DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to communications filed on 5/5/2026.
Claims 22 has been added.
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
New grounds of rejection are necessary as the scope of claims 1-21 changed to specify that the second communication link enables direct communication with a first HVAC device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, 11-12, 14, 17-18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullock (US 20180328611 A1) in view of Pineau et al. (US 20120159579 A1, hereinafter Pineau), and further in view of Scott (US 20210262684 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bullock discloses an electronic access control device for controlling data access to Heating, Ventilating and Air Conditioning (HVAC) devices of an HVAC system (¶[0125], "a request manager is loaded onto HVAC server"; ¶[0129], " HVAC server 114 sends the API request to BACnet router 126"; ¶[0130], "BACNet router 126 forwards the data request to the chosen subsystem"; ¶[0056], "each device and subsystem [...] makes up the HVAC system 104"),
the electronic access control device comprising a plurality of electronic communication circuits (Fig. 1, HVAC Server, and routers 122-130),
a data store, and a processor connected to the electronic communication circuits (¶[0125], "HVAC server", where server is known in the art and is implemented by computing devices, which include at least a processor (e.g., see claim 11, "the server comprising a processor and a memory" and ¶[0043], "Each of the devices that form the systems described include a processor and memory"); ¶[0192], "System client 110 is connected to HVAC server 114 through one or more of network 106 and network 118 and HVAC server 114 has BACNet connections to systems 132 through 140" - see also Fig. 1),
wherein at least one of the electronic communication circuits is configured to communicate, via a first communication link, with an external computing device that is separate from the HVAC system (¶[0127], "system server 108 sends the email data request to HVAC server 114" - see also Fig. 1, the client and system server are external and separate from the HVAC system as they are outside of a firewall. Inside the firewall is the HVAC system);
wherein at least one of the electronic communication circuits is configured to directly communicate, via a second communication link with a first HVAC device of the HVAC devices (Fig. 1, routers are directly connected to HVAC systems); and
wherein the processor is configured to: receive, from the external computing device via the first communication link a data request directed to the first HVAC device (¶[0047], "system client 110 comprises a web browser that connects to a web server hosted by system server 108 to manage the data gathering, analysis, and reporting"; ¶[0127], "system server 108 sends the email data request to HVAC server 114"; ¶[0128], "In a preferred embodiment, the unique command code is a number that includes a hash of the subsystem identifier, an equipment identifier, and any variable requested"),
perform an authorization process (¶[0126], "HVAC server 114 screens emails that are sent to HVAC server 114. The emails are screened for authorized requests"; ¶[0128], "the HVAC server 114 decodes an email request that is an authorized request. In a preferred embodiment, the unique command code is a number that includes a hash of the subsystem identifier, an equipment identifier, and any variable requested. The request manager decodes the hash and loads the appropriate subsystem API request in the subsystem data"),
upon affirmative authorization forward the data request via the second communication link to the first HVAC device (¶[0129], "HVAC server 114 sends the API request to BACnet router 126"; ¶[0130], "BACNet router 126 forwards the data request to the chosen subsystem"),
receive, via the second communication link, data content from the first HVAC device (¶[0131], "requested data is generated or located by the subsystem controller"; ¶[0132], "the requested data is uploaded to BACNet router 126"; ¶[0133], "the requested data is passed from BACNet router 126 to HVAC server 114"),
generate a data response using the data content (¶[0134], "an email is generated by the request manager on the HVAC server 114 that includes the requested data"), and
transmit the data response via the first communication link to the external computing device (¶[0135], "HVAC server 114 sends the email" to the system server (see ¶[0136] and [0137])).
Bullock does not disclose that the second communication link is via a wired connection, a short-range wireless connection, or a close-range interface connection; that the authorization process is an authorization process for access to the first HVAC device using authorization information stored in the data store, and that the affirmative authorization is for access to the first HVAC device.
Pineau discloses performing an authorization process for access to a first HVAC using authorization information stored in a data store, and that the affirmative authorization is for access to the first HVAC device (¶[0032], "Non-security devices may also be managed by the system, and may include, for example, HVAC and other building management components and devices, such as lights, daylight sensors, light level sensors, temperature sensors, heating appliances, air conditioning systems, humidity detectors, automated blind controls, occupancy sensors and smoke sensors"; ¶[0043], "The CMC provides a unified platform through which the physical devices may be controlled. It also includes or has access to a database of all the users, IDs, passwords, permission levels, policies, etc for all the physical devices connected to the system"; ¶[0082], "permissions database 28 contains details of users, user IDs, permissions, and/or policies etc, which permits the CMC 26 to determine whether or not to allow access to a particular user to control or manage a particular device 31, 33, 34, 36, 38, 40"; ¶[0088], "Device 38, for example, may be controllable by a user operating a computer 9, for example. In this case, identification of the user is supplied via computer 9 to CMC server 26. Since access to the physical device 38 is via a computer interface, it will be usual to require users to input authentication in conjunction with identification. Such authentication may be a password, passcode, biometric data input or other means of authentication. The CMC will verify both the identification and the authentication before granting user access to the device" - see also ¶[0111], "the system receives identification of the device the user wishes to use. The zone in which the device is located is then determined 278, and the group to which the user belongs is also determined 280. Next, at step 282, the system determines whether the determined group has permission to access the determined zone. If permission has been granted, the system permits 284 use of the device. If permission has not been granted, the user is denied 286 use of the device").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bullock in view of Pineau so that the authorization process is an authorization process for access to the first HVAC device using authorization information stored in the data store, and that the affirmative authorization is for access to the first HVAC device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would increase system security by preventing users from having access to each and every device in a system when access to only a particular subset of devices is desired.
