CTFR 18/019,346 CTFR 100479 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Applicants Arguments and Remarks The Amendment/Request for Reconsideration After Non-Final Rejection filed 04/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 13, and 23 are amended. Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 13-23 remain pending. Applicant' s arguments and Amendments, filed 04/25/2026, are persuasive with respect to the objections to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims except as specifically noted below. Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks, see page 10, filed 04/25/2026, with respect to Amended Claim 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks, see page 11, filed 04/25/2026, with respect to Amended Claim 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks, see page 11, filed 04/25/2026, with respect to Claim Amended 13 , 6, 10, 11, 12, and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner will address applicable Arguments below. Regarding Claims 23 and 13 the Applicant argues that, Burdette does not disclose a thermally insulative plate that includes a first recessed corner and a second recessed corner. Regarding Claim 1 the Applicant argues that, Burdette does not teach a heating mechanism that includes a thermally insulative plate with a first recessed corner and a second recessed corner. Regarding Claims 6, 10, 11, 12 the Applicant argues that, None of the other cited references (Aburada ‘283, Boratav, Boratav ‘325, Chalk and Tsuda, respectively) fail to cure the foregoing deficiencies of Burdette in Claim 1. In response to the Applicant’s arguments regarding Claims 23 and 13 the Examiner replies, Respectful disagreement. Burdette discloses a heating mechanism 202 is placed within, and touching, the housing 200, as this suggests the housing is also part of the heating mechanism as it would be understood by one skilled in the art that the housing material would affect the heating mechanism 202 response due to conduction, convection, or radiation of the housing material. The heating mechanism would include a first recessed corner and a second recessed corner, as in Annotated Fig. 2 below: PNG media_image1.png 566 795 media_image1.png Greyscale Burdette further discloses that housing 200, which is considered a part of the heating mechanism 202, can comprise any material capable of containing a ribbon of molten glass at elevated temperatures, where the material may be steel lined, with refractory ceramic material [0037]. As on skilled in the art would know, refractory materials are known to be thermally insulative materials. Hence the argument is moot. The rejection of Claims 23 and 13 are maintained. In response to the Applicant’s arguments regarding Claim 1 the Examiner replies, Respectful disagreement. Burdette discloses a heating mechanism 202 is placed within, and touching, the housing 200, as this suggests the housing is also part of the heating mechanism as it would be understood by one skilled in the art that the housing material would affect the heating mechanism 202 response due to conduction, convection, or radiation of the housing material. The heating mechanism would include a first recessed corner and a second recessed corner, as in Annotated Fig. 2 below: PNG media_image1.png 566 795 media_image1.png Greyscale Burdette further discloses that housing 200, which is considered a part of the heating mechanism 202, can comprise any material capable of containing a ribbon of molten glass at elevated temperatures, where the material may be steel lined, with refractory ceramic material [0037]. As on skilled in the art would know, refractory materials are known to be thermally insulative materials. Hence the argument is moot. The rejection of Claim 1 is maintained. Further as Claims 2, 4, 5 and 7-9 are dependent on Claim 1 , the rejection of Claims 2, 4, 5 and 7-9 are maintained. In response to the Applicant’s arguments regarding Claims 6, 10, 11, and 12 the Examiner replies, As the rejection to Claim 1 is maintained, the rejection of dependent Claims 6, 10, 11, and 12 is also maintained. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by WO2018064034 A1 by Burdette et. al (herein “ Burdette ”) . Burdette teaches a method of manufacturing a glass article comprising, forming a glass ribbon from a glass delivery device; [0004], [0036], “Embodiments disclosed herein include a method for manufacturing a glass article. The method includes forming a glass ribbon, “…a fusion draw glass making apparatus can comprise a trough 52 in an upper surface of the forming body 42 and converging forming surfaces 54 that converge in a draw direction along the bottom edge 56…” the glass ribbon extending in a widthwise direction; Fig. 2, [0038] lines 1-4. below a delivery orifice of the glass delivery device; Fig. 3, [0023] lines 1-9. While citing the use of a fusion draw process, it is also cited that slot draw process (slot is the delivery orifice) can be used. Analogously, see the table below: PNG media_image2.png 200 400 media_image2.png Greyscale The delivery orifice of the slot draw process and the lower end of the fusion draw process are analogous, in that they are in a similar vertical reference location as to the start location of molten glass becoming glass sheet. Fig. 3 illustrates the glass ribbon 58 below the exit 240. the glass ribbon comprising a first edge region, a central region, and a second edge region in the widthwise direction; [0004], lines 2-4, “..the glass ribbon comprising a first edge, a second edge on the opposite side of the glass ribbon as the first edge in the widthwise