DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/019,222 filed on
02/01/2023.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
3. This office action is based upon claims received on 01/30/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
- Claims 9-11 are canceled.
- Claims 1, 15, 20 are amended.
-Claims 1-8, 12-20 are pending.
-Claims 1-8, 12-20 are rejected.
Priority
5. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of a 371 of PCT/US2021/044722, filed 08/05/2021.
Response to Remarks/Amendments
6. Applicant's remarks and arguments, see page 8 of 9, filed on 01/30/2026, with respect to Claim Objections have been considered in light of applicant’s response and amendments. Claim objections presented in the most recent office action pertaining to Claims 1, 3, 5, 15, 17, 20 are withdrawn.
7. Applicant's remarks and arguments, see page 8 of 9, filed on 01/30/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been considered in light of applicant’s remarks and amendments. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112 pertaining to Claim 20 as applicable to the previous office action is not withdrawn. Please see below for rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112 pertaining to Claim 20.
8. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 7-8, filed on 01/30/2026, with respect to Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to Rejections of Dependent Claims, have been considered, and are also moot for the same reasons noted above, and are not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
9. To the extent the office relies on Zhou et al. (US 20190208436 A1), i.e. “Zhou” to reject Claim 1 (i.e. used as an example also representing parallel features in claim 15), examiner respectfully contends applicant’s remarks and arguments directed to Zhou are not persuasive.
A. Applicant’s remarks (See page 7 (ln 16-17)), indicates: “Zhou does not teach determining whether the number of reference signals of a first set of reference signals that was received from the network is larger than a threshold number”
B. In response to item A, examiner references rejection of claim 1 (i.e. used as an example also representing parallel features in claim 15) presented as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20190208436 A1), i.e. “Zhou”, in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20210126690 A1) as supported by PCT/JP2018/026392 filed July 12, 2018 (and published (16.01.2020) as WO/2020/012618) i.e., “Matsumura” (See office action), where Zhou is relied upon for claim 1 limitations pertaining to applicant’s remarks as follows:
Zhou teaches: A method implemented by a wireless transmit or [[/]]receive unit (WTRU) for wireless communications (Zhou - FIG. 38 & ¶0399… an enhanced beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure. In an example, a base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 38) may transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 38), one or more RRC messages comprising one or more configuration parameters of a BFR procedure. The one or more RRC messages may further comprise a first PRACH resource set (e.g., 1.sup.st PRACH resource set in FIG. 38) and a second PRACH resource set (e.g., 2.sup.nd PRACH resource set in FIG. 38));
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses & teaches : i.e. an enhanced beam failure recovery i.e. procedure reads on: A method , where i.e. transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 38) reads on: implemented by a wireless transmit or receive unit (WTRU) for wireless communications.
the method comprising: receiving configuration information (Zhou - FIG. 38 & ¶0399 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses & teaches : i.e. a base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 38) may i.e. transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 38), one or more RRC messages comprising one or more configuration parameters reads on: the method comprising: receiving configuration information of a BFR procedure.
of a first set of reference signals (RSs) for monitoring and a second set of RSs for new beam selection (Zhou - FIG. 38 & ¶0399 See above; ¶0400…. the one or more configuration parameters of the BFR procedure may indicate a first set of RSs for beam failure detection; and/or one or more PRACH resources associated with a second set of RSs (beams) for candidate beam selection…. the one or more PRACH resources may be the first PRACH resource set. In an example, each RS of the second set of RSs may be associated with a preamble, a timer resource and/or a frequency resource of one of the one or more PRACH resources);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses & teaches : per ¶0400 the one or more configuration parameters of the BFR procedure may indicate i.e. a first set of RSs for beam failure detection reads on: of a first set of reference signals (RSs) for monitoring and i.e. and/or one or more PRACH resources associated i.e. with a second set of RSs (beams) for candidate beam selection reads on: and a second set of candidate RSs for new beam selection .
receiving, from a network, a number of RSs of the first set of RSs (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403 …. the UE may detect one or more beam failure instances when a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of at least one of the first set of RSs is lower than the first threshold. when the one or more beam failure instances reach the beam failure instance number (e.g., beamFailureInstanceMaxCount), the UE may start the beam failure recovery timer (e.g., BFR timer as shown in FIG. 38) with the first timer value and initiate a random access procedure (e.g., RA as shown in FIG. 38) for the beam failure recovery. The random access procedure may start from a contention-free random access procedure; FIG. 40 & ¶0420… wireless device (e.g., Physical layer of the UE in FIG. 40) may measure the first set of RSs. The physical layer may indicate one or more beam failure instance (e.g., beam failure instance indication as shown in FIG. 40) or one or more beam non-failure instance periodically to a higher layer (e.g., MAC layer or layer 3, as shown in FIG. 40) of the wireless device, based on the first threshold…. the physical layer may indicate a beam failure instance when the measured quality (e.g., a hypothetic BLER) of at least one of the first set of RSs is higher than the first threshold);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses & teaches : per FIG. 38 & ¶0403 i.e. when a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of I.e. at least one of the first set of RSs is lower than the first threshold and likewise per FIG. 40 & ¶0420 i.e. wireless device (e.g., Physical layer of the UE in FIG. 40) may measure the first set of RSs reads on: receiving, from a network, a number of RSs i.e. a quality of at least one Rs of i.e. the first RS set as transmitted from the GNB is measured to determine quality . Furthermore, where per FIG. 38 & ¶0403 i.e. a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of at least one of the first set of RSs is and per FIG. 40 & ¶0420 i.e. measure the first set of RSs reads on: of the first set of RSs i.e. from which at least one of the first RS i.e. as transmitted form the GNB is measured for quality.
