DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/042469 filed on 07/21/2021 and claims domestic benefit to US provisional application no. 63/144,603 filed on 02/02/2021 and US provisional application no. 63/060,715 filed on 08/04/2020.
Status of the Claims
The claim amendments and remarks filed on 08/20/2026 are acknowledged. Claims 16, 20-22, and 33 are amended. Claims 1-15, 17-19, 23-27, 29-30, 32, 34-35, 38-40, and 42 are cancelled.
Accordingly, claims 16, 20-22, 28, 31, 33, 36-37, 41, and 43 are pending and being examined on the merits herein.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The sequence disclosure was objected to due to a deficient incorporation by reference statement as well as missing sequence identification for sequences in the instant specification but are now withdrawn in view of the newly filed specification amendment on 08/20/2026 which has fixed these deficiencies.
The 35 USC 112(b) rejection for claim 1 is moot since claim 1 is now cancelled.
The 35 USC 103 rejection over Brown in view of Nair for claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9-10, and 12-14 is moot since these claims are now cancelled.
The 35 USC 103 rejection over Brown in view of Nair for claims 16, 20-22, 28, 31, 33, 36-37, 41, and 43 is withdrawn because these claims were previously rejected based on meeting the oligonucleotide-ligand conjugate structures recited in instant claims 10 and 13-14 and then further modifying the structure to arrive at the structure recited in instant claim 16 as well as the Y group being an internucleotide linking phosphate group and the R group being a C1-50 hydrocarbon to arrive at the claimed invention. However, instant claim 16 has been amended from a dependent claim of instant claims 10 and 13-14 to an independent claim, the recited Y group can now only be hydrogen, and the recited R5 has been limited to a straight chain C16-22 hydrocarbon, and these limitations were not previously considered in this rejection.
The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections over co-pending app ‘994, ‘843, ‘127, ‘211, ‘826, ‘237, ‘529, and ‘561 for claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9-10, and 12-14 is moot since these claims are now cancelled.
The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections over co-pending app ‘826 and ‘529 for claims 16, 20-22, 28, 31, 33, 36-37, 41, and 43 is withdrawn because these co-pending apps are now abandoned.
The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections over co-pending app ‘237 for claims 16, 20-22, 28, 31, 33, 36-37, 41, and 43 is withdrawn because this rejection was previously based on the claim set reciting that the oligonucleotide is conjugated to a lipid moiety such as C8-C30. However, the claim set has now been amended such that the oligonucleotide does recite a conjugation of a lipophilic moiety and requires a specific ligand conjugation to a specific nucleotide on a specified sequence strand.
The following prior art rejection is new as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 33 is amended but the status of the claim is indicated as “(Previously presented)” and not in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121, which requires amended claims to have a status indicator as “(Currently Amended)”. See MPEP 714.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 20-22, 28, 31, 33, 36-37, 41, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US20170305956A1 in PTO-892 dated 04/20/2026) in view of Nair et al. (WO2019217459A1 in PTO-892 dated 04/20/2026),
Brown discloses double-stranded nucleic acids (dsNA) comprising a 5′ extension of the sense or antisense strand and further comprising a plurality of nucleotides that are conjugated to a ligand (Abstract). Brown discloses their ligand-modified dsNA can be suitably formulated and introduced into the environment of the cell by any means that allows for a sufficient portion of the sample to enter the cell to induce gene silencing (paragraph 0549). Brown teaches that their dsNA conjugates can be included in oral compositions with excipients (paragraph 0554).
Brown teaches that the ligand can be a lipophile, a steroid, a protein, a vitamin, a carbohydrate, and a terpene, and that the ligand can be attached to the nucleotide via a linker (paragraphs 0023 and 0029). Brown teaches that the ligand can be conjugated at the 2’ sugar position of a nucleotide (claim 6 in Brown). Brown discloses that the ability to conjugate ligands such as GalNAc to the dsNA molecules enables delivery of dsNA molecules to the region of interest which for example would be hepatocytes for a ligand such as GalNAc (paragraph 0262).
