Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-2, 5, 11, 14, 17, 22, 24, 26, 30, 33, 36-37 and 64-65) in the reply filed on 12/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Election of the following species on the reply filed on 12/14/2025 is acknowledged:
a polynucleotide that shares at least 75%, 80%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98%, 99% or 100% identity with SEQ ID NO: 9.
2) (ii), a cardiac troponin T (hTNNT2) promoter
3) (i), the variant that shares at least 75%, at least 80%, at least 85%, at least 90%, at least 95%, at least 96%, at least 97%, at least 98%, at least 99%, at 100% identity with SEQ ID NO: 1.
Claims Status
Claims 2-4, 6-10, 12-13, 15-16, 18-21, 23, 25, 27-29, 31-32, 34-35, 38-46, 48-51, 53-54, 57-62 and 66-72 are canceled, no claims are newly added, claims 33, 47, 52, 55-56 and 63 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected subject matter, and claims 1, 5, 11, 14, 17, 22, 24, 26, 30, 36-37, 64 and 65 have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been considered.
Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application No. PCT/US2021/044412, filed 08/03/2021.
Applicant' s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed parent provisional application 63061727, filed on 08/05/2020, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
The effective priority date for the instant application is 08/05/2020.
Withdrawn Objections & Rejections
Applicant's response filed 08/04/2026 has been considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous Office action mailed 05/05/2026 are hereby withdrawn.
The objections and rejections presented herein represent the full set of objections and rejections currently pending in the application.
Notice of Non-responsive Amendment
The reply filed on 08/04/2026, is not fully responsive to the prior Office Action because of the following omission(s) or matter(s): the claims are not considered to be in compliance with 37 CFR § 1.121, recited here:
§ 1.121(c) Manner of making amendments in applications.
Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of "canceled" or "not entered" may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(c)(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn— currently amended.”
Regarding claim 47: The claim amendment submitted 08/04/2026, lists claim 47 as being previously presented. However, claim 47 was withdrawn, as stated in the Office Action filed 05/05/2026.
Regarding claims 48-52: The claim amendment submitted 08/04/2026, omits claims 48-52.
Claims 48-51 are canceled in the previous claims filed 06/26/2023 and are considered canceled in the instant analysis.
Claim 52 is withdrawn in the previous claims filed 06/26/2023 and is considered withdrawn in the instant analysis.
While it would be appropriate to reject entry of the present amendment for noncompliance with 37 CFR § 1.121, applicant is instead respectfully reminded to properly note the status of each claim submitted in order to avoid the issuance of a Notice of Non-Compliant Amendment, which would delay prosecution and potentially have an adverse effect on any patent term adjustment should the claims proceed to issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 17, 24, 30 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is a repeated rejection from the action filed 05/05/2026.
Regarding claim 5, 17, 24, 30 and 37: The claims recite at least 75%, at least 80%, at least 85% identity with Seq ID NO: 32, Seq ID NO:1, Seq ID NO 5 or 7, and Seq ID NOs 77-79, respectively.
Seq ID NO 32 is a nucleic acid sequence encoding the hTNNT2 promoter and comprising 544 nucleotides.
Seq ID NO: 1 is an amino acid sequence encoding MLP and comprising 194 residues.
Seq ID NO: 5 is a nucleic acid sequence encoding MLP and comprising 582 nucleotides.
Seq ID NOs: 77-79 are amino acid sequences encoding AAV capsid proteins comprising 736, 736 and 738 residues respectively.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of at least 75% identity with an amino acid or nucleotide sequence means that the sequence can vary by up to 25% of the positions, at any position. For a nucleotide sequence, there are three possible nucleotides that could substituted within the reference sequence at any one or more positions up to 25% of the sequence. For an amino acid sequence, there are 19 possible amino acids that could be substituted at any one or more positions within the sequence, up to 25% of the sequence.
Thus the genus of sequences claimed by the instant invention is extremely broad.