determining whether [[a]] the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network is larger than a threshold (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0400 See above; ¶0403 …. See above ; FIG. 40 & ¶0420… See above; ¶0423… as shown in FIG. 40, when the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or greater than the beam failure instance number, or beam failure indications (e.g., contiguous) received by the MAC entity reaches the beam failure instance number, the MAC entity of the wireless device may trigger a BFR procedure);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses & teaches : per ¶0403 i.e. when the one or more beam failure instances reach the beam failure instance number (e.g., beamFailureInstanceMaxCount) and combined with the embodiment of FIG. 40 & ¶0423 where i.e. when the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or i.e. greater than the beam failure instance number reads on: determining whether i.e. beamFailureInstanceMaxCount and the beam failure instance counter as applied to at least one of the first set of RSs measured for quality and per ¶0420 measured of the first set of RSs which are below threshold and cause the counter to be incremented to the beamFailureInstanceMaxCount or instance value. Furthermore per ¶0403 i.e. when a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of I.e. at least one of the first set of RSs is i.e. one of the first set of RSs measured for quality and contribute to the beamFailureInstanceMaxCount or instance value reads on: [[a]] the number of RSs of the first set of RSs where the number of instances directly correlates a count number RSs from or of the first set of RSs that fail. Furthermore, to determine quality via measurement i.e. at least one of the first set of RSs measured for quality i.e. are transmitted from the GNB reads on: that was received from the network. Per ¶0403 i.e. when the one or more beam failure instances reach the beam failure instance number (e.g., beamFailureInstanceMaxCount) and combined with the embodiment of FIG. 40 & ¶0423 where i.e. when the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or i.e. greater than the beam failure instance number reads on: is larger than a threshold where per ¶403 “reach the beam failure instance number” finds context and interpretation per the embodiment of FIG 40 & ¶0423 in “the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or i.e. greater than the beam failure instance number”. Note per ¶403 “reach the beam failure instance number” finds context and interpretation per the embodiment of FIG 40 & ¶0423 in “the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or i.e. greater than the beam failure instance number” and per ¶0400 and ¶0420 accordingly interpreted as the beam failure number via at least a RS to beam mapping, corresponding to RS number associated with beam failure.
While applicant in Page 7 (ln 22-24) indicates “a determination of whether a device receives a number of reference signals from a first set of RSs is larger than a threshold number is different from a determination of whether a number of beam failures is greater than a threshold. These are different concepts”, the office action respectfully contends the teachings of Zhou read on the claim limitations as presented and the claim limitations do not distinguish how “a number of reference signals from a first set of RSs” is conceptually different from or excludes “a number of beam failures” associated with a number associated with RSs from a set of RSs measured meeting a beam failure threshold as disclosed.
Furthermore the office action notes that:
While Zhou teaches and reads on: the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network is larger than a threshold as noted above, where Zhou maps beam failure detections to RSs measured for quality being below a threshold and appears to imply that the number of beam failure maxcount or instance correlates to the number of RS from the set of RSs transmitted, therefore i.e.:
Zhou does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note: i.e. Zhou in instances appears to imply italicized portions): the number of RSs of the first set;
Matsumura from a similar overlapping field of endeavor as referenced below, is combined to teach claim elements not explicitly taught or strongly suggested by Zhou as noted above.
As will noted in the new grounds of rejection, Matsumura additionally also overlappingly teaches and reads on applicant’s claim limitation of contention as in: determining whether [[a]] the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network is larger than a threshold. Please see rejection of claim 1 below in office action.
C. As such, the office action respectfully contends that applicant’s remarks and arguments as cited are not persuasive since Zhou discloses, teaches and reads upon claim 1 elements of applicant’s contention (i.e. used as an example to represent parallel features in claim 15) as referenced herein, and the office action relies upon disclosures of Zhou in view of Matsumura in combination as presented (See office action) for the rejection of the entirety of claim 1 (i.e. used as an example to represent parallel features in claim 15). Applicant is respectfully directed to the new grounds of rejection of claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Matsumura (See office action).
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Interpretation
11. Claim 15 has been analyzed under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations recite “A wireless transmit or [[/]]receive unit (WTRU)”, “receiver”, “transmitter”. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: FIG. 1A, FIG. 1B, FIG. 1C, FIG. 1D, ¶0036-¶0045.
The terms “A wireless transmit or [[/]]receive unit (WTRU)”, “receiver”, “transmitter” are either defined in the specification as a particular structure or known by one skilled in the art as denoting a type of structure device, hence, 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is not invoked. [Note: MPEP 2181, Non-specialized functions: functions known by those of ordinary skill in the art as being commonly performed by a general purpose computer or computer component].
If Applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the Examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, Applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office Action.
If the Applicant does not intend to have the claimed limitation(s) treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Applicant may amend the claim(s) so that it/they will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, present a sufficient showing that the claim recites/recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
13. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Claim 20 recites terms “the number of the first set of RSs” in recitation “is less than the number of the first set of RSs”, where the terms “the number of the first set of RSs” as referenced are recited with an article “the” preceding “number of the first set of RSs” a first time without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “number of the first set of RSs”, where the office respectfully contends a lack of clarity as to where the terms “the number of the first set of RSs” find antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify applicant’s objective for the claim limitations referenced as applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
15. Claims 1-8, 12, 15-19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20190208436 A1), i.e. “Zhou”, in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20210126690 A1) as supported by PCT/JP2018/026392 filed July 12, 2018 (and published (16.01.2020) as WO/2020/012618) i.e., “Matsumura”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Zhou teaches: A method implemented by a wireless transmit or [[/]]receive unit (WTRU) for wireless communications (Zhou - FIG. 38 & ¶0399… an enhanced beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure. In an example, a base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 38) may transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 38), one or more RRC messages comprising one or more configuration parameters of a BFR procedure. The one or more RRC messages may further comprise a first PRACH resource set (e.g., 1.sup.st PRACH resource set in FIG. 38) and a second PRACH resource set (e.g., 2.sup.nd PRACH resource set in FIG. 38); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. an enhanced beam failure recovery i.e. procedure reads on: A method , where i.e. transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 38) reads on: implemented by a wireless transmit or receive unit (WTRU) for wireless communications),