direction, a central region extending between the first edge and the second edge in the widthwise direction…” positioning a cooling mechanism proximate the delivery orifice near the first edge region and the second edge region; Fig. 2, Fig. 3., [0044]. Fig 2. Illustrates cooling mechanism 226 near first edge region 58A and second edge region 58E. Fig. 3 illustrates cooling mechanism 226 proximate the opening 240 at the bottom of the draw that delivers the glass ribbon (delivery orifice). and, positioning a heating mechanism proximate the delivery orifice near the central region; Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0040], [0041]. Fig. 2 illustrates the heating mechanism 202 along the ribbon 58 lengthwise, encompassing central region 58C. Fig. 3 illustrates the heating mechanism 202 proximate to the opening 240. wherein, wherein the heating mechanism comprises a thermally insulative plate, the thermally insulated plate comprising a first recessed corner positioned proximate the first edge region and a second recessed corner position proximate the second edge region; Fig. 2. Once the heating mechanism 202 is placed within, and touching, the housing 200, this suggests the housing is also part of the heating mechanism as it would be understood by one skilled in the art that the housing material would affect the heating mechanism 202 response due to conduction, convection, or radiation of the housing material. The heating mechanism would include a first recessed corner and a second recessed corner, as in Annotated Fig. 2 below: PNG media_image1.png 566 795 media_image1.png Greyscale Burdette further discloses that housing 200, which is considered a part of the heating mechanism 202, can comprise any material capable of containing a ribbon of molten glass at elevated temperatures, where the material may be steel lined, with refractory ceramic material [0037]. As one skilled in the art would know, refractory materials are known to be thermally insulative materials to support heat working processes . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-fti The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: (a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-fti The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-fti This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a), the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned at the time any inventions covered therein were made absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and invention dates of each claim that was not commonly owned at the time a later invention was made in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(c) and potential pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e), (f) or (g) prior art under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a). 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-5, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018064034 A1 by Burdette et. al (herein “ Burdette ”) and in further view of WO2019018670A1 by Aburada et. al . (herein “ Aburada ”). Regarding Claim 1 , Burdette teaches a method of manufacturing a glass article comprising, forming a glass ribbon from a glass delivery device; [0004], [0036], “Embodiments disclosed herein include a method for manufacturing a glass article. The method includes forming a glass ribbon, “…a fusion draw glass making apparatus can comprise a trough 52 in an upper surface of the forming body 42 and converging forming surfaces 54 that converge in a draw direction along the bottom edge 56…” the glass ribbon extending in a widthwise direction; Fig. 2, [0038] lines 1-4. below a delivery orifice of the glass delivery device; Fig. 3, [0023] lines 1-9. While citing the use of a fusion draw process, it is also cited that slot draw process (slot is the delivery orifice) can be used. Analogously, see the table below: PNG media_image2.png 200 400 media_image2.png Greyscale The delivery orifice of the slot draw process and the lower end of the fusion draw process are analogous, in that they are in a similar vertical reference location as to the start location of molten glass becoming glass sheet. Fig. 3 illustrates the glass ribbon 58 below the exit 240. the glass ribbon comprising a first edge region, a central region, and a second edge region in the widthwise direction; [0004], lines 2-4, “..the glass ribbon comprising a first edge, a second edge on the opposite side of the glass ribbon as the first edge in the widthwise direction, a central region extending between the first edge and the second edge in the widthwise direction…” positioning a cooling mechanism proximate the delivery orifice near the first edge region and the second edge region; Fig. 2, Fig. 3., [0044]. Fig 2. Illustrates cooling mechanism 226 near first edge region 58A and second edge region 58E. Fig. 3 illustrates cooling mechanism 226 proximate the opening at the bottom of the draw that delivers the glass ribbon (delivery orifice). positioning a heating mechanism proximate the delivery orifice near the central region; Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0040], [0041]. Fig. 2 illustrates the heating mechanism 202 along the ribbon 58 lengthwise, encompassing central region 58C. Fig. 3 illustrates the heating mechanism 202 proximate to the housing exit 240. and, wherein the heating mechanism comprises a thermally insulative plate, the thermally insulated plate comprising a first recessed corner positioned proximate the first edge region and a second recessed corner position proximate the second edge region; Fig. 2. Once the heating mechanism 202 is placed within, and touching, the