DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed 08/18/2026 has been received and considered entered. This is a response to amendments and arguments filed 08/18/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 28-29, 31-32, 34-37, 42-43 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/14/2025.
Claims Status
Claims 2, 4-14, 16-20, 25-27, 30, 33, 38-41 is/are cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 15, 21-24, 28-29, 31-32, 34-37, 42-45 is/are currently pending with claims 28-29, 31-32, 34-37, 42-43 withdrawn. Claims 1, 3, 15, 21-24, 44-45 is/are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed 08/18/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1), which requires the following: (1) a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office; (2) U.S. patents and U.S. patent application publications listed in a section separately from citations of other documents; (3) the application number of the application in which the information disclosure statement is being submitted on each page of the list; (4) a column that provides a blank space next to each document to be considered, for the examiner’s initials; and (5) a heading that clearly indicates that the list is an information disclosure statement. The information disclosure statement has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Copies of WO2017109039A1, Dong (2019), and Hartman (2018) were provided, but were not listed in the IDS provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
112(a):
Claims 1, 3, 15, 21-24, 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This rejection is maintained.
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V, v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116. Possession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actual reduction to practice, or by showing that the invention was "ready for patenting" such as by the disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete, or by describing distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Pfaff v. Wells Eiees., Inc., 525 U.S. 55, 68, 119 S.Ct. 304, 312, 48 USPQ2d 1641,1647 (1998); Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406; Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharm., 927 F. 2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (one must define a compound by "whatever characteristics sufficiently distinguish it”).
According to the MPEP § 2163, "The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutsch land GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that "only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies" that "are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus.")."
Claim 1 recites a “functional variant” of GLUT1. The specification describes a “functional variant” of a protein as having “one or more amino-acid substitutions, insertions, or deletion compared to a parental protein that retains one or more desired activities of the parental protein” (paragraph [0084]). However, the specification does not describe what the “one or more desired activities” of GLUT1 are, such that a given polypeptide can be considered a “functional variant” of GLUT1. Furthermore, as neither the specification nor claims 1-3, 21-24, and 44-45 describe any sequence or structural limitations of GLUT1 variants, an artisan would not be able to determine the sequence identity to wild-type GLUT1 or the sequence elements required for a given polypeptide to be encompassed by a “variant” of GLUT1. Thus, an artisan would not be able to determine the bounds of the genus of “functional variants” of GLUT1 and would not be able to determine that the applicants were in possession of a number of species representative of the full scope of the genus of “functional variants” of GLUT1.
In analyzing whether the written description requirement is met for genus claims, it is first determined whether a representative number of species have been described by their complete structure. In the instant case: SEQ ID NO:5 is the only species of SLC2A1 sequence which is disclosed; SEQ ID NOs:8-16, 97, 99, and 101 are the only species of full-length expression cassette sequences which are disclosed. While the genera encompass large numbers of variants and molecules with no specific function is required of the genus of SLC2A1 variants (merely that they be “functional”), and the genus encompasses a large number of variants and molecules that have a different structure, the specification does not describe the complete structure of a representative number of species of the large genera of sequences at least 75% identical to SEQ ID NOs:5, 12 or functional equivalents thereof. Additionally, the specification does not describe the complete structure of a representative number of species of the large genera of modified SLC2A1 sequences and expression cassette sequences.
Next, then, it is determined whether a representative number of species have been sufficiently described by other relevant identifying characteristics (i.e. other than nucleotide sequence), specific features and functional attributes that would distinguish different members of the claimed genus. In the instant case, the only other identifying characteristic is that the expression cassette sequences encode a “functional variant” of Glut1 and a promoter (wherein the genus of Glut1 “functional variants” and the genus of promoters lack sufficient written description). Such a functional limitation cannot be an identifying characteristic for the claimed diverse genus of molecules since by Applicant’s definition of the genera of SLC2A1 sequences and expression cassettes, or functional equivalent thereof, all members of the claimed genera will have these characteristics. Further, no identifying characteristics of the modified SLC2A1 sequences and expression cassettes are disclosed.
