DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 14, 18, 25, 26, 29, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwahara (US 2011/0161815) (of record) in view of Carrigan et al. (Carrigan) (US 2023/0269319).
As to claim 1, while Iwahara discloses a video projection method, applied to a first device (Fig. 1, 5), wherein the video projection method comprises:
receiving, by a projection application program of the first device (paragraph 30-32), a start projection command (service description of content; paragraph 28, 33, 34, 41);
projecting, by the projection application program of the first device, a first video to a second device in response to the start projection command (first content item AAA, s28; paragraph 46-47);
acquiring, by the projection application program of the first device, a playback progress of the first video on the second device (end of playback notification, s32; paragraph 49-50);
determining, by the projection application program of the first device, that a projection of the first video is completed according to the playback progress of the first video on the second device (paragraph 49-51); and
projecting a second video to the second device, in response to a determination of the projection of the first video being completed (second content item BBB, s38; paragraph 51-52), Iwahara fails to specifically disclose receiving a command for displaying a projection control icon, in response to an operation state of the projection application program of the first device transforming from a front-end running state to a background running state; and displaying the projection control icon in response to the command for displaying the projection control icon, wherein the projection control icon is used for projection control.
In an analogous art, Carrigan discloses a video system for projecting content from a first device to a second device (mobile device, 500, sending content to displays 602a-c; Fig. 6A-X, 10c-e; paragraph 200, 338-341) which will receive a command for displaying a projection control icon, in response to an operation state of the projection application program of the first device transforming from a front-end running state to a background running state (Fig. 6f-h, 10d-10g, paragraph 206-207, 339-342) and displaying the projection control icon in response to the command for displaying the projection control icon, wherein the projection control icon is used for projection control (minimizing video application and displaying controls for the remote display; Fig. 6f-h, 10d-10g, paragraph 206-207, 339-342) so as to provide playback controls when the video is only presented on the remote display (paragraph 207, 342).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwahara’s system to include receiving a command for displaying a projection control icon, in response to an operation state of the projection application program of the first device transforming from a front-end running state to a background running state; and displaying the projection control icon in response to the command for displaying the projection control icon, wherein the projection control icon is used for projection control, as taught in combination with Carrigan, for the typical benefit of providing playback controls when the video is only presented on the remote display (paragraph 207, 342).
As to claim 2, Iwahara and Carrigan disclose wherein the determining, by the first device, that a projection of the first video is completed according to the playback progress of the first video on the second device comprises:
determining that the projection of the first video is completed, in a case that the playback progress of the first video on the second device reaches a preset progress (see Iwahara at paragraph 50).
As to claim 3, while Iwahara and Carrigan disclose wherein the preset progress of the projected video played on the second device is a playback progress when a playback of the entire projected video is completed (content item is “completely played back” see Iwahara at paragraph 50, 54, 58), they fail to specifically disclose wherein the video comprises a head part, a plot part and an end part which are played in sequence.
The examiner takes Official Notice that it was notoriously well known in the art for a video, such as a movie or television program to comprise a head part, a plot part and an end part which are played in sequence, typically named as a title sequence presenting the content title and key cast members, a plot part comprising the content of the video, and an end part comprising the closing (or end) credits listing the full cast and crew of the video.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwahara’s system to include wherein the video comprises a head part, a plot part and an end part which are played in sequence for the typical benefit of utilizing a widely known and established method and format of presenting video content to viewers which will identify the title, cast and crew while also providing the video content itself.
As to claim 4, Iwahara and Carrigan disclose wherein the first projection command comprises video information of the first video, and the first projection command is used to control the second device to play the first video according to the video information of the first video (location information to retrieve the video and a play command for the video s25, s26, see Iwahara at paragraph 46-47).
As to claim 7, Iwahara and Carrigan disclose wherein the determining, by the first device, that a projection of the first video is completed according to the playback progress of the first video on the second device; and
projecting a second video to the second device, in response to a determination of the projection of the first video being completed (see Iwahara at paragraph 49-51) comprises:
sending, by the first device, a second projection command to the second device, in response to determining that the projection of the first video is completed according to the playback progress of the first video on the second device, wherein the second projection command comprises video information of the second video, and the second projection command is used to control the second device to play the second video according to the video information of the second video (location information to retrieve the second video BBB and a play command for the video s35, s36, see Iwahara at paragraph 51-52).
As to claim 8, Iwahara and Carrigan disclose wherein the sending, by the first device, the second projection command to the second device, in response to determining that the projection of the first video is completed according to the playback progress of the first video on the second device (see Iwahara at paragraph 49-51) comprises:
sending, by the first device, the second projection command to the second device according to the video information of the second video (location information to retrieve the second video BBB and a play command for the video s35, s36, see Iwahara at paragraph 51-52), in response to determining that the projection of the first video is completed according to the playback progress of the first video on the second device, and
wherein the acquiring, by the first device, the video information of the second video comprises:
acquiring, by the first device, the video information of the second video from a video information list (playlist including URIs to retrieve the video; see Iwahara at paragraph 34-38, 44-45); or
acquiring, by the first device, the video information of the second video from a server.
