DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant Arguments correspondence filed on 11/25/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/29/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered and they are valid. Hence, the Final Office Action that was issued 09/25/2025 has been invalidated based on the Applicant Arguments on 11/25/2025. This Office Action is in response to those arguments, and the Action reverts to a Non-Final Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, & 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen Li (US20220045800) (hereinafter "Li") in view of Leibel, Renata G et al "HARQ feedback optimization techniques for improved reliability in Cellular Vehicle to Everything", 2020 International Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing (IWCMC), IEEE, 15 June 2020 (2020-06-15), pgs 1940-1945 (hereinafter "Leibel") in further view of Yoshioka et al (US20220279484) (hereinafter "Yoshioka"), in further view of 3GPP TR 38.214 V16.2.0 (2020-07) (“3GPP”)).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method of a first sidelink device (Fig. 1A, 1C terminals as first/second sidelink device), the method comprising:
communicating with a second sidelink device using a first sidelink communication interface, wherein the second sidelink device communicates with a third sidelink device using a second sidelink communication interface (Fig. 1A, 1C, [0020]-[0024], [0165]-[0170], communicating with another sidelink device (second device) using first interface, the apparatus includes a transceiver that transmits a HARQ configuration over a sidelink interface to another device); and
transmitting a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration to the second sidelink device via the first sidelink communication interface (Fig. 1A, 1C, [0020]-[0024], [0165]-[0170], communicating with another sidelink device (second device) using first interface, the apparatus includes a transceiver that transmits a HARQ configuration over a sidelink interface to another device);
But Li fails to teach wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback enable indicator, a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback disable indicator, sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback options, a minimum communication range value, a cast type, a group size, a reflective indicator, a non-reflective indicator.
However, Leibel teaches wherein the second sidelink device communicates with a third sidelink device using a second sidelink communication interface (pg. 5, if there is forwarding of a message from the transmitter UE, then there is a receiver UE, that is the third UE, red car).
Li and Leibel are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Furthermore, Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Combining the art of Li and Leibel would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
But Leibel fails to teach wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback enable indicator, a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback disable indicator, sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback options, a minimum communication range value, a cast type, a group size, a reflective indicator, a non-reflective indicator.
However, Yoshioka teaches wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value and one or more of a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback enable indicator, a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback disable indicator, sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback options, a minimum communication range value, a cast type, a group size, a reflective indicator, a non-reflective indicator ([0043]-[0045], [0058], multiple devices transmitting to each other over different sidelink modes (e.g. terminal 20B and terminal 20C transmitting to 20A) –showing multi-terminal SL communication aligning with the requirement of second…with a third; HARQ feedback-related fields are discussed which describe HARQ feedback operation including ACKNACK and feedback channels (PFCH, PUCCH, PUSCH); explicit disclosure of HARQ configuration comprising cast type (unicast, groupcast, and broadcast) as part of the retransmission decision process, furthermore, feedback options are suggested by implication in how feedback handling varies by cast type).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
But Yoshioka fails to teach the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value.
However, 3GPP teaches the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value (Section 8.1 pg. 149-150, Section 8.3 pg. 158; specifies that the transmitting UE sets (in SCI format 2-B) both (i) the HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator and (ii) a communication range requirement field as indicated by higher layers; that communication range requirement is the minimum communication range (MCR) value being carried as part of the sidelink HARQ-related configuration/signaling) .
Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and 3GPP would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches an apparatus comprising a first sidelink device (Fig. 1A, 1C terminals as first/second sidelink device), the apparatus further comprising:
at least one memory; (Fig 3 [0242]-[0245] memory) and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (Fig 3 [0242]-[0245] processor) :
communicate with a second sidelink device using a first sidelink communication interface (Fig. 1A, 1C, [0020]-[0024], [0165]-[0170], communicating with another sidelink device (second device) using first interface, the apparatus includes a transceiver that transmits a HARQ configuration over a sidelink interface to another device),
and transmit a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration to the second sidelink device via the first sidelink communication interface (Fig. 1A, 1C, [0020]-[0024], [0165]-[0170], communicating with another sidelink device (second device) using first interface, the apparatus includes a transceiver that transmits a HARQ configuration over a sidelink interface to another device);
But Li fails to teach wherein the second sidelink device communicates with a third sidelink device using a second sidelink communication interface and wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback enable indicator, a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback disable indicator, sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback options, a minimum communication range value, a cast type, a group size, a reflective indicator, a non-reflective indicator.