The combined system of Bullock and Pineau does not disclose that the second communication link is via a wired connection, a short-range wireless connection, or a close-range interface connection.
Scott discloses that the second communication link may be via a wired connection, a short-range wireless connection, or a close-range interface connection (¶[0087], "Routing device 504 may include some or all of the functionality of various routers described herein, including BACnet router 408. Routing device 504 is shown to include processing circuit 602, communications interface 618, and power supply 626"; ¶[0088], "Communications interface 618 can facilitate communications between routing device 504 and various devices within building 10, such as workstation 628, zone coordinator 632, and user device 634. Interface 618 can be or include wired or wireless communications interfaces (e.g., jacks, antennas, transmitters, receivers, transceivers, wire terminals, etc.) for conducting data communications within systems 400, 500, or 600 or other external systems or devices. In various embodiments, communications via interfaces 618 can be direct (e.g., local wired or wireless communications) or via a communications network (e.g., a WAN, the Internet, a cellular network, etc.). For example, interfaces 618 can include an Ethernet card and port for sending and receiving data via an Ethernet-based communications link or network (e.g., Ethernet interface 620). In another example, interface 618 can include a Wi-Fi transceiver for communicating via a wireless communications network (e.g., wireless interface 624)").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Bullock and Pineau in view of Scott so that the second communication link is via a wired connection, a short-range wireless connection, or a close-range interface connection.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the use of existing and well-known technologies to create communication channels reduces design and development costs.
Regarding claim 3, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the authorization information stored in the data store is identification information (Pineau, ¶[0082], "permissions database 28 contains details of users, user IDs, permissions, and/or policies etc, which permits the CMC 26 to determine whether or not to allow access to a particular user to control or manage a particular device 31, 33, 34, 36, 38, 40"), and
the processor is configured to perform the authorization process for access to the first HVAC device by comparing identification information included in the data request to the identification information stored in the data store (Pineau, ¶[0088], "Device 38, for example, may be controllable by a user operating a computer 9, for example. In this case, identification of the user is supplied via computer 9 to CMC server 26. Since access to the physical device 38 is via a computer interface, it will be usual to require users to input authentication in conjunction with identification. Such authentication may be a password, passcode, biometric data input or other means of authentication. The CMC will verify both the identification and the authentication before granting user access to the device" - comparison is implied).
Regarding claim 4, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the authorization information stored in the data store is access right data (Pineau, ¶[0082], "permissions database 28 contains details of users, user IDs, permissions, and/or policies etc, which permits the CMC 26 to determine whether or not to allow access to a particular user to control or manage a particular device 31, 33, 34, 36, 38, 40"), and
the processor is configured to check perform the authorization process for access to the first HVACV device using the access rights data stored in the data store and access credentials included in the data request (Pineau, ¶[0088], "Device 38, for example, may be controllable by a user operating a computer 9, for example. In this case, identification of the user is supplied via computer 9 to CMC server 26. Since access to the physical device 38 is via a computer interface, it will be usual to require users to input authentication in conjunction with identification. Such authentication may be a password, passcode, biometric data input or other means of authentication. The CMC will verify both the identification and the authentication before granting user access to the device").
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein at least one of the electronic communication circuits comprises a radio communication circuit configured to communicate via a wireless communication link with the external computing device, the radio communication circuit being configured for at least one of close range interface communication, wireless local area network (WLAN) communication, or cellular mobile radio network communication (Scott, ¶[0087], "Routing device 504 may include some or all of the functionality of various routers described herein, including BACnet router 408. Routing device 504 is shown to include processing circuit 602, communications interface 618, and power supply 626"; ¶[0088], "Communications interface 618 can facilitate communications between routing device 504 and various devices within building 10, such as workstation 628, zone coordinator 632, and user device 634. Interface 618 can be or include wired or wireless communications interfaces (e.g., jacks, antennas, transmitters, receivers, transceivers, wire terminals, etc.) for conducting data communications within systems 400, 500, or 600 or other external systems or devices. In various embodiments, communications via interfaces 618 can be direct (e.g., local wired or wireless communications) or via a communications network (e.g., a WAN, the Internet, a cellular network, etc.). For example, interfaces 618 can include an Ethernet card and port for sending and receiving data via an Ethernet-based communications link or network (e.g., Ethernet interface 620). In another example, interface 618 can include a Wi-Fi transceiver for communicating via a wireless communications network (e.g., wireless interface 624)").
Regarding claim 7, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein at least one of the electronic communication circuits comprises a radio communication circuit configured to communicate via a wireless communication link with the one or more of the HVAC devices, the radio communication circuit being configured for at least one of close range interface communication or wireless local area network (WLAN) communication (Scott, ¶[0087], "Routing device 504 may include some or all of the functionality of various routers described herein, including BACnet router 408. Routing device 504 is shown to include processing circuit 602, communications interface 618, and power supply 626"; ¶[0088], "Communications interface 618 can facilitate communications between routing device 504 and various devices within building 10, such as workstation 628, zone coordinator 632, and user device 634. Interface 618 can be or include wired or wireless communications interfaces (e.g., jacks, antennas, transmitters, receivers, transceivers, wire terminals, etc.) for conducting data communications within systems 400, 500, or 600 or other external systems or devices. In various embodiments, communications via interfaces 618 can be direct (e.g., local wired or wireless communications) or via a communications network (e.g., a WAN, the Internet, a cellular network, etc.). For example, interfaces 618 can include an Ethernet card and port for sending and receiving data via an Ethernet-based communications link or network (e.g., Ethernet interface 620). In another example, interface 618 can include a Wi-Fi transceiver for communicating via a wireless communications network (e.g., wireless interface 624)").