the method comprising: receiving configuration information (Zhou - FIG. 38 & ¶0399 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. a base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 38) may i.e. transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 38), one or more RRC messages comprising one or more configuration parameters reads on: the method comprising: receiving configuration information of a BFR procedure )
of a first set of reference signals (RSs) for monitoring and a second set of RSs for new beam selection (Zhou - FIG. 38 & ¶0399 See above; ¶0400…. the one or more configuration parameters of the BFR procedure may indicate a first set of RSs for beam failure detection; and/or one or more PRACH resources associated with a second set of RSs (beams) for candidate beam selection…. the one or more PRACH resources may be the first PRACH resource set. In an example, each RS of the second set of RSs may be associated with a preamble, a timer resource and/or a frequency resource of one of the one or more PRACH resources; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0400 the one or more configuration parameters of the BFR procedure may indicate i.e. a first set of RSs for beam failure detection reads on: of a first set of reference signals (RSs) for monitoring and i.e. and/or one or more PRACH resources associated i.e. with a second set of RSs (beams) for candidate beam selection reads on: and a second set of candidate RSs for new beam selection );
receiving, from a network, a number of RSs of the first set of RSs (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403 …. the UE may detect one or more beam failure instances when a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of at least one of the first set of RSs is lower than the first threshold. when the one or more beam failure instances reach the beam failure instance number (e.g., beamFailureInstanceMaxCount), the UE may start the beam failure recovery timer (e.g., BFR timer as shown in FIG. 38) with the first timer value and initiate a random access procedure (e.g., RA as shown in FIG. 38) for the beam failure recovery. The random access procedure may start from a contention-free random access procedure; FIG. 40 & ¶0420… wireless device (e.g., Physical layer of the UE in FIG. 40) may measure the first set of RSs. The physical layer may indicate one or more beam failure instance (e.g., beam failure instance indication as shown in FIG. 40) or one or more beam non-failure instance periodically to a higher layer (e.g., MAC layer or layer 3, as shown in FIG. 40) of the wireless device, based on the first threshold…. the physical layer may indicate a beam failure instance when the measured quality (e.g., a hypothetic BLER) of at least one of the first set of RSs is higher than the first threshold; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 38 & ¶0403 i.e. when a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of I.e. at least one of the first set of RSs is lower than the first threshold and likewise per FIG. 40 & ¶0420 i.e. wireless device (e.g., Physical layer of the UE in FIG. 40) may measure the first set of RSs reads on: receiving, from a network, a number of RSs i.e. a quality of at least one Rs of i.e. the first RS set as transmitted from the GNB is measured to determine quality . Furthermore, where per FIG. 38 & ¶0403 i.e. a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of at least one of the first set of RSs is and per FIG. 40 & ¶0420 i.e. measure the first set of RSs reads on: of the first set of RSs i.e. from which at least one of the first RS i.e. as transmitted form the GNB is measured for quality);
determining whether [[a]] the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network is larger than a threshold (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0400 See above; ¶0403 …. See above ; FIG. 40 & ¶0420… See above; ¶0423… as shown in FIG. 40, when the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or greater than the beam failure instance number, or beam failure indications (e.g., contiguous) received by the MAC entity reaches the beam failure instance number, the MAC entity of the wireless device may trigger a BFR procedure; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0403 i.e. when the one or more beam failure instances reach the beam failure instance number (e.g., beamFailureInstanceMaxCount) and combined with the embodiment of FIG. 40 & ¶0423 where i.e. when the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or i.e. greater than the beam failure instance number reads on: determining whether i.e. beamFailureInstanceMaxCount and the beam failure instance counter as applied to at least one of the first set of RSs measured for quality and per ¶0420 measured of the first set of RSs which are below threshold and cause the counter to be incremented to the beamFailureInstanceMaxCount or instance value. Furthermore per ¶0403 i.e. when a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of I.e. at least one of the first set of RSs is i.e. one of the first set of RSs measured for quality and contribute to the beamFailureInstanceMaxCount or instance value reads on: [[a]] the number of RSs of the first set of RSs , where to determine quality via measurement i.e. at least one of the first set of RSs measured for quality i.e. are transmitted from the GNB reads on: that was received from the network. Per ¶0403 i.e. when the one or more beam failure instances reach the beam failure instance number (e.g., beamFailureInstanceMaxCount) and combined with the embodiment of FIG. 40 & ¶0423 where i.e. when the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or i.e. greater than the beam failure instance number reads on: is larger than a threshold where per ¶403 “reach the beam failure instance number” finds context and interpretation per the embodiment of FIG 40 & ¶0423 in “the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or i.e. greater than the beam failure instance number”. Note per ¶403 “reach the beam failure instance number” finds context and interpretation per the embodiment of FIG 40 & ¶0423 in “the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or i.e. greater than the beam failure instance number” and per ¶0400 and ¶0420 accordingly interpreted as the beam failure number via at least a RS to beam mapping, corresponding to RS number associated with beam failure);
determining whether at least a subset RSs of the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network (Zhou FIG. 38, FIG. 40 & ¶0403 See above; ¶0420 See above; ¶0423 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0420 or ¶0403 the UE may detect one or more beam failure instances when a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of i.e. at least one of the first set of RSs reads on: determining whether at least a subset i.e. belonging to the first set of RSs as measured for quality, where furthermore that i.e. one of the first set of RSs measured for quality and contributing to the beamFailureInstanceMaxCount or instance value reads on: of the number of RSs of the first set of RSs. Furthermore i.e. at least one of the first set of RSs measured for quality i.e. are transmitted from the GNB reads on: that was received from the network. Furthermore i.e. at least one of the first set of RSs measured for quality i.e. is lower than the first threshold or BLER is higher than a threshold reads on: is failed , where at least one indicates one or more of the set of RSs);