However, Leibel teaches wherein the second sidelink device communicates with a third sidelink device using a second sidelink communication interface (pg. 5, if there is forwarding of a message from the transmitter UE, then there is a receiver UE, that is the third UE, red car).
Li and Leibel are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Furthermore, Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Combining the art of Li and Leibel would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
But Leibel fails to teach wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback enable indicator, a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback disable indicator, sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback options, a minimum communication range value, a cast type, a group size, a reflective indicator, a non-reflective indicator.
However, Yoshioka teaches wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value and one or more of a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback enable indicator, a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback disable indicator, sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback options, a minimum communication range value, a cast type, a group size, a reflective indicator, a non-reflective indicator ([0043]-[0045], [0058], multiple devices transmitting to each other over different sidelink modes (e.g. terminal 20B and terminal 20C transmitting to 20A) –showing multi-terminal SL communication aligning with the requirement of second…with a third; HARQ feedback-related fields are discussed which describe HARQ feedback operation including ACK/NACK and feedback channels (PFCH, PUCCH, PUSCH); explicit disclosure of HARQ configuration comprising cast type (unicast, groupcast, and broadcast) as part of the retransmission decision process, furthermore, feedback options are suggested by implication in how feedback handling varies by cast type).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
But Yoshioka fails to teach the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value.
However, 3GPP teaches the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value (Section 8.1 pg. 149-150, Section 8.3 pg. 158; specifies that the transmitting UE sets (in SCI format 2-B) both (i) the HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator and (ii) a communication range requirement field as indicated by higher layers; that communication range requirement is the minimum communication range (MCR) value being carried as part of the sidelink HARQ-related configuration/signaling) .
Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and 3GPP would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 3, Li and Leibel fail to teach the apparatus wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises the cast type and the minimum communication range value to be used by the second sidelink device, and the cast type and the minimum communication range value are signaled to the second sidelink device semi-statically using radio resource configuration signaling transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface or using sidelink configuration information transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface.
However, Yoshioka teaches the apparatus wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises the cast type and the minimum communication range value to be used by the second sidelink device, and the cast type and the minimum communication range value are signaled to the second sidelink device semi-statically using radio resource configuration signaling transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface or using sidelink configuration information transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface ([0044], [0058], Cast type discussed in the context of retransmission behavior/HARQ configuration, semi-static signaling via RRC—mentions a resource pattern in sidelink is set at the terminal…by a RRC configuration, which indicates a semi-static configuration for a resource pattern or cast type or range.
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 4, Li fails to teach the apparatus wherein the second sidelink device transmits a transport block using the second sidelink communication interface based on a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration.
However Yoshioka teaches the apparatus wherein the second sidelink device transmits a transport block using the second sidelink communication interface ([0046]-[0057] transport block transmission in sidelinks between multiple devices with multiple communication interfaces – HARQ responses and HARQ configurations).
But Yoshioka fails to teach based on a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration.
However, Leibel teaches based on a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration (pg. 1942 (3) discloses geographic based feedback configuration where different UEs employ different HARQ feedback (NACK-only vs. ACK/NACK) based on geographic zones (distance from a terminal/device/UE), behavior (feedback mode) is conditioned on geographic zones configured in HARQ supports the concept that transmission behavior can be zone-based, the second sidelink device configures its feedback behavior based on zone and it could also initiate transmission of a transport block based on that same zone configuration).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 10, Li and Yoshioka fail to teach the apparatus wherein the reflective indicator indicates to the second sidelink device to provide the same sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration to the third sidelink device.
