DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 12/01/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1-12 are amended. Claims 13-20 are added. No claims are deleted.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5, 6, and 10 amended limitation recites a FFP-UCI resource or transmission “at or within a predetermined number of symbols from a start of the WTRU-specific FFP on at least one of a … a physical random access channel (PRACH),” The specification does not disclose a PRACH transmission from a start of the WTRU-specific FFP with one or more resources or a predetermined number of symbols, ¶¶0080, 0081, 0124, 0129.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 20230189338 A1, hereinafter “Singh”), in view of Li et al. (US 20200359411 A1, hereinafter “Li”), in view of Moon et al. (US 20230354275 with citations to Priority Document KR10-2020-0037745, hereinafter “Moon ‘275”)
RE Claim 1 Singh discloses an apparatus or method:
A method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS) (¶0113, Fig. 9: 160), configuration information that includes a WTRU-specific fixed frame period (FFP) and one or more configured grant (CG) ¶0079, 0082 resources (gNB, base station, assigns fixed frame periods, FFP configuration information, and allocates resources among different UEs, specific WTRUs. ¶0008, Fig. 1; A UE is configured with FBE mode, frame based equipment, for FFPs. ¶0097; UE transmits based on preconfigured resources. ¶0089; Transmissions are part of CGs, configured grants, allocations. ¶0109);
determining whether to transmit data using a first CG resource of the one or more CG resources (UE transmissions based on preconfigured uplink resources. ¶0089; Transmissions are part of CGs, configured grants, allocations. ¶0109; Fig. 2: 3rd row), wherein the first CG resource occurs within the WTRU-specific FFP (Planned data transmissions, CG resources for specific WTRU, within a FFP for a specific WTRU. ¶0061, Fig. 2: 3rd row);
determining to use either a BS-initiated channel occupancy time (COT) or a WTRU-initiated COT (A UE, WTRU, with a processor. ¶0159, Fig. 9, 10; Wireless device includes a Determining Module configured to determine uplink data is available, whether a transmission will overlap with an idle period, and how to segment a transmission. ¶0196, Fig. 13:1600; For a UE that is allowed to initiate its own COT within the gNB's unused FFP, the UE can perform the second transmission burst even in the gNB's IDLE period, detection of a BS IDLE period, because the gNB did not use its FFP. The gNB can initiate a new COT. However, whenever the COTs overlap, detection of BS and UE COT intersections, the nodes need to respect the other node's IDLE period, detection of gNB and UE COTs by UE and gNB for active selection. ¶0065, Fig.3: row 3; For UE-initiated COT with a PUSCH transmission, dynamic or CG based) occurs over the resource that spans over the FFP boundary, transmissions that overlap fully or partially with invalid resources, other UE CGs, are not transmitted by the UE. ¶0072, Fig. 4), wherein the determination is based on at least one of:
(i) detecting whether the BS-initiated COT overlaps with a start of the first CG resource (gNB-initiated COT as part of an FFP has planned transmission, CG resource, by the UE. ¶0061, Fig. 2: 2nd and 3rd row; UE resume transmission in subsequent COT if it detects a downlink transmission that initiates that COT and has configured resources. ¶0067);
(ii) whether the first CG resource overlaps a BS FFP idle period (UE-initiated COT as part of an FFP has planned transmission, CG resource, by the UE. ¶0061, Fig. 2: 2nd and 3rd row; Whenever COTs overlap, the nodes, UE and gNB, need to respect each other’s IDLE period by canceling or postponing transmissions. ¶0065; UE initiates its own COT within the gNB’s unused FFP and transmits data in the gNB’s idle period, overlap of an idle period. ¶0065, Fig. 2, 3rd row);
performing a LBT procedure based on the COT the WTRU determined to use (UE can transmit if the LBT is successful. ¶0086; Fig. 7);
determining that the LBT procedure was successful (UE can transmit if the LBT is successful. ¶0086; Fig. 7); transmitting, in the first CG resource, the data and uplink control information (UCI). (UE transmits specific UCI by PUSCH or PUCCH. ¶0080; UE indicates to the gNB parameters of the COT over PUSCH or PUCCH on preconfigured uplink resources, CG. ¶0089)
Singh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the determination is based on at least one of:
(iii) a priority used for listen before talk (LBT) for the BS-initiated COT; or
(iv) a priority of the data to be transmitted;
However, Li discloses:
wherein the determination is based on at least one of:
(iii) a priority used for listen before talk (LBT) for the BS-initiated COT (The LBT priority class/CAPC value corresponding to the UL transmission scheduled/configured by the gNB can be determined by the UE. ¶0262, Fig. 21; LBT priority class associated with PUCCH transmission can be 1, i.e. the highest priority. ¶0264; The LBT priority/class associated with the UL transmission needs to be no less, i.e. less or equally prioritized, than the LBT class/priority set by a gNB in obtaining the gNB COT. ¶0328); or
