Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are pending.
Claims 11-14 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 6 were amended.
Claim 9 was cancelled.
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on June 4th, 2026 has been fully considered but does not place the application in condition for allowance.
Status of Objections and Rejections Pending Since the Office Action of March 4th, 2026
The 103 rejections of claims 1-8 and 10 are withdrawn in view of the Applicant's amendment.
The objection to claim 6 is withdrawn in view of the Applicant's amendment.
The 103 rejection of claim 9 is moot because it was cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi (US 2023/0042412 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-7, Choi discloses a step of preparing a sintered product by mixing a positive electrode active material precursor ((Ni0.98Co0.01Mn0.01)(OH)2, [0079) with a lithium-containing raw material (LiOH*H2O) [0101]. The mixture is then sintered at a temperature between 700 °C and 750 °C (with the range recited in claim 4, 700 °C – 950 °C; [0102]. The sintered mixture is then washed with a washing solution which contains ammonium niobium oxalate as a coating layer precursor (as required by claims 6 and 7; [0103]). Ammonium niobium oxalate has niobium oxalate as a chelate anion (as required by claim 5). The washing solution comprises of 100.07205 grams of distilled water and the ammonium niobium oxalate [0103]. Choi’s process mixes that solution with 250 grams of the sintered product [0103]. 100.07205 grams of washing solution per 250 grams of sintered product corresponds with a ratio of 40.02 parts by weight of washing solution based on 100 parts by weight of the sintered product. A lithium-niobium-oxide solid solution is formed because a niobium coating layer is formed on a lithium oxide particle. That sintered product is then dried at 300 °C for an hour [0104].
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses that the positive electrode active material precursors have the compositions of (Ni0.98Co0.01Mn0.01)(OH)2 and (Ni0.64Co0.23Mn0.13)(OH)2 [0079]. These compositions satisfy the elemental requirements of Formula 1 and the molar requirements recited afterwards.
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses a method where the positive active material precursor and the lithium raw material are mixed in a molar ratio of 1:1.05 [0101] which is within the claimed range of 1:1 – 1:1.1.
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses a method where the ratio of the coating layer precursor in the washing solution to the sintered product is 0.7205 grams to 250 grams [0103]. This corresponds with a ratio of 0.288 parts by weight of the coating layer precursor based on 100 parts by weight of the sintered product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2023/0042412 A1). Choi teaches that the heat treatment in their process may be in a range of 100 °C – 500 °C [0054]. This overlaps with the claimed range of 500 °C – 900 °C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use a heat treatment in the range of 500 °C – 900 °C based on Choi’s range of 100 °C – 500 °C.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (US 2022/0344657 A1) discloses a method where a coating layer is formed on a positive active material during a washing step in which a coating layer precursor is included [0045].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722