Status of the Application
Claims 1-6, and 8 have been examined in this application. Claims 7 and 9 have been cancelled. This communication is Final Rejection in response to Applicant’s “Amendments/Remarks” filed on 09/10/2025.
Claim Objections
The claim objections made in the Non-Final Rejection on 06/12/2025 are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims filed on 09/10/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Greenawalt (US20050150051A1) in view of Sramek (US5926880A) in further view of Heath (US20060123548A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Greenawalt teaches (Currently Amended) A spliced and molded pillow core, comprising:
a spliced pillow core molded by splicing a plurality of splicing blocks (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0029] therapeutic pillow 500 side panels 510 base 520), and base materials of at least two splicing blocks are different (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0028] present invention is not limited to any given material or set of materials), wherein a splicing base is arranged at a bottom of the spliced pillow core (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0031] base 520 and side panels 510 rails 530).
Greenawalt does not teach wherein the spliced pillow core is integrally formed by molding, and the spliced pillow core and the splicing base are
integrally formed by molding.
Sramek teaches wherein the spliced pillow core is integrally formed by molding (Sramek: FIG. 1 [Col. 4 53-54] cavity molding process, a shaped cavity is made), and the spliced pillow core and the splicing base are integrally formed by molding (Sramek: FIG. 1 [Col. 4 50-52] cut into blanks and milling is performed using a cutting tool such as a contour cutter (or, optionally, by hand cutting the blank). In the cavity molding process, a shaped cavity is made).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Greenawalt in view of Sramek directed to including a cavity molding process with cutting of foam. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to include a process for molding of a foam pillow to create custom structure for a head pillow (Sramek: [Col. 4 50-52]).
Greenawalt and Sramek do not teach a containing cavity slot is provided between the spliced pillow core and the splicing base, a sealing plastic bag filled with a fluid medium is arranged inside the containing cavity slot.
Heath teaches
a containing cavity slot is provided between the spliced pillow core and the splicing base (Heath: FIG. 5 [0031] indentation made by the two side panels 510 and the two rails 530 is made to receive the patient's 300 head) , a sealing plastic bag filled with a fluid medium is arranged inside the containing cavity slot (Heath: FIG. 1 [0034] flexible elastic material through which a fluid substance 26 can communicate and be stored long term without leakage)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Greenawalt and Sramek in view of Heath directed to including a flexible elastic material which a fluid substance could be stored without leakage. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow a fluid chamber to be securely integrated within the pillow (Heath: [0034]).
Regarding claim 2,
Greenawalt teaches The spliced and molded pillow core according to claim 1, wherein the different base materials comprises different elastic force of the base materials (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0028] present invention is not limited to any given material or set of materials).
Regarding claim 3,
Greenawalt teaches (Original) The spliced and molded pillow core according to claim 1, wherein the spliced pillow core is provided with a headrest area and two side pillow areas (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0031] base 520 and side panels 510 rails 530), the spliced pillow core comprises two splicing blocks that are arranged correspondingly to the side pillow areas one by one (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0031] base 520 and side panels 510) and at least one splicing block arranged correspondingly to the headrest area (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0031] base 520 and rails 530).
Regarding claim 4,
Greenawalt teaches (Original) The spliced and molded pillow core according to claim 3, wherein two sides of the headrest area are respectively provided with a first direction pillow area (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0031] base 520 and side panels 510) and a second direction pillow area (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0031] base 520 and 510 rails 530), and the first direction pillow area and the second direction pillow area are respectively provided with the correspondingly arranged splicing blocks (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0031] base 520 and side panels 510 rails 530).
Regarding claim 5,
Greenawalt teaches (Original) The spliced and molded pillow core according to claim 1, wherein an adjacent splicing blocks are adhered to each other (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0013] Rails fill in a space between the panels at the edges of the base and are also bonded to the top surface of the base).
Regarding claim 8,
Greenawalt teaches (Currently Amended) A molding method for a spliced and molded pillow core according to any one of claims 1 to 7, wherein a splicing base is arranged at a bottom of the spliced pillow core (Greenawalt: FIG. 5 [0031] base 520 and side panels 510 rails 530).