(iv) a priority of the data to be transmitted (The LBT priority class corresponding to the UL transmission can be determined from the QOS class identifier, QCI, a priority for data transmission. ¶0263; LBT priority class associated with PUCCH transmission can be 1, i.e. the highest priority. ¶0264; Thus, priority for data and priority for LBT can be different values.);
Singh and Li do not explicitly disclose:
selecting a transmission resource for fixed-frame-period uplink control information (FFP-UCI) from a set comprising at least one of: (i) one or more resources at or within a predetermined number of symbols from a start of the WTRU-specific FFP on at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical random access channel (PRACH), or a sounding reference signal (SRS); or (ii) a configured- grant resource that begins at the start of the WTRU-specific FFP;
transmitting, on the selected transmission resource, the FFP-UCI that (i) indicates whether a COT used to access the first CG resource is the BS-initiated COT or the WTRU- initiated COT and (ii) identifies the WTRU-specific FFP associated with that COT; and
However, Moon ‘275 discloses:
selecting a transmission resource for fixed-frame-period uplink control information (FFP-UCI) from a set (Terminal determines, selects, validity of each uplink transmission, e.g. whether to perform each uplink transmission. Validity is for units of time resources, symbols, to which each PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS, and PRACH is mapped. Pg. 33, Ln. 17-23; UCI transmitted from terminal to base station on a PUSCH or PUCCH resource. Pg. 54, Ln. 3-8) comprising at least one of: (i) one or more resources at or within a predetermined number of symbols from a start of the WTRU-specific FFP (Uplink FPP information received by the terminal from the base station. The information on the FPP uplink includes a period or length of the uplink FPP. In addition, the information includes information on time offset of the FPP. The time offset includes an offset between start time of the FPP, a first FPP after a reference time. A granularity of the time offset includes the number of symbols. Pg. 43, Ln. 19 to Pg. 44, Ln. 9; Terminal transmits an uplink signal in an uplink symbol or flexible symbol. Terminal is configured by base station for a slot format and an uplink FPP. An uplink FPP may be shifted by a time offset and an uplink FPP boundary, e.g. a boundary of the first and second uplink FPPs, and may be located in the middle of a slot. Pg. 44, Ln. 14-20, Fig. 7) on at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (UCI transmitted from terminal to base station on a PUSCH resource. Pg. 54, Ln. 3-5), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (UCI transmitted from terminal to base station on a PUCCH resource. Pg. 54, Ln. 7-8), a physical random access channel (PRACH) (element is optional), or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (element is optional); or (ii) a configured- grant resource that begins at the start of the WTRU-specific FFP (The UCI may be UCI transmitted together with a configured grant PUSCH using a configured grant PUSCH resource. Pg. 54, Ln. 9-11; Terminal is configured by base station for a slot format and an uplink FPP. An uplink FPP may be shifted by a time offset and an uplink FPP boundary, e.g. a boundary of the first and second uplink FPPs, and may be located in the middle of a slot. Pg. 44, Ln. 14-20, Fig. 7);
transmitting, on the selected transmission resource, the FFP-UCI that (i) indicates whether a COT used to access the first CG resource is the BS-initiated COT or the WTRU- initiated COT (UCI includes news information on whether the uplink transmission, e.g. PUSCH PUCCH, including the corresponding UCI is part of the COT initiated by the terminal. Pg. 54, Ln. 14-16) and (ii) identifies the WTRU-specific FFP associated with that COT (Uplink FPP information received by the terminal from the base station. The information on the FPP uplink includes a period or length of the uplink FPP. In addition, the information includes information on time offset of the FPP. The time offset includes an offset between start time of the FPP, a first FPP after a reference time. A granularity of the time offset includes the number of symbols. Pg. 43, Ln. 19 to Pg. 44, Ln. 9); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh, determination of resources in a FFP that overlap during a COT, with the teachings of Li, determine a priority for initiation of a COT based on priority of LBT or priority of data, with the teachings of Moon ‘275, determination of a transmission resource for a UCI based on validity, availability, of resources combined with a symbol offset to transmit a UCI over PUSCH or PUCCH.