Teachings of the instant specification
The instant specification provides references sequences for the claimed genera of sequences, but does not provide guidance as to specific domains that can be altered or variants that can be used in the instant invention to generate sequences with at least 75% sequence identity with the claimed Seq ID NOs.
The state of the art:
The instant invention encompasses a broad genus of sequences with at least 75% sequence identity with nucleic acid sequences and amino acid sequences which encode a promoter sequence, MLP protein and capsid protein. These are all sequences that perform a function which is defined by the structure of the encoded nucleic acid sequence (promoter) or protein polypeptide (MLP and capsid).
It is well known in the art that predicting function from a sequence is a central problem of biology and thus there is uncertainty in changing up to 25% of the claimed sequences as evidenced by Lagator et al. (elife (2022)0:e64543;1-25). Lagator teach predicting function from sequence is possible only locally in a narrow mutational neighborhood around a wildtype sequence rather than globally from any sequence (Abstract).
Lagator experimentally and theoretically estimated that 10-20% of random sequences lead to expression in general (abstract). Furthermore, it is not guaranteed that any sequence that does lead to expression of the exogenous gene will drive its expression the desired cell type.
Furthermore, regarding the prediction of changes to a promoter sequence based on known variants, Dong et al. (Human Mutation (2019) 40;1-7) teach Genome-Wide Association Studies (GWAS) provide insights into human phenotypes and assists in identifying functional SNPs (which in a promoter region would be considered a promoter variant) (p1 col1 ¶1/2). Dong further teach that computational tools can intersect the position of variants with regulatory elements to prioritize variants in non-coding regions, however independent methods for evaluating the performance of the tools is needed (p1 col1/2). Thus the prediction of the effect of changes to a promoter sequence is uncertain and must be tested experimentally.
Regarding the prediction of changes to a sequence encoding the MLP protein, as discussed supra, while the art also teaches MLP variants are known, primarily in the role of disease, Vafiadaki further teach that for most MLP variants the functional role of the mutation is unknown (p4 col1/2 ¶4/1). Thus prediction of the effect of sequence changes within the MLP sequence on protein function is uncertain and requires experimental validation.
Regarding the prediction of changes to a capsid protein, Hartman et al. (Nature Communications (2018) 9:1385;1-11) teach that while computational methods can assist with understanding protein self-assembly, the subtly cooperative nature of protein self-assembly interactions still makes it difficult to predict how particularly amino acid substitutions will affect self-assembly behavior (p2 col1 ¶1). Hartman further teach single amino acid substitutions can lead to significant changes to the structure and function of a protein pr protein assembly, often leading to surprising outcomes, further complicating computational predictions (p2 col1 ¶1). Thus the effect of even small changes to protein capsid sequences is unpredictable and must be tested empirically.
Due the unpredictability in predicting the effect on function of even small changes to nucleic acid and polypeptide sequences, as discussed supra, one of ordinary skill in the art would be required to undergo a
trial-and-error selection process to identify the sequences that fall within the
sequence limitations of the claims and can perform the required function. It
would be unpredictable to determine which sequences perform the functions
of a promoter, an MLP or a capsid protein a priori.
Conclusion
As described supra, the instant specification provides reference sequences for comparison to the broad genus of at least 75% sequence identity.
However the instant specification provides no guidance as how to avoid losing key structural or binding components of the claimed promoter, MLP and capsid sequences with substitution of up to 25% of the residues and the art does not provide a remedy.
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that promoter, MLP and capsid protein function requires structural components to mediate binding to nucleic acid sequences and/or amino acid sequences (e.g. effector proteins, binding partners) for a functional system. One of ordinary skill in the art would also understand that the effect of nucleic acid substitutions or amino acid substitutions in the reference sequences can have unpredictable effects on the structure and function of the promoter or proteins encoded by the sequence.
This demonstrates that, while some promoter variants, MLP variants and capsid protein variants are known in the art, substitution or deletion of up to 25% of the residues within the claimed sequence at any position of the sequence is unpredictable and the effect of said sequence changes would require trial-and-error testing.