Regarding claim 11, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 6, above, wherein the radio communication circuit comprises at least one of a Low Power Wide Area Network (LPWAN) communication circuit, a WLAN communication circuit, a short range wireless communication circuit, or a close range wireless communication circuit (Scott, ¶[0087], "Routing device 504 may include some or all of the functionality of various routers described herein, including BACnet router 408. Routing device 504 is shown to include processing circuit 602, communications interface 618, and power supply 626"; ¶[0088], "Communications interface 618 can facilitate communications between routing device 504 and various devices within building 10, such as workstation 628, zone coordinator 632, and user device 634. Interface 618 can be or include wired or wireless communications interfaces (e.g., jacks, antennas, transmitters, receivers, transceivers, wire terminals, etc.) for conducting data communications within systems 400, 500, or 600 or other external systems or devices. In various embodiments, communications via interfaces 618 can be direct (e.g., local wired or wireless communications) or via a communications network (e.g., a WAN, the Internet, a cellular network, etc.). For example, interfaces 618 can include an Ethernet card and port for sending and receiving data via an Ethernet-based communications link or network (e.g., Ethernet interface 620). In another example, interface 618 can include a Wi-Fi transceiver for communicating via a wireless communications network (e.g., wireless interface 624)").
Regarding claim 12, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the processor is further configured to receive, via the second communication link data reports from the HVAC devices (Bullock, ¶[0131], "requested data is generated or located by the subsystem controller"; ¶[0133], "the requested data is passed from BACNet router 126 to HVAC server 114");
store the data reports with a time stamp in the data store of the electronic access control device (Bullock, ¶[0056], "trend log stores trend information, such as periodic average temperatures, periodic energy consumption, and periodic hot and cold water usage. Custom logs include additional information that the owner or maintainer of HVAC system 104 has programmed the system to store, including system measurements, maintenance information, and purchase information. The system backups include the programs that run on the individual subsystems so that they can be reset or restored. The system backups also include backups of the data and log files generated by the system. Typically the data of logs 204 are in tabular form and includes an entry for each of the sensors and settings for each piece of equipment in the HVAC system 104 along with a date and a time for each entry. Other data can include position information for ducting and flow controls, power consumption, and failure mode sensors"); and
transmit a plurality of time stamped data reports, via the first communication link, to the external computing device (Bullock, ¶[0124], "system server 108 generates a request for the all points log"; ¶[0131], "requested data is generated or located by the subsystem controller"; ¶[0133], "the requested data is passed from BACNet router 126 to HVAC server 114"; ¶[0134], "an email is generated by the request manager on the HVAC server 114 that includes the requested data. In one embodiment, the requested data is hashed with the subsystem name, a date, time, and a variable name for the requested data"; ¶[0135], " HVAC server 114 sends the email").
Regarding claim 14, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the processor is further configured to access, via the second communication link, a web server executing on one of the HVAC devices (Bullock, ¶[0192], "HVAC server 114 has BACNet connections to systems 132 through 140" - see also Fig. 1; ¶[0129], "HVAC server 114 sends the API request to BACnet router 126"; ¶[0130], "BACNet router 126 forwards the data request to the chosen subsystem"; ¶[0131], "requested data is generated or located by the subsystem controller"; ¶[0132], "the requested data is uploaded to BACNet router 126"; ¶[0133], "the requested data is passed from BACNet router 126 to HVAC server 114" (since the model works under a request/response model, the BACnet router and/or the subsystems are essentially servers)).
Regarding claim 17, Bullock discloses a method for controlling data access to Heating, Ventilating and Air Conditioning (HVAC) devices of an HVAC system using an electronic access control device comprising a plurality of electronic communication circuits and a processor connected to the electronic communication circuits (¶[0125], "a request manager is loaded onto HVAC server" where server is known in the art and is implemented by computing devices, which include at least a processor (e.g., see claim 11, "the server comprising a processor and a memory" and ¶[0043], "Each of the devices that form the systems described include a processor and memory"); ¶[0129], " HVAC server 114 sends the API request to BACnet router 126"; ¶[0130], "BACNet router 126 forwards the data request to the chosen subsystem"; ¶[0056], "each device and subsystem [...] makes up the HVAC system 104"; ¶[0192], "System client 110 is connected to HVAC server 114 through one or more of network 106 and network 118 and HVAC server 114 has BACNet connections to systems 132 through 140" - see also Fig. 1 (here, HVAC server 114 and the routers are mapped to the plurality of electronic communication circuits)), the method comprising:
establishing, by at least one of the electronic communication circuits of the electronic access control device, a first communication link with an external computing device that is separate from the HVAC system (¶[0127], "system server 108 sends the email data request to HVAC server 114" - see also Fig. 1, the client and system server are external and separate from the HVAC system as they are outside of a firewall. Inside the firewall is the HVAC system);
establishing, by at least one of the electronic communication circuits of the electronic access control device, a direct second communication link with a first HVAC device of the HVAC devices (Fig. 1, routers are directly connected to HVAC systems);
receiving, by the electronic access control device, from the external computing device via the first communication link a data request directed to the first HVAC device (¶[0047], "system client 110 comprises a web browser that connects to a web server hosted by system server 108 to manage the data gathering, analysis, and reporting"; ¶[0127], "system server 108 sends the email data request to HVAC server 114");
performing an authorization process for access to the first HVAC device using the electronic access control device (¶[0126], "HVAC server 114 screens emails that are sent to HVAC server 114. The emails are screened for authorized requests"; ¶[0128], "the HVAC server 114 decodes an email request that is an authorized request. In a preferred embodiment, the unique command code is a number that includes a hash of the subsystem identifier, an equipment identifier, and any variable requested. The request manager decodes the hash and loads the appropriate subsystem API request in the subsystem data");
forwarding, by the electronic access control device, via the second communication link, the data request to the first HVAC device upon affirmative authorization (¶[0129], "HVAC server 114 sends the API request to BACnet router 126"; ¶[0130], "BACNet router 126 forwards the data request to the chosen subsystem");
receiving, by the electronic access control device, via the second communication link, data content from the first HVAC device (¶[0131], "requested data is generated or located by the subsystem controller"; ¶[0132], "the requested data is uploaded to BACNet router 126"; ¶[0133], "the requested data is passed from BACNet router 126 to HVAC server 114");
generating, by the electronic access control device, a data response using the data content (¶[0134], "an email is generated by the request manager on the HVAC server 114 that includes the requested data"); and
transmitting, by the electronic access control device, via the first communication link, the data response to the external computing device (¶[0135], "HVAC server 114 sends the email" to the system server (see ¶[0136] and [0137])).