housing 200, this suggests the housing is also part of the heating mechanism as it would be understood by one skilled in the art that the housing material would affect the heating mechanism 202 response due to conduction, convection, or radiation of the housing material. The heating mechanism would include a first recessed corner and a second recessed corner, as in Annotated Fig. 2 below: PNG media_image1.png 566 795 media_image1.png Greyscale Burdette further discloses that housing 200, which is considered a part of the heating mechanism 202, can comprise any material capable of containing a ribbon of molten glass at elevated temperatures, where the material may be steel lined, with refractory ceramic material [0037]. As one skilled in the art would know, refractory materials are known to be thermally insulative materials to support heat working processes. and, the cooling mechanism is positioned in the first recessed corner and the second recessed corner; Annotated Fig. 2; cooling mechanism 226, which contains cooling mechanism element probe 222, are positioned in the first recessed corner and the second recessed corner Burdette fails to teach, wherein the cooling mechanism includes a thermally conductive member and a fluid conduit extending through the thermally conductive member and the step of positioning includes flowing a working fluid through the thermally conductive member via the fluid conduit In the same endeavor of drawing of glass sheets, Aburada teaches a cooling mechanism 228 with conduits 216 with a cooling fluid flowing therethrough [0044]. The conduits 216 can have a high emissivity (high ability to emit thermal radiation) coating on the outside surface of the conduit; [0047]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the high emissivity coating of Aburada into the cooling mechanism of Burdette to affect the radiation heat transfer between glass ribbon 58 and the conduit, per Aburada [0047], lines 2-3. In the same endeavor of drawing of glass sheets, Aburada teaches a cooling mechanism 228 with conduits 216 with a cooling fluid flowing therethrough [0044]. The conduits 216 can have a high emissivity (high ability to emit thermal radiation) coating on the outside surface of the conduit; [0047]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the high emissivity coating of Aburada into the cooling mechanism of Burdette to affect the radiation heat transfer between glass ribbon 58 and the conduit, per Aburada [0047], lines 2-3. Regarding Claim 2 , Burdette and Aburada teach in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Burdette teaches, a cooling mechanism positioned proximate the delivery orifice near the first edge region and the second edge region and the heating mechanism positioned proximate the delivery orifice near the central region; Fig.2, Fig. 3 [0044], [0041]. “…a cooling mechanism is applied to the surface of each of the first bead region 58B and second bead region 58D…”, “where the first bead region and second bead region are near the first edge region and second edge region. “…heating mechanism 202 includes at least one heating element 204 that is placed a predetermined distance away from at least one surface of central region 58C.” Regarding Claim 4, Burdette and Aburada teach in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Aburada further teaches wherein, the working fluid comprises a liquid; [0045], “the cooling fluid through conduits 216 can comprise a liquid such as water”. Regarding Claim 5, Burdette and Aburada teach in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Burdette further teaches wherein, the working fluid comprises a gas; [0056],[0057] “a cooling mechanism 226 that can flow a fluid where the fluid is a gas”. Regarding Claim 7 , Burdette and Aburada in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Burdette further teaches wherein, the step of positioning a cooling mechanism further comprises flowing a gaseous fluid onto the delivery orifice near the first edge region and the second edge region: Figs. 2/3, [0046],[0055],[0056], “The cooling mechanism(s) 226 is located near the first edge region 58A and second edge region 58E; Fig. 2. The cooling mechanism 226 contains probe extension 222 and probe tip 228 and flows a gaseous fluid from the probe tip 228 of the probe extension 222; The cooling mechanism 226 can be located at any location along the lengthwise direction of the ribbon”, which would include the location of the housing exit, which is synonymous with the delivery orifice, “ The cooling mechanism 226 is located at the housing exit 240”. Regarding Claim 8 , Burdette and Aburada in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Burdette further teaches wherein, the step of positioning the cooling mechanism further comprises moving the cooling mechanism between a first position that is relatively farther from the first edge region and the second edge region and a second position that is relatively closer to the first edge region and the second edge region; the cooling mechanism 226 that contains a retraction actuator 218, that comprises a probe block 220, probe extension 222, and probe tip 228, is located near the first edge region 58A and second edge region 58E; Fig. 2, Fig. 4, [0045]. Further, Burdette teaches the retraction actuator 218 can automatically retract from a first position to a second position, where the first position is closer in proximity to the surface of the glass ribbon; [0048]. While Burdette fails to teach a first position farther away and a second position closer, the positions are relative edge regions of the ribbon. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the retraction actuator would be capable of moving in the opposite direction to reset the cooling mechanism to the closer position. A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Regarding Claim 9, Burdette and Aburada in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Burdette fails to teach wherein, the heating mechanism comprises two coplanar thermally insulative plates that are each movable between a first position that is relatively farther from the delivery orifice and a second position that is relatively closer to the delivery orifice; Aburada further teaches a heating mechanism 230 that comprises insulating package 212 as part of modular cartridge 210; Fig. 4, [0039]. In the broadest reasonable interpretation, multiples of cartridge 210 could be considered a heating mechanism, which would comprise two insulating packages 212 that are co-planar in position. Furthermore, Aburada teaches “...modular cartridges 210… slidably positionable away from (such as in the direction shown by arrows A and B in Figs. 5 and 7) or towards the ribbon…”; [0060]. As insulating package 212 is part of modular cartridge 210 and modular cartridge 210 being positionable towards and away from the ribbon, which is also towards and away from the housing/delivery orifice, then by inference each insulation package 212 that comprises a multiple cartridge heating mechanism is positionable towards and away from the housing/delivery orifice. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, a first position and a second position is interchangeable with regard to the relative location to the glass ribbon, as the positions are simply points in space that can have any label attached wherein one position is towards the ribbon and one position is away from the ribbon in a relative manner. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the insulating package and positionable aspect of Aburada in the method of Burdette in order to adjustably account for elevated glass flow rates, low specific heat capacity/emissivity glasses, high viscosity glasses, or relatively cold ribbon temperatures that require different optimal conditions with respect to heat transfer between the glass ribbon and processing equipment, per Aburada [0004] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018064034 A1 by Burdette et. al (herein “ Burdette ”) and in further view of WO2019018670A1 by Aburada et. al. (herein “ Aburada ”) and in further view of WO2018187283A1 by Aburada et. al (herein “ Aburada283 ”). Regarding Claim 6, Burdette and Aburada in the rejection of claim 1 above teach all of the limitations of claim 1. The combination fails to teach wherein, the thermally conductive member contacts the delivery orifice near the first edge region and the second edge region. In the same endeavor of drawing of glass sheets, Aburada283 teaches a heat transfer device 250 to transfer heat to a fluid, such as water, flowing through a tube 260 that cycles a cooling fluid through the interior passage 272; [0036]. The tube 260 is thermally conductive; [0035]. Walls of transition member 212 defines interior space 318 through which the glass ribbon travels and heat transfer device 250 can be located anywhere within interior region 318; [0042]. The delivery orifice, while not specifically stated, is illustrated through gate 324, with tube 260 of the heat transfer device 250; Fig. 4 below: PNG media_image3.png 1211 924 media_image3.png Greyscale Multiple heat transfer devices can be provided; [0049]. The transition walls 212 define the entire width of the glass ribbon in Fig. 1. As the heat transfer device(s) 250, with tube(s) 260, can be located anywhere within interior space 318, the heat transfer device 250(s) with tube 260(s) could be located across the entire ribbon width and in contact with gate 324. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thermally conductive member contact the delivery orifice near the first and second edge regions of Burdette, to accommodate different glass compositions and different cooling requirements related to the temperature field generated at glass ribbon surfaces or warp in the glass, per Aburada [0047] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2018064034 A1 by Burdette et. al (herein “ Burdette ”) and in view of PGPUB 20070130994A1 by Boratav et. al. (herein “ Boratav ”). Regarding Claim 10 , Burdette and Aburada in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Burdette fails to teach wherein, the molten glass comprises a liquidus viscosity of less than or equal to about 100 kilo poise (kP). In the same endeavor of fusion drawing of glass sheets, Boratav teaches a method of forming a glass sheet comprising flowing molten glass having a liquidus viscosity less than about 100,000 poise (equivalent to 100 kilo poise); [0012]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a glass with the liquidus viscosity of Boratav in the process of Burdette to open the fusion method to a range of new and useful glass compositions without significant changes to downstream process methods, per Boratav [0031] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2018064034 A1 by Burdette et. al (herein “ Burdette ”) and in view of WO2016054325A1 by Boratav et. al. (herein “ Boratav325 ”). Regarding Claim 11 - Burdette and Aburada in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Burdette fails to teach wherein, the glass ribbon extends in a first widthwise direction immediately below the delivery orifice and a second widthwise dimension about one meter below the delivery orifice, wherein the second widthwise dimension is greater than or equal to about 80% of the first widthwise dimension. In the same endeavor of drawing of glass sheets, Boratav325 teaches the presence of attenuation in the fusion draw process and the use of multiple pairs of edge rollers at certain angles to reduce attenuation; [0006], [0009]. Boratav325 cites that the edge rollers can be used for slot draw processes; [0029]. The width of the glass ribbon below the delivery orifice is defined as the root line element 70; Fig. 1, Fig. 2. Further, data is provided for the final width of the ribbon after drawing at 50cm, which would be the same width of the glass ribbon at 1m, illustrating the glass ribbon width at 50cm to be 91% of the root width; [0076], [0077], Fig. 6. