfaces and the side surfaces are integrally molded with polyester fabric (Example -2, example-4, page-4,5 translated).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Greenwalt’s teaching with that of Samrek’s teaching of integrally molding of the pillow and further combined with CN’282 teaching of polyester fabric for the purpose of shaping it as aunified structure for enhanced comfort and durability.
Regarding Claim 2 Greenawalt discloses, wherein: the window position is a linear slotting arranged on the pillowcase bottom layer (Figure 5, opening-540, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 4 Greenwalt discloses, wherein: the pillowcase top layer is provided with a …concave-convex coordination structure which is coordinated with the pillow inner (Figure 5-6, inner i.e. the center section -540 with a concave-convex structure) . Further, "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim as physiological profiling is deemed to be the intended use of the pillow case.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (3) as unpatentable over Greenawalt (20050150051 ) in view of Samrek (US 5926880) in view of CN 110638284 translated version attached hereinafter CN’284 as applied in Claim 1 further in view of CHEN (US 20130232697).
Regarding Claim 3 Greenawalt/Samrek disclose integrated mold-pressing pillowcase as discussed in Claim 1 but did not disclose that, the pillowcase top layer and the pillowcase bottom layer have heat-curing positioning corner ends. In the related filed of endeavor pertaining to the art, CHEN discloses pillowcase bottom layer have heat-curing/thermal pressing positioning corner ends (Figure -12, [0008], [0055]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Greenwalt’s teaching with that of CHEN’s for the purpose of creating sharp ends that holds its form and do not sag over time.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741