Bullock does not disclose that the second communication link is via a wired connection, a short-range wireless connection, or a close-range interface connection; that the performing the authorization process for access to the first HVAC device is by using authorization information stored in a data store of the electronic access control device; and that the affirmative authorization is for access to the first HVAC device.
Pineau discloses performing an authorization process for access to a first HVAC using authorization information stored in a data store, and that the affirmative authorization is for access to the first HVAC device (¶[0032], "Non-security devices may also be managed by the system, and may include, for example, HVAC and other building management components and devices, such as lights, daylight sensors, light level sensors, temperature sensors, heating appliances, air conditioning systems, humidity detectors, automated blind controls, occupancy sensors and smoke sensors"; ¶[0043], "The CMC provides a unified platform through which the physical devices may be controlled. It also includes or has access to a database of all the users, IDs, passwords, permission levels, policies, etc for all the physical devices connected to the system"; ¶[0082], "permissions database 28 contains details of users, user IDs, permissions, and/or policies etc, which permits the CMC 26 to determine whether or not to allow access to a particular user to control or manage a particular device 31, 33, 34, 36, 38, 40"; ¶[0088], "Device 38, for example, may be controllable by a user operating a computer 9, for example. In this case, identification of the user is supplied via computer 9 to CMC server 26. Since access to the physical device 38 is via a computer interface, it will be usual to require users to input authentication in conjunction with identification. Such authentication may be a password, passcode, biometric data input or other means of authentication. The CMC will verify both the identification and the authentication before granting user access to the device"; see also ¶[0111], "the system receives identification of the device the user wishes to use. The zone in which the device is located is then determined 278, and the group to which the user belongs is also determined 280. Next, at step 282, the system determines whether the determined group has permission to access the determined zone. If permission has been granted, the system permits 284 use of the device. If permission has not been granted, the user is denied 286 use of the device").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bullock in view of Pineau so that the performing the authorization process for access to the first HVAC device is by using authorization information stored in a data store of the electronic access control device; and that the affirmative authorization is for access to the first HVAC device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would increase system security by preventing users from having access to each and every device in a system when access to only a particular subset of devices is desired.
The combined system of Bullock and Pineau does not disclose that the second communication link is via a wired connection, a short-range wireless connection, or a close-range interface connection.
Scott discloses that the second communication link may be via a wired connection, a short-range wireless connection, or a close-range interface connection (¶[0087], "Routing device 504 may include some or all of the functionality of various routers described herein, including BACnet router 408. Routing device 504 is shown to include processing circuit 602, communications interface 618, and power supply 626"; ¶[0088], "Communications interface 618 can facilitate communications between routing device 504 and various devices within building 10, such as workstation 628, zone coordinator 632, and user device 634. Interface 618 can be or include wired or wireless communications interfaces (e.g., jacks, antennas, transmitters, receivers, transceivers, wire terminals, etc.) for conducting data communications within systems 400, 500, or 600 or other external systems or devices. In various embodiments, communications via interfaces 618 can be direct (e.g., local wired or wireless communications) or via a communications network (e.g., a WAN, the Internet, a cellular network, etc.). For example, interfaces 618 can include an Ethernet card and port for sending and receiving data via an Ethernet-based communications link or network (e.g., Ethernet interface 620). In another example, interface 618 can include a Wi-Fi transceiver for communicating via a wireless communications network (e.g., wireless interface 624)").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Bullock and Pineau in view of Scott so that the second communication link is via a wired connection, a short-range wireless connection, or a close-range interface connection.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the use of existing and well-known technologies to create communication channels reduces design and development costs.
Regarding claim 18, Bullock discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions, which when executed by a processor of an electronic access control device, causes the electronic access control device to carry out a method for controlling data access to Heating, Ventilating and Air Conditioning (HVAC) devices of an HVAC system (¶[0042], "the systems and methods are implemented on a digital computer having a processor for executing the methods embodied within a set of program instructions. The program instructions are stored in an electronic memory and in digital storage media connected to the digital computer"; ¶[0125], "a request manager is loaded onto HVAC server" where server is known in the art and is implemented by computing devices, which include at least a processor (e.g., see claim 11, "the server comprising a processor and a memory" and ¶[0043], "Each of the devices that form the systems described include a processor and memory"); ¶[0129], " HVAC server 114 sends the API request to BACnet router 126"; ¶[0130], "BACNet router 126 forwards the data request to the chosen subsystem"; ¶[0056], "each device and subsystem [...] makes up the HVAC system 104"; ¶[0192], "System client 110 is connected to HVAC server 114 through one or more of network 106 and network 118 and HVAC server 114 has BACNet connections to systems 132 through 140" - see also Fig. 1).