The motivation in doing so would be to support further improvement to the operation of a WTRU or gNB initiated COT during FBE mode to increase efficiency in throughput and reduce delays. (Singh: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0014-0015, 0056, 0064-0065, 0072; and Li: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0062, 0198; Moon ‘275: Pg. 1 Ln. 6-11, Pg. 2 Ln. 2 to Pg. 3 Ln. 5, Pg. 31 Ln. 12-17, Pg. 43 Ln. 4-15)
RE Claim 6 Singh discloses an apparatus or method:
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (user equipment. ¶0158, Fig. 10) comprising:
a transceiver (¶¶0159, 0164, Fig. 10:209); and
a processor (¶¶0159, 0160, Fig. 10:201;
wherein the transceiver and the processor (¶¶0159-0168, Fig. 10) are configured to:
to receive (¶0159, Fig. 10: 209), from a base station (BS) (¶0113, Fig. 9: 160), configuration information that includes a WTRU-specific fixed frame period (FFP) and one or more configured grant (CG) ¶0079, 0082 resources (gNB, base station, assigns fixed frame periods, FFP configuration information, and allocates resources among different UEs, specific WTRUs. ¶0008, Fig. 1; A UE is configured with FBE mode, frame based equipment, for FFPs. ¶0097; UE transmits based on preconfigured resources. ¶0089; Transmissions are part of CGs, configured grants, allocations. ¶0109);
determine whether to transmit data using a first CG resource of the one or more CG resources (UE transmissions based on preconfigured uplink resources. ¶0089; Transmissions are part of CGs, configured grants, allocations. ¶0109; Fig. 2: 3rd row), wherein the first CG resource occurs within the WTRU-specific FFP (Planned data transmissions, CG resources for specific WTRU, within a FFP for a specific WTRU. ¶0061, Fig. 2: 3rd row);
determine to use either a BS-initiated channel occupancy time (COT) or a WTRU-initiated COT (A UE, WTRU, with a processor. ¶0159, Fig. 9, 10; Wireless device includes a Determining Module configured to determine uplink data is available, whether a transmission will overlap with an idle period, and how to segment a transmission. ¶0196, Fig. 13:1600; For a UE that is allowed to initiate its own COT within the gNB's unused FFP, the UE can perform the second transmission burst even in the gNB's IDLE period, detection of a BS IDLE period, because the gNB did not use its FFP. The gNB can initiate a new COT. However, whenever the COTs overlap, detection of BS and UE COT intersections, the nodes need to respect the other node's IDLE period, detection of gNB and UE COTs by UE and gNB for active selection. ¶0065, Fig.3: row 3; For UE-initiated COT with a PUSCH transmission, dynamic or CG based) occurs over the resource that spans over the FFP boundary, transmissions that overlap fully or partially with invalid resources, other UE CGs, are not transmitted by the UE. ¶0072, Fig. 4) , wherein the determination is based on at least one of:
(i) detecting whether the BS-initiated COT overlaps with a start of the first CG resource (gNB-initiated COT as part of an FFP has planned transmission, CG resource, by the UE. ¶0061, Fig. 2: 2nd and 3rd row; UE resume transmission in subsequent COT if it detects a downlink transmission that initiates that COT and has configured resources. ¶0067);
(ii) whether the first CG resource overlaps a BS FFP idle period (UE-initiated COT as part of an FFP has planned transmission, CG resource, by the UE. ¶0061, Fig. 2: 2nd and 3rd row; Whenever COTs overlap, the nodes, UE and gNB, need to respect each other’s IDLE period by canceling or postponing transmissions. ¶0065; UE initiates its own COT within the gNB’s unused FFP and transmits data in the gNB’s idle period, overlap of an idle period. ¶0065, Fig. 2, 3rd row);
perform a LBT procedure based on the COT the WTRU determined to use (UE can transmit if the LBT is successful. ¶0086; Fig. 7);
determine that the LBT procedure was successful (UE can transmit if the LBT is successful. ¶0086; Fig. 7); transmit, in the first CG resource, the data and uplink control information (UCI). (UE transmits specific UCI by PUSCH or PUCCH. ¶0080; UE indicates to the gNB parameters of the COT over PUSCH or PUCCH on preconfigured uplink resources, CG. ¶0089)