Brown provides an embodiment in which the dsDA molecule comprises at least one ligand modified nucleotide incorporated via solid phase oligonucleotide synthesis using a phosphoramidite synthon having the structure of formula Xll shown below (paragraph 0207):
Brown discloses that the n can be 1-20 (paragraph 0199). This synthon illustrates the use of a PEG-amide linker to conjugate an alkyl GalNAc sugar ligand at the 2’ sugar position and meets the linker structure at the 2’ position shown in formula II-Ib in instant claim 16. Furthermore, the 3’ sugar position meets the 3’ sugar position of formula II-Ib in instant claim 16 when X1 is O and Y2 is a phosphoramidite analogue. Additionally, the ordinary skilled artisan would have understood that the 1’ sugar position is necessarily a nucleobase as recited in instant claim 16 since this structure shown in Brown is depicting a nucleotide and is further evidenced in other embodiments of their nucleotides such as in paragraphs 0209-0211.
Brown discloses that their ligand-modified dsNA can contain one to four ligand conjugated nucleotides (claims 2-5 in Brown). Brown further discloses in Example 34 that the ligand can be conjugated on the nucleotide at the 1st through 5th position from the 5’ end of the sense strand (paragraph 0733).
Brown discloses that the ligand-modified dsNA comprises a sense strand comprising 21 to 83 nucleotides; an antisense strand comprising 15 to 39 nucleotides; a duplex formed by said sense and antisense strand, having a length of 15 to 35 base pairs; wherein the dsNA comprises a discontinuity between the 5′ terminus of the sense strand and the 3′ terminus of the antisense strand or between the 3′ terminus of the sense strand and the 5′ terminus of the antisense strand; wherein the sense strand comprises a tetraloop and the tetraloop comprises at least one ligand conjugated nucleotide; and wherein said antisense strand is sufficiently complementary to a target mRNA along at least 15 nucleotides of said second strand length to reduce target gene expression when said double stranded nucleic acid is introduced into a mammal or a mammalian cell (claim 1 of Brown).
Brown discloses that their ligand-modified oligomers can form a tetraloop to provide new potent and stable RNA interference agents (Abstract). Brown discloses that the tetraloop provides enhanced stability to the oligomer including increased nuclease resistance as compared with an oligomer lacking a tetraloop (paragraph 0268). Brown discloses that examples of RNA tetraloops include the GAAA tetraloop and others (paragraph 0356). Brown further shows in FIG. 37 (page 47) several dsRNA constructs including a construct that has a GAAA tetraloop and a nick on the same side of the antisense strand shown below:
The construct shown above meets the limitation of the oligonucleotide recited in instant claims 28 and 31 because the construct contains a GAAA tetraloop sequence as well as the sequences being complementary adjacent to the tetraloop. Furthermore, the construct comprises a 3’-overhang sequence that is two nucleotides in length.
Brown discloses that their dsNA contains modified nucleotide wherein the modified nucleotide comprises a sugar modification selected from the group consisting of: 2′-O-methyl, 2′-methoxyethoxy, 2′-fluoro (claims 17-18 of Brown). Brown discloses that both sense and antisense strands consist of up to 100% chemically modified nucleotides (claim 21 of Brown), and further discloses that the nucleic acid comprise a region containing at least one phosphorothioate linkage (claim 20 of Brown).
While Brown teaches synthesizing oligonucleotide-ligand conjugates by using synthons such as the Formula XII shown above which uses the same PEG-amide linker to conjugate a ligand, Brown does not teach that the ligand is a C16-22 hydrocarbon as recited in the R5 group of the nucleotide as shown in instant claim 16.
Nair discloses a method of gene silencing comprising administering to a cell or subject an effective amount of lipophilic moieties-conjugated double-stranded iRNAs at one or more internal positions on at least one strand, optionally via a linker or carrier (Abstract).
Nair discloses their double-stranded iRNAs comprise a sense and antisense strand that are 15-30 nucleotides in length (claims 15 in Nair) and forms a duplex structure between the two strands (paragraph 0194).
Nair discloses that their siRNA contained the following conjugated structures shown below (paragraph 0866):
The 2’ position has an amide alkyl linker to link the lipophilic moieties such as C16, C10, and others (also see paragraph 0013). Nair discloses additional suitable lipophilic moieties include saturated or unsaturated C4-C30 hydrocarbon chains and others (paragraph 0010). Nair discloses in some embodiments the lipophilic moiety is conjugated to the terminal end of a strand via one or more linkers and/or carrier (paragraph 0174).