The remaining limitations of claim 18 are similar in scope to those of claim 17. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 17, above.
Regarding claim 20, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the first communication link is via wide area network communication (Bullock, Fig. 1, ¶[0046]-¶[0048], the client and system servers communicate with the router through network 106, where the system server is a web server and the client uses a web browser, indicating the network 106 is the internet (a WAN)) and
the second communication link is via a short-range wireless communication or close-range interface communication (Scott, ¶[0087], "Routing device 504 may include some or all of the functionality of various routers described herein, including BACnet router 408. Routing device 504 is shown to include processing circuit 602, communications interface 618, and power supply 626"; ¶[0088], "Communications interface 618 can facilitate communications between routing device 504 and various devices within building 10, such as workstation 628, zone coordinator 632, and user device 634. Interface 618 can be or include wired or wireless communications interfaces (e.g., jacks, antennas, transmitters, receivers, transceivers, wire terminals, etc.) for conducting data communications within systems 400, 500, or 600 or other external systems or devices. In various embodiments, communications via interfaces 618 can be direct (e.g., local wired or wireless communications) or via a communications network (e.g., a WAN, the Internet, a cellular network, etc.). For example, interfaces 618 can include an Ethernet card and port for sending and receiving data via an Ethernet-based communications link or network (e.g., Ethernet interface 620). In another example, interface 618 can include a Wi-Fi transceiver for communicating via a wireless communications network (e.g., wireless interface 624)").
Regarding claim 21, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the processor is configured to receive the data request directed to the first HVAC device from the external computing device via the first communication link after the first communication link and the second communication link are established (Bullock, ¶[0127], "system server 108 sends the email data request to HVAC server 114" - that the links are established prior to the server 114 receiving the request is inherent as the request must traverse the links).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullock (US 20180328611 A1) in view of Pineau (US 20120159579 A1), and Scott (US 20210262684 A1), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Hojsik et al. (US 20160337359 A1, hereinafter Hojsik).
Regarding claim 2, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the processor is configured to perform the authorization process for access to the first HVAC device by verifying access control data included in the data request using the authorization information stored in the data store (Pineau, ¶[0082], "permissions database 28 contains details of users, user IDs, permissions, and/or policies etc, which permits the CMC 26 to determine whether or not to allow access to a particular user to control or manage a particular device 31, 33, 34, 36, 38, 40"; ¶[0088], "Device 38, for example, may be controllable by a user operating a computer 9, for example. In this case, identification of the user is supplied via computer 9 to CMC server 26. Since access to the physical device 38 is via a computer interface, it will be usual to require users to input authentication in conjunction with identification. Such authentication may be a password, passcode, biometric data input or other means of authentication. The CMC will verify both the identification and the authentication before granting user access to the device").
The combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott does not disclose that the verifying access control data included in the data request is by using symmetric or asymmetric cryptography.
Hojsik discloses checking authorization of a data request by verifying access control data included in the data request, using symmetric or asymmetric cryptography (¶[0014], "Control systems may be associated with […] heating, ventilation, and air conditioning systems (HVAC)"; ¶[0048], "authentication data allows for verification of the authenticity and/or integrity of a received request, when at least one target device performs a requested ALP function call and transmits an authenticated response; and the one or more controlling devices is configured to verify response authenticity using authentication data. Authentication data transmitted with a function instructions and/or data and message or command allows both the target device and the controlling device to verify a request and response from the other device"; ¶[0049], "the user or device identity authentication and data authentication is performed by symmetric or asymmetric cryptography"; ¶[0050], "at least one target device references an access control list to verify whether a particular user or device identity of a particular controlling device is authorized to perform one or more functions or perform functions for requested parameters. While authentication data allows a device, such as device 236 or 244, and a user of that device, to verify the authenticity of a function instructions and/or data, an additional embodiment also allows a target device 244 to reference an access control list within memory 246 to verify the user ID or identifying information of the controlling device"; ¶[0049], "all communicated (potentially encrypted) data ALP are accompanied by authentication data" ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott in view of Hojsik so that the verifying access control data included in the data request is by using symmetric or asymmetric cryptography.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would prevent "unauthorized systems or users from reading transmissions across" the network (Hojsik, ¶[0049]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullock (US 20180328611 A1) in view of Pineau (US 20120159579 A1) and Scott (US 20210262684 A1), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Britt et al. (US 20170171180 A1, hereinafter Britt).
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the data response (Bullock, ¶[0134], "an email is generated by the request manager on the HVAC server 114 that includes the requested data").
The combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott does not disclose that the generating the data response is by encrypting the data content from the first HVAC device.
Britt discloses that generating a communication by encrypting the data content from the first HVAC device (¶[0071], "IoT hub 110 and/or IoT service 120 transmits notifications to the end user related to the current status of each piece of electronics equipment" - note Fig. 1B, the end user and IoT service are entities outside of the IoT network; ¶[0102], "IoT hub 110 and IoT service 120 may perform a secure symmetric key exchange and then use the exchanged symmetric keys to encrypt communications"; ¶[0106], "keys may be used to encrypt communication from the IoT device 101 to the IoT hub 110 and to the IoT service 120. For example, using a public/private key arrangement, in one embodiment, the security logic 1002 on the IoT device 101 uses the public key of the IoT hub 110 to encrypt data packets sent to the IoT hub 110. The security logic 1012 on the IoT hub 110 may then decrypt the data packets using the IoT hub's private key. Similarly, the security logic 1002 on the IoT device 101 and/or the security logic 1012 on the IoT hub 110 may encrypt data packets sent to the IoT service 120 using the public key of the IoT service 120 (which may then be decrypted by the security logic 1013 on the IoT service 120 using the service's private key)").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott in view of Britt so that the generating the data response is by encrypting the data content from the first HVAC device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because an attacker would not be able to eavesdrop or spoof the transmitted information (Britt, suggested, ¶[0196]).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullock (US 20180328611 A1) in view of Pineau (US 20120159579 A1), and Scott (US 20210262684 A1), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Lewis et al. (US 20070054618 A1, hereinafter Lewis).