MPEP states “[a] specification may call for a reasonable amount of experimentation to make and use a patented invention. What is reasonable in any case will depend on the nature of the invention and the underlying art”.
In the case of the instant claims trial and error and/or laborious screening methods are required to identify sequence variants as claimed and the species examples provided in the instant disclosure and art are not of a large enough breadth to impart predictability on the genus as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 11, 14, 17, 22, 24, 30, 36, 37 and 64-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin et al. (Cell Reports (2019) 26;1021-1032 and e1-e6; cited previously) as evidenced by NovaPro (pAAV-IRES-hrGFP vector [online]. NovaPro [retrieved on 04/26/2026]. Retrieved from the Internet: https://www.novoprolabs.com/vector/Vgezdqobq), NCBI NP_476485.2 (NP_476485.2 [online]. NCBI [retrieved on 04/30/2026]. Retrieved from the Internet: <https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/protein/NP_476485.2?report=genbank&log$=protalign&blast_rank=1&RID=Z6T0T6RG014NCBI) and NCBI NM_057144.2 (NM_057144.2 [online]. NCBI [retrieved on 04/30/2026]. Retrieved from the Internet: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/NM_057144.2; cited previously) in view of Marian et al. (Circ Res (2017) 121:7;1-48; cited previously), Mearini et al. (Nature Communications (2014) 5:5515;1-10; cited previously) and Ni et al. (Circ Res (2019) p256-262; cited previously).
This is a new rejection required by the claim amendments, but relies upon art of previous record. Relevant arguments are addressed below in the “Response to Arguments”.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 14 and 36-37 The claim comprises optional elements which are interpreted as not required for the claimed invention. Thus the broadest reasonable interpretation of the invention requires a polynucleotide comprising an expression cassette which comprises a polynucleotide sequence encoding Muscle Lim Protein (MLP) or a functional variant thereof, operatively linked to a promoter.
Levin teach Muscle LIM protein (MLP) expression correlates with the ability of retinal ganglion cells to regenerate injured axons (abstract). Levin further teach adult rats receive intravitreal injections of MLP-AAV for over expression of MLP (Fig 3a, p1025 col2 ¶2). MLP-AAV for overexpression reads on a polynucleotide comprising an expression cassette comprising a polynucleotide sequence encoding MLP. Levin teach exogenous MLP increases retinal ganglion cell neurite growth (Fig 5 G). Therefor the MLP taught by Levin is considered functional because it induces an effect (increased neurite length). The MLP-AAV vector taught by Levin is also considered a gene therapy vector because it improves neurite growth (Fig 5G).
Levin teach MLP-AAV is constructed by cloning MLP cDNA into the pAAV-IRES-hrGFP vector (methods -e3 ¶4). As evidenced by NovaPro, the pAAV-IRES-hrGFP expression vector uses the CMV promoter to drive transgene expression, thus MLP is operatively linked to a promoter (NovaPro p1).
Levin teach the AAV vector for MLP-AAV is pAAV-IRES-hrGFP vector (methods -e3 ¶4). As evidenced by NovaPro, the pAAV-IRES-hrGFP vector comprises the CMV promoter. Levin do not teach the promoter is the cardiac specific promoter troponin T or shares at least 75% identity with Seq ID NO: 32.
Marian teach hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM) is a genetic disorder and an important cause of sudden cardiac death (abstract). Marian further teach that mutations in CSRP3 (the gene encoding muscle LIM protein) are established causes of HCM (p3 ¶2; Table 1A). Marian teach that current treatment of patients with HCM does not target the underlying genetic defect and is therefore not effective in prevention or induction of regression of cardiac hypertrophy and fibrosis (p18/19 ¶4/1).
Mearini teach hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM) is the most prevalent inherited cardiac disease and that MYBPC3 (the gene encoding cMyBP-C) is the most frequently mutated gene (p2 col1 ¶1). Mearini further teach delivery of Mybpc3 using an AAV vector (gene replacement therapy) prevents development of HCM in a mouse model of HCM which comprises a mutation in MYBPC3 (p2 col1 ¶2/3). Mearini teach the AAV vector delivers the transgene under the control of human cardiac troponin T promoter (hTTNT2 promoter) (p2 col1 ¶4). Mearini do not disclose the nucleic acid sequence of the hTTNT2 promoter.
