DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 22, 24-27, 29, 31, 32, 34-37, 39, 41 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2021/0168774, hereinafter Li), in view of Papasakellariou (US 2021/0076387, hereinafter Papasakellariou, claiming priority of both provisional applications) and in view of Yi et al (US 2021/0274535, hereinafter Yi, claiming priority date of all provisional applications).
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses a method implemented by a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: receiving configuration information indicating that transmissions performed using a primary cell (PCell) can be scheduled via the PCell or a secondary cell (SCell) (transmission on Pcell may be scheduled by the scheduling Scell, Para [0009], PDCCH is configured in search space on scheduling Scell, Para [0057]); determining a maximum number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates to monitor in a slot for scheduling of the transmissions performed using the PCell (UE determines single maximum number of PDCCH candidates for PDCCH monitoring on the Pcell and Scell, Para [0011], UE determines maximum number of PDCCH candidates for PDCCH monitoring on Pcell, Para [0013]); determining that a first fraction of the maximum number of PDCCH candidates are applicable to PDCCH monitoring in the PCell and that a second fraction of the maximum number of PDCCH candidates are applicable to PDCCH monitoring in the SCell (single maximum number of PDCCH candidates are determined for Pcell and Scell, Para [0058], fractional number p is used to determine the number of monitored PDCCHs candidates applied to PDCCH detections on Pcell and fractional number s is used to determine the number of monitored PDCCHs candidates applied to PDCCH detections on Scell, where p+s=1, Para [0069]); and decoding one or more PDCCH transmissions scheduling one or more of the transmissions on the PCell via the PCell or the SCell (UE may decode one or more PDCCH candidates on the scheduling Scell for DCI, where the DCI may schedule PDSCH transmission on the Pcell, Para [0009]); but does not disclose receiving DCI, wherein the DCI comprises a bitfield that indicates which cell to use for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission. Papasakellariou discloses the UE can receive DCI including a field indicating which of two cells to transmit the PUCCH on, Para [0109], the bit in the field indicates which of the cells to transmit PUCCH on, Para [0110]. Also see page 27-28 of provisional application 62/897,769. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Papasakellariou in the system of Li in order to improve flexibility of communication thereby improving data rates and reduced latency; but not further comprising receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates deactivation the SCell. Yi discloses Scell can be deactivated using a MAC CE, Para [0173]; nor fully discloses determining the maximum number of PDCCH candidates are applicable to PDCCH monitoring in the PCell for scheduling of the transmission performed using the PCell based on the Scell being deactivated. Yi discloses the Scell can be deactivated and the UE will stop reception of PDCCH on the Scell, Para [0173] and the UE would no longer need to monitor for PDCCH on the Scell as it is deactivated. Li discloses the UE may determine a single maximum number of PDCCH candidates to be shared for monitoring on the PDCCH on the Pcell and the Scell, Para [0011], where the Scell is deactivated and the single maximum number for monitoring PDCCH is applies to the Pcell without sharing with the deactivated Scell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yi in the system of Li in view of Papasakellariou in order to improve reliability and control signaling throughput by further improvements of self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling.
Regarding claims 22 and 32, Li discloses the method/WTRU of claim 21/31, further comprising: monitoring the PCell using the first fraction of the maximum number of PDCCH candidates applicable to PDCCH monitoring in the PCell; monitoring the SCell using the second fraction of the maximum number of PDCCH candidates applicable to PDCCH monitoring in the SCell (single maximum number of monitored PDCCH candidates, monitoring PDCCH candidates on Pcell and Scell, Para [0058], fractional values p and s are used to determine the maximum number, Para [0069]); but does not disclose stopping monitoring of PDCCH candidates in the SCell for scheduling of transmissions performed using the PCell based on deactivation of the SCell. Yi discloses a Scell can be deactivated and the wireless device will stop PDCCH reception on that Scell, Para [0173] and therefore stop monitoring for PDCCH on that Scell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yi in the system of Li in view of Papasakellariou in order to improve reliability and control signaling throughput by further improvements of self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling.