The inventions of claims 3, 15, 21-24, and 44-45 require the use of the inventions of claim 1 and therefore are likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the specification provides structural guidance regarding variants of GLUT1 (see page 8). Applicant indicates that such support is found in paragraphs [0087]-[0089]. Paragraph [0087] merely states that “Various mutations in SLC2A1are known to be associated with GLUT1 DS”, but does not provide a description of SLC2A1 mutations which are not known to be associated with GLUT1 DS or with any disease, and which could reasonably be assumed to not affect any desired functions of GLUT1. A description in the art of a limited set of variant proteins which are known to be associated with particular diseases cannot be interpreted to also describe variants of those proteins which do not affect function of those proteins, as some variants which do or could affect protein function and are associated with a disease may not have been discovered or described, or may not cause or be associated with a disease.
Applicant argues that “the written description requirement does not require Applicant to enumerate every possible functional variant encompassed by the claims” (page 9). MPEP§2163(II)(3)(a)(ii) states the following:
“A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that "only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies" that "are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus."). The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]." See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.").”
“Satisfactory disclosure of a "representative number" depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the inventor was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. Instead, the disclosure must adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus, either through the disclosure of sufficient species that are "representative of the full variety or scope of the genus," or by the establishment of "a reasonable structure-function correlation." Such correlations may be established "by the inventor as described in the specification," or they may be "known in the art at the time of the filing date." See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1300-01, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790-91 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Holding that claims to all human antibodies that bind IL-12 with a particular binding affinity rate constant (i.e., koff) were not adequately supported by a specification describing only a single type of human antibody having the claimed features because the disclosed antibody was not representative of other types of antibodies in the claimed genus, as demonstrated by the fact that other disclosed antibodies had different types of heavy and light chains, and shared only a 50% sequence similarity in their variable regions with the disclosed antibodies.).”
While the specification does not need to provide a teaching of the structure-function relationship of GLUT1 sufficient to describe the genus of GLUT1 functional variants, if the specification does not teach this, the prior art must teach this. As argued above, a teaching in the prior art of a limited set of GLUT1 variants which do not preserve desired functions of GLUT1 is not also a teaching of variants of GLUT1 which do preserve desired protein function. Neither the specification nor the prior art provide sufficient description of the full scope of the genus of functional variants of GLUT1.
Applicant further argues that Dong and Hartman provide evidence that “predicting the effects of sequence variations were well-established at the time of filing”. However, Dong and Hartman do not provide evidence that the effects of GLUT1 sequence variations could be reasonably predicted, as Dong and Hartman describe variations of structurally distinct sequences. Dong describes methodologies for predicting the effects of sequence variants of promoters and enhancers, which are structurally distinct from protein-coding sequences, with different considerations regarding structural or functional consequences of sequence variations—for example, promoters and enhancers are not transcribed and translated into amino acid sequences whose folding may be affected by sequence variations and whose improper folding may affect function. Hartman describes methodology for predicting effects of sequence variations of a viral self-folding protein, and states in the Abstract that these methodologies could be used with any self-folding protein; searches of the art did not yield evidence that GLUT1 is a self-folded protein. An artisan would not be able to apply the methodologies of Dong and Hartman to GLUT1 with a reasonably assumption of success in predicting the functional effects of sequence variants.
While Applicant did not reference Dong in their rebuttal of the written description rejections of non-coding sequences (promoter sequences, UTRs, AAV ITRs) with less than 100% sequence identity to the reference sequence, the Examiner has withdrawn these rejections based on the teachings of Dong, as Dong makes clear that methodology for predicting the functional effects of sequence variations of untranslated regions and noncoding regions was known in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Vivo (US20180042991A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nicklin (2001). This rejection is modified (previously a rejection of claim 2) and maintained.
Regarding claim 1, De Vivo teaches an expression cassette comprising a transgene encoding Glut1, wherein the transgene is operatively linked to a promoter (claim 1).
However, De Vivo does not teach that the promoter is an endothelial-specific promoter. De Vivo does teach that expression of the expression cassette in the blood-brain barrier endothelium is desired and preferred (claims 3, 17; paragraphs [0011]-[0012], [0021]).
Nicklin teaches endothelium-specific promoters.
Regarding claim 1, Nicklin teaches that the FLT-1 promoter is a tissue-specific promoter, specific to endothelial cells (Abstract).
