DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 03/02/2026 has been received and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1, 15-16, 18, and 20-21 were amended, claims 11 and 14 were previously cancelled, and claims 1-10, 12-13, and 15-21 remain pending.
The Examiner would like to point out that it appears the end of Claim 21 was inadvertently truncated from the Claims listing and appears instead at the beginning of the Applicant’s remarks. The origin of this error is unclear, but the Examiner would like to note on the record that the truncated section has been considered along with the rest of Claim 21.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 12-13, and 15-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8-9, 15, 17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2023/0047407 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
As to Claim 1, 15, 20, and 21:
Li describes a method for a terminal to provide HARQ-ACK feedback for a multicast downlink transmission.
Specifically, Li teaches:
Receiving, via a higher layer signaling, configuration information of a HARQ-ACK codebook for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) which is set to be semi-static
Li teaches that after “the UE receives a PDSCH at a slot n”, it “feeds back a HARQ-ACK at a slot n+k1”, and that “a value range of k1 is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling” (i.e. “higher layer signaling”) (Li, 0046). Li further teaches that because “k1 may have different values”, “a correspondence between HARQ-ACK bit information and a PDSCH needs to be determined, that is, a HARQ-ACK codebook needs to be constructed” (Li, 0046). Li also states that “[t]he HARQ-ACK codebook may include different types, for example, a type 1 semi-persistent codebook” (Li, 0047).
Thus, the interval “k1” maps to “configuration information of a HARQ-ACK codebook”, and the “PDSCH” sent using “a type 1 semi-persistent codebook” corresponds to “a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) which is set to be semi-static”.
Receiving downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a multicast PDSCH
Li describes a “DCI corresponding to the multicast PDSCH” (Li, 0099).
The DCI includes at least one physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource indicator and a downlink assignment index (DAI) equal to 1
Li describes a “DCI corresponding to the multicast PDSCH” which “includes a DAI field” (Li, 0099). Li later adds that the DCI may also include “a PUCCH resource indicator PRI ... corresponding to the unicast PDSCH”, and that “the multiplexed PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set corresponding to the unicast PDSCH” (in other words, the PRI for the unicast PDSCH is also the PRI for the multicast PDSCH) (Li, 0115).
Fig. 2A and 2B in Li also show that “DAI=1” for “DCI1” and “DCI2” and their corresponding PDSCH transmissions.
Receiving the multicast PDSCH based on the DCI
Li describes a “DCI corresponding to the multicast PDSCH” (Li, 0099).
Determining a PUCCH resource based on the at least one PUCCH resource indicator
Li describes DCI that may also include “a PUCCH resource indicator PRI ... corresponding to the unicast PDSCH”, and that “the multiplexed PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set corresponding to the unicast PDSCH” (in other words, the PRI for the unicast PDSCH is also the PRI for the multicast PDSCH) (Li, 0115).
Transmitting, on the determined PUCCH resource, HARQ-ACK information only for the multicast PDSCH related to the DAI equal to 1, based on the configuration information of the HARQ-ACK codebook for the PDSCH which is set to be semi-static
Li teaches that a “UE needs to perform HARQ-ACK feedback for a PDSCH” that may be a “Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) PDSCH” (i.e. the “PDSCH” is “set to be semi-static”) (Li, 0045). Fig. 2A in Li further shows a “PDSCH1” that is transmitted with “C-DAI=1”, and paragraph 0115 of Li teaches that the DCI may include “a PUCCH resource indicator PRI ... corresponding to the unicast PDSCH”, and that “the multiplexed PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set corresponding to the unicast PDSCH” (in other words, the PRI applies to the multicast PDSCH as well) (Li, 0115).
Claim 15 encompasses the same subject matter as Claim 1 in the form of an apparatus claim that additionally requires:
A transceiver for transmitting and receiving signals; and a processor configured
Fig. 8 in Li is “a schematic diagram of a hardware structure of a terminal” (Li, 0192) that includes a “Processor” 810 and a “Radio frequency unit” 801.
Claim 20 encompasses the same method as Claim 1 from the perspective of a base station.
Claim 21 encompasses the same subject matter as Claim 1from the perspective of a base station and in the form of an apparatus claim that additionally requires:
A transceiver for transmitting and receiving signals; and a processor
Fig. 9 in Li shows a network device that includes a “Transceiver” 92 and a “Processor” 95.
As to Claim 5:
Li teaches:
The PUCCH resource indicator includes a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field
Li describes DCI that may also include “a PUCCH resource indicator PRI ... corresponding to the unicast PDSCH”, and that “the multiplexed PUCCH resource is selected from the PUCCH resource set corresponding to the unicast PDSCH” (in other words, the PRI for the unicast PDSCH is also the PRI for the multicast PDSCH) (Li, 0115).