Regarding claims 24 and 34, Li discloses the method/WTRU of claim 21/31, but not wherein the indication that deactivates the SCell indicates to monitor the maximum number of PDCCH candidates only in the PCell. Yi discloses a Scell can be deactivated and the wireless device will stop PDCCH reception on that Scell, Para [0173] and therefore stop monitoring for PDCCH on that Scell and Scell can be deactivated using a MAC CE, Para [0173], where an explicit indication would be routine with one in ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 25 and 35, Li discloses the method/WTRU of claim 21/31, wherein the configuration information further indicates the first fraction of the maximum number of PDCCH candidates that are applicable to PDCCH monitoring in the PCell (Scaling factors p and s can be configured by RRC signaling, Para [0063]).
Regarding claims 26 and 36, Li discloses the method/WTRU of claim 21/31, further comprising selecting search spaces in increasing order of priority until the maximum number of PDCCH candidates is reached (applying priority to PDCCH monitoring when the number of PDCCH detections configured for Pcell and Scell is beyond UE capability, Para [0106], the number of PDCCH candidates can be allocated in ascending order of search space index, where the prioritized search space has smaller search index, Para [0107], UE drops search space sets when maximum is reached, Para [0010]).
Regarding claims 27 and 37, Li discloses the method/WTRU of claim 21/31, further comprising determining a time duration associated with the maximum number of PDCCH candidates based on a subcarrier spacing associated with the PCell or a subcarrier spacing associated with the SCell (limitation on the number of monitored PDCCH candidates is derived from numerology of the scheduling cell, for a DL BWP with SCS configuration u, for a UE per time unit, the time unit can be a slot Para [0052]).
Regarding claims 29 and 39, Li discloses the method/WTRU of claim 21/31, further comprising: determining a maximum number of non-overlapping control channel elements (CCEs) to monitor in the slot for scheduling of transmissions performed using the PCell; and determining that a first fraction of the maximum number of non-overlapping CCEs are applicable to PDCCH monitoring in the PCell and that a second fraction of the maximum number of non-overlapping CCEs are applicable for PDCCH monitoring in the SCell (single maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs are determined for Pcell and Scell, Para [0058], fractional number p is used to determine the number of non-overlapped CCEs applied to PDCCH detections on PCell and fractional number s is used to determine the number of non-overlapped CCEs applied to PDCCH detections on Scell, where p+s=1, Para [0069]).
Regarding claim 31, Li discloses a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU, Fig. 2) comprising a processor and a memory (processing circuitry and memory, Fig. 2), wherein the processor is configured to: receive configuration information indicating that transmissions performed using a primary cell (PCell) can be scheduled via the PCell or a secondary cell (SCell) (transmission on Pcell may be scheduled by the scheduling Scell, Para [0009], PDCCH is configured in search space on scheduling Scell, Para [0057]); determine a maximum number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates to monitor in a slot for scheduling of the transmissions performed using the PCell (UE determines single maximum number of PDCCH candidates for PDCCH monitoring on the Pcell and Scell, Para [0011], UE determines maximum number of PDCCH candidates for PDCCH monitoring on Pcell, Para [0013]); determine that a first fraction of the maximum number of PDCCH candidates are applicable to PDCCH monitoring in the PCell and that a second fraction of the maximum number of PDCCH candidates are applicable to PDCCH monitoring in the SCell (single maximum number of PDCCH candidates are determined for Pcell and Scell, Para [0058], fractional number p is used to determine the number of monitored PDCCHs candidates applied to PDCCH detections on Pcell and fractional number s is used to determine the number of monitored PDCCHs candidates applied to PDCCH detections on Scell, where p+s=1, Para [0069]); and decode one or more PDCCH transmissions scheduling one or more of the transmissions on the PCell via the PCell or the SCell (UE may decode one or more PDCCH candidates on the scheduling Scell for DCI, where the DCI may schedule PDSCH transmission on the Pcell, Para [0009]); but does not disclose receiving DCI, wherein the