De Vivo teaches that “the predominant cellular site of action [of wild-type Glut1 protein] appears to be the endothelial cells of the brain micro-vessels where it functions in the facilitated transport of glucose across the blood-brain barrier” (paragraph [0021]), and teaches that the expression cassette must be able to be expressed in endothelial cells (claims 3, 17). While De Vivo teaches the use of constitutive promoters, such as CMV and CAG (claims 2, 4; paragraph [0049]), it would have been obvious to an artisan that endothelium-specific promoters known in the art could be used instead of constitutive promoters to drive expression of Glut1 specifically in endothelial cells—where De Vivo teaches Glut1 activity is most predominant, and where De Vivo teaches the expression cassette should be expressed. It would have been obvious to an artisan that such tissue-specific expression of the cassette of De Vivo would reduce expression of Glut1 in undesired tissues (see for example, paragraph [0140], wherein De Vivo teaches that expression of the cassette in liver could result in hypoglycemia, an undesired effect).
Claim(s) 3, 15, 21-24, 44-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Vivo (US20180042991A1) and Nicklin (2001), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chuah (WO2017109039A1). This is a new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment (SEQ ID NO:1 is newly required).
The teachings of De Vivo and Nicklin are discussed above and render obvious the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, De Vivo teaches that the expression cassette comprises: a polyA signal (Table 1; paragraphs [0045], [0047]); and a polynucleotide of SEQ ID NO:32 (Table 1; SEQ ID NO:32 is 99.8% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:5, see alignment below).
Regarding claim 21, De Vivo teaches that the expression cassette is flanked by 5’ and 3’ ITRs (see Table 1), wherein the 5’ and 3’ ITRs have the sequences of SEQ ID NO:29 and 34, respectively (SEQ ID NOs:29 and 34 are at least 75% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs:6 and 7, see alignments below).
SEQ ID NO:29 (Db) aligned to instant SEQ ID NO:6 (Qy):
SEQ ID NO:34 (Db) aligned to instant SEQ ID NO:7 (Qy):
Regarding claim 23, De Vivo teaches that the expression vector is used in a method of gene therapy, and thus is a gene therapy vector (claim 14).
Regarding claim 24, De Vivo teaches that the gene therapy vector is a recombinant AAV (rAAV) vector, wherein the rAAV is AAV8 or AAV9 (claims 1, 5).
Regarding claim 44, De Vivo teaches a composition comprising the vector and a pharmaceutical carrier (claims 9-10), and teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the vector (paragraphs [0057], [0075]).
Regarding claim 45, De Vivo teaches a kit comprising the vector (claims 11-12).
However, neither De Vivo nor Nicklin teach the sequence of the FLT1 promoter.
Chuah teaches the FLT1 promoter sequence.
Regarding claim 3, Chuah teaches that the FLT1 promoter has the sequence of SEQ ID NO:37 (100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1, see alignment below).
As described above, it would have been obvious to an artisan to use an epithelium-specific promoter to drive expression of GLUT1 in epithelial cells, as required by De Vivo, and as the FLT1 promoter is an epithelium-specific promoter, it would have been obvious to use the FLT1 promoter to drive GLUT1 expression in epithelial cells. Chuah teaches that the FLT1 promoter sequence was known and was 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1. As it would have been obvious to use the FLT1 promoter sequence based on the combined teachings of De Vivo and Nicklin, it would have been obvious to use a known FLT1 promoter sequence, such as that of Chuah.
Regarding claim 22, De Vivo teaches an expression cassette (pAAV9-CB6 PI hGlut1, Table 1) comprising a promoter sequence of SEQ ID NOs:30 (CMV IE enhancer) and 31 (CB promoter), an hGlut1 cDNA sequence of SEQ ID NO:32, and a polyA signal of SEQ ID NO:33 (see Table 1). SEQ ID NO:12, recited by instant claim 22, is depicted in instant Fig. 4 (see instant specification [0056]). Instant Fig. 4 shows that instant SEQ ID NO:10 comprises three significant sequence elements: an hFLT1 promoter (instant SEQ ID NO:1, described on page 31, see alignment below between SEQ ID NO:1 and SEQ ID NO:12), SLC2A1 (instant SEQ ID NO:5, see alignment below between SEQ ID NO:5 and SEQ ID NO:12), and a polyadenylation signal (instant SEQ ID NO:75, see alignment below between SEQ ID NO:75 and SEQ ID NO:12).