Ni teach AAV vectors containing cardiac troponin T promotor show transgene (GFP) expression in all 4 chambers of the heart (abstract). Ni discloses the hTNNT2 promoter sequence is positions 180-723 of the AAV9-TNT4-GFP vector (supplementary p11). The hTNNT2 promoter taught by Ni shares 100% sequence identity with Seq ID NO: 32 of the instant disclosure. See below for an alignment of Seq ID NO: 32 and the promoter disclosed by Ni. Seq ID NO: 32 and the Sequence of Ni are labeled as Query and Sbjct respectively:
Query 1 CTCAGTCCATTAGGAGCCAGTAGCCTGGAAGATGTCTTTACCCCCAGCATCAGTTCAAGT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1 CTCAGTCCATTAGGAGCCAGTAGCCTGGAAGATGTCTTTACCCCCAGCATCAGTTCAAGT 60
Query 61 GGAGCAGCACATAACTCTTGCCCTCTGCCTTCCAAGATTCTGGTGCTGAGACTTATGGAG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 61 GGAGCAGCACATAACTCTTGCCCTCTGCCTTCCAAGATTCTGGTGCTGAGACTTATGGAG 120
Query 121 TGTCTTGGAGGTTGCCTTCTGCCCCCCAACCCTGCTCCCAGCTGGCCCTCCCAGGCCTGG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 121 TGTCTTGGAGGTTGCCTTCTGCCCCCCAACCCTGCTCCCAGCTGGCCCTCCCAGGCCTGG 180
Query 181 GTTGCTGGCCTCTGCTTTATCAGGATTCTCAAGAGGGACAGCTGGTTTATGTTGCATGAC 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 181 GTTGCTGGCCTCTGCTTTATCAGGATTCTCAAGAGGGACAGCTGGTTTATGTTGCATGAC 240
Query 241 TGTTCCCTGCATATCTGCTCTGGTTTTAAATAGCTTATCTGAGCAGCTGGAGGACCACAT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 241 TGTTCCCTGCATATCTGCTCTGGTTTTAAATAGCTTATCTGAGCAGCTGGAGGACCACAT 300
Query 301 GGGCTTATATGGCGTGGGGTACATGTTCCTGTAGCCTTGTCCCTGGCACCTGCCAAAATA 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 301 GGGCTTATATGGCGTGGGGTACATGTTCCTGTAGCCTTGTCCCTGGCACCTGCCAAAATA 360
Query 361 GCAGCCAAcaccccccacccccaccgccatccccctgccccacccgtccccTGTCGCACA 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 361 GCAGCCAACACCCCCCACCCCCACCGCCATCCCCCTGCCCCACCCGTCCCCTGTCGCACA 420
Query 421 TTCCTCCCTCCGCAGGGCTGGCTCACCAGGCCCCAGCCCACATGCCTGCTTAAAGCCCTC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 421 TTCCTCCCTCCGCAGGGCTGGCTCACCAGGCCCCAGCCCACATGCCTGCTTAAAGCCCTC 480
Query 481 TCCATCCTCTGCCTCACCCAGTCCCCGCTGAGACTGAGCAGACGCCTCCAGGATCTGTCG 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 481 TCCATCCTCTGCCTCACCCAGTCCCCGCTGAGACTGAGCAGACGCCTCCAGGATCTGTCG 540
Query 541 GCAG 544
||||
Sbjct 541 GCAG 544
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the composition of Levin drawn to a polynucleotide comprising an expression cassette comprising a polynucleotide sequence encoding MLP by using the cardiac specific hTNNT2 promoter as taught by Ni.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the expression cassette as taught by Levin by replacing the CMV promoter with the hTNNT2 promoter to for the purposes of expressing the MLP protein specifically in cardiac cells because Marian teach mutations in CRP3 cause HCM and Mearini teach gene replacement therapy using an AAV to deliver a transgene with expression under the control of the hTNNT2 promoter is successful in treating a mouse model of HCM.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the disclosures are drawn to functional components of AAV vectors used for delivering a transgene for gene therapy. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that exchanging known functional components of a gene delivery system uses standard methods known in the art and the results would be predictable.