However, Leibel teaches the apparatus wherein the reflective indicator indicates to the second sidelink device to provide the same sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration to the third sidelink device (pg. 5, if there is forwarding of a message from the transmitter UE, then there is a receiver UE, that is the third UE, red car, multi-hop propagation – HARQ configuration transmission can be forwarded down a chain of devices as seen in the figure with rules (reflective—same configuration; or nonreflective—custom configuration behavior).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 11, Li and Yoshioka fails to teach the apparatus wherein the non-reflective indicator indicates to the second sidelink device to provide a second sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration to the third sidelink device, and the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration is different from the second sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration.
However, Leibel teaches the apparatus wherein the non-reflective indicator indicates to the second sidelink device to provide a second sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration to the third sidelink device (pg. 5, if there is forwarding of a message from the transmitter UE, then there is a receiver UE, that is the third UE, red car, multi-hop propagation – HARQ configuration transmission can be forwarded down a chain of devices as seen in the figure with rules (reflective—same configuration; or nonreflective—custom configuration behavior), and the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration is different from the second sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration (pg. 5, if there is forwarding of a message from the transmitter UE, then there is a receiver UE, that is the third UE, red car, multi-hop propagation – HARQ configuration transmission can be forwarded down a chain of devices as seen in the figure with rules (reflective—same configuration; or nonreflective—custom configuration behavior).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 12, Li and Leibel fail to teach the apparatus of wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises the minimum communication range value, and the second sidelink device signals the same minimum communication range value to the third sidelink device.
However, Yoshioka teaches the apparatus of wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises the minimum communication range value, and the second sidelink device signals the same minimum communication range value to the third sidelink device ([0043]-[0045], [0058], multiple devices transmitting to each other over different sidelink modes (e.g. terminal 20B and terminal 20C transmitting to 20A) –showing multi-terminal SL communication aligning with the requirement of second…with a third; HARQ feedback-related fields are discussed which describe HARQ feedback operation including ACK/NACK and feedback channels (PFCH, PUCCH, PUSCH); explicit disclosure of HARQ configuration comprising cast type (unicast, groupcast, and broadcast) as part of the retransmission decision process, furthermore, feedback options are suggested by implication in how feedback handling varies by cast type).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 13, Li and Leibel fail to teach the apparatus wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises the minimum communication range value, and the second sidelink device signals a second minimum communication range value to the third sidelink device.
However, Yoshioka teaches the apparatus wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises the minimum communication range value, and the second sidelink device signals a second minimum communication range value to the third sidelink device ([0043]-[0045], [0058], multiple devices transmitting to each other over different sidelink modes (e.g. terminal 20B and terminal 20C transmitting to 20A) –showing multi-terminal SL communication aligning with the requirement of second…with a third; HARQ feedback-related fields are discussed which describe HARQ feedback operation including ACK/NACK and feedback channels (PFCH, PUCCH, PUSCH); explicit disclosure of HARQ configuration comprising cast type (unicast, groupcast, and broadcast) as part of the retransmission decision process, furthermore, feedback options are suggested by implication in how feedback handling varies by cast type).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 14, Li and Yoshioka fail to teach the apparatus wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a zone identifier, and the second sidelink device signals the zone identifier to the third sidelink device.
However, Leibel teaches wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a zone identifier, and the second sidelink device signals the zone identifier to the third sidelink device ((pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches an apparatus comprising a second sidelink device Fig. 1A, 1C terminals as first/second sidelink device), the apparatus further comprising:
at least one memory; (Fig 3 [0242]-[0245] memory) and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (Fig 3 [0242]-[0245] processor) :
communicate with a first sidelink device using a first sidelink communication interface, and communicates with a third sidelink device using a second sidelink communication interface (Fig. 1A, 1C, [0020]-[0024], [0165]-[0170], communicating with another sidelink device (second device) using first interface, the apparatus includes a transceiver that transmits a HARQ configuration over a sidelink interface to another device); and
receive a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration from the first sidelink device via the first sidelink communication interface (Fig. 1A, 1C, [0020]-[0024], [0165]-[0170], communicating with another sidelink device (second device) using first interface, the apparatus includes a transceiver that transmits a HARQ configuration over a sidelink interface to another device);
But Li fails to teach wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback enable indicator, a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback disable indicator, sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback options, a minimum communication range value, a cast type, a group size, a reflective indicator, a non-reflective indicator.
