DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the office action of 8/12/2025 and filing of RCE is acknowledged on 11/04/2025.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in the various claims.
Disclaimer
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 16 disclose the phrase “within a longitudinal distance of no more than 5 cm from each other along the longitudinal axis” is unclear as to how the distance is measured (for example, center-to-center, edge-to-edge, or between closest points)?. Additionally, the functional language “so that the at least two protruding bodies can be simultaneously engaged by adjacent fingers” introduces subjective user-dependent limitations and fails to provide objective boundaries for determining the metes and bounds of the claim. Since claims 2-15 directly or indirectly depend on rejected claim 1, all claims are rejected under 112. Regarding claim 5, how is the distance recited measured (for example, center-to-center, edge-to-edge, or between closest points)?
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fastening means for fastening the band to a racket handle” in claim 16.
The specification discloses corresponding structure for performing this function. Specifically, the specification descries the fastening means as: an elastic ban; and male and female parts, as shown in Figure 2. The elastic band with cooperating male and female fastening components constitutes sufficient structure clearly linked to the claimed fastening function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vienings (DE 102020120963 A1) in view of Bertucci (US Patent No. 4072311)
Regarding claim 1, Vienings discloses a grip device for a racket (see Figures 1-4) comprising at least two externally protruding bodies (A1, A2, A3, A4), a primary body (A1) and a secondary body (AB), extending from the outer surface of a racket handle which racket handle has a central longitudinal axis (see Figures 1A-1C), the at least two externally protruding bodies are circumferentially distanced from each other around the racket handle and positioned within a longitudinal distance (see all Figures) the at least two protruding bodies can be simultaneously engaged by adjacent fingers of a user’s hand (the protrusions are capable of being engaged as recited). It is noted that Vienings teaches that the cross section of the racket could be octagonal, round, polygonal or non-polygonal in shape (see the description section of the reference). It is also noted that Vienings’ device can guide “a user's hand into a desired grip position can be achieved with just one of the protrusions A1, A2, A3, A4, A5 or A6. Depending on how many and which of the bulges A1, A2, A3, A4, A5 and A6 are attached to the grip section 17, a number of desired grip positions can be supported or greater flexibility can be achieved” (see the description section of the specification).
Vienings does not explicitly disclose if the protruding bodies are no more than 5 cm from each other as recited. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide any working distance including 5 cm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Vienings does not disclose if the primary body could be either a quadrilateral or a triangular construction. It is noted that Applicant’s specification discloses that the protruding body to be quadrilateral or triangular body as comprising 6 or 5 surfaces disclosed in the summary section of the specification. Bertucci is one example of a racket handle that teaches the use of protrusion that has multiple surfaces (6 surfaces as shown in Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the Vienings device with protrusion that has multiple surfaces as taught by the Bertucci device in order to provide a compact smooth attachment not having a bulky configuration with sharp edges which could cause injury to a player as stated (see column 1 lines 23-26 of the Bertucci reference).
Regarding claim 2, grip device according to claim 1, wherein depending on whether the construction is quadrilateral or triangular the primary body comprises five or six surfaces (see Figures 1-5 of the Bertucci reference).
a first surface faces the racket handle (the bottom surface touching the handle as shown in Figure 1-3 of Bertucci),
a second surface faces away from the racket handle and is of same/similar shape as the first surface and is of same or smaller area (the top surface opposite of the surface that touches the handle as shown in Figures 1-3),
a third and a fourth surfaces connect the first and the second surfaces, where the third surface is at least partly facing in direction towards the racket head and extends along a straight line or a slightly curved line in an angle alfa relative to the longitudinal axis, and where the fourth surface is at least partly facing in direction away from the racket head and extends along a straight line or a slightly curved line in an angle beta relative to the longitudinal axis (the side surfaces between the top and bottom surface as identified above. See Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, wherein a fifth surface connects the first and second surface and the third and fourth surface and is facing away from the racket head, the fifth surface is curved and adapted to accommodate the gap between an index finger and a middle finger (the vertically angled two surfaces as shown in Figure 3 the Bertucci reference).