As to claim 14, Iwahara and Carrigan disclose wherein the projection control icon is used to switch a video projected to the second device; and/or
control one or more of a playback progress (see Carrigan at Fig. 6f-h, 10d-10g, paragraph 207, 342), a playback volume (see Carrigan at Fig. 6f-h, 10d-10g, paragraph 207, 342), and a resolution of the projected video played on the second device.
As to claim 18, Iwahara and Carrigan disclose wherein the video information comprises at least one of video data and a video address, and in a case that the video information comprises the video address, the second device is configured to acquire, according to the video address, video data corresponding to the video address (URI location information to retrieve the video, s25, see Iwahara at paragraph 46-47).
As to claim 25, Iwahara and Carrigan disclose wherein the first projection command is further used to control a second player in the second device to be turned on, to play the first video (see Iwahara at paragraph 46-47).
As to claim 26, Iwahara and Carrigan disclose wherein the second projection command is further used to control a second player in the second device to be turned on, to play the second video (see Iwahara at paragraph 51-52).
As to claim 29, Iwahara discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1, 5; personal computer; paragraph 18-25), comprising:
one or more processors (personal computer; paragraph 18-25, 31); and
a memory for storing one or more programs (paragraph 18-25, 31),
wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive a start projection command (service description of content; paragraph 28, 33, 34, 41);
project a first video to a second device by a projection application program of a first device in response to the start projection command (first content item AAA, s28; paragraph 46-47);
acquire a playback progress of the first video on the second device (end of playback notification, s32; paragraph 49-50);
determine that a projection of the first video is completed according to the playback progress of the first video on the second device (paragraph 49-51); and
project a second video to the second device by the projection application program of the first device, in response to a determination of the projection of the first video being completed (second content item BBB, s38; paragraph 51-52),
Iwahara fails to specifically disclose receiving a command for displaying a projection control icon, in response to an operation state of the projection application program of the first device transforming from a front-end running state to a background running state; and displaying the projection control icon in response to the command for displaying the projection control icon, wherein the projection control icon is used for projection control.
In an analogous art, Carrigan discloses a video system for projecting content from a first device to a second device (mobile device, 500, sending content to displays 602a-c; Fig. 6A-X, 10c-e; paragraph 200, 338-341) which will receive a command for displaying a projection control icon, in response to an operation state of the projection application program of the first device transforming from a front-end running state to a background running state (Fig. 6f-h, 10d-10g, paragraph 206-207, 339-342) and displaying the projection control icon in response to the command for displaying the projection control icon, wherein the projection control icon is used for projection control (minimizing video application and displaying controls for the remote display; Fig. 6f-h, 10d-10g, paragraph 206-207, 339-342) so as to provide playback controls when the video is only presented on the remote display (paragraph 207, 342).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwahara’s system to include receiving a command for displaying a projection control icon, in response to an operation state of the projection application program of the first device transforming from a front-end running state to a background running state; and displaying the projection control icon in response to the command for displaying the projection control icon, wherein the projection control icon is used for projection control, as taught in combination with Carrigan, for the typical benefit of providing playback controls when the video is only presented on the remote display (paragraph 207, 342).
As to claim 30, Iwahara discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium on which a computer program is stored (Fig. 1, 5; personal computer; paragraph 18-25, 31), wherein the program, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:
receive a start projection command (service description of content; paragraph 28, 33, 34, 41);
project a first video to a second device by a projection application program of a first device in response to the start projection command (first content item AAA, s28; paragraph 46-47) wherein the first video is being played by the projection application program of the first device (paragraph 30-32);
acquire a playback progress of the first video on the second device (end of playback notification, s32; paragraph 49-50);
determine that a projection of the first video is completed according to the playback progress of the first video on the second device (paragraph 49-51); and
project a second video to the second device by the projection application program of the first device, in response to a determination of the projection of the first video being completed (second content item BBB, s38; paragraph 51-52),
Iwahara fails to specifically disclose receiving a command for displaying a projection control icon, in response to an operation state of the projection application program of the first device transforming from a front-end running state to a background running state; and displaying the projection control icon in response to the command for displaying the projection control icon, wherein the projection control icon is used for projection control.