Nair discloses that the conjugation of the lipophilic moiety correlates to the relative hydrophobicity of the double-stranded iRNA agent, which can positively correlate to the silencing activity of the double-stranded iRNA agent (paragraph 0101). Nair further discloses and demonstrates in Figure 24 that the siRNAs conjugated with lipophilic moieties increased the hydrophobicity of the siRNA and also increased the TTR knockdown ability of the siRNA, illustrating the impact of hydrophobicity on the gene silencing activity of siRNAs (paragraph 0865). These siRNAs had a C12, C14, C16, and other ligands attached at the 5’ end of the antisense strand as seen in Table 7 (paragraph 0864).
Nair also demonstrates in Example 13 (paragraph 0851) the effect of the position of the lipophilic modification across the entire siRNA sequence on both sense and antisense strands. Nair evaluated this in mouse hepatocytes using GalNAc conjugates show in Table 3 (paragraph 0851). Nair discloses and shows in Figures 10-11 that there are regions in the siRNA duplex where the C16 conjugate is tolerated (paragraph 0851).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the alkyl GalNAc sugar ligand at the 2’ sugar position of the synthon Formula XII disclosed in Brown with the C16 ligand as disclosed in Nair to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute with the C16 lipophilic moiety because Nair discloses that increasing the hydrophobicity of gene silencing nucleic acids led to increased effectiveness of the gene silencing activity.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because both Brown and Nair disclose gene silencing nucleic acid conjugates where a sugar unit at the 2’ position on a nucleotide can be conjugated with similar amide linkers to link a ligand. Furthermore, Brown provides further guidance that the conjugate ligand can be a lipophile.
Furthermore, even though the synthon Formula Xll shown in Brown has a DMT protecting group instead of a recited H as seen in the instant claims for the recited Y position, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the DMT group would be cleaved off for the synthesis of a dsNA conjugate using the synthon as disclosed by the combined teachings of Brown and Nair described above and would be a terminal 5’ OH group as disclosed in Brown to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have this reasonable expectation of success because Brown discloses that the ligand-modified synthon can be incorporated as a nucleotide for oligonucleotide synthesis, and Brown demonstrates the formation of several oligonucleotide-conjugates using this method such as Duplex Z4 (page 170 in Brown) in which the terminal 5’ end nucleotide was modified with a ligand and the 5’ position of the sugar is an OH group.
In regards to instant claims 20-22, it would have also been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified additional up to four nucleotides with a ligand on the dsNA sequence as disclosed in Brown using the synthon as disclosed by the combined teachings of Brown and Nair described above to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success because Brown provides guidance that the ligand-modified synthon can be incorporated as a nucleotide for oligonucleotide synthesis, and further discloses that four nucleotides on the oligonucleotide sequence can be modified with a ligand.
Furthermore, Brown discloses that their dsNA conjugate has a sense strand that is 21 to 83 nucleotides in length as well as an antisense strand that is 15 to 39 nucleotides in length, which overlaps and renders obvious the recited nucleotide lengths for the sense and antisense strand recited in instant claims 21-22. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
In regards to instant claims 28 and 31, it would also been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the dsNA conjugate as disclosed by the combined teachings of Brown and Nair described above by incorporating a tetraloop structure such as the GAAA tetraloop that comprises a 3’-overhang sequence that is two nucleotides in length as disclosed in Brown to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Brown discloses that the tetraloop provides enhanced stability to the oligomer including increased nuclease resistance as compared with an oligomer lacking a tetraloop.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Brown demonstrates the incorporation of various ligands onto both non-loop and loop dsNA conjugates.
In regards to instant claims 33 and 36-37, it would have also been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dsNA conjugate as disclosed in the combined teachings of Brown and Nair described above such that all nucleotides are modified including a 2’-modification such as 2’-fluoro and also contain a region with at least one phosphorothioate linkage as disclosed in Brown to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results because Brown discloses similar structured gene-silencing ligand-modified nucleic acid constructs that can be modified to contain the described features.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/20/2026 have been fully considered in so far as they apply to the rejections of the instant office action but were not persuasive.