Instant SEQ ID NO:1 (Qy) and SEQ ID NO:12 (Db):
Instant SEQ ID NO:5 (Qy) and SEQ ID NO:12 (Db):
Instant SEQ ID NO:75 (Qy) and SEQ ID NO:12 (Db):
A BLAST search of the components of instant SEQ ID NO:12 not accounted for by SEQ ID NOs:1, 5, and 75 did not produce any alignments over 100% of the length that were not synthetic constructs (see below)
Nucleotides 3346-3409:
Based on these search results and alignments, and in the absence of any teaching to the contrary in the disclosure, the FLT1 promoter, SLC2A1, and polyA sequences of SEQ ID NO:12 are considered to be the only sequence elements holding patentable weight; the remainder of SEQ ID NO:12, in particular nucleotides 3346-3409, is considered to comprise unspecified sequences which do not affect the structure or function of the defined promoter, SLC2A1, and polyA sequences, and do not affect the required functionality of the claimed expression cassette, and which are the incidental product of insertion of the promoter, coding, and polyA sequences into a generic, unspecified expression vector.
De Vivo teaches an expression cassette of SEQ ID NO:28 comprising, 5’ to 3’: a promoter sequence; a coding sequence 99.8% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:5 (accounting for 1473 nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO:12); and a polyA sequence 9.6% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:75 (accounting for 19 nucleotides of SEQ ID NO:12) (Table 1; see alignments below).
SEQ ID NO:28 and instant SEQ ID NO:5:
SEQ ID NO:28 and instant SEQ ID NO:75:
As discussed above, De Vivo, Nicklin, and Chuah render obvious the use of the FLT1 promoter instead of the ubiquitous promoters of De Vivo, and render obvious the promoter sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:1, accounting for 1037 nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO:12.
The expression cassette rendered obvious by De Vivo, Nicklin, and Chuah thus accounts for 2,529 of 2,715 nucleotides of the combination of instant SEQ ID NOs:1, 5, and 75 (93.1% identity), or 2,529 of 3,345 nucleotides of SEQ ID NO:12, excluding nucleotides 3346-3409 (75.6% identity), rendering obvious expression cassettes at least 75% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:12, excluding nucleotides 3346-3409, which, as shown above, correspond to generic, unspecified synthetic sequences.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that neither De Vivo nor Nicklin provide a rationale for or a teaching of operably linking a GLUT1-encoding sequence and an FLT-1 promoter sequence, and that therefore, it would not be obvious to link an FLT-1 promoter and a sequence encoding GLUT-1.
As discussed above, De Vivo teaches that the GLUT1 expression vector is intended to be expressed in endothelial cells. An artisan would know that promoters may be ubiquitous or may be tissue-specific in expression patterns, and that if expression of a coding sequence in a particular tissue type is desired, that any promoter which drives expression of a gene in said tissue type may be used, including ubiquitous and tissue-specific promoters. An artisan driven to express the vector of De Vivo in endothelial tissue would be motivated to seek out endothelial-specific promoters in order to reduce expression in undesired tissues and promote expression in the desired tissue. Nicklin teaches multiple different promoters which are specific to endothelial tissues, including the FLT-1 promoter. As it would have been obvious to an artisan that any promoter which can drive expression of a linked gene in endothelial tissue may be used in place of the promoter taught by De Vivo, and as Nicklin teaches multiple different endothelium-specific promoters, it would have been obvious to the artisan that any of the endothelium-specific promoters of Nicklin may be used in place of the promoter of De Vivo in a vector intended to express GLUT1 in endothelial tissue.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For those applications where applicant wishes to communicate with the examiner via Internet communications, e.g., email or video conferencing tools, the following is a sample authorization form which may be used by applicant:
"Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file."
To facilitate processing of the internet communication authorization or withdraw of authorization, the Office strongly encourages use of Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The form may be filed via EFS-Web using the document description Internet Communications Authorized or Internet Communications Authorization Withdrawn to facilitate processing. See MPEP 502.03(II).
/AFRICA M MCLEOD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/KIMBERLY CHONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636