Singh does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the determination is based on at least one of:
(iii) a priority used for listen before talk (LBT) for the BS-initiated COT; or
(iv) a priority of the data to be transmitted;
However, Li discloses:
wherein the determination is based on at least one of:
(iii) a priority used for listen before talk (LBT) for the BS-initiated COT (The LBT priority class/CAPC value corresponding to the UL transmission scheduled/configured by the gNB can be determined by the UE. ¶0262, Fig. 21; LBT priority class associated with PUCCH transmission can be 1, i.e. the highest priority. ¶0264; The LBT priority/class associated with the UL transmission needs to be no less, i.e. less or equally prioritized, than the LBT class/priority set by a gNB in obtaining the gNB COT. ¶0328); or
(iv) a priority of the data to be transmitted (The LBT priority class corresponding to the UL transmission can be determined from the QOS class identifier, QCI, a priority for data transmission. ¶0263; LBT priority class associated with PUCCH transmission can be 1, i.e. the highest priority. ¶0264; Thus, priority for data and priority for LBT can be different values.);
Singh and Li do not explicitly disclose:
select a transmission resource for fixed-frame-period uplink control information (FFP-UCI) from a set comprising at least one of: (i) one or more resources at or within a predetermined number of symbols from a start of the WTRU-specific FFP on at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical random access channel (PRACH), or a sounding reference signal (SRS); or (ii) a configured- grant resource that begins at the start of the WTRU-specific FFP;
transmit, on the selected transmission resource, the FFP-UCI that (i) indicates whether a COT used to access the first CG resource is the BS-initiated COT or the WTRU- initiated COT and (ii) identifies the WTRU-specific FFP associated with that COT; and
However, Moon ‘275 discloses:
select a transmission resource for fixed-frame-period uplink control information (FFP-UCI) from a set (Terminal determines, selects, validity of each uplink transmission, e.g. whether to perform each uplink transmission. Validity is for units of time resources, symbols, to which each PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS, and PRACH is mapped. Pg. 33, Ln. 17-23; UCI transmitted from terminal to base station on a PUSCH or PUCCH resource. Pg. 54, Ln. 3-8) comprising at least one of: (i) one or more resources at or within a predetermined number of symbols from a start of the WTRU-specific FFP (Uplink FPP information received by the terminal from the base station. The information on the FPP uplink includes a period or length of the uplink FPP. In addition, the information includes information on time offset of the FPP. The time offset includes an offset between start time of the FPP, a first FPP after a reference time. A granularity of the time offset includes the number of symbols. Pg. 43, Ln. 19 to Pg. 44, Ln. 9; Terminal transmits an uplink signal in an uplink symbol or flexible symbol. Terminal is configured by base station for a slot format and an uplink FPP. An uplink FPP may be shifted by a time offset and an uplink FPP boundary, e.g. a boundary of the first and second uplink FPPs, and may be located in the middle of a slot. Pg. 44, Ln. 14-20, Fig. 7) on at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (UCI transmitted from terminal to base station on a PUSCH resource. Pg. 54, Ln. 3-5), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (UCI transmitted from terminal to base station on a PUCCH resource. Pg. 54, Ln. 7-8), a physical random access channel (PRACH) (element is optional), or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (element is optional); or (ii) a configured- grant resource that begins at the start of the WTRU-specific FFP (The UCI may be UCI transmitted together with a configured grant PUSCH using a configured grant PUSCH resource. Pg. 54, Ln. 9-11; Terminal is configured by base station for a slot format and an uplink FPP. An uplink FPP may be shifted by a time offset and an uplink FPP boundary, e.g. a boundary of the first and second uplink FPPs, and may be located in the middle of a slot. Pg. 44, Ln. 14-20, Fig. 7);