DCI comprises a bitfield that indicates which cell to use for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission. Papasakellariou discloses the UE can receive DCI including a field indicating which of two cells to transmit the PUCCH on, Para [0109], the bit in the field indicates which of the cells to transmit PUCCH on, Para [0110]. Also see page 27-28 of provisional application 62/897,769; but not further comprising receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates deactivation the SCell. Yi discloses Scell can be deactivated using a MAC CE, Para [0173]; nor fully discloses determining the maximum number of PDCCH candidates are applicable to PDCCH monitoring in the PCell for scheduling of the transmission performed using the PCell based on the Scell being deactivated. Yi discloses the Scell can be deactivated and the UE will stop reception of PDCCH on the Scell, Para [0173] and the UE would no longer need to monitor for PDCCH on the Scell as it is deactivated. Li discloses the UE may determine a single maximum number of PDCCH candidates to be shared for monitoring on the PDCCH on the Pcell and the Scell, Para [0011], where the Scell is deactivated and the single maximum number for monitoring PDCCH is applicable to Pcell without sharing with the deactivated Scell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yi in the system of Li in view of Papasakellariou in order to improve reliability and control signaling throughput by further improvements of self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling.
Regarding claims 41 and 42, Li discloses the method/WTRU of claim 21/31, wherein the maximum number of PDCCH candidates corresponds to the first fraction of PDCCH candidates and the second fraction of PDCCH candidates (single maximum number of PDCCH candidates are determined for Pcell and Scell, Para [0058], fractional number p is used to determine the number of monitored PDCCHs candidates applied to PDCCH detections on Pcell and fractional number s is used to determine the number of monitored PDCCHs candidates applied to PDCCH detections on Scell, where p+s=1, Para [0069]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28, 30, 38 and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the references do not disclose the limitations in the claim. Applicant argues over the references of Li and Yi. Applicant states Yi discloses deactivating the Scell but does not disclose how to configure determining a maximum number of PDCCH candidates for monitoring the Pcell based on the Scell being deactivated. Applicant argues Li discloses factional values p and s are used to determine the numerology related to maximum numbers of monitored PDCCH candidates. Applicant admits Li discloses a UE is configured to determine a maximum number of PDCCH candidates shared between a Pcell and Scell.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant just argues over Yi alone and not the combination of Yi in view of Li. Yi discloses the Scell can be deactivated and the UE will stop reception of PDCCH on the Scell, Para [0173] and the UE would no longer need to monitor for PDCCH on the Scell as it is deactivated. Li discloses the UE may determine a single maximum number of PDCCH candidates to be shared for monitoring on the PDCCH on the Pcell and the Scell, Para [0011], where the Scell is deactivated and the single maximum number for monitoring PDCCH is applicable to Pcell without sharing with the deactivated Scell. Li discloses a single maximum number of PDCCH candidates for monitoring to be shared between the Pcell and Scell, where the Scell is deactivated in view of Yi, and therefore the single maximum number is applicable to just the Pcell. Applicant argues Li is silent on how PDCCH candidates are reallocated after Scell deactivation or how to determine the maximum number of PDCCH candidates for monitoring PDCCH when one or more Scell are deactivated. In response, if Li disclosed what Applicant argues over then the rejection would be a 102 rejection. Li does not explicitly disclose these features alone but in combination with the other references. Li does not disclose Scell deactivation but Yi does. Yi also discloses there is no need to monitor the Scell after deactivation. Li discloses the UE may determine a single maximum number of PDCCH candidates to be shared for monitoring on the PDCCH on the Pcell and the Scell, Para [0011]. The single maximum number is to be shared by Pcell and SCell, except Scell is deactivated and therefore the maximum number is available for the PCell.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461