Regarding claim 11: The teachings of Levin et al., Marian et al., Mearini et al. and Ni are discussed supra.
Levin further teach MLP-AAV is constructed by cloning MLP cDNA into the pAAV-IRES-hrGFP vector (methods -e3 ¶4). As evidenced by NovaPro, the pAAV-IRES-hrGFP expression vector comprises a poly(A) signal.
Regarding claim 17: The claim requires an amino acid sequence with at least 75% identity with Seq Id NO:1.
The teachings of Levin et al., Marian et al., Mearini et al. and Ni are discussed supra.
Levin further teach MLP is cloned from rat retinal (Supplementary e3 ¶4). Rat MLP (NCBI NP_476485.2) comprises 96% sequence identity with the instant Seq ID NO:1 (see below; Query is Seq ID NO:1 and Sbjct is rat MLP):
Query 1 MPNWGGGAKCGACEKTVYHAEEIQCNGRSFHKTCFHCMACRKALDSTTVAAHESEIYCKV 60
MPNWGGGAKCGAC+KTVYHAEEIQCNGRSFHKTCFHCMACRKALDSTTVAAHESEIYCKV
Sbjct 1 MPNWGGGAKCGACDKTVYHAEEIQCNGRSFHKTCFHCMACRKALDSTTVAAHESEIYCKV 60
Query 61 CYGRRYGPKGIGYGQGAGCLSTDTGEHLGLQFQQSPKPARSVTTSNPSKFTAKFGESEKC 120
CYGR+YGPKGIG+GQGAGCLSTDTGEHLGLQFQQSPKPAR+ TTSNPSKF+AKFGESEKC
Sbjct 61 CYGRKYGPKGIGFGQGAGCLSTDTGEHLGLQFQQSPKPARAATTSNPSKFSAKFGESEKC 120
Query 121 PRCGKSVYAAEKVMGGGKPWHKTCFRCAICGKSLESTNVTDKDGELYCKVCYAKNFGPTG 180
PRCGKSVYAAEKVMGGGKPWHKTCFRCAICGKSLESTNVTDKDGELYCKVCYAKNFGPTG
Sbjct 121 PRCGKSVYAAEKVMGGGKPWHKTCFRCAICGKSLESTNVTDKDGELYCKVCYAKNFGPTG 180
Query 181 IGFGGLTQQVEKKE 194
IGFGGLT QVEKKE
Sbjct 181 IGFGGLTHQVEKKE 194
Regarding claim 22: The teachings of Levin et al., Marian et al., Mearini et al. and Ni are discussed supra.
Levin further teach the nucleotide sequence encoding the MLP protein is cloned from rat. CSRP3 is the name of the gene that encodes the MLP protein, thus the disclosure of Levin reads on the invention as claimed.
Regarding claim 24: The claim requires a nucleotide sequence with at least 75% identity with Seq Id NO:5.
The teachings of Levin et al., Marian et al., Mearini et al. and Ni are discussed supra.