transmit, on the selected transmission resource, the FFP-UCI that (i) indicates whether a COT used to access the first CG resource is the BS-initiated COT or the WTRU- initiated COT (UCI includes news information on whether the uplink transmission, e.g. PUSCH PUCCH, including the corresponding UCI is part of the COT initiated by the terminal. Pg. 54, Ln. 14-16) and (ii) identifies the WTRU-specific FFP associated with that COT (Uplink FPP information received by the terminal from the base station. The information on the FPP uplink includes a period or length of the uplink FPP. In addition, the information includes information on time offset of the FPP. The time offset includes an offset between start time of the FPP, a first FPP after a reference time. A granularity of the time offset includes the number of symbols. Pg. 43, Ln. 19 to Pg. 44, Ln. 9); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh, determination of resources in a FFP that overlap during a COT, with the teachings of Li, determine a priority for initiation of a COT based on priority of LBT or priority of data, with the teachings of Moon ‘275, determination of a transmission resource for a UCI based on validity, availability, of resources combined with a symbol offset to transmit a UCI over PUSCH or PUCCH.
The motivation in doing so would be to support further improvement to the operation of a WTRU or gNB initiated COT during FBE mode to increase efficiency in throughput and reduce delays. (Singh: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0014-0015, 0056, 0064-0065, 0072; and Li: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0062, 0198; Moon ‘275: Pg. 1 Ln. 6-11, Pg. 2 Ln. 2 to Pg. 3 Ln. 5, Pg. 31 Ln. 12-17, Pg. 43 Ln. 4-15)
RE Claim 7, 2, Singh discloses an apparatus or method:
wherein a selection criteria for the WTRU-initiated COT (UE-initiated COT as part of an FFP has planned transmission, CG resource, by the UE. ¶0061, Fig. 2: 2nd and 3rd row) includes at least one of:
(i) an overlap between at least a portion of the first CG resource and an idle period of a base-station fixed frame period (UE-initiated COT as part of an FFP has planned transmission, CG resource, by the UE. ¶0061, Fig. 2: 2nd and 3rd row; Whenever COTs overlap, the nodes, UE and gNB, need to respect each other’s IDLE period by canceling or postponing transmissions. ¶0065; UE initiates its own COT within the gNB’s unused FFP and transmits data in the gNB’s idle period, overlap of an idle period. ¶0065, Fig. 2, 3rd row); and
Singh does not explicitly disclose:
a priority of the data to be transmitted that is lower than the priority used by the BS for LBT of the BS-initiated COT.
However, Li discloses:
a priority of the data to be transmitted that is lower than the priority used by the BS for LBT of the BS-initiated COT. (The LBT priority class/CAPC value corresponding to the UL transmission scheduled/configured by the gNB can be determined by the UE. ¶0262, Fig. 21; The LBT priority class corresponding to the UL transmission can be determined from the QOS class identifier, QCI, a priority for data transmission. ¶0263; LBT priority class associated with PUCCH transmission can be 1, i.e. the highest priority. ¶0264; Thus, priority for data and priority for LBT can be different values.; The LBT priority/class associated with the UL transmission needs to be no less, i.e. less or equally prioritized, than the LBT class/priority set by a gNB in obtaining the gNB COT. ¶0328)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh, determining WTRU initiated COT for an FFP in FBE mode when there is an overlap of terminal and base station resources, with the teachings of Li, determine priority of data to be transmitted for a terminal and a base station.