Greenawalt does not teach wherein the method comprises the following steps of:
S1: selecting and cutting splicing blocks , selecting corresponding base materials based on an elastic demand for a pillow area of the spliced pillow core, and cutting the base materials into the splicing blocks S2: forming the spliced pillow core, splicing and adhering a plurality of splicing blocks to form the spliced pillow core integrally S3: molding, molding the spliced pillow core through a molding device, so as to obtain the molded pillow core a containing cavity slot is provided between the spliced pillow core and the splicing base, and a sealing plastic bag filled with a fluid medium is arranged inside the containing cavity slot in S1, the cutting and forming of the splicing base is performed , and processing and forming of a slot position for forming the containing cavity slot are performed on the splicing base and the plurality of splicing blocks in S2, the sealing plastic bag is placed in the containing cavity slot and the spliced pillow core is adhered to the splicing base.
Sramek teaches wherein the method comprises the following steps of:
S1: selecting and cutting splicing blocks (Sramek: FIG. 2 [Col. 3 2-5] urethane foam is shaped into pillow components by cutting a foam blank to a desired size and shape), selecting corresponding base materials based on an elastic demand for a pillow area of the spliced pillow core, and cutting the base materials into the splicing blocks (Sramek: FIG. 1 [Col. 4 53-54] cavity molding process, a shaped cavity is made);
S2: forming the spliced pillow core, splicing and adhering a plurality of splicing blocks to form the spliced pillow core integrally (Sramek: FIG. 1 [Col. 4 53-54] cavity molding process, a shaped cavity is made); and
S3: molding, molding the spliced pillow core through a molding device, so as to obtain the molded pillow core (Sramek: FIG. 2 [Col. 3 2-5] urethane foam is shaped into pillow components using a cavity molding) , a containing cavity slot is provided between the spliced pillow core and the splicing base, and a sealing plastic bag filled with a fluid medium is arranged inside the containing cavity slot (Heath: FIG. 5 [0031] indentation made by the two side panels 510 and the two rails 530 is made to receive the patient's 300 head);
in S1, the cutting and forming of the splicing base is performed (Sramek: FIG. 1 [Col. 4 53-54] cavity molding process, a shaped cavity is made), and processing and forming of a slot position for forming the containing cavity slot are performed on the splicing base and the plurality of splicing blocks (Sramek: FIG. 2 [Col. 3 2-5] urethane foam is shaped into pillow components using a cavity molding or free-rise molding process, or by cutting a foam blank to a desired size and shape);
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Greenawalt in view of Sramek directed to including a cavity molding process with cutting of foam. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to include a process for molding of a foam pillow to create custom structure for a head pillow (Sramek: [Col. 4 50-52]).
Greenawalt and Sramek do not teach and
in S2, the sealing plastic bag is placed in the containing cavity slot and
the spliced pillow core is adhered to the splicing base.
Heath teaches and
in S2, the sealing plastic bag is placed in the containing cavity slot and the spliced pillow core is adhered to the splicing base (Heath: FIG. 2B [0036] a first chamber 12 and a second chamber 14 would be made of a flexible or elastic material).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Greenawalt and Sramek in view of Heath directed to including a flexible elastic material which a fluid substance could be stored without leakage. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow a fluid chamber to be securely integrated within the pillow (Heath: [0034]).
Claim(s) 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Greenawalt (US20050150051A1) in view of Sramek (US5926880A) in further view of Heath (US20060123548A1) in further view of Frydman (US6345401B1).
Regarding claim 6,
Greenawalt teaches (Original) The spliced and molded pillow core according to claim 5.
Greenawalt does not teach wherein a tenon-and-mortise splicing structure is provided between at least two adjacent splicing blocks.
Frydman teaches wherein a tenon-and-mortise splicing structure is provided between at least two adjacent splicing blocks (Frydman: FIG. 6 [Col. 2 60-65] channel 40 is a negative image, or cavity of the projection 48 with a cap receiving area 56 and shaft receiving area 58).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Greenawalt in view of Frydman directed to including attachable components of the head pillow to include cavity and projections. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow modification of a head pillow to receive varying blocks for user preferences and comfort (Frydman: [Col. 2 45-50]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page No. 7-11, filed 09/10/2025, with respect to Claims 1-6, and 8 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claims 1-6, and 8 have been withdrawn in view of the prior art of Gao (CN203969930U), Sramek (US5926880A), Wu (US20130326816A1), Koops (US20050172409A1). However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of Greenawalt (US20050150051A1), Sramek (US5926880A), Heath (US20060123548A1) with respect to Claims 1-5, and 8. Further, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of Greenawalt (US20050150051A1) and Frydman (US6345401B1) with respect to Claims 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/JOSEANE E. TEJADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673