Levin further teach MLP is cloned from rat retina (Supplementary e3 ¶4). The nucleotide sequence encoding rat MLP (NCBI NM_057144.2) comprises 90% sequence identity with Seq ID NO: 5 (see below; Query is Seq ID NO:5 and Sbjct is rat CSRP3):
Query 1 ATGCCAAACTGGGGCGGAGGCGCAAAATGTGGAGCCTGTGAAAAGACCGTCTACCATGCA 60
||||| |||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||| || ||||| || |||||||||
Sbjct 122 ATGCCGAACTGGGGTGGAGGTGCAAAATGTGGAGCCTGCGACAAGACGGTTTACCATGCA 181
Query 61 GAAGAAATCCAGTGCAATGGAAGGAGTTTCCACAAGACGTGTTTCCACTGCATGGCCTGC 120
|||||||||||||||||||| ||||| ||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 182 GAAGAAATCCAGTGCAATGGGAGGAGCTTCCATAAGACCTGTTTCCACTGCATGGCCTGC 241
Query 121 AGGAAGGCTCTTGACAGCACGACAGTCGCGGCTCATGAGTCGGAGATCTACTGCAAGGTG 180
||||||||||| |||||||| ||||| || ||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||
Sbjct 242 AGGAAGGCTCTGGACAGCACCACAGTGGCAGCTCATGAGTCAGAGATCTACTGTAAGGTC 301
Query 181 TGCTATGGGCGCAGATATGGCCCCAAAGGGATCGGGTATGGACAAGGCGCTGGCTGTCTC 240
||||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||||||||||| |||
Sbjct 302 TGCTATGGGCGCAAGTATGGCCCCAAGGGGATCGGGTTTGGACAAGGCGCTGGCTGCCTC 361
Query 241 AGCACAGACACGGGCGAGCATCTCGGCCTGCAGTTCCAACAGTCCCCAAAGCCGGCACGC 300
||||||||||| |||||||| || ||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||
Sbjct 362 AGCACAGACACCGGCGAGCACCTTGGCCTGCAGTTCCAACAATCCCCAAAGCCAGCACGT 421
Query 301 TCAGTTACCACCAGCAACCCTTCCAAATTCACTGCGAAGTTTGGAGAGTCCGAGAAGTGC 360
||| ||||| |||||||||||||| ||| |||||||||||||||| || |||||||||
Sbjct 422 GCAGCCACCACGAGCAACCCTTCCAAGTTCTCTGCGAAGTTTGGAGAATCAGAGAAGTGC 481
Query 361 CCTCGATGTGGCAAGTCAGTCTATGCTGCTGAGAAGGTTATGGGAGGTGGCAAGCCTTGG 420
|| ||||| || ||||| || ||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||| |||
Sbjct 482 CCACGATGCGGAAAGTCGGTATATGCTGCTGAGAAGGTCATGGGAGGTGGCAAGCCCTGG 541
Query 421 CACAAGACCTGTTTCCGCTGTGCCATCTGTGGGAAGAGTCTGGAGTCCACAAATGTCACT 480
|| |||||||| || ||||| ||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 542 CATAAGACCTGCTTTCGCTGCGCCATCTGTGGGAAGAGCCTGGAGTCCACAAATGTCACT 601
Query 481 GACAAAGATGGGGAACTTTATTGCAAAGTTTGCTATGCCAAAAATTTTGGCCCCACGGGT 540
||||| |||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||
Sbjct 602 GACAAGGATGGGGAGCTTTATTGCAAAGTTTGCTATGCCAAAAATTTTGGCCCCACAGGC 661
Query 541 ATTGGGTTTGGAGGCCTTACACAACAAGTGGAAAAGAA 578
|||||||||||||| |||||||| ||||||||||||||
Sbjct 662 ATTGGGTTTGGAGGGCTTACACACCAAGTGGAAAAGAA 699
Thus the disclosure of Levin reads on the invention as claimed.
Regarding claim 30: The claim recites optional components that are not considered required for the instant claim, as discussed supra. The claim recites options i. and ii. in the alternative (and/or). Thus the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires only the polynucleotide of claim 1 flanked by 5’ and 3’ inverted terminal repeats.
The teachings of Levin et al., Marian et al., Mearini et al. and Ni are discussed supra. Levin further teach MLP-AAV is constructed by cloning MLP cDNA into the pAAV-IRES-hrGFP vector (methods -e3 ¶4). As evidenced by NovaPro, the pAAV-IRES-hrGFP vector expression cassette is flanked by 5’ and 3’ ITRs (NovaPro p1).