As to Claim 8:
Li teaches:
Receiving information on a time window for the multicast PDSCH; and receiving the multicast PDSCH according to the information
Li teaches that “the UE receives a PDSCH at a slot n, and then, feeds back a HARQ-Ack at a slot n+k1, where k1 is indicated by a PDCCH that schedules the PDSCH, and a value range of k1 is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling” (Li, 0046). Elsewhere, Li clarifies that the “HARQ-ACK information” may be “for multicast downlink transmission” (Li, 0051).
As to Claim 9:
Li teaches:
The DCI further includes a plurality of DAIs, which are respectively used to count HARQ-ACKs transmitted by a corresponding UE among a plurality of UEs
Li states that “DAIs of the multicast PDSCH ... need to be accumulated respectively” (Li, 0099). This “accumulation” is analogous to “count[ing] HARQ-ACKs transmitted by a corresponding UE”.
As to Claim 17 and 19:
Li teaches:
The HARQ-ACK information is associated with a type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook
Li teaches that “[t]he HARQ-ACK codebook may include different types, for example, a type 1 semi-persistent codebook” (Li, 0047).
Claim 19 encompasses the same subject matter as Claim 17 in the form of a method claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0047407 A1) in view of Lu et al. (US 2023/0095951 A1, hereinafter “Lu”).
As to Claim 2:
Li does not explicitly disclose:
A value of the at least one PUCCH resource indicator indicates one of multiple sets of PUCCH resources configured by a higher layer signaling
Each of the PUCCH resources included in the indicated sets of PUCCH resources is respectively used for a corresponding UE among the plurality of UEs
However, Lu does describe a method for a network device to configure a PUCCH resource for a UE.
Specifically, Lu teaches:
A value of the at least one PUCCH resource indicator indicates one of multiple sets of PUCCH resources configured by a higher layer signaling
Lu teaches that “[t]he plurality of UE-specific PUCCH resources may be configured by the network device through higher layer signaling” and that “the network device configures a PUCCH resource for each of a group of UEs” and “[d]etermine[s] the target PUCCH resource based on a control channel element (CCE) index” (0045, 0049).
Each of the PUCCH resources included in the indicated sets of PUCCH resources is respectively used for a corresponding UE among the plurality of UEs
Lu teaches that “the network device configures a PUCCH resource for each of a group of UEs” (Lu, 0045).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lu’s practice of using a PUCCH resource indicator to indicate a specific set of PUCCH resources that have been configured by higher layer signaling. This is an inherent function of the PUCCH resource indicator found in Li.
As to Claim 3:
Li does not explicitly disclose:
The DCI includes a plurality of PUCCH resource indicators
Each of the plurality of PUCCH resource indicators is respectively used to indicate a PUCCH resource for transmitting the HARQ-ACK information by a corresponding UE among a plurality of UEs
However, Lu does teach:
The DCI includes a plurality of PUCCH resource indicators
Lu teaches that “when the UE receives a piece of DCI for scheduling the MBMS PSCH, the target PUCCH resource for feeding back the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the MBMS PDSCH may be determined based on a lowest CCE index for receiving the MBMS PDCCH and a specific PUCCH resource offset configured by the network device for each of a group of UEs” (Lu, 0055).
Here, the fact that the PUCCH resource is determined by a “CCE index” shows that the “DCI” contains “a plurality of PUCCH resource indicators”.
Each of the plurality of PUCCH resource indicators is respectively used to indicate a PUCCH resource for transmitting the HARQ-ACK information by a corresponding UE among a plurality of UEs
Lu teaches that “when the UE receives a piece of DCI for scheduling the MBMS PSCH, the target PUCCH resource for feeding back the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the MBMS PDSCH may be determined based on a lowest CCE index for receiving the MBMS PDCCH and a specific PUCCH resource offset configured by the network device for each of a group of UEs” (Lu, 0055).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lu’s practice of using a PUCCH resource indicator to indicate a specific set of PUCCH resources that have been configured by higher layer signaling. This is an inherent function of the PUCCH resource indicator found in Li.
As to Claim 4:
Li does not explicitly disclose:
The DCI includes a plurality of PUCCH resource indicators
Each of the plurality of PUCCH resource indicators is respectively used to indicate a set of PUCCH resources for transmitting the HARQ-ACK information by a corresponding UE among the plurality of UEs
However, Lu does teach:
The DCI includes a plurality of PUCCH resource indicators
Lu teaches that “when the UE receives a piece of DCI for scheduling the MBMS PSCH, the target PUCCH resource for feeding back the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the MBMS PDSCH may be determined based on a lowest CCE index for receiving the MBMS PDCCH and a specific PUCCH resource offset configured by the network device for each of a group of UEs” (Lu, 0055).