The motivation in doing so would be to support further improvement to the operation of a WTRU or gNB initiated COT during FBE mode to increase efficiency in throughput and reduce delays. (Singh: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0003, 0014-0015, 0056, 0064-0065, 0072; and Li: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0062, 0198, 0262-0264, 328)
RE Claim 8, 3, Singh does not explicitly disclose an apparatus or method:
wherein the LBT procedure is a full LBT or Type 1 LBT.
However, Li discloses:
wherein the LBT procedure is a full LBT or Type 1 LBT. (UL grant can have a LBT type filed to indicate one of CAT-1, CAT-2, or CAT-4 (Full LBT) and priority class/CAPC of 1, 2, 3, or 4. ¶0256; LBT type can depend on gap duration of UL/DL switching. ¶0114; Fig. 21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh, enabling a WTRU initiated COT for an FFP in FBE mode, with the teachings of Li, selection of LBT types depending on FBE, FFP, and COT timings.
The motivation in doing so would be to support further improvement to the operation of a WTRU or gNB initiated COT during FBE mode to increase efficiency in throughput and reduce delays. (Singh: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0014-0015, 0056, 0064-0065, 0072; and Li: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0062, 0198)
RE Claim 9, 4, Singh does not explicitly disclose an apparatus or method:
wherein the LBT procedure is a short LBT or Type 2 LBT.
However, Li discloses:
wherein the LBT procedure is a short LBT or Type 2 LBT. (UL grant can have a LBT type filed to indicate one of CAT-1 (Short LBT), CAT-2 (Short LBT), or CAT-4 and priority class/CAPC of 1, 2, 3, or 4. ¶0256; LBT type can depend on gap duration of UL/DL switching. ¶0114; Fig. 21)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh, enabling a WTRU initiated COT for an FFP in FBE mode, with the teachings of Li, selection of LBT types depending on FBE, FFP, and COT timings.
The motivation in doing so would be to support further improvement to the operation of a WTRU or gNB initiated COT during FBE mode to increase efficiency in throughput and reduce delays. (Singh: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0014-0015, 0056, 0064-0065, 0072; and Li: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0062, 0198)
RE Claim 10, 5, Singh and Li do not explicitly disclose an apparatus or method:
wherein the FFP-UCI is transmitted at or within a predetermined number of symbols from a start of the WTRU-specific fixed frame period on at least one of a PUSCH, a PUCCH, a PRACH, or a SRS.
However, Moon ‘275 discloses: wherein the FFP-UCI is transmitted at or within a predetermined number of symbols from a start of the WTRU-specific fixed frame period (Uplink FPP information received by the terminal from the base station. The information on the FPP uplink includes a period or length of the uplink FPP. In addition, the information includes information on time offset of the FPP. The time offset includes an offset between start time of the FPP, a first FPP after a reference time. A granularity of the time offset includes the number of symbols. Pg. 43, Ln. 19 to Pg. 44, Ln. 9; Terminal transmits an uplink signal in an uplink symbol or flexible symbol. Terminal is configured by base station for a slot format and an uplink FPP. An uplink FPP may be shifted by a time offset and an uplink FPP boundary, e.g. a boundary of the first and second uplink FPPs, and may be located in the middle of a slot. Pg. 44, Ln. 14-20, Fig. 7) on at least one of a PUSCH (UCI transmitted from terminal to base station on a PUSCH resource. Pg. 54, Ln. 3-5), a PUCCH (UCI transmitted from terminal to base station on a PUCCH resource. Pg. 54, Ln. 7-8), a PRACH (element is optional), or a SRS (element is optional).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh, determination of resources in a FFP that overlap during a COT, with the teachings of Li, determine a priority for initiation of a COT based on priority of LBT or priority of data, with the teachings of Moon ‘275, determination of a transmission resource for a UCI based on validity, availability, of resources combined with a symbol offset to transmit a UCI over PUSCH or PUCCH.