In an analogous art, Carrigan discloses a video system for projecting content from a first device to a second device (mobile device, 500, sending content to displays 602a-c; Fig. 6A-X, 10c-e; paragraph 200, 338-341) which will receive a command for displaying a projection control icon, in response to an operation state of the projection application program of the first device transforming from a front-end running state to a background running state (Fig. 6f-h, 10d-10g, paragraph 206-207, 339-342) and displaying the projection control icon in response to the command for displaying the projection control icon, wherein the projection control icon is used for projection control (minimizing video application and displaying controls for the remote display; Fig. 6f-h, 10d-10g, paragraph 206-207, 339-342) so as to provide playback controls when the video is only presented on the remote display (paragraph 207, 342).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwahara’s system to include receiving a command for displaying a projection control icon, in response to an operation state of the projection application program of the first device transforming from a front-end running state to a background running state; and displaying the projection control icon in response to the command for displaying the projection control icon, wherein the projection control icon is used for projection control, as taught in combination with Carrigan, for the typical benefit of providing playback controls when the video is only presented on the remote display (paragraph 207, 342).
Claims 15-17, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwahara and Carrigan in view of Kim et al. (Kim) (US 2015/0229696) (of record).
As to claim 15, Iwahara fails to specifically disclose receiving, by the first device, a video switching command; and projecting, by the first device, a target video selected by a user to the second device in response to the video switching command.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses a video projection system for projecting content from a first device to a second device (Fig. 1A-C, 2; paragraph 28-36) wherein a first device will receive a video switching command and project a target video selected by a user to the second device in response to the video switching command (playback commands; Fig. 6-8, paragraph 49, 69-71, 83-89), so as to enable viewing and control the of the media content being displayed at the second device (paragraph 27, 69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwahara’s system to include receiving, by the first device, a video switching command; and projecting, by the first device, a target video selected by a user to the second device in response to the video switching command, as taught in combination with Kim, for the typical benefit of providing for viewing and control the of the media content being displayed at the second device from the first device.
As to claim 16, Iwahara, Carrigan and Kim disclose wherein the projecting, by the first device, a target video selected by the user to the second device in response to the video switching command comprises:
acquiring, by the first device, a state of the projection application program in response to the video switching command (see Kim at Fig. 6-8, paragraph 49, 69-71, 83-89); and
projecting, by the first device, the target video selected by the user to the second device, in a case that the projection application program is in a projection state (see Kim at Fig. 6-8, paragraph 49, 69-71, 83-89).
As to claim 17, Iwahara, Carrigan and Kim disclose wherein the projecting the target video selected by the user to the second device comprises:
sending, by the first device, a third projection command to the second device, wherein the third projection command comprises video information of the target video selected by the user (see Iwahara at paragraph 55-56 and Kim at Fig. 6-8, paragraph 49, 69-71, 83-89), and the third projection command is used to control the second device to play the target video according to the video information of the target video (see Iwahara at paragraph 55-56 and Kim at Fig. 6-8, paragraph 49, 69-71, 83-89).
As to claim 27, Iwahara, Carrigan and Kim disclose wherein the third projection command is further used to control a second player in the second device to be turned on, to play the target video (see Iwahara at paragraph 55-56).
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwahara and Carrigan and further in view of Lee et al. (Lee) (US 2011/0138208) (of record).
As to claim 22, Iwahara fails to specifically disclose wherein after projecting the first video to the second device or after projecting the second video to the second device, the method further comprises: controlling, by the first device, a first player in the projection application program to enter a pause state.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses a video projection system for projecting content from a first device to a second device (Fig. 1-2; paragraph 32-36) wherein after projecting video to the second device, the first device will control a first player in the projection application program to enter a pause state (pausing playback of the content; paragraph 38-39, 45) so as to allow pausing and resuming of content playback as desired (paragraph 38-39, 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwahara’s system to include wherein after projecting the first video to the second device or after projecting the second video to the second device, the method further comprises: controlling, by the first device, a first player in the projection application program to enter a pause state, as taught in combination with Lee, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly system which allows pausing and resuming of content playback as desired.
As to claim 23, Iwahara, Carrigan and Lee disclose wherein after controlling, by the first device, the first player in the projection application program to enter the pause state (see Lee at paragraph 38-41), the method further comprises:
receiving, by the first device, a stop projection command (see Lee at paragraph 38-42, 48-49 and Iwahara at paragraph 58); and
controlling, by the first device, the first player to enter a playback state in response to the stop projection command (source device turns the display on to play notification to user regarding status; see Lee at paragraph 48, 52).
As to claim 24, while Iwahara discloses receiving an indication that the playback has completed (paragraph 58), they fail to specifically disclose reactivating, by the first device, a first player, in a case that the projection of the first video is completed and the first player in the projection application program of the first device is turned off.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses a video projection system for projecting content from a first device to a second device (Fig. 1-2; paragraph 32-36) wherein the first player in the projection application program of the first device is turned off (display turned off when no input is received for a certain duration; paragraph 48) and reactivating, by the first device, a first player, in a case that the projection of the first video is completed (user notified on the display regarding the current status; paragraph 48-49, 52) so as to display the current system state while reducing power consumption (paragraph 9, 48, 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwahara’s system to include reactivating, by the first device, a first player, in a case that the projection of the first video is completed and the first player in the projection application program of the first device is turned off, as taught in combination with Lee, for the typical benefit displaying the current system state while reducing power consumption.