Here, the fact that the PUCCH resource is determined by a “CCE index” shows that the “DCI” contains “a plurality of PUCCH resource indicators”.
Each of the plurality of PUCCH resource indicators is respectively used to indicate a set of PUCCH resources for transmitting the HARQ-ACK information by a corresponding UE among the plurality of UEs
Lu teaches that “when the UE receives a piece of DCI for scheduling the MBMS PSCH, the target PUCCH resource for feeding back the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the MBMS PDSCH may be determined based on a lowest CCE index for receiving the MBMS PDCCH and a specific PUCCH resource offset configured by the network device for each of a group of UEs” (Lu, 0055).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lu’s practice of using a PUCCH resource indicator to indicate a specific set of PUCCH resources that have been configured by higher layer signaling. This is an inherent function of the PUCCH resource indicator which Matsumara mentions.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0047407 A1) in view of Lu (US 2023/0095951 A1) and further in view of Matsumara et al. (US 2023/0164805 A1, hereinafter “Matsumara”).
As to Claim 6:
The combination of Li and Lu does not explicitly disclose:
The value of the at least one PUCCH resource indicator further indicates that at least one UE among the plurality of UEs does not need to transmit the HARQ-ACK information
However, Matsumara does describe a method for multicasting higher level signaling.
Specifically, Matsumara teaches:
The value of the at least one PUCCH resource indicator further indicates that at least one UE among the plurality of UEs does not need to transmit the HARQ-ACK information
Matsumara states that “[w]hen there is no possibility that the UE transmits HARQ-ACK information for the multicast PDSCH in the PUCCH, the DCI for reception/non-reception indication may not include ... the PUCCH resource indicator field” (Matsumara, 0126).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Matsumara’s technique of omitting the PRI to indicate that HARQ-ACK is unnecessary into Li’s method for acknowledging a multicast PDSCH. This provides the advantage of informing the UE it does not need to ack certain transmissions, thereby reducing signaling overhead.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0047407 A1) in view of Yoshioka et al. (US 2022/0216956 A1, hereinafter “Yoshioka”).
As to Claim 7:
Li teaches:
The HARQ-ACK of the multicast PDSCH
Li describes a terminal that “feed[s] back HARQ-ACK information for multicast downlink transmission” which “may be multicast PDSCH” (Li, 0051-0052).
Li does not explicitly disclose:
Determining a maximum retransmission number for the HARQ-ACK
However, Yoshioka does describe a method to select a sidelink resource within a predetermined time window.
Specifically, Yoshioka teaches:
Determining a maximum retransmission number for the HARQ-ACK
Yoshioka teaches that “[t]he maximum number of retransmissions may be a value for retransmission based on HARQ-ACK” (Yoshioka, 0063).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Yoshioka’s method for implementing a maximum number of HARQ-ACK retransmissions into Li’s method for multicast HARQ. A maximum number of HARQ retransmissions ensures that a device does not continue trying to send HARQ indefinitely when it cannot succeed.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0047407 A1) in view of Jung et al. (US 2021/0235396 A1, hereinafter “Jung”).
As to Claim 10:
Li teaches:
In case that the UE supports both multicast and unicast
Li describes a “terminal” that “may perform HARQ-ACK feedback for multicast downlink transmission and unicast downlink transmission in one time unit” (Li, 0026).
A PUCCH transmitting the HARQ-ACK for the multicast PDSCH
Li describes a “terminal” that “may perform HARQ-ACK feedback for multicast downlink transmission and unicast downlink transmission in one time unit” (Li, 0026). Li further adds that “[t]ransmission of the HARQ-ACK information may be performed on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource” (Li, 0045).
A PUCCH transmitting the HARQ-ACK for a unicast PDSCH
Li describes a “terminal” that “may perform HARQ-ACK feedback for multicast downlink transmission and unicast downlink transmission in one time unit” (Li, 0026). Li further adds that “[t]ransmission of the HARQ-ACK information may be performed on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource” (Li, 0045).
Li does not explicitly disclose:
Parameters for a power control of ... the HARQ-ACK ... multicast ... are configured separately from parameters for a power control of ... the HARQ-ACK ... unicast
However, Jung does describe a method to control the transmission power of sidelink HARQ feedback.
Specifically, Jung teaches:
Parameters for a power control of ... the HARQ-ACK ... multicast ... are configured separately from parameters for a power control of ... the HARQ-ACK ... unicast
Fig. 16 in Jung “shows an example of a method for the transmitting UE to control the transmission power based on the information related to the SL HARQ feedback in the unicast manner”, and Fig. 18 in Jung separately “shows an example of a method for the transmitting UE to control the transmission power based on information related to SL HARQ feedback in a multicast or broadcast method” (Jung, 0025).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the separate power controls for multicast and unicast HARQ feedback disclosed in Jung into Li’s method for multicasting HARQ feedback. The multicast and unicast HARQ feedback go to different targets, so it makes sense to configure different power levels for each.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0047407 A1) in view of Xiong et al. (US 2020/0022175 A1, hereinafter “Xiong”) and further in view of Yin et al. (US 2012/0087254 A1, hereinafter “Yin”).