selecting a first RS and a second RS from the second set of RSs (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403…See above; ¶0404… the UE may select at least one beam associated with at least one of the second set of RSs based on the second threshold. In an example, the UE may select the at least one beam when the measured quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of a RS associated the at least one beam is greater than the second threshold. The UE may select a first preamble (e.g., a 1.sup.st preamble as shown in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set, based on the at least one beam. The UE may transmit the first preamble to a gNB (e.g., at slot/subframe n.sub.1). In an example, the first preamble may be a PRACH preamble associated with the at least one beam; ¶0407… the UE may not receive the DCI via the first PDCCH in the first coreset during the beam failure recovery response window. In response to an expiry of the beam failure recovery window (e.g., at slot/subframe n.sub.1+k+l), the UE may increment the preamble transmission counter (e.g., by one). The UE may select a second preamble (e.g., 2.sup.nd preamble in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set. The UE may transmit the second preamble in response to selecting the second preamble. The selecting the second preamble is based on the first threshold, same as selecting the first preamble.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶404 i.e. the UE may select at least one beam associated with at least one of the second set of RSs based on the second threshold reads on: selecting a first RS and per ¶0407 i.e. In response to an expiry of the beam failure recovery window (e.g., at slot/subframe n.sub.1+k+l), the UE may increment the preamble transmission counter (e.g., by one). The UE may select a second preamble (e.g., 2.sup.nd preamble in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set reads on: a second RS i.e. where per ¶0400 one or more PRACH resources associated with i.e. a second set of RSs (beams) for candidate beam selection are associated with the first PRACH resource set reads on: from the second set of candidate RSs i.e. a second set of RSs (beams) are mapped to the first PRACH resource set),
based on a determination that 1) the number of RSs the first set of RSs that was received from the network is larger than the threshold and 2) at least the subset of RSs of the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network is failed (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403 see above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0403 i.e. when the one or more beam failure instances reach the beam failure instance number (e.g., beamFailureInstanceMaxCount) and combined with the embodiment of FIG. 40 & ¶0423 where i.e. when the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or greater than the beam failure instance number, where the preceding is based on i.e. at least one of the first set of RSs as measured for quality being below the threshold contribute to the beamFailureInstanceMaxCount or instance value reads on: based on a determination that 1) the number of RSs the first set of RSs that was received from the network per ¶0403 i.e. when the one or more beam failure instances reach the beam failure instance number (e.g., beamFailureInstanceMaxCount) and combined with the embodiment of FIG. 40 & ¶0423 where i.e. when the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or greater than the beam failure instance number reads on: is larger than the threshold. Furthermore per ¶0403 i.e. the UE may detect one or more beam failure instances when a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of i.e. at least one of the first set of RSs measure for quality reads on: and 2) at least the subset of RSs of the number of RSs of the first set of RSs i.e. measures as transmitted from the GNB reads on?: that was received from the network , furthermore i.e. is lower than the first threshold reads on: is failed and as a result the UE may start the beam failure recovery timer (e.g., BFR timer as shown in FIG. 38) with the first timer value and initiate a random access procedure (e.g., RA as shown in FIG. 38) for the beam failure recovery comprising transmitting the first preamble and the second preamble as depicted);
transmitting a first uplink transmission using a first uplink resource associated with the first RS (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0404 See above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: The UE may select a first preamble (e.g., a 1.sup.st preamble as shown in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set, based on the at least one beam. i.e. The UE may transmit the first preamble to a gNB (e.g., at slot/subframe n.sub.1) i.e. reads on: transmitting a first uplink transmission using a first uplink resource, where i.e. The UE may select a first preamble (e.g., a 1.sup.st preamble as shown in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set reads on: associated with the first RS from the second set of ;
and transmitting a second uplink transmission using a second uplink resource associated with the second RS (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0407 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. The UE may transmit the second preamble in response to selecting the second preamble as depicted in FIG. 38 selected from the first PRACH resource set reads on: and transmitting a second uplink transmission using a second uplink resource where i.e. selected from the first PRACH resource set reads on: associated with the second RS from the second set of RSs mapped to the first PRACH set).
While Zhou teaches and reads on: the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network is larger than a threshold as noted above, where Zhou maps beam failure detections to RSs measured for quality being below a threshold and appears to imply that the number of beam failure maxcount or instance correlates to the number of RS from the set of RSs transmitted, therefore i.e.:
Zhou does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note: i.e. Zhou in instances appears to imply italicized portions): the number of RSs of the first set;
Matsumura from a similar overlapping field of endeavor as referenced below, is combined to teach claim elements not explicitly taught or strongly suggested by Zhou, in that:
Matsumura teaches: receiving configuration information of a first set of reference signals (RSs) for monitoring (Matsumura FIG. 2 & FIG. 4 & ¶0080 […] The base station may use a higher layer (for example, RRC signaling, etc.) to transmit information to the UE regarding the number of RSs (number of determination criterion RSs) that specify the partial beam failure detection corresponding to each TRP […] ; ¶0081 […] the number of RSs configured for partial beam failure detection (number of determination criterion RSs) may be configured to be equal to or less than the number of RSs (number of base RSs) configured for beam failure detection ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0080 i.e. The base station may use a higher layer (for example, RRC signaling, etc.) to transmit information to the UE reads on: receiving i.e. information regarding the number of RSs (number of determination criterion RSs), where furthermore both FIG. 2 & FIG. 4 show RRC signalling transmitting Base RS and Determination criterion RS to the UE, and per ¶0081 i.e. the number of RSs (number of base RSs) configured for beam failure detection reads on: configuration information of a first set of reference signals (RSs) for monitoring i.e. received as configuration via RRC signaling);
furthermore (i.e. specific to claim elements not explicitly taught or strongly suggested by Zhou ) Matsumura teaches: receiving, from a network, a number of RSs of the first set of RSs; (Matsumura FIG. 2 & FIG. 4 & ¶0080 See above; ¶0081 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 2 & FIG. 4 show RRC signalling transmitting Base RS and Determination criterion RS and per ¶0080 i.e. The base station may use a higher layer (for example, RRC signaling, etc.) to transmit information to the UE reads on: receiving, from a network , and furthermore per ¶0080 i.e. transmit information regarding the number of RSs (number of determination criterion RSs) that specify the partial beam failure detection i.e. the number of RSs (number of determination criterion RSs) reads on: a number of RSs and per ¶0081 i.e. the number of RSs configured for partial beam failure detection (number of determination criterion RSs) may be configured to be equal to or less than i.e. the number of RSs (number of base RSs) configured reads on: of the first set of RSs );