The motivation in doing so would be to support further improvement to the operation of a WTRU or gNB initiated COT during FBE mode to increase efficiency in throughput and reduce delays. (Singh: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0014-0015, 0056, 0064-0065, 0072; and Li: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0062, 0198; Moon ‘275: Pg. 1 Ln. 6-11, Pg. 2 Ln. 2 to Pg. 3 Ln. 5, Pg. 31 Ln. 12-17, Pg. 43 Ln. 4-15)
RE Claim 12, 11, Singh discloses an apparatus or method:
wherein the UCI indicates whether the WTRU is using the BS-initiated COT or the WTRU-initiated COT. (Base station receives an indication that the wireless device may initiate a COT in one of the FFPs. ¶0017; UE initiates a COT in a FFP by transmitting UCI over PUSCH, or any other transmission initiated by a UE. ¶0173, Fig. 11: 1114; UE in a current FFP, with access to the next FFP, does not have more data to transmit, lowest priority, and signals the gNB via UCI thus determining that the gNB initiates the next COT, higher priority. ¶0087;)
RE Claim 13, 17, Singh or Li do not explicitly disclose:
further comprising: when the WTRU determines to use a WTRU-initiated COT, transmitting a FFP-UCI multiplexed on a PUSCH in the configured-grant resource, wherein the configured grant resource occurs at a beginning of the WTRU-specific FFP.
However, Moon ‘275 discloses a method or apparatus:
further comprising: when the WTRU determines to use a WTRU-initiated COT, transmitting a FFP-UCI multiplexed on a PUSCH in the configured-grant resource, wherein the configured grant resource occurs at a beginning of the WTRU-specific FFP (UCI includes news information on whether the uplink transmission, e.g. PUSCH PUCCH, including the corresponding UCI is part of the COT initiated by the terminal. Pg. 54, Ln. 14-16; Uplink FPP information received by the terminal from the base station. The information on the FPP uplink includes a period or length of the uplink FPP. In addition, the information includes information on time offset of the FPP. The time offset includes an offset between start time of the FPP, a first FPP after a reference time. A granularity of the time offset includes the number of symbols. Pg. 43, Ln. 19 to Pg. 44, Ln. 9; Uplink COT acquisition signal transmitted at start part of the uplink COT or a time period may be defined or configured. UCI may be piggybacked (or multiplexed) in a PUSCH scheduled by a configured grant. Pg. 54 Ln. 17-21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh, determination of resources in a FFP that overlap during a COT, with the teachings of Li, determine a priority for initiation of a COT based on priority of LBT or priority of data, with the teachings of Moon ‘275, determination of a transmission resource for a UCI based on validity, availability, of resources combined with a symbol offset to transmit a UCI multiplexed over PUSCH.
The motivation in doing so would be to support further improvement to the operation of a WTRU or gNB initiated COT during FBE mode to increase efficiency in throughput and reduce delays. (Singh: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0014-0015, 0056, 0064-0065, 0072; and Li: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0062, 0198; Moon ‘275: Pg. 1 Ln. 6-11, Pg. 2 Ln. 2 to Pg. 3 Ln. 5, Pg. 31 Ln. 12-17, Pg. 43 Ln. 4-15)
RE Claim 16, 20, Singh discloses a method or apparatus:
wherein the FFP-UCI includes an indication that the WTRU has vacated remaining FFP resources (If a UE is scheduled or performs transmission at the end of a COT and if it is also gained transmission in the beginning of the next FFP while the UE does not have more data to transmit, then the UE can inform or signal the gNB about “no data” transmission in the UCI and thus allow gNB to initiate the next COT. ¶0087).
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh, in view of Li, in view of Moon ‘275, in view of Moon et al. (US 20200280971 A1, hereinafter “Moon ‘971”).
RE Claim 14, 18, Singh, Li, and Moon ‘275 do not explicitly disclose a method or apparatus:
wherein the FFP-UCI includes a bitmap identifying LBT sub-bands acquired by the WTRU for the WTRU-initiated COT.