Applicant states in regards to the combined teachings of Brown and Nair that this combination does not teach the claimed oligonucleotide-ligand conjugates. Applicant states that Brown is directed toward dsNA conjugated to ligands such as GalNAc and does not teach or suggest systemic delivery, which Applicant states is what the instant application is directed toward. Applicant states that systemic delivery or extrahepatic delivery cannot be achieved by combining Brown with Nair because the ordinary skilled would not have a reason to combine the references and would not have a reasonable expectation of success if the references were combined. Applicant states that Brown and Nair are directed to solving different problems, in which Brown is directed to improving ASGPr-mediated hepatocyte uptake using primarily GalNAc ligands whereas Nair is aimed at extra-hepatic tissue siRNA delivery and conjugating a lipophilic moiety to an internal, non-terminal position of a duplex strand, Applicant states that Nair reports the importance of the position of the lipophilic moiety on the siRNA duplex therefore Applicant states that the positional sensitivity would have discouraged the ordinary skilled artisan from expecting that a different conjugate architecture such as in Brown would predictably produce useful system extrahepatic activity.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., systemic or extrahepatic delivery) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is also noted that the instant claims are drawn to products that are limited by the structure claimed and not by method or intended use limitations such as for systemic or extrahepatic delivery.
Furthermore, as discussed above in the new rejection, Brown does disclose that their ligands can include lipophile moieties as well as targeting cells other than hepatocytes (paragraphs 0023, 0029, and 0517 in Brown), and Nair further discloses and provides an example in which their lipophilic moieties were further tested on siRNA conjugates which were additionally conjugated with a GalNAc ligand to test the uptake in hepatocytes (Example 13 paragraph 0851 in Nair). Therefore, the ordinary skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success to combine the references since both references disclose the use of lipophilic moieties to conjugate nucleotides as well as targeting for either hepatic or extra-hepatic delivery. It is also noted that additional ligands such as GalNAc on the recited oligonucleotide are encompassed within the scope of the instant claims because the claims recite that the oligonucleotide-ligand conjugate can contain 1-4 nucleic acid-ligand conjugate units (instant claim 20), and there is no further limitation recited that these additional ligand conjugates must be the lipophilic moiety ligand as recited in instant claim 16.
Applicant states that because Brown’s constructs are structurally and mechanistically distant from Nair’s internally lipophilic iRNA agents, combining the two references would require more than routine substitution because the ordinary skilled artisan would need to select a specific lipid ligand class, choose a linker and conjugation chemistry, and further decide to depart from the internal-position design logic of Nair to arrive at the claimed invention. Applicant states that this unpredictability is further underscored by their data in the instant application.
Applicant’s arguments described above were not found persuasive because while Brown teaches tetraloop / extension constructs, Brown also teaches duplex conjugates that are non-looped (such as Example 34 in Brown). Therefore, Brown and Nair do teach structurally similar constructs because both references provide guidance of conjugating ligands onto non-looped duplex constructs containing similar lengths of sense and anti-sense strands.
Furthermore, Nair also does provide guidance and demonstrates that the lipophilic moieties can be conjugated to the terminal ends of the strands and not just onto an internally-positioned nucleotide (paragraph 0174 and Table 7 paragraph 0864 in Nair). Since both Brown and Nair disclose conjugation of ligands onto the terminal ends of the strands of similar duplex conjugates, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been able to predictably perform this substitution with a reasonable expectation of success. Additionally, the selection of a linker is routine because both Brown and Nair provide guidance and demonstrate the conjugation of ligands (GalNAc and C16) at the same 2’ sugar position of the nucleotide using an amide-based linking chemistry (PEG-amide and alkyl-amide linkers).
Double Patenting
Claims 16, 20-22, 28, 31, 33, 36-37, 41, and 43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 19/092,994 (‘994) in view of Nair et al. (WO2019217459A1 in PTO-892 dated 04/20/2026) and Brown et al. (US20170305956A1 in PTO-892 dated 04/20/2026).
