DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant Arguments/REMARKS correspondence filed on 03/30/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/26/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/REMARKS, filed 03/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of claim amendment language warranting further search and inquiry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, & 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen Li (US20220045800) (hereinafter "Li") in view of Leibel, Renata G et al "HARQ feedback optimization techniques for improved reliability in Cellular Vehicle to Everything", 2020 International Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing (IWCMC), IEEE, 15 June 2020 (2020-06-15), pgs 1940-1945 (hereinafter "Leibel") in further view of Hong et al (US20190230572A1), in further view of 3GPP TR 38.214 V16.2.0 (2020-07) (“3GPP”)).
Regarding claim 2 (and method claim 1), Li teaches an apparatus comprising a first sidelink device (Fig. 1A, 1C terminals as first/second sidelink device), the apparatus further comprising:
at least one memory; (Fig 3 [0242]-[0245] memory) and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (Fig 3 [0242]-[0245] processor) :
communicate with a second sidelink device using a first sidelink communication interface (Fig. 1A, 1C, [0020]-[0024], [0165]-[0170], communicating with another sidelink device (second device) using first interface, the apparatus includes a transceiver that transmits a HARQ configuration over a sidelink interface to another device),
and transmit a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration to the second sidelink device via the first sidelink communication interface (Fig. 1A, 1C, [0020]-[0024], [0165]-[0170], communicating with another sidelink device (second device) using first interface, the apparatus includes a transceiver that transmits a HARQ configuration over a sidelink interface to another device);
However, Li fails but Leibel teaches wherein the second sidelink device communicates with a third sidelink device using a second sidelink communication interface (pg. 5, if there is forwarding of a message from the transmitter UE, then there is a receiver UE, that is the third UE, red car).
Li and Leibel are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Furthermore, Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Combining the art of Li and Leibel would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
However, Leibel fails to teach but Hong teaches wherein the sidelink HARQ configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value and a reflective indicator or a non-reflective indicator, or both ([0082]-[0084], [0089]-[0090], discloses V2X communications over a PC5/D2D sidelink in which a transmitting UE includes a reflective indicator and associated configuration information in a packet/header so that the receiving UE determines whether to apply the same configuration when transmitting response traffic back to the transmitting UE; teaches that reflective QoS may be adapted for V2X communications over the PC5 interface, where a first UE includes a reflective QoS indicator and QoS parameters and the second UE uses the indicator to determine whether to use those parameters for outgoing response traffic; further teaches that the reflective indicator may be set in a packet header to indicate the configuration to be used by the receiving device when transmitting a second packet and that the second packet may be feedback, including HARQ feedback such as ACK/NACK).
Li, Leibel, and Hong are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, and Hong to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
However, Hong does not fully teach but 3GPP teaches the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value (Section 8.1 pg. 149-150, Section 8.3 pg. 158; specifies that the transmitting UE sets (in SCI format 2-B) both (i) the HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator and (ii) a communication range requirement field as indicated by higher layers; that communication range requirement is the minimum communication range (MCR) value being carried as part of the sidelink HARQ-related configuration/signaling) .
Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 3 (and apparatus claim 16), Li and Leibel fail to teach but Hong teaches the apparatus wherein the sidelink HARQ configuration further comprises as cast type or a group size wherein the cast type and the MCR value to be used by the second sidelink device are signaled to the second sidelink device semi-statically using radio resource configuration signaling transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface or using sidelink configuration information transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface ([0028], [0080]-[0084], [0089]-[0090], teaches using cast-type-dependent sidelink configuration information and reflective configuration signaling for HARQ feedback traffic because explains that for unicast and multicast communications, virtual links between UEs may have separate QoS configuration requirements; further teaches signaling a reflectice indicator and associated configuration parameters to a receiving UE so that the receiving UE applies the same configuration when transmitting response traffic including HARQ ACK/NACK feedback, back to the transmitting UE).
Li, Leibel, and Hong are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, and Hong to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
However, Hong does not fully support but 3GPP teaches the specific use of MCR value such as the MCR value to be used by the second sidelink device are signaled to the second sidelink device semi-statically using radio resource configuration signaling transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface or using sidelink configuration information transmitted over the first sidelink communication interface (Section 8.1 pg. 149-150, Section 8.3 pg. 158; specifies that the transmitting UE sets (in SCI format 2-B) both (i) the HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator and (ii) a communication range requirement field as indicated by higher layers; that communication range requirement is the minimum communication range (MCR) value being carried as part of the sidelink HARQ-related configuration/signaling).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 4 (and apparatus claim 17), Li fail to teach but Hong teaches the apparatus wherein the second sidelink device transmits a transport block using the second sidelink communication interface based on a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink HARQ configuration ([0082]-[0084], [0089]-[0090], discloses V2X communications over a PC5/D2D sidelink in which a transmitting UE includes a reflective indicator and associated configuration information in a packet/header so that the receiving UE determines whether to apply the same configuration when transmitting response traffic back to the transmitting UE; teaches that reflective QoS may be adapted for V2X communications over the PC5 interface, where a first UE includes a reflective QoS indicator and QoS parameters and the second UE uses the indicator to determine whether to use those parameters for outgoing response traffic; further teaches that the reflective indicator may be set in a packet header to indicate the configuration to be used by the receiving device when transmitting a second packet and that the second packet may be feedback, including HARQ feedback such as ACK/NACK).