Regarding claim 8, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein at least one of the electronic communication circuits comprises: a wire-based communication circuit configured to communicate via the wired connection with the one or more of the HVAC devices (Scott, ¶[0087], "Routing device 504 may include some or all of the functionality of various routers described herein, including BACnet router 408. Routing device 504 is shown to include processing circuit 602, communications interface 618, and power supply 626"; ¶[0088], "Communications interface 618 can facilitate communications between routing device 504 and various devices within building 10, such as workstation 628, zone coordinator 632, and user device 634. Interface 618 can be or include wired or wireless communications interfaces (e.g., jacks, antennas, transmitters, receivers, transceivers, wire terminals, etc.) for conducting data communications within systems 400, 500, or 600 or other external systems or devices. In various embodiments, communications via interfaces 618 can be direct (e.g., local wired or wireless communications) or via a communications network (e.g., a WAN, the Internet, a cellular network, etc.). For example, interfaces 618 can include an Ethernet card and port for sending and receiving data via an Ethernet-based communications link or network (e.g., Ethernet interface 620). In another example, interface 618 can include a Wi-Fi transceiver for communicating via a wireless communications network (e.g., wireless interface 624)"),
a radio communication circuit configured to communicate via a wireless communication link with the external computing device (Scott, ¶[0087], "Routing device 504 may include some or all of the functionality of various routers described herein, including BACnet router 408. Routing device 504 is shown to include processing circuit 602, communications interface 618, and power supply 626"; ¶[0088], "Communications interface 618 can facilitate communications between routing device 504 and various devices within building 10, such as workstation 628, zone coordinator 632, and user device 634. Interface 618 can be or include wired or wireless communications interfaces (e.g., jacks, antennas, transmitters, receivers, transceivers, wire terminals, etc.) for conducting data communications within systems 400, 500, or 600 or other external systems or devices. In various embodiments, communications via interfaces 618 can be direct (e.g., local wired or wireless communications) or via a communications network (e.g., a WAN, the Internet, a cellular network, etc.). For example, interfaces 618 can include an Ethernet card and port for sending and receiving data via an Ethernet-based communications link or network (e.g., Ethernet interface 620). In another example, interface 618 can include a Wi-Fi transceiver for communicating via a wireless communications network (e.g., wireless interface 624)"), and
The combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott does not disclose an electrical energy buffer, coupled to the wire-based communication circuit to harvest energy via the wire-based communication circuit, and to power the radio communication circuit.
Lewis discloses an electronic access control device comprising an electrical energy buffer, coupled to a wire-based communication circuit to harvest energy via the wire-based communication circuit (abstract, "A battery associated with a wireless access point is charged using power from a Power over Ethernet cable").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Bullock, Pineau and Scott in view of Lewis and include an electrical energy buffer, coupled to the wire-based communication circuit to harvest energy via the wire-based communication circuit, and to power the radio communication circuit.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable the device, and other devices connected to it, to be operated "in the event of a power outage" (Lewis, abstract).
Regarding claim 9, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, Scott, and Lewis discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 8, above, wherein the wire-based communication circuit comprises at least one of a serial communication bus, a parallel communication bus, an Ethernet communication circuit, or a Power over Ethernet communication circuit (Scott, ¶[0087], "Routing device 504 may include some or all of the functionality of various routers described herein, including BACnet router 408. Routing device 504 is shown to include processing circuit 602, communications interface 618, and power supply 626"; ¶[0088], "Communications interface 618 can facilitate communications between routing device 504 and various devices within building 10, such as workstation 628, zone coordinator 632, and user device 634. Interface 618 can be or include wired or wireless communications interfaces (e.g., jacks, antennas, transmitters, receivers, transceivers, wire terminals, etc.) for conducting data communications within systems 400, 500, or 600 or other external systems or devices. In various embodiments, communications via interfaces 618 can be direct (e.g., local wired or wireless communications) or via a communications network (e.g., a WAN, the Internet, a cellular network, etc.). For example, interfaces 618 can include an Ethernet card and port for sending and receiving data via an Ethernet-based communications link or network (e.g., Ethernet interface 620). In another example, interface 618 can include a Wi-Fi transceiver for communicating via a wireless communications network (e.g., wireless interface 624)").
Regarding claim 10, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, Scott, and Lewis discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 8, above, wherein the wire-based communication circuit comprises at least two communication interfaces configured for daisy chaining (Bullock,¶[0048], "HVAC system 104 utilizes a BACnet network communications protocol and each of routers 122 through 130 are BACnet routers. In this case, HVAC system 104 includes several subsystems including: ventilation system 132, chiller system 134, boiler system 136, lighting system 138, and energy metering system 140. Other systems and subsystems are of course possible such as security subsystems, fire detection subsystems, and control subsystems. Each subsystem can include its own subsystems, such as terminals for defined zones or spaces. Ventilation system 132 includes subsystem 142 and zonal systems 144" - see Fig. 1, subsystems of subsystems can be daisy chained. That the communication circuit is wired based is a result of combining Bullock with Scott (see claim 8, above)).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullock (US 20180328611 A1) in view of Pineau (US 20120159579 A1) and Scott (US 20210262684 A1), as applied to claim 12, above, and further in view of Warren et al. (US 20120248211 A1, hereinafter Warren).