The reference application claims recite a double stranded nucleic acid (dsNA) comprising: a) a sense strand having a length of 36 nucleotides; b) an antisense strand having a length of 22 nucleotides; c) a duplex formed by the sense strand and the antisense strand, the duplex comprising 20 base pairs; and d) a single-stranded 3′-overhang of 2 nucleotides on the antisense strand; wherein the sense strand and antisense strands are separate strands; wherein the sense strand comprises a stem and an RNA tetraloop, wherein the stem has a length of 6 base pairs; wherein N-acetylgalactosamine is conjugated to a sugar of three or four of the nucleotides of the RNA tetraloop via a linker as set forth in Formula VII:
wherein B is a nucleobase, X is N-acetylgalactosamine, and m and n each independently range from 1 to 20; wherein the antisense strand is sufficiently complementary to a target mRNA along at least 15 nucleotides of the antisense strand to reduce target gene expression when the double stranded nucleic acid is introduced into a mammal or a mammalian cell; and wherein the RNA tetraloop consists of a GAAA sequence (claim 102). The reference application claims recites a method for reducing expression of a target gene in a cell comprising contacting the cell with the recited dsNA to reduce expression of a target gene (claim 108), and further recites pharmaceutical compositions comprising the recited dsNA and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 109)
The reference application recites the same nucleic acid structure with the same conjugation linker structure at the 2’ position, but does not recite a Ligand group in the instant claims.
The independent teachings of Brown and Nair are as described above.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to have substituted the 4-carbon alkyl chain and sugar unit to the right of the amide bond at the 2’s position of the dsNA recited in the reference application with lipophilic moieties such as C16 as disclosed in Nair and further use the conjugation linking chemistries as well as nucleotide modifications of Brown as described above to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use lipophilic moieties because Nair discloses that increasing the hydrophobicity of gene silencing nucleic acids led to increased effectiveness of the gene silencing activity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because both Brown and Nair disclose gene silencing nucleic acid conjugates where a sugar unit at the same 2’ position is conjugated with similar amide linkers to link either a sugar or lipophilic moiety.
Lastly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results for incorporating a recited conjugation linking chemistries as well as a recited nucleotide modifications in the instant claims because Brown provides guidance of these conjugation linking chemistries at the same 2’ position as well as nucleotide modifications for the same gene silencing nucleic acid conjugates as described above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 16, 20-22, 28, 31, 33, 36-37, 41, and 43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 19/103,843 (‘843) in view of Brown et al. (US20170305956A1 in PTO-892 dated 04/20/2026).
The reference application claims recite a double-stranded oligonucleotide comprising an antisense strand of 15-30 nucleotides in length and a sense strand of about 9-50 nucleotides in length, wherein (i) the antisense and sense strands form a duplex region of about 9-26 base pairs, (ii) the antisense strand comprises an orientation of 5′ to 3′, (iii) the antisense strand comprises a 3′ overhang of at least four nucleotides, (iv) the antisense strand comprises a region of complementarity to an mRNA target sequence in a target mRNA, (v) the 3′ overhang comprises a sequence motif that reduces inhibition of the target mRNA by the double-stranded oligonucleotide in a cell of the liver, and (vi) the sequence motif comprises at least one 2′-F modified nucleotide, provided the at least one 2′-F modified nucleotide is not one of the two 3′terminal nucleotides of the antisense strand (claim 1). The reference application claims recite wherein inhibition of the target mRNA is reduced compared to inhibition of the target mRNA by a double-stranded oligonucleotide not having the sequence motif (claim 2). The reference application claims recite several lipid moieties that can be selected such as shown:
The reference application claims recite the same GAAA tetraloop and sequence features (claims 42-46).
The reference application recites several of the same nucleic acid structures/features with the same lipophilic moieties but does not recite conjugation chemistry structures as well as all of the recited nucleotide / sequence modifications in the instant claims.
The teachings of Brown are as described above.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nucleic acid recited in the reference application by including the conjugation linker chemistries as disclosed in Brown described above to link the lipophilic moiety as well as the nucleotide / sequence modifications as disclosed in Brown described above to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results for incorporating a recited conjugation linking chemistries as well as a recited nucleotide/sequence modifications in the instant claims because Brown provides guidance of these conjugation linking chemistries as well as the nucleotide modifications for the same gene silencing nucleic acid conjugates as described above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 16, 20-22, 28, 31, 33, 36-37, 41, and 43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/654,127 (‘127) in view of Brown et al. (US20170305956A1 in PTO-892 dated 04/20/2026).
The reference application claims recite a double-stranded oligonucleotide comprising an antisense strand of about 20-22 nucleotides in length and a sense strand of about 18-20 nucleotides in length, wherein the antisense and sense strands form a duplex region of about 18-20 base pairs, wherein the antisense strand comprises an orientation of 5′ to 3′, wherein the antisense strand comprises a 3′ overhang of at least one nucleotide, wherein the antisense strand comprises a region of complementarity to a mRNA target sequence, and wherein the sense strand comprises at least one lipid moiety conjugated to a nucleotide on the sense strand (claim 382). The reference application claims recite several lipid moieties that can be selected such as shown:
The reference application claims recite a method of reducing expression of a target mRNA comprising administering a recited oligonucleotide (claim 399).