Regarding claim 64: The teachings of Levin et al., Marian et al., Mearini et al. and Ni are discussed supra. Levin further teach adult rats receive intravitreal injections of MLP-AAV for over expression of MLP (Fig 3a, p1025 col2 ¶2). An intravitreal injection of a vector is necessarily a pharmaceutical composition of the vector and thus reads on the instant invention.
Regarding claim 65: The teachings of Levin et al., Marian et al., Mearini et al. and Ni are discussed supra. A kit is broadly interpreted as a composition comprising the components required for the claimed kit. The instant invention requires a pharmaceutical composition comprising a vector comprising a polynucleotide comprising an expression cassette comprising a polynucleotide sequence encoding MLP.
As discussed supra, Levin et al., Marian et al., Mearini et al. and Ni teach the combination of components required by the claimed kit, and thus renders the kit as claimed.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin et al., Marian et al., Mearini et al. and Ni et al, as applied to claims 1, 5, 11, 14, 17, 22, 24, 30, 36, 37 and 64-65 above, and further in view of Ostedgaard et al. (PNAS (2005) 102:8;1-6).
Regarding claim 26: The teachings of Levin are discussed supra. Levin is silent as to the size of the expression cassette.
Ostedgaard et al. (PNAS (2005) 102:8;1-6) teach AAV vectors for gene transfer therapy for a human disease (CFTR) (abstract). Ostedgaard further teach the optimal insert size for AAV vectors is 4.1-4.9 kb (p1 col1 ¶3).
MPEP 2131.03 reads “"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated' if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the composition of Levin drawn to a polynucleotide comprising an expression cassette comprising a polynucleotide sequence encoding MLP by using an expression cassette (insert) of 4.1-4.9 kb as taught by Ostedgaard.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the expression cassette as taught by Levin by incorporating an expression cassette of 4.1-4.9 kb because Ostedgaard teach 4.1-4.9 kb is the optimal insert size for an AAV vector.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both disclosures are drawn to AAV vectors.
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin et al., Marian et al., Mearini et al. and Ni et al., as applied to claims 1, 5, 11, 14, 17, 22, 24, 30, 36, 37 and 64-65 above.
Regarding claim 65: The teachings of Levin, Marian, Mearini and Ni are discussed supra. The teachings are considered to render obvious the claim, and the limitation of a kit is also considered obvious.
While Levin, Marian, Mearini and Ni do not explicitly disclose a kit comprising a pharmaceutical composition of the MLP-AAV, Levin do describe all the limitations in the kit claims in combination and thus read on the kit product as claimed. It is well-known in the art to separately package ingredients to be combined together for the known advantage of improved storage and prevention of premature reaction and thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to generate a kit based on the disclosure of Levin and what was commonly known in the art at the time of the invention.
Therefore the invention as claimed is rendered obvious by Levin et al., Marian et al., Mearini et al., Ni et al., Patricio et al. and Ostedgaard et al..
Response to Arguments
The responses are directed to the Arguments filed 08/04/2026. All arguments have been considered.
Regarding Arguments directed to 35 USC § 112(a):
Claims 1, 14 and 22: The amendment to the claims deleting the phrase “a functional variant thereof” overcomes the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claims 5, 17, 24, 30 and 37: The claims were rejected for reciting “at least 75% sequence identity” in regards to claimed nucleic and amino acid sequences Seq Id NO: 32, Seq ID NO: 1, Seq ID NO: 5 and Seq ID NOs: 77-79.
Applicant submits that the claims are fully enabled because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to predict the effect of substitution or deletion of up to 25% of the residues within the claimed sequences in view of the present specification and the references cited in the Office Action.
The rejection is drawn to the disclosure failing to comply with the written description requirement, not enablement.
Applicant further argues that because one of ordinary skill in the art could evaluate the functional consequences of modifying up to 25% of the residues in the claimed amino acid sequences using routine experimentation and established analytical frameworks one would be able to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation.