However, Moon ‘971 discloses:
wherein the FFP-UCI includes a bitmap identifying LBT sub-bands acquired by the WTRU for the WTRU-initiated COT (In frame based equipment operation, a communication node, terminal, performs CCA at a starting time of each fixed frame period. ¶¶0132-0133; Terminal initiates COT by performing CCA operation. ¶0127, Fig. 4B; In order to determine whether the LBT subband is occupied, the terminal may apply an operation (e.g., bit (or bitwise) operation) according to a predefined rule to bit(s) corresponding to the LBT subband(s) obtained from one or more bitmaps, and determine whether the LBT subband is occupied based on a result of the operation. ¶0262; When one bandwidth part includes a plurality of LBT subbands, the base station may obtain starting time point information, transmission bandwidth information, etc. of an uplink transmission burst from the terminal. The starting time point information and the transmission bandwidth information of the uplink transmission burst may be transmitted from the terminal to the base station through uplink control information (UCI). ¶0264).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh, determination of resources in a FFP that overlap during a COT, with the teachings of Li, determine a priority for initiation of a COT based on priority of LBT or priority of data, with the teachings of Moon ‘275, determination of a transmission resource for a UCI based on validity, availability, of resources combined with a symbol offset to transmit a UCI over PUSCH or PUCCH, with the teachings of Moon ‘971, terminal indicates to the base station which subbands were acquired after performing LBT procedures.
The motivation in doing so would be to support further improvement to the operation of a WTRU or gNB initiated COT during FBE mode to increase efficiency in throughput and reduce delays. (Singh: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0014-0015, 0056, 0064-0065, 0072; and Li: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0062, 0198; Moon ‘275: Pg. 1 Ln. 6-11, Pg. 2 Ln. 2 to Pg. 3 Ln. 5, Pg. 31 Ln. 12-17, Pg. 43 Ln. 4-15; Moon ‘971: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0027, 0129, 0231, 0238, 0264)
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh, in view of Li, in view of Moon ‘275, in view of Myung et al. (US 20220174741 A1, hereinafter “Myung”).
RE Claim 15, 19, Singh, Li, and Moon ‘275 do not explicitly disclose a method or apparatus:
wherein the FFP-UCI indicates at least one of: (i) an energy-detection threshold used for clear channel assessment or (ii) spatial beam parameters used to perform the assessment.
However, Myung discloses: wherein the FFP-UCI indicates at least one of: (i) an energy-detection threshold used for clear channel assessment (Method in which the UE selects an ED threshold to be used for LBT performed before transmitting a CG-PUSCH as follows and indicates the selected ED threshold through CG-UCI, upon receiving a first ED threshold to be used to perform UL LBT for UL-to-DL COT sharing from the BS by higher-layer signaling such as RRC signaling. ¶0234) or (ii) spatial beam parameters used to perform the assessment (UCI includes CSI feedback and MIMO related feedback information including RI and PMI. ¶0081).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh, determination of resources in a FFP that overlap during a COT, with the teachings of Li, determine a priority for initiation of a COT based on priority of LBT or priority of data, with the teachings of Moon ‘275, determination of a transmission resource for a UCI based on validity, availability, of resources combined with a symbol offset to transmit a UCI over PUSCH or PUCCH, with the teachings of Myung, terminal provides energy detection threshold used for CCA to the base station for configured or dynamic grant PUSCH.
The motivation in doing so would be to support further improvement to the operation of a WTRU or gNB initiated COT during FBE mode to increase efficiency in throughput and reduce delays. (Singh: Abstract, ¶¶0001, 0014-0015, 0056, 0064-0065, 0072; and Li: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0062, 0198; Moon ‘275: Pg. 1 Ln. 6-11, Pg. 2 Ln. 2 to Pg. 3 Ln. 5, Pg. 31 Ln. 12-17, Pg. 43 Ln. 4-15; Myung: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0006-0007, 0020, 148, 0203-0204, 0226)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20210360421 A1 Wang et al.
US 20230354275 A1 Moon et al.
US 20230389071 A1 Li et al.
US 20230199856 A1 Guo et al.
US 20210259014 A1 Falahati et al.
US 20210321392 A1 Hooli et al.
US 20200314837 A1 Oh et al.
US 20220167413 A1 Myung et al.
US 20200314891 A1 Li et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of frame based equipment (FBE) and fixed frame periods (FFP) improvements for COT scheduling including overlapping conditions between devices.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419