However, Yoshioka teaches wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback enable indicator, a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback disable indicator, sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request feedback options, a minimum communication range value, a cast type, a group size, a reflective indicator, a non-reflective indicator ([0043]-[0045], [0058], multiple devices transmitting to each other over different sidelink modes (e.g. terminal 20B and terminal 20C transmitting to 20A) –showing multi-terminal SL communication aligning with the requirement of second…with a third; HARQ feedback-related fields are discussed which describe HARQ feedback operation including ACK/NACK and feedback channels (PFCH, PUCCH, PUSCH); explicit disclosure of HARQ configuration comprising cast type (unicast, groupcast, and broadcast) as part of the retransmission decision process, furthermore, feedback options are suggested by implication in how feedback handling varies by cast type).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
But Yoshioka fails to teach the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value.
However, 3GPP teaches the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value (Section 8.1 pg. 149-150, Section 8.3 pg. 158; specifies that the transmitting UE sets (in SCI format 2-B) both (i) the HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator and (ii) a communication range requirement field as indicated by higher layers; that communication range requirement is the minimum communication range (MCR) value being carried as part of the sidelink HARQ-related configuration/signaling) .
Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and 3GPP would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 16, Li and Leibel fail to teach the apparatus wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises the cast type and the minimum communication range value to be used by the second sidelink device, and the cast type and the minimum communication range value are signaled to the second sidelink device semi-statically using radio resource configuration signaling transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface or using sidelink configuration information transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface.
However, Yoshioka teaches the apparatus wherein the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises the cast type and the minimum communication range value to be used by the second sidelink device, and the cast type and the minimum communication range value are signaled to the second sidelink device semi-statically using radio resource configuration signaling transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface or using sidelink configuration information transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface ([0044], [0058], Cast type discussed in the context of retransmission behavior/HARQ configuration, semi-static signaling via RRC—mentions a resource pattern in sidelink is set at the terminal…by a RRC configuration, which indicates a semi-static configuration for a resource pattern or cast type or range.
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 17, Li fails to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit a transport block using the second sidelink communication interface based on a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration.
However Yoshioka teaches the apparatus wherein the transceiver transmits a transport block using the second sidelink communication interface ([0046]-[0057] transport block transmission in sidelinks between multiple devices with multiple communication interfaces – HARQ responses and HARQ configurations).
But Yoshioka fails to teach based on a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration.
However, Leibel teaches based on a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration (pg. 1942 (3) discloses geographic based feedback configuration where different UEs employ different HARQ feedback (NACK-only vs. ACK/NACK) based on geographic zones (distance from a terminal/device/UE), behavior (feedback mode) is conditioned on geographic zones configured in HARQ supports the concept that transmission behavior can be zone-based, the second sidelink device configures its feedback behavior based on zone and it could also initiate transmission of a transport block based on that same zone configuration).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Claim(s) 5-9 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Leibel, in further view of Yoshioka as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (US20220166558) (hereinafter "Zhang").
Regarding claim 5, Li and Yoshioka fails to teach the apparatus wherein the second sidelink device multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface according to a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request, and transmits the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface.
However, Leibel teaches geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request ((pg. 1942 (3) discloses geographic based feedback configuration where different UEs employ different HARQ feedback (NACK-only vs. ACK/NACK) based on geographic zones (distance from a terminal/device/UE), behavior (feedback mode) is conditioned on geographic zones configured in HARQ supports the concept that transmission behavior can be zone-based, the second sidelink device configures its feedback behavior based on zone and it could also initiate transmission of a transport block based on that same zone configuration).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
But Leibel fails to teach wherein the second sidelink device multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices and transmits the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the second sidelink device multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices and transmits the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface ([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, Yoshioka, and Zhang would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 6, Li and Yoshioka fail to teach the apparatus wherein the second sidelink device receives a same zone identifier from the plurality of devices, and transmits the multiplexed data and requests to receive hybrid automatic repeat request feedback over the second sidelink communication interface based on the same zone identifier.