The reference application recites several of the same nucleic acid structures/features with the same lipophilic moieties but does not recite conjugation chemistry structures as well as all of the recited nucleotide / sequence modifications in the instant claims.
The teachings of Brown are as described above.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nucleic acid recited in the reference application by including the conjugation linker chemistries as disclosed in Brown described above to link the lipophilic moiety as well as the nucleotide / sequence modifications as disclosed in Brown described above to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results for incorporating a recited conjugation linking chemistries as well as a recited nucleotide/sequence modifications in the instant claims because Brown provides guidance of these conjugation linking chemistries as well as the nucleotide modifications for the same gene silencing nucleic acid conjugates as described above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 16, 20-22, 28, 31, 33, 36-37, 41, and 43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/290,211 (‘211) in view of Brown et al. (US20170305956A1 in PTO-892 dated 04/20/2026).
The reference application claims recite a double-stranded oligonucleotide comprising an antisense strand of 15-30 nucleotides in length and a sense strand of 15-50 nucleotides in length, wherein the antisense and sense strands form a duplex region of 15-30 base pairs, wherein the antisense strand comprises a region of complementarity to a neuronal mRNA target sequence, and wherein the sense strand comprises at least one lipid moiety, wherein the lipid moiety is a C16 hydrocarbon chain conjugated to the 2′ carbon of the ribose ring of the 5′ terminal nucleotide of the sense strand (claim 96) . The reference application claims recite the C16 hydrocarbon chain has the following structure shown below:
The reference application claims recite a method of reducing expression of a neuronal mRNA in a cell comprising administering the double-stranded oligonucleotide (claim 115).
The reference application recites several of the same nucleic acid structures/features with the same lipophilic moieties but does not recite a lipophilic moiety structure as well as conjugation chemistry structures and all of the recited nucleotide / sequence modifications in the instant claims.
The independent teaching of Brown are as described above.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nucleic acid recited in the reference application by including the conjugation linker chemistries as disclosed in Brown described above to link the lipophilic moiety as well as the nucleotide / sequence modifications as disclosed in Brown described above to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results for incorporating a recited conjugation linking chemistries as well as a recited nucleotide/sequence modifications in the instant claims because Brown provides guidance of these conjugation linking chemistries as well as the nucleotide modifications for the same gene silencing nucleic acid conjugates as described above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 16, 20-22, 28, 31, 33, 36-37, 41, and 43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/316,561 (‘561) in view of Brown et al. (US20170305956A1 in PTO-892 dated 04/20/2026).
The reference application claims recite an RNAi oligonucleotide for reducing SNCA gene expression. The recited oligonucleotide contains several of the same features as the instant oligonucleotide such as the GAAA tetraloop and nucleotide sequence structure and length (claims 1-16). Furthermore, the reference application claims recite the oligonucleotide is conjugated to a lipid moiety such as C8-C30 hydrocarbon (claim 56).
The reference application recites several of the same nucleic acid structures/features with the same lipophilic moieties but does not recite conjugation chemistry structures as well as all of the recited nucleotide / sequence modifications in the instant claims.
The teachings of Brown are as described above.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nucleic acid recited in the reference application by including the conjugation linker chemistries as disclosed in Brown described above to link the lipophilic moiety as well as the nucleotide / sequence modifications as disclosed in Brown described above to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results for incorporating a recited conjugation linking chemistries as well as a recited nucleotide/sequence modifications in the instant claims because Brown provides guidance of these conjugation linking chemistries as well as the nucleotide modifications for the same gene silencing nucleic acid conjugates as described above.
Furthermore, the recited C16-22 hydrocarbon structures are also rendered obvious because the reference application recites their lipophilic moieties can be C8-C30 hydrocarbon chains, which overlaps in the number of carbons shown for the first four hydrocarbon structures. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Additionally, MPEP 2144.09 II states that “homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.”
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant states to hold the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections in abeyance until allowable subject matter has been found in the instant application.
Since allowable subject matter has not been identified, the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is found allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.H.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1693