determining whether [[a]] the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network is larger than a threshold (Matsumura FIG. 2 & ¶0084 […] case where the number of RSs (determination criterion RS) for partial beam failure detection is configured separately for a plurality of TRPs (here, TRP#1 and TRP#2). In FIG. 2, TRP#1 may be a serving TRP and TRP#2 may be a coordinated TRP. Further, here, the case where four base RSs for beam failure detection are configured for TRP#1 and TRP#2 is shown […]; FIG. 2 & ¶0085 […] two determination criterion RSs are configured for TRP#1, and four determination criterion RSs are configured for TRP#2. […] the UE determines that partial beam failure is detected when the radio link quality is equal to or less than the given threshold value in two or more of the four base RSs for TRP#1. On the other hand, the UE determines that (partial) beam failure is detected when the radio link quality is equal to or less than the given threshold value in four of the four base RSs for TRP#2; FIG. 4 & ¶0112 […] determination criterion RSs is configured to two is shown […] ; ¶0113 […] the UE determines that partial beam failure is detected when the radio link quality is equal to or less than the given threshold value in two or more of the four base RSs for TRP#1 and four base RSs for TRP#2 (eight base RSs in total). For example, when the radio link quality is less than the given threshold value in one RS of TRP#1 and one RS of TRP#2, it is determined that partial beam failure is detected ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 4 & ¶0113 and FIG. 2 & ¶0085 i.e. the UE determines that partial beam failure is detected reads on: determining when the radio link quality is equal to or less than the given threshold value in two or more of the four base RSs for TRP#1 i.e. whether the condition of two or more RSs of the four base RSs based upon i.e. two determination criterion RSs being configured for TRP#1 reads on: whether [[a]] the number of RSs signaled to TRP#1. Furthermore per ¶0081 the number of RSs (number of base RSs) configured where per ¶0084 i.e. four base RSs for beam failure detection are configured for TRP#1 and TRP#2 reads on: of the first set of RSs that was received from the network as also applied to Base RS depicted in FIG. 4 & ¶0113. Furthermore per FIG. 4 & ¶0113 and per FIG. 2 & ¶0085 i.e. the UE determines that partial beam failure is detected when the radio link quality is equal to or less than the given threshold value and i.e. i.e. whether the condition of two or more RSs i.e. of the four base RSs reads on: is larger than a threshold of two i.e. set at least as two determination criterion RS for partial beam failure, based upon i.e. two determination criterion RSs configured for TRP#1. An identical mapping is applied to FIG. 4 as referenced using based on the determination Criterion RS of 2 and Base RS for each TRP of 4 totaling 8 Base RS per ¶00113);
determining whether at least a subset of RSs of the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network has failed (Matsumura FIG. 2 & ¶0085 see above; FIG. 4 & ¶0113 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 4 & ¶0113 i.e. the UE determines that partial beam failure is detected when the radio link quality is equal to or less than the given threshold value in two or more of the four base RSs for TRP#1 and four base RSs for TRP#2 (eight base RSs in total) and similarly per FIG. 2 & ¶0085 i.e. the UE determines that partial beam failure is detected when the radio link quality is equal to or less than the given threshold value in two or more i.e. based upon the determination criterion RS of 2 for FIG. 2 & FIG. 4 covers a range of values for a subset of 2 RSs for determination criterion RS of 2 reads on: determining whether at least a subset of RSs of the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network, where for both FIG. 2 & FIG. 4 at least a subset of the determination criterion RS of 2 meet the partial beam failure is detected when the radio link quality is equal to or less than the given threshold criterion. In the case of FIG. 4 & ¶0113 i.e. when the radio link quality is less than the given threshold value i.e. in one RS of TRP#1 and one RS of TRP#2 as applied to of the determination criterion RS of 2 also reads on: reads on: determining whether at least a subset of RSs of the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network i.e. an individual subset of 1 out of 2 RS for each TRP totaling 2 RSs comprises when partial beam failure is detected. Furthermore per FIG. 2 ¶0085 & FIG. 4 & ¶0113 i.e. the partial beam failure is detected reads on: has failed i.e. when in two or more per the determination Criterion RS number meet the partial beam failure is detected when the radio link quality threshold criterion);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with teachings of Matsumura, since Matsumura enables procedures to reduce the overhead by reducing the information regarding the number of RSs for partial beam failure detection transmitted from the base station to the UE (Matsumura ¶0081; ¶0115 ).
Regarding Claim 2. (Previously Presented) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhou teaches: wherein the first set of RSs comprises one or more beam failure detection (BFD) reference signals (RSs) (Zhou - FIG. 38 & ¶0399 See Claim 1; ¶0400 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0400 i.e.…. the one or more configuration parameters of the BFR procedure may indicate i.e. a first set of RSs for beam failure detection reads on: wherein the first set of RSs comprises one or more beam failure detection (BFD) reference signals (RSs) ),
and the second set of RSs comprises one or more new candidate beam (NCB) RSs (Zhou - FIG. 38 & ¶0399 See Claim 1; ¶0400 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0400 i.e. and/or one or more PRACH resources associated with i.e. a second set of RSs (beams) for candidate beam selection reads on: and the second set of RSs comprises one or more new candidate beam (NCB) RSs).
Regarding Claim 3. (Previously Presented) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhou teaches: further comprising: monitoring or measuring the first set of RSs (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403 See claim 1; FIG. 40 & ¶0420 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: …. the UE may detect one or more beam failure instances when i.e. a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of at least one of the first set of RSs is lower than the first threshold and per ¶0420 i.e. the physical layer may indicate a beam failure instance when the measured quality (e.g., a hypothetic BLER) of at least one of the first set of RSs is higher than the first threshold reads on: further comprising: monitoring or measuring the first set of RSs note: where recitation “monitoring” “or” “measuring” with “monitoring” or “measuring” presented in the alternative are interpreted as having the same claim objective meaning );
and determining a number of failed RSs of the first set of RSs based on the monitoring or the measuring of the first set of RSs (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403 See claim 1; FIG. 40 & ¶0420 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0403 the UE may detect one or more beam failure instances reads on: and determining a number of failed RSs of the first set of RSs when i.e. per ¶0403 a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of at least one of the first set of RSs is lower or per ¶0420 indicate a beam failure instance when the measured quality (e.g., a hypothetic BLER) of at least one of the first set of RSs is higher than the first threshold reads on: based on the monitoring or the measuring of the first set of RSs . Note: where recitation “monitoring” “or” “measuring” with “monitoring” or “measuring” presented in the alternative are interpreted as having the same claim objective meaning).