However, Leibel teaches wherein the second sidelink device receives a same zone identifier from the plurality of devices, and transmits the multiplexed data and requests to receive hybrid automatic repeat request feedback over the second sidelink communication interface based on the same zone identifier (pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
But Leibel fails to teach transmits the multiplexed data and requests to receive hybrid automatic repeat request feedback over the second sidelink communication interface based on the same zone identifier (([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, Yoshioka, and Zhang would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 7, Li and Yoshioka fail to teach the apparatus wherein the second sidelink device receives different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and the multiplexed data is not transmitted based on a zone identifier.
However, Leibel teaches wherein the second sidelink device receives different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and the multiplexed data is not transmitted based on a zone identifier ((pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
But Leibel fails to teach the multiplexed data is not transmitted.
However, Zhang teaches the multiplexed data is not transmitted (([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, Yoshioka, and Zhang would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the apparatus wherein the second sidelink device receives different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and transmits the multiplexed data and requests to receive hybrid automatic repeat request feedback based on a zone identifier of the second sidelink device ([0130], [0111] suggest base station can configure HARQ rules by region/zone, infer that a terminal follows its own HARQ configuration regardless of what others use, zone-based feedback enablement that could vary by device).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the apparatus wherein the second sidelink device receives different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and disables hybrid automatic repeat request feedback over the second sidelink communication interface ([0111], [0130], describe disabling HARQ feedback based on zones, extended to device receive sone identifiers from other devices, based on zone-dependent HARQ feedback disablement).
Regarding claim 18, Li and Yoshioka fail to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to multiplex data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface according to a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request, and transmit the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface.
However, Leibel teaches geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request ((pg. 1942 (3) discloses geographic based feedback configuration where different UEs employ different HARQ feedback (NACK-only vs. ACK/NACK) based on geographic zones (distance from a terminal/device/UE), behavior (feedback mode) is conditioned on geographic zones configured in HARQ supports the concept that transmission behavior can be zone-based, the second sidelink device configures its feedback behavior based on zone and it could also initiate transmission of a transport block based on that same zone configuration).
Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Yoshioka would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
But Leibel fails to teach wherein the second sidelink device multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices and transmits the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the second sidelink device multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices and transmits the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface ([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, Yoshioka, and Zhang would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 19, Li and Yoshioka to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive a same zone identifier from the plurality of devices, and transmit the multiplexed data and requesting to receive hybrid automatic repeat request feedback over the second sidelink communication interface based on the same zone identifier.
However, Leibel teaches wherein the second sidelink device receives a same zone identifier from the plurality of devices, and transmits the multiplexed data and requests to receive hybrid automatic repeat request feedback over the second sidelink communication interface based on the same zone identifier (pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
But Leibel fails to teach transmits the multiplexed data and requests to receive hybrid automatic repeat request feedback over the second sidelink communication interface based on the same zone identifier (([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, Yoshioka, and Zhang would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 20, Li and Yoshioka fail to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and not transmit the multiplexed data based on a zone identifier.
However, Leibel teaches wherein the second sidelink device receives different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and the multiplexed data is not transmitted based on a zone identifier ((pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
But Leibel fails to teach the multiplexed data is not transmitted.
However, Zhang teaches the multiplexed data is not transmitted (([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Yoshioka and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Yoshioka discloses a terminal, including a reception unit configured to receive information for scheduling a resource used in terminal-to-terminal direct communication, from a base station; and a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal to another terminal, by using the resource. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, Yoshioka, and Zhang would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
Freda et al (US20220279537A1) discloses a simultaneous uplink and sidelink operation.
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419