But Hong fails to teach based on a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration.
However, Leibel teaches based on a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration (pg. 1942 (3) discloses geographic based feedback configuration where different UEs employ different HARQ feedback (NACK-only vs. ACK/NACK) based on geographic zones (distance from a terminal/device/UE), behavior (feedback mode) is conditioned on geographic zones configured in HARQ supports the concept that transmission behavior can be zone-based, the second sidelink device configures its feedback behavior based on zone and it could also initiate transmission of a transport block based on that same zone configuration).
Li, Leibel, and Hong are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, and Hong to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 10, Li and Hong fail to teach but Leibel teaches the apparatus wherein the reflective indicator indicates to the second sidelink device to provide the same sidelink HARQ configuration to the third sidelink device (pg. 5, if there is forwarding of a message from the transmitter UE, then there is a receiver UE, that is the third UE, red car, multi-hop propagation – HARQ configuration transmission can be forwarded down a chain of devices as seen in the figure with rules (reflective—same configuration; or nonreflective—custom configuration behavior).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 11, Li and Hong fails to teach but Leibel teaches the apparatus wherein the non-reflective indicator indicates to the second sidelink device to provide a second sidelink HARQ configuration to the third sidelink device, and the sidelink HARQ configuration is different from the second sidelink HARQ configuration (pg. 5, if there is forwarding of a message from the transmitter UE, then there is a receiver UE, that is the third UE, red car, multi-hop propagation – HARQ configuration transmission can be forwarded down a chain of devices as seen in the figure with rules (reflective—same configuration; or nonreflective—custom configuration behavior; pg. 5, if there is forwarding of a message from the transmitter UE, then there is a receiver UE, that is the third UE, red car, multi-hop propagation – HARQ configuration transmission can be forwarded down a chain of devices as seen in the figure with rules (reflective—same configuration; or nonreflective—custom configuration behavior).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 12, Li fails to teach but Leibel teaches the apparatus of wherein the second sidelink device signals the same MCR value to the third sidelink device ((pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 13, Li fails to teach but Leibel teaches the apparatus wherein second sidelink device signals a second MCR value to the third sidelink device ((pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 14, Li fails to teach but Leibel teaches the apparatus wherein the sidelink HARQ configuration comprises a zone identifier, and the second sidelink device signals the zone identifier to the third sidelink device ((pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches an apparatus comprising a second sidelink device Fig. 1A, 1C terminals as first/second sidelink device), the apparatus further comprising:
at least one memory; (Fig 3 [0242]-[0245] memory) and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (Fig 3 [0242]-[0245] processor) :
communicate with a first sidelink device using a first sidelink communication interface, and communicates with a third sidelink device using a second sidelink communication interface (Fig. 1A, 1C, [0020]-[0024], [0165]-[0170], communicating with another sidelink device (second device) using first interface, the apparatus includes a transceiver that transmits a HARQ configuration over a sidelink interface to another device); and
receive a sidelink HARQ onfiguration from the first sidelink device via the first sidelink communication interface (Fig. 1A, 1C, [0020]-[0024], [0165]-[0170], communicating with another sidelink device (second device) using first interface, the apparatus includes a transceiver that transmits a HARQ configuration over a sidelink interface to another device),
However, Li fails but Leibel teaches wherein the second sidelink device communicates with a third sidelink device using a second sidelink communication interface (pg. 5, if there is forwarding of a message from the transmitter UE, then there is a receiver UE, that is the third UE, red car).
Li and Leibel are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li and Leibel to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Furthermore, Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Combining the art of Li and Leibel would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
However, Leibel fails to teach but Hong teaches teach wherein the sidelink HARQ configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value and a reflective indicator or a non-reflective indicator, or both ([0082]-[0084], [0089]-[0090], discloses V2X communications over a PC5/D2D sidelink in which a transmitting UE includes a reflective indicator and associated configuration information in a packet/header so that the receiving UE determines whether to apply the same configuration when transmitting response traffic back to the transmitting UE; teaches that reflective QoS may be adapted for V2X communications over the PC5 interface, where a first UE includes a reflective QoS indicator and QoS parameters and the second UE uses the indicator to determine whether to use those parameters for outgoing response traffic; further teaches that the reflective indicator may be