While the Examiner agrees that the invention is enabled by the disclosure, the conclusion that the modification of up to 25% of the residues in the claimed sequences is predictable because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to evaluate the functional consequences of modifying up to 25% of the residues in the claimed amino acid sequences using routine experimentation and established analytical frameworks is not persuasive.
The rejection is drawn to multiple Seq ID NOs encoding nucleic acid or amino acid sequences. Seq ID NO: 1 is an amino acid sequence encoding MLP and comprising 194 residues. Substitution of up to 25% of the amino acid sequence for Seq ID NO: 1 encompasses the broad genus of sequences comprising amino acid substitutions at ~48 positions.
Substitution of any amino acid in any location within the sequence at a total of 48 positions, with 19 possible amino acids at any of those sites would generate 1948, or 2.19x10107 possible amino acid sequences. However the claimed genus includes every permutation of up to 48 positions changed (e.g. 1, 2, positions up to 48 positions total) and any position of amino acid can be changed. Thus the claimed genus is broad, and while one of ordinary skill in the art could test the function of the sequences, testing the function of over 2.19x10107 is considered undue experimentation.
Furthermore, as discussed in the instant and previous rejection; while some variants of the claimed sequences are known (such as MLP mutants as taught by Vafiadaki), the role of the mutations are not known and thus the effects of changes of up to 25% of the sequence cannot be predicted without undue experimentation (testing each sequence variant to determine the effect of the changes).
Therefore the rejection over the written description requirement for claims 5, 17, 24, 30 and 37 is maintained.
Regarding Arguments directed to 35 USC § 112(b):
Regarding claim 14: The amendment to the claims to delete “and/or” overcomes the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding claim 26: The amendment to the claims to delete “about” overcomes the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding Arguments directed to 35 USC § 102:
The amendment to claim 1 to include the limitation “wherein the
promoter is a cardiac-specific promoter, a muscle-specific promoter, or a cardiomyocyte-specific promoter."
The amendment overcomes the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding Arguments directed to 35 USC § 103:
The amendment to claim 1 to include the limitation “wherein the
promoter is a cardiac-specific promoter, a muscle-specific promoter, or a cardiomyocyte-specific promoter" overcomes the rejection as written and the rejection is withdrawn.
In response to arguments relevant to the instant rejection:
Applicant argues that the invention of Levin is in a fundamentally different biological context and that the proposed modification of Levin with the teaching of Ni for the purposes of expressing MLP protein in cardiac cells teaches away from the intended purpose of the primary reference.
The Argument is unpersuasive.
As discussed in the previous and instant rejection, Levin teach the claimed polynucleotide with a ubiquitous CMV promoter that one of ordinary skill in the art is appropriate for expression in any mammalian cell. Thus Levin is not considered to teach away from a cardiomyocyte-specific promoter.
Levin further teach the claimed polynucleotide in the context of gene therapy (delivering an exogenous gene to a targeted cell) in rat retinal ganglion cells. Thus Marian teach that mutations in CSRP3 is an establish cause of cardiomyopathies, which provides motivation for why one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the polynucleotide of Levin with the cardiac troponin T promoter as taught by Ni. This is considered sufficient motivation to make the proposed modifications.
Applicant submits there is no specific teaching that would direct one of the ordinary skill in the art to select CSRP3 for genetic targeting. The teaching of Levin, that CSRP3 is successfully delivered to target cells for gene therapy, and the teaching of Marian, that mutations in CSRP3 are established causes of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy is considered specific teachings that would direct one of ordinary skill in the art to select CSRP3 for therapeutic targeting.
Applicant assets that Mearini teaches gene therapy targeting MYBPC3 as the most frequently mutated gene in HCM and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to target CSRP3. For the reasons stated above, CSRP3 is considered obvious.
Furthermore, MPEP 2144.06 reads MPEP 2144.06 states: "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art."
Thus the teachings are considered by definition prima facie obvious.
Applicant further asserts the rejection is based in improper hindsight. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA LYNNE MORRIS SPENCER/Examiner, Art Unit 1631
/JAMES D SCHULTZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631