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the multiple roller attenuation scheme of Boratav325 in the method of Burdette, to reduce edge beads at the edges of the sheet that produce unstable ribbon shape and stresses in certain regions upon cooling, per Boratav325 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2018064034 A1 by Burdette et. al (herein “ Burdette ”) and in view of PGPUB 20030121287A1 by Chalk et. al (herein “ Chalk ”) and in further view of PGPUB 20120159990A1 by Tsuda et. al (herein “ Tsuda ”). Regarding Claim 12 , Burdette and Aburada in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Burdette fails to teach wherein, an average viscosity of the first edge region and the second edge region of the glass ribbon immediately below the delivery orifice is greater than or equal to about 5 times the average viscosity of the central region of the glass ribbon immediately below the delivery orifice. In the same endeavor of drawing of glass sheets, Chalk teaches a temperature control scheme, and indirectly relative viscosity values across the glass ribbon at the edge regions and the center region, in a fusion draw process where the temperature of the glass at the top edge of the isopipe (weir) is greater than the temperature of the glass near the root and more specific to the instant claim, the glass temperature in the center of the ribbon is greater than the glass temperature near the ends of the ribbon; Fig. 2, [0015], [0021]. As glass temperature is inversely related to glass viscosity, it would be known to one in the art that the glass viscosity at the top edge of the isopipe (weir) is less than the glass viscosity near the root and more specific to the instant claim, the glass viscosity near the ends of the ribbon is greater than glass viscosity at the center of the ribbon. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deploy the temperature scheme, and hence the viscosity scheme, of Chalk in the method of Burdette, to reduce solubility of materials in the isopipe, per Chalk [0010], [0011]. The combination fails to teach, an average viscosity of the first edge region and the second edge region of the glass ribbon immediately below the delivery orifice is greater than or equal to about 5 times the average viscosity of the central region of the glass ribbon immediately below the delivery orifice . In the same endeavor of drawing of glass sheets, Tsuda teaches a viscosity scheme but in the vertical direction, where as part of the viscosity scheme, the viscosity of the glass ribbon in the central region is measured below a delivery orifice; Fig. 1 elements 3, 1a, [0013], [0031]. See Examiner’s annotated Fig. 1 below: PNG media_image4.png 200 400 media_image4.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deploy the viscosity scheme and measure the viscosity of the central region of the glass ribbon of Tsuda in the method of Chalk, to improve warpage and non-uniformity of ribbon thickness per Tsuda [0007]. While the combination with Tsuda does not teach to measure viscosity at the first end region and second end region of the ribbon immediately below the delivery orifice, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so, as a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The combination fails to teach, an average viscosity of the first edge region and the second edge region of the glass ribbon immediately below the delivery orifice is greater than or equal to about 5 times the average viscosity of the central region of the glass ribbon immediately below the delivery orifice. Tsuda further teaches a glass viscosity ratio method of V2/V1 from locations that are oriented vertically to each other, where V1 = a viscosity of a center in the width direction of the molten glass at the upper edge of the molded body and where V2 = a viscosity of a center in the width direction of the glass ribbon passing through the opening of the molding chamber where V2/V1 is in the range of 20-50000; [0013]. As V2/V1 cite a range with positive values for V2/V1, V2 must be greater than V1, i.e. a higher viscosity region V2 is divided by a lower viscosity region V1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the glass viscosity ratio method of Tsuda in a glass viscosity ratio method of the combination, as a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The combination fails to teach a glass Viscosity Ratio, Vr = (Ve1 + Ve2)/Vc ~≥ 5. Tsuda teaches a range for viscosity ratio of V2/V1 (20-50000), as well as the possibility of a narrow ribbon width if the viscosity ratio is less than 20 and the possibility that the glass ribbon may break without being stretched sufficiently thinly if the viscosity ratio is greater than 50,000; lines 188-191. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize a viscosity ratio (greater than or equal to 5 in the instant claim) to the combination, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. As the viscosity ratio parameter has been recognized as a result-effective variable in the prior art of Tsuda, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation . In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018064034 A1 by Burdette et. al (herein “ Burdette ”) and in further view of WO2019018670A1 by Aburada et. al . (herein “ Aburada ”). Regarding Claim 13 , Burdette manufacturing a manufacturing apparatus comprising, a glass delivery device comprising a delivery orifice ; Fig. 1, glass manufacturing apparatus 30 contains forming apparatus element 48 which contains forming body 42 (fusion forming body) that delivers the glass sheet to the thermal management system 250 with has an opening 240 in the bottom of the housing 200, where the opening 240 which be considered a delivery orifice. (a delivery orifice) extending in a widthwise direction and comprising a first edge region, a central region, and a second edge region; Fig. 3; Fig. 2. Fig. 3 illustrates the delivery orifice (opening 240) in a side view. Fig. 2 illustrates a top view of the thermal management system (where the opening is at the bottom) where there is a first edge region (58B area), central edge region (58C area) and second edge region (58D area) that extends widthwise. a cooling mechanism proximate the delivery orifice near the first edge region and the second edge region ; Fig. 2, Fig. 3., [0044]. Fig 2. Illustrates cooling mechanism 226 near first edge region 58A and second edge region 58E. and a heating mechanism proximate the delivery orifice near the central region; Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0040], [0041]. Fig. 2 illustrates the heating mechanism 202 along the ribbon 58 lengthwise, encompassing central region 58C. Fig. 3 illustrates the heating mechanism 202 proximate to the opening 240. wherein the heating mechanism comprises a thermally insulative plate, the thermally insulated plate comprising a first recessed corner positioned proximate the first edge region and a second recessed corner position proximate the second edge region; Fig. 2. Once the heating mechanism 202 is placed within, and touching, the housing 200, this suggests the housing is also part of the heating mechanism as it would be understood by one skilled in the art that the housing material would affect the heating mechanism 202 response due to conduction, convection, or radiation of the housing material. The heating mechanism would include a first recessed corner and a second recessed corner, as in Annotated Fig. 2 below: PNG media_image1.png 566 795 media_image1.png Greyscale Burdette further discloses that housing 200, which is considered a part of the heating mechanism 202, can comprise any material capable of containing a ribbon of molten glass at elevated temperatures, where the material may be steel lined, with refractory ceramic material [0037]. As one skilled in the art would know, refractory materials are known to be thermally insulative materials to support heat working processes. and, the cooling mechanism is positioned in the first recessed corner and the second recessed corner; Annotated Fig. 2; cooling mechanism 226, which contains cooling mechanism element probe 222, are positioned in the first recessed corner and the second recessed corner. Burdette fails to teach, wherein the cooling mechanism includes a thermally conductive member and a fluid conduit extending through the thermally conductive member and the step of positioning includes flowing a working fluid through the thermally conductive member via the fluid conduit. In the same endeavor of drawing of glass sheets, Aburada teaches a cooling mechanism 228 with conduits 216 with a cooling fluid flowing therethrough [0044]. The conduits 216 can have a high emissivity (high ability to emit thermal radiation) coating on the outside surface of the conduit; [0047]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the high emissivity coating of Aburada into the cooling mechanism of Burdette to affect the radiation heat transfer between glass ribbon 58 and the conduit, per Aburada [0047], lines 2-3. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER PAUL DAIGLER whose telephone number is (571)272-1066. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:30-4:30 CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Alison Hindenlang can be reached on 571-270-7001. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER PAUL DAIGLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741 /JODI C FRANKLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 2 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 3 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 4 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 5 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 6 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 7 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 8 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 10 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 11 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 12 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 13 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 14 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 15 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 16 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 17 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 18 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 19 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 20 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 18/019,346 Page 21 Art Unit: 1741