Regarding claim 13, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 12, above, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit the plurality of time stamped data reports (Bullock, ¶[0134], "an email is generated by the request manager on the HVAC server 114 that includes the requested data. In one embodiment, the requested data is hashed with the subsystem name, a date, time, and a variable name for the requested data"; ¶[0135], " HVAC server 114 sends the email").
The combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott does not disclose determine an energy level of an electrical energy buffer of the electronic access control device; and that transmitting of the plurality of time stamped reports is based on the energy level being above a set minimum energy threshold.
Warren discloses determine an energy level of an electrical energy buffer of the electronic access control device; and that transmitting of the plurality of time stamped reports is based on the energy level being above a set minimum energy threshold (¶[0044], "data collected by thermostat 110 also passes from the private network associated with enclosure 100 through integrated router 122 and to the thermostat management system over the public network"; ¶[0045], "During communication with remote thermostat 112, thermostat 110 may gather information remotely from the user and from the environment detectable by the remote thermostat 112. For example, remote thermostat 112 may wirelessly communicate with the thermostat 110 providing user input from the remote location of remote thermostat 112 or may be used to display information to a user, or both"; ¶[0055], "operate the thermostat 110 in a manner that promotes efficient use of the battery [...] embodiments may use the battery-level charge and the priority or relative importance of a communication to determine when a thermostat management system located on a public network such as the Internet may communicate with the thermostat 110" (suggested that communication may not happen when the battery is below a threshold, e.g., in the extreme case, completely discharged or below some threshold since it would be contrary to the stated purpose of "efficient use of the battery")).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott in view of Warren to determine an energy level of an electrical energy buffer of the electronic access control device; and that transmitting of the plurality of time stamped reports is based on the energy level being above a set minimum energy threshold.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because having a battery would enable the device to have an "independent power source" (Warren, ¶[0007]), and limiting the transmitting of data would promote "efficient use of the battery while also keeping the thermostat operating at a high level of performance and responsiveness controlling the HVAC system" (Warren, ¶[0055]).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullock (US 20180328611 A1) in view of Pineau (US 20120159579 A1) and Scott (US 20210262684 A1), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Brackney (US 20110115816 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above.
The combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott does not disclose that the electronic access control device further comprises a visual code provided on an external surface of a housing of the electronic access control device, the visual code encoding a device identifier associated with the electronic access control device, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, via the first communication link, a communication request from the external computing device; and check whether a device identifier included in the communication request matches the device identifier encoded by the visual code.
Brackney discloses an electronic access control device comprising a visual code provided on an external surface of a housing of the electronic access control device, the visual code encoding a device identifier associated with the electronic access control device (¶[0031], "Sensed positional information or visual markers placed on key locations or the equipment itself are used (via processing of the image data) to identify equipment of interest and to register the location of the equipment in the image or display frame. Equipment in the field of view of the client's camera is communicated wirelessly to the ARBOT server, which is connected to the building EMS. The ARBOT server retrieves relevant sensor information from the building EMS database based on equipment identified by the client (or by the ARBOT in thinner client implementations)" further, the examiner notes that an exact location of the visual code is design choice),
wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, via the first communication link, a communication request from the external computing device; and check whether a device identifier included in the communication request matches the device identifier encoded by the visual code (¶[0031], " Equipment in the field of view of the client's camera is communicated wirelessly to the ARBOT server, which is connected to the building EMS. The ARBOT server retrieves relevant sensor information from the building EMS database based on equipment identified by the client (or by the ARBOT in thinner client implementations). This sensor/building management data is synthesized into relevant reporting or diagnostic information appropriate to the operator context and transmitted back to the client as an overlay"; ¶[0034], "receiving and process communications 152 from the ARBOT client 150 that may include an operator's request for building management data for equipment in a portion of building 140 and, later, requests for additional information for particular pieces of equipment (e.g., for equipment identified in the overlay as underperforming or performing in an unexpected/undesired manner). The communications 156 from client 150 may include useful information for determining which equipment is of interest to the operator of client 150, and this information may be digital image data from the camera of client 150 that the ARBOT server 120 processes to identify the equipment (by a fiducial marker, by location of the client 150, and so on)"; ¶[0035], "The ARBOT server 120 then uses this equipment ID to retrieve useful information with a data request 124 (that may include the equipment ID or IDs) transmitted over a communication link 122 to the building EMS 110" - matching the equipment ID received to an stored equipment ID inherent).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott in view of Brackney so that the electronic access control device further comprises a visual code provided on an external surface of a housing of the electronic access control device, the visual code encoding a device identifier associated with the electronic access control device, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, via the first communication link, a communication request from the external computing device; and check whether a device identifier included in the communication request matches the device identifier encoded by the visual code.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable a user to obtain technical information much faster than requesting the information manually.
Regarding claim 16, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above.
The combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott does not disclose that the processor is further configured to: generate augmented reality data for the first HVAC device using the data content received from the first HVAC device, and include the augmented reality data in the data response transmitted to the external computing device for rendering of the augmented reality data by the external computing device.