Claims 6, 20, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwahara and Carrigan and further in view of Noguchi et al. (Noguchi) (US 2010/0169505) (of record).
As to claim 6, Iwahara and Carrigan fail to specifically disclose receiving, by the first device, a stop projection command and acquiring, by the first device, the playback progress of the first video on the second device, wherein the stop projection command is used to control the first device to play the first video from the playback progress of the first video on the second device.
In an analogous art, Noguchi discloses a video system for projecting content from a first device to a second device (Fig. 4, 7, media providing device transferring content to media rendering device; paragraph 42-44, 55-59) wherein a first video is a video being played by the first device (current media renderer within the media providing device providing the media; paragraph 55), and receiving, by the first device, a stop projection command (user command to stop playback at a renderer and switch to another display; paragraph 55-62, 68) and acquiring, by the first device, the playback progress of the first video on the second device, wherein the stop projection command is used to control the first device to play the first video from the playback progress of the first video on the second device (playback position is transmitted to the newly selected renderer to continue playback; see Noguchi at paragraph 55-62, 68) so as to provide a continuous rendition of the media while transitioning between display devices without any discontinuity in the user’s listening or viewing experience (paragraph 12, 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwahara’s system to include receiving, by the first device, a stop projection command and acquiring, by the first device, the playback progress of the first video on the second device, wherein the stop projection command is used to control the first device to play the first video from the playback progress of the first video on the second device, as taught in combination with Noguchi, for the typical benefit of utilizing a known method for requesting the next item within a media playlist so as to achieve a predictable result (paragraph 12, 55).
As to claim 20, Iwahara and Carrigan fail to specifically disclose wherein the video information further comprises a projection parameter, the projection parameter comprises at least one of a playback progress, a resolution and a playback volume, and a projection parameter of the target video is consistent with a projection parameter of a historical projected video.
In an analogous art, Noguchi discloses a video system for projecting content from a first device to a second device (Fig. 4, 7, media providing device transferring content to media rendering device; paragraph 42-44, 55-59) wherein a first video is a video being played by the first device (current media renderer within the media providing device providing the media; paragraph 55), wherein a projection command comprises video information of the first video, the video information comprising a projection parameter (paragraph 55-68), the projection parameter comprises at least one of a playback progress (playback position of the video; paragraph 55-68), a resolution and a playback volume, and a projection parameter of the target video is consistent with a projection parameter of a historical projected video (previous playback progress to allow continued viewing at the same position; Fig. 7-8, paragraph 55-68) so as to provide a continuous rendition of the media while transitioning between display devices without any discontinuity in the user’s listening or viewing experience (paragraph 12, 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwahara’s system to include wherein the video information further comprises a projection parameter, the projection parameter comprises at least one of a playback progress, a resolution and a playback volume, and a projection parameter of the target video is consistent with a projection parameter of a historical projected video, as taught in combination with Noguchi, for the typical benefit of utilizing a known method for requesting the next item within a media playlist so as to achieve a predictable result (paragraph 12, 55).
As to claim 31, Iwahara and Carrigan fail to specifically disclose wherein the video information of the first video comprises a playback progress of the first video on the first device;
wherein the first projection command is used to control the second device to play the first video from the playback progress of the first video on the first device.
In an analogous art, Noguchi discloses a video system for projecting content from a first device to a second device (Fig. 4, 7, media providing device transferring content to media rendering device; paragraph 42-44, 55-59) wherein a first video is a video being played by the first device (current media renderer within the media providing device providing the media; paragraph 55), wherein a projection command comprises video information of the first video, wherein the video information of the first video comprises a playback progress of the first video on the first device (playback position of the video; paragraph 55-68), wherein the first projection command is used to control the second device to play the first video from the playback progress of the first video on the first device (previous playback progress to allow continued viewing at the same position; Fig. 7-8, paragraph 55-68) so as to provide a continuous rendition of the media while transitioning between display devices without any discontinuity in the user’s listening or viewing experience (paragraph 12, 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwahara’s system to include wherein the video information of the first video comprises a playback progress of the first video on the first device, wherein the first projection command is used to control the second device to play the first video from the playback progress of the first video on the first device, as taught in combination with Noguchi, for the typical benefit of utilizing a known method for requesting the next item within a media playlist so as to achieve a predictable result (paragraph 12, 55).
Conclusion
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424