Regarding claim 4, the primary reference teaches the use of multiple protruding bodies (see Figures 1-4) and the secondary reference teaches the use of protrusion that could have a quadrilateral construction. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide protrusions on a grip device with surfaces of different sizes and oriented toward the racket head. Varying surface sixes represents a predictable design choice to accommodate the natural positioning and relative strength of different fingers, thereby improving grip comfort and control. Further, orienting the protrusions toward the racket head merely aligns the grip features with the primary direction of applied force during a swing, which predictably enhances resistance to slippage and torque. Such modifications involve routine optimization of known grip features to improve stability and performance, and therefore would have been obvious.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, the references as combined do not explicitly disclose a distance being 5 and 25 mm as recited. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide any working distance including the recited range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, the device comprising three externally protruding bodies extending from the outer surface of the racket handle and being located circumferentially distanced from each other (see A1-A4 of the Bertucci reference).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the primary and/or secondary externally protruding bodies comprises releasable fastening means at a first surface facing the racket handle allowing attaching/detaching of the protruding body at different positions (the Vienings reference discloses a sleeve 38 that could have a flexible or elastic material, such as silicone or rubber, and can have a polygonal or round cross-section. The sleeve 38 can thus adapt to the cross-sectional shape of the handle section 37 when it is attached. If such a sleeve 38 has a slightly smaller diameter than the grip portion 37, a tight fit on the grip portion 37 can be achieved by stretching the sleeve 38 when it is applied” and this indicates that the sleeve is attachable and detachable and this feature is considered as at the same time being capable of being considered as being releasable fastening means of the protruding bodies as recited).
Regarding claim 9, the references as combined do not explicitly disclose wherein the primary and secondary bodies are not identical, not in shape nor in size. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to provide such features since varying the size of protruding grip elements constitutes a predictable design modification and routine optimization of known grip features. It is well understood that different fingers apply different amounts of force and occupy different positions along a handle. Modifying the size of the protrusions to correspond to ergonomic considerations, while maintaining their general shape, would have been an obvious matter of design choice to improve comfort, fit, and grip performance. Such a modification merely involves adjusting dimensions of known elements to achieve expected results, namely enhanced stability and user control. Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results associated specifically with the non-identical sizes, the claimed feature represents nothing more than an obvious variation of the prior art grip structures.
Regarding claim 11, Bertucci does not explicitly disclose if the primary and/or secondary externally protruding bodies comprises releasable fastening means at the first surface facing the racket handle allowing attaching/detaching of one or all of the protruding bodies at different positions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the protruding bodies releasable since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 12, Vienings discloses a band or wrap comprising means for fastening of the band or wrap to the racket handle (cylindrical sleeve 38). Vienings discloses the sleeve (38) can consist of “a flexible or elastic material, such as silicone or rubber, and can have a polygonal or round cross-section. The sleeve 38 can thus adapt to the cross-sectional shape of the handle section 37 when it is attached. If such a sleeve 38 has a slightly smaller diameter than the grip portion 37, a tight fit on the grip portion 37 can be achieved by stretching the sleeve 38 when it is applied”. This characteristic of the sleeve is considered as a fastening means as recited.
Regarding claim 13, further comprising means defining the angular position of the grip device relative to the racket, which means may comprise a line or a point defined as either a depression or an elevation or another tactile or visual indication of angular position (as shown in Figures 1-2 of the Vienings’ device, multiple protrusions are disclosed A1-A6 that can be considered as an elevation, tactile or visual indication as recited).
Regarding claims 14-15, wherein the racket handle or a surface such as a band attached to the racket handle comprises corresponding fastening means (Vienings discloses the sleeve (38) can consist of “a flexible or elastic material, such as silicone or rubber, and can have a polygonal or round cross-section. The sleeve 38 can thus adapt to the cross-sectional shape of the handle section 37 when it is attached. If such a sleeve 38 has a slightly smaller diameter than the grip portion 37, a tight fit on the grip portion 37 can be achieved by stretching the sleeve 38 when it is applied”. This characteristic of the sleeve is considered as a fastening means as recited).
Regarding claim 16, see rejections of claims 1 and 8 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NINI F LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711