Brackney discloses that a processor configured to: generate augmented reality data for the first HVAC device using the data content received from the first HVAC device (¶[0031], " ARBOT server retrieves relevant sensor information from the building EMS database based on equipment identified by the client (or by the ARBOT in thinner client implementations). This sensor/building management data is synthesized into relevant reporting or diagnostic information appropriate to the operator context and transmitted back to the client as an overlay"; ¶[0032], "The client then overlays this information on the video frame being displayed on its display or touch screen in a highly graphical, easily interpreted manner (e.g., with graphical and textual information in digital objects provided near or linked to displayed pieces of equipment/systems). The context is further enhanced by giving the operator mechanisms for interacting with the equipment through the client's touch screen (e.g., request a controller tuning procedure, request by clicking on a button an actuator in hand with a slider or the like shown in the client's display that allows the operator to operate an actuator via the building EMS)") and
include the augmented reality data in the data response transmitted to the external computing device for rendering of the augmented reality data by the external computing device (¶[0031], "the ARBOT server retrieves relevant sensor information from the building EMS database based on equipment identified by the client (or by the ARBOT in thinner client implementations). This sensor/building management data is synthesized into relevant reporting or diagnostic information appropriate to the operator context and transmitted back to the client as an overlay (or as digital objects and relational coordinates that are then used by the client's software to create the overlay)").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott in view of Brackney so that the processor is further configured to: generate augmented reality data for the first HVAC device using the data content received from the first HVAC device, and include the augmented reality data in the data response transmitted to the external computing device for rendering of the augmented reality data by the external computing device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable a user to easily troubleshoot unfamiliar equipment.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bullock (US 20180328611 A1) in view of Pineau (US 20120159579 A1) and Scott (US 20210262684 A1), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Castillo et al. (US 20160209059 A1, hereinafter Castillo).
Regarding claim 19, the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott discloses the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above.
The combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott does not disclose that the data request comprises a data package comprising (i) data or values for operating the first HVAC device or (ii) a software package.
Castillo discloses a data request comprising a data package comprising (i) data or values for operating the first HVAC device or (ii) a software package (¶[0075], "a homeowner may use user device 110 to control HVAC system 100. Application 111 may provide the homeowner with a number of commands to adjust the services provided by HVAC units 104a and 104b. For example, the homeowner may transmit a temperature adjust command over LAN 126 to first control unit 102a to change the temperature of living room 270, which is within second zone 250. First control unit 102a may receive the temperature adjust command from user device 110, recognize that the command is for living room 270, which is in second zone 250 controlled by second control unit 102b, and communicate the temperature adjust command to second control unit 102b over LAN 126. Second control unit 102b may then communicate the command to second HVAC device 104b to adjust the temperature of living room 270").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined system of Bullock, Pineau, and Scott in view of Castillo so that the data request comprises a data package comprising (i) data or values for operating the first HVAC device or (ii) a software package.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable a user to change the settings of the HVAC system without the need for the user to be in the same location as the HVAC system (Castillo, ¶[0075], "a user may control the temperature in multiple rooms of home 210 despite being located in a zone that does not include the room where the temperature is adjusted").
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is allowed.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to teach, neither singly nor in combination, the claimed limitations of “periodically receive, via the second communication link, data content from the first HVAC device without receiving a data request directed to the first HVAC device, receive, from the external computing device via the first communication link, a data request directed to the first HVAC device, perform an authorization process for access to the first HVAC device using authorization information stored in the data store, upon affirmative authorization for access to the first HVAC device, generate a data response using the data content” (underline for emphasis of key elements) as recited in claim 22. These limitations, in conjunction with other limitations in the independent claim(s), are not specifically disclosed or remotely suggested in the prior art of record. A review of claim(s) 22 indicates claim(s) 22 is allowable over the prior art of record.
The closest prior art of record includes:
US 20210018210 A1, which discloses "a networking platform of environment quality monitoring system may be configured to receive sensor data 710, store the sensor data 720, and allow access to the stored sensor data via an API 730. The API may enable software application developers to consistently access and manipulate sensor data, sensor data analysis results, and/or manage environment quality monitoring device via other applications" (¶[0136]).
US 20140282976 A1, which discloses "a remote access system 200 is shown for transporting data through a communications tunnel 222 between a guest device 204 and a remote device 262 over a network, such as the Internet. The communications tunnel 222 may be through a host device 254 and a connection facilitation server 220. The remote device 262 may include, for example, a building control system (e.g., HVAC system, lighting system, etc.)" (¶[0035]) and "remote access system 200 provides remote access from the guest device 204 to the remote device 262 through the intermediary host device 254 without needing prior knowledge of the configuration of the remote device 262 [...] Application data may be forwarded between the remote device 262 and the guest device 204 through a remote port on the remote device 262, the host device 254, the communications tunnel 122, and a port of the guest device 204" (¶[0036]).
US 20200355390 A1, which discloses "Background data collection unit 336 may be configured to collect data from target HVAC devices 220 and/or other HVAC devices 220 (“related HVAC devices”) in buildings 210 relevant to the concerned indoor climate control and energy total optimization. In an embodiment, as the data for the background sub-process may be shared among multiple different client VMs 264 and may be received from BAS 240 following the same path and/or updating rate, the receiving of the data for the background sub-processes may be implemented on the system VM 320 level as illustrated and described here. However, it should be appreciated that the receiving of the data for the background sub-process (“background data”) may also be implemented under client VM 264, e.g., in a case that the client VM 264/container process 268 is different from other client VM 264 in the data requirements for the background sub-process" (¶[0067]).
US 20160217674 A1, which discloses "field service notifications may then be manually forwarded to the owner/operator of the HVAC system by the field service personnel at his or her discretion, optionally after manually altering the notification, if appropriate. In some embodiments, the server can also be queried at any time by authorized users, e.g., by field personnel, the HVAC system manufacturer, or dealer, for the analysis to begin on a specific HVAC system, and/or for obtaining HVAC system data, and/or for the real-time and/or historical data analysis results for any one or multiple HVAC systems as appropriate and as needed" (¶[0091]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BORIS D GRIJALVA LOBOS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446