As to Claim 12:
The combination of Li and Xiong does not explicitly disclose:
The total number of bits of the HARQ-Ack information is determined based on a number of serving cells, a number of bundling windows per cell, and a number of bits of each HARQ-ACK information
However, Yin does describe a method for a UE to determine parameters for sending HARQ-ACK transmissions uplink.
Specifically, Yin teaches:
The total number of bits of the HARQ-ACK information is determined based on a number of serving cells, a number of bundling windows per cell, and a number of bits of each HARQ-ACK information
Yin teaches that “[p]erforming partial HARQ-ACK bundling may also include performing spatial bundling on each component carrier to reduce the total number of HARQ-ACK bits to be reported to a number of spatial bundled HARQ-ACK bits that equals the number of component carriers” (Yin, 0025).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Yin’s method for determining the size of a HARQ-ACK transmission with Li’s method for configuring HARQ-ACK feedback using a multicast PDSCH. The total size of the HARQ-ACK transmission is a useful parameter to configure that can be set via the multicast PDSCH described in Li.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0047407 A1) in view of Xiong (US 2020/0022175 A1) and further in view of Takeda et al. (US 2018/0323907 A1, hereinafter “Takeda1”).
As to Claim 13:
Li teaches:
A downlink assignment index (DAI) in downlink control information (DCI) in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)
Li describes a “DCI corresponding to the multicast PDSCH” which “includes a DAI field” (Li, 0099). Li clarifies that “the multicast downlink transmission may be multicast ... PDCCH” (Li, 0052), and that a “PDCCH ... schedules the PDSCH” (Li, 0046).
The combination of Li and Xiong does not explicitly disclose:
Determining the total number of bits of the HARQ-ACK information based on a downlink assignment index (DAI)
However, Takeda1 does describe a method that includes determining the size of HARQ-ACK data based on a DAI field.
Specifically, Takeda1 teaches:
Determining the total number of bits of the HARQ-ACK information based on a downlink assignment index (DAI)
Takeda states that “the user terminal can determine the HARQ-ACK codebook size based on the total DAI that is configured in the last subframe where a scheduling CC is present in the bundling window” (Takeda1, 0109).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Takeda1’s practice of determining the total size of a HARQ-ACK transmission based on a DAI field into Li’s method which already uses the DAI field. The total size of a HARQ-ACK transmission is a useful parameter to configure, and this can be accomplished using the DAI field which Li’s method already employs.
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0047407 A1) in view of Xiong (US 2020/0022175 A1).
As to Claim 16 and 18:
Li does not explicitly disclose:
Receive configuration information on a number of bits of the HARQ-ACK information
Determine a total number of bits of the HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration information
The configuration information is semi-static configuration information
Transmit the HARQ-ACK information with the determined total number of bits on a PUCCH resource
However, Xiong does describe methods for scheduling HARQ transmissions for heterogeneous numerologies.
Specifically, Xiong teaches:
Receive configuration information on a number of bits of the HARQ-ACK information
Xiong teaches that “for a semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook, a total number of HARQ-ACK bits may be derived based on the number of configured CCs and/or the size of the corresponding HARQ-ACK aggregation window” (Xiong, 0145).
Determine a total number of bits of the HARQ-ACK information based on the configuration information
Xiong teaches that “for a semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook, a total number of HARQ-ACK bits may be derived based on the number of configured CCs and/or the size of the corresponding HARQ-ACK aggregation window” (Xiong, 0145).
The configuration information is semi-static configuration information
Xiong teaches that “for a semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook, a total number of HARQ-ACK bits may be derived based on the number of configured CCs and/or the size of the corresponding HARQ-ACK aggregation window” (Xiong, 0145).
Transmit the HARQ-ACK information with the determined total number of bits on a PUCCH resource
Xiong teaches that “for a semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook, a total number of HARQ-ACK bits may be derived based on the number of configured CCs and/or the size of the corresponding HARQ-ACK aggregation window” (Xiong, 0145).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s practice of configuring a PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK transmission via a multicast PDSCH with Xiong’s description of a semi-static HARQ-ACK configuration. Semi-static configurations for HARQ-ACK are common and can easily be sent via a multicast PDSCH.
Claim 18 encompasses the same subject matter as Claim 16 in the form of a method claim.
Conclusion
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477