Regarding Claim 4. (Previously Presented) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The method of claim 3,
furthermore Zhou teaches: wherein at least the first RS and the second RS are selected from the second set of RSs (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403…See Claim 1; ¶0404 See claim 1; ¶0407 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶404 i.e. the UE may select at least one beam associated with at least one of the second set of RSs based on the second threshold and i.e. The UE may select a first preamble (e.g., a 1.sup.st preamble as shown in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set, based on the at least one beam reads on: wherein at least the first RS , and per ¶0407 i.e. In response to an expiry of the beam failure recovery window (e.g., at slot/subframe n.sub.1+k+l), the UE may increment the preamble transmission counter (e.g., by one). The UE may select a second preamble (e.g., 2.sup.nd preamble in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set reads on: and the second RS i.e. where per ¶0400 one or more PRACH resources associated with i.e. a second set of RSs (beams) for candidate beam selection are associated with the first PRACH resource set as also depicted in FIG. 38 reads on: from the second set of candidate RSs i.e. a second set of RSs (beams) are mapped to the first PRACH resource set)
based on the monitoring or the measuring of the first set of RSs (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403…See Claim 1; ¶0404 See claim 1; ¶0407 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0403 i.e. the UE may detect one or more beam failure instances when a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of i.e. at least one of the first set of RSs is lower than the first threshold reads on: based on the monitoring or the measurements of the first set of RSs and as a result the UE may start the beam failure recovery timer (e.g., BFR timer as shown in FIG. 38) with the first timer value and initiate a random access procedure (e.g., RA as shown in FIG. 38) for the beam failure recovery comprising transmitting the first preamble and the second preamble as depicted where the first and second preamble and corresponding PRACH map to the first RS and the second RS selected from the second set of RSs. Note: where recitation “monitoring” “or” “measuring” with “monitoring” or “measuring” presented in the alternative are interpreted as having the same claim objective meaning ).
Regarding Claim 5. (Previously Presented) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Matsumura teaches: wherein the determining that at least the subset of the first set of RSs being failed comprises determining that a number of failed RSs is equal to the number of RSs the first set of RSs (Matsumura FIG. 2 & ¶0085 […] See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0085 i.e. the UE determines that (partial) beam failure is detected when the radio link quality is equal to or less than the given threshold value i.e. in four of the four base RSs for TRP#2 reads on: wherein the determining that at least the subset of the first set of RSs being failed , i.e. four of the four base RSs for TRP#2 reads on: comprises determining that a number of failed RSs of i.e. 4 per four Determination criterion RS i.e. is equal to i.e. the four base RSs for TRP#2 reads on: equal to the number of RSs of the first set of RSs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou in view of Matsumura, further with the teachings of Matsumura, since Matsumura enables procedures to reduce the overhead by reducing the information regarding the number of RSs for partial beam failure detection transmitted from the base station to the UE (Matsumura ¶0081; ¶0115 ).
Regarding Claim 6. (Previously Presented) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhou teaches: wherein the transmitting the first uplink transmission comprises transmitting the first uplink transmission on a first physical random access channel (PRACH) using the first uplink resource associated with the first RS (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0404 See above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: The UE may select a first preamble (e.g., a 1.sup.st preamble as shown in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set, based on the at least one beam. i.e. The UE may transmit the first preamble to a gNB (e.g., at slot/subframe n.sub.1) i.e. reads on: wherein the transmitting the first uplink where i.e. The UE may select a first preamble (e.g., a 1.sup.st preamble as shown in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set reads on: on a first physical random access channel (PRACH) using the first uplink resource where i.e. select a first preamble (e.g., a 1.sup.st preamble as shown in FIG. 38) reads on: associated with the first RS which is associated with and from the first PRACH resource set from the second set of RSs mapped to the first PRACH set ).
Regarding Claim 7. (Previously Presented) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhou teaches: wherein the transmitting the second uplink transmission comprises transmitting the second uplink transmission on a second physical random access channel (PRACH) using the second uplink resource associated with the second RS (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0407 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. The UE may i.e. transmit the second preamble in response to selecting the second preamble as depicted in FIG. 38 selected from the first PRACH resource set reads on: wherein the transmitting the second uplink transmission comprises transmitting the second uplink transmission where i.e. selected from the first PRACH resource set reads on: on a second physical random access channel (PRACH) using the second uplink resource , where i.e. selecting the second preamble reads on associated with the second RS where the second preamble is from the first PRACH set mapped to the second set of RSs).
Regarding Claim 8. (Previously Presented) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhou teaches: wherein the first uplink transmission comprises a first beam recovery request message (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403 See claim 1; ¶0404 See claim 1; ¶0407 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: the UE may select at least one beam associated with at least one of the second set of RSs based on the second threshold. In an example, the UE may select the at least one beam when the measured quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of a RS associated the at least one beam is greater than the second threshold. The i.e. UE may select a first preamble (e.g., a 1.sup.st preamble as shown in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set, based on the at least one beam associated with at least one of the second set of RSs reads on: wherein the first uplink transmission comprising the preamble mapped to the first PRACH set mapped to the beam from the second set of RSs, where per FIG. 38 and ¶0403 the first preamble is subsequent to i.e. the UE may start the beam failure recovery timer (e.g., BFR timer as shown in FIG. 38) with the first timer value and initiate a random access procedure (e.g., RA as shown in FIG. 38) for the beam failure recovery reads on: comprises a first beam recovery request message where per FIG. 38 and ¶0407 the UE may not receive the DCI via the first PDCCH in the first coreset during the beam failure recovery response window to complete BFR successfully per as in ¶0406),
and the second uplink transmission comprises a second beam recovery request message (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403 See claim 1; ¶0404 See claim 1; ¶0407 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: In response to an expiry of the beam failure recovery window (e.g., at slot/subframe n.sub.1+k+l), the UE may increment the preamble transmission counter (e.g., by one). The i.e. UE may select a second preamble (e.g., 2.sup.nd preamble in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set reads on: and the second uplink transmission comprising the preamble mapped to the first PRACH set mapped to the beam from the second set of RSs, where per FIG. 38 and ¶0407 the second preamble is subsequent to i.e. an expiry of the beam failure recovery window (e.g., at slot/subframe n.sub.1+k+l), the UE may increment the preamble transmission counter (e.g., by one) reads on: comprises a second beam recovery request message subsequent to the “UE not receive the DCI via the first PDCCH in the first coreset during the beam failure recovery response window” to attempt to complete BFR successfully).
Regarding Claim 12. (Original) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhou teaches: wherein the configuration information comprises an indication of a set of uplink resources (Zhou - FIG. 38 & ¶0399 See Claim 1; ¶0400 See claim 1; ¶0403 See claim 1; ¶0404 See claim1; ¶0407 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: the one or more configuration parameters of the BFR procedure may indicate a first set of RSs for beam failure detection; and/or one or more PRACH resources associated with a second set of RSs (beams) for candidate beam selection i.e. the one or more PRACH resources may be the first PRACH resource set reads on: wherein the configuration information comprises an indication of a set of uplink resources for RA and preamble transmission associated with PRACH from first PRACH resource set per ¶403; ¶404; ¶0407),
wherein the set of uplink resources includes the first uplink resource and the second uplink resource (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403 See claim 1; ¶0404 See claim 1; ¶0407 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0404 the first PRACH resource reads on: wherein the set of uplink resources, where per ¶0403 i.e. The UE may select a first preamble (e.g., a 1.sup.st preamble as shown in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set and per ¶0407 The i.e. UE may select a second preamble (e.g., 2.sup.nd preamble in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource set reads on: includes the first uplink resource and the second uplink resource both preambles mapped to the second set of RSs are from the first PRACH resource set).
Regarding Claim 15. (Currently Amended) Zhou teaches: A wireless transmit or [[/]] receive unit (WTRU) (Zhou - FIG. 38 & ¶0399… an enhanced beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure. In an example, a base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 38) may transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 38), one or more RRC messages comprising one or more configuration parameters of a BFR procedure; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. an enhanced beam failure recovery i.e. procedure reads on: A method , where i.e. transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 38) reads on A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU))
comprising: a receiver (Zhou - FIG. 38 & ¶0399 See above; FIG. 4 ¶0173… wireless device 406 may include at least one communication interface 407… A transceiver is a device that includes both a transmitter and receiver.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. interface 407… A transceiver reads on: comprising: a receiver ),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 15 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
configured to: receive configuration information of a first set of reference signals (RSs) for monitoring and a second set of RSs for new beam selection;
receive, from a network, a number of RSs of the first set of RSs;
a processor configured (Zhou FIG. 4 & ¶0173 […] at least one processor 408, and at least one set of program code instructions 410 stored in non-transitory memory 409 and executable by the at least one processor 40; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. processor 408 reads on: a processor configured ) to: determine whether [[a]] the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network is larger than a threshold[[,]];determine whether at least a subset of RSs of the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network has second RS from the second set of RSs[[,]] based on a determination that 1) the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network is larger than the threshold and 2) at least the subset of RSs of the number of RSs of the first set of RSs that was received from the network has (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 15 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 16. (Previously Presented) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The WTRU of claim 15,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 16 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 16. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the first set of RSs comprises one or more beam failure detection (BFD) reference signals (RSs), and the second set of RSs comprises one or more new candidate beam (NCB) RSs(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 16 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 16. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 17. (Previously Presented) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The WTRU of claim 15,
(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 17 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the processor is further configured to determine that a number of failed RSs of the first set of RSs is equal to the number of RSs of the first set of RSs(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 17 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 18. (Previously Presented) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The WTRU of claim 15,
(See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 18 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the transmitter is further configured to: transmit the first uplink transmission on a first physical random access channel (PRACH) using the first uplink resource associated with the first RS(See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 18 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate);
or
(See the rejection of Claim 7, Claim 18 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
transmit the second uplink transmission on a second PRACH using the second uplink resource associated with the (See the rejection of Claim 7, Claim 18 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 19. (Previously Presented) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The WTRU of claim 15,
(See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 19 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the first uplink transmission comprises a first beam recovery request message, and the second uplink transmission comprises a second beam recovery request message(See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 19 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. (Currently Amended) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The WTRU of claim 15,
furthermore Zhou teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to select the first RS from the second set of RSs (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403…See Claim 1; ¶0404 See claim 1; ¶0407 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶404 i.e. the UE may select at least one beam associated with at least one of the second set of RSs based on the second threshold reads on: wherein the processor is further configured to select the first RS and per ¶0407 i.e. In response to an expiry of the beam failure recovery window (e.g., at slot/subframe n.sub.1+k+l), the UE may increment the preamble transmission counter (e.g., by one). The UE may select a second preamble (e.g., 2.sup.nd preamble in FIG. 38) from the first PRACH resource i.e. where per ¶0400 one or more PRACH resources associated with i.e. a second set of RSs (beams) for candidate beam selection are associated with the first PRACH resource set and as depicted in FIG. 38 reads on: from the second set of candidate RSs i.e. a second set of RSs (beams) are mapped to the first PRACH resource set), based on a determination that 1) the number of RSs of the first set of RSs is larger than the threshold and 2) a number of RSs of the subset of RSs of the number of RSs of the first set of RSs is less than the number of the first set of RSs (Zhou FIG. 38 & ¶0403 see above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0403 i.e. when the one or more beam failure instances reach the beam failure instance number (e.g., beamFailureInstanceMaxCount) and combined with the embodiment of FIG. 40 & ¶0423 where i.e. when the beam failure instance counter indicates a value equal to or greater than the beam failure instance number and combined with ¶0400 i.e. a second set of RSs (beams) - which indicates a one to one RS to beam mapping at least for the second set and interpreted as implying at least a RS being mapped to a beam on which its transmitted reads on based on a determination that 1) the number of RSs of the first set of RSs is larger than the threshold where per ¶0400 and ¶0420 accordingly interpreted as the beam failure number via at least a RS to beam mapping, corresponding to RS number associated with beam failure. Per ¶0403 i.e. the UE may detect one or more beam failure instances when a quality (e.g., RSRP or SINR) of i.e. at least one of the first set of RSs reads on: and 2) a number of RSs of the subset of RSs of the number of RSs of the first set of RSs, where per ¶0403 i.e. at least one of the first set of RSs reads on: is less than the number of the first set of RSs where at least one being less that the first set of RSs or a plural more than one RSs).
16. Claims 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Matsumura further in view of Xu et al. (US 20230028423 A1), i.e. “Xu”.
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently Amended) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhou teaches: further comprising: receiving, in downlink control information (DCI), an activation indication of a third set of RSs (Zhou FIG. 48 A & ¶0484… a gNB may transmit a MAC message comprising at least one of: a MAC CE; and/or a MAC subheader, wherein the MAC CE may comprise parameters indicating at least one of: activation/deactivation of a SP CSI report on PUCCH; a RS resource configuration; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. gNB may transmit a MAC message comprising at least one of: a MAC CE; and/or a MAC subheader, reads on: further comprising: receiving, in downlink control information (DCI) where MAC CE comprises control information for activation /deactivation in the downlink direction interpreted as DCI or downlink control information. Furthermore i.e. wherein the MAC CE may comprise parameters indicating at least one of: activation/deactivation of a RS resource configuration reads on: an activation indication of a third set of RSs );
Zhou in view of Matsumura does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note: see italicized portions): receiving, in downlink control information (DCI), an activation indication of a third set of RSs for beam failure recovery (BFR), wherein the activation indication indicates an identifier associated with the third set of RSs for BFR; and selecting the third set of RSs for BFR based on the .
Xu teaches: receiving, in downlink control information (DCI), an activation indication of a third set of RSs for beam failure recovery (BFR) (Xu – FIG. 18 A FIG. 19 & ¶239… The wireless device may receive, from the base station, a MAC CE activating one or more second RSs of the plurality of RSs for beam failure detection (e.g., at time T3). In an example, the MAC CE may deactivate one or more third RSs of the plurality of RSs for beam failure detection. In an example, the one or more first RSs may comprise the one or more third RSs (e.g., the one or more third RSs may be one or more of the one or more first RSs). The MAC CE may comprise a format as described in FIG. 18A.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: wireless device may receive, from the base station, a MAC CE reads on: reads on: further comprising: receiving, in downlink control information (DCI) where MAC CE comprises control information for activation /deactivation in the downlink direction interpreted as DCI or downlink control information, and where i.e. a MAC CE activating one or more second RSs of the plurality of RSs reads on: an activation indication of a third set of RSs for beam failure detection (e.g., at time T3) reads on: for beam failure recovery (BFR) ),
wherein the activation indication indicates an identifier associated with the third set of RSs for BFR (Xu - FIG. 18 A FIG. 19 & ¶0236 … A base station may transmit the MAC CE to a wireless device for activation and/or deactivation of multiple reference signals (RSs) (or of multiple beams). An RS may be referred to as a beam. The wireless device may activate and/or deactivate, based on the MAC CE, one or more of the multiple RSs (e.g., RS0, RS1, RS2, RS3, . . . , RS (N−1)) configured by the base station via an RRC message… The MAC CE may be identified by a MAC PDU sub-header with an LCID (e.g., LCID-X). In an example, the LCID may be set to “101101”; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: transmit the MAC CE to a wireless device for activation and/or deactivation of multiple reference signals (RSs) (or of multiple beams), where i.e. MAC CE may be identified by a MAC PDU sub-header with an LCID (e.g., LCID-X) reads on: wherein the activation indication indicates an identifier associated with the third set of RSs for BFR );
and selecting the third set of RSs for BFR based on the (Xu – FIG. 18 A FIG. 19 & ¶239 See above …. The wireless device may transmit a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) signal to the base station (e.g., at time T5) in response to the wireless device selecting at least one of the second plurality of RSs. NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. selecting at least one of the second plurality of RSs reads on: and selecting the third set of RSs for BFR where selecting is subsequent to receiving MAC CE for beam failure detection (e.g., at time T3) reads on: based on the activation indication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou in view of Matsumura with teachings of Xu, since Xu enables procedures that increase reliability and efficiency of the beam failure recovery procedure without additional complexity for the uplink control channel, and increase the reliability and efficiency of the beam failure recovery procedure without increasing physical layer signaling overhead and detection complexity of wireless device and base station (FIG. 5, Xu - ¶0234).
Regarding Claim 14. (Currently Amended) Zhou in view of Matsumura teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhou teaches: further comprising: receiving, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message, an activation indication of a fourth set of RSs (Zhou FIG. 48 A & ¶0484…See Claim 13; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. gNB may transmit a MAC message comprising at least one of: a MAC CE; and/or a MAC subheader, reads on: further comprising: receiving, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message where MAC CE comprises control information for activation /deactivation in the downlink direction. Furthermore i.e. wherein the MAC CE may comprise parameters indicating at least one of: activation/deactivation of a RS resource configuration reads on: an activation indication of a fourth set of RSs);
Zhou in view of Matsumura does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note: see italicized portions): receiving, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message, an activation indication of a fourth set of RSs for beam failure recovery (BFR), wherein the activation indication indicates an identifier associated with the fourth set of RSs for BFR; and selecting the fourth set of RSs for BFR based on the received activation indication.
Xu teaches: receiving, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message, an activation indication of a fourth set of RSs for beam failure recovery (BFR) (Xu – FIG. 18 A FIG. 19 & ¶239… See claim 13 .; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: wireless device may receive, from the base station, a MAC CE reads on: reads on: further comprising: receiving, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message where MAC CE comprises control information for activation /deactivation in the downlink direction, and where i.e. a MAC CE activating one or more second RSs of the plurality of RSs reads on: an activation indication of a fourth set of RSs for beam failure detection (e.g., at time T3) reads on: for beam failure recovery (BFR) ),
wherein the activation indication indicates an identifier associated with the fourth set of RSs for BFR (Xu- FIG. 18 A FIG. 19 & ¶0236 See claim 13 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: transmit the MAC CE to a wireless device for activation and/or deactivation of multiple reference signals (RSs) (or of multiple beams), where i.e. MAC CE may be identified by a MAC PDU sub-header with an LCID (e.g., LCID-X) reads on: wherein the activation indication indicates an identifier associated with the fourth set of RSs for BFR);
and selecting the fourth set of RSs for BFR based on the (Xu – FIG. 18 A FIG. 19 & ¶239 See Claim 13; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. selecting at least one of the second plurality of RSs reads on: and selecting the fourth set of RSs for BFR where selecting is subsequent to receiving MAC CE for beam failure detection (e.g., at time T3) reads on: based on the activation indication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou in view of Matsumura with teachings of Xu, since Xu enables procedures that increase reliability and efficiency of the beam failure recovery procedure without additional complexity for the uplink control channel, and increase the reliability and efficiency of the beam failure recovery procedure without increasing physical layer signaling overhead and detection complexity of wireless device and base station (FIG. 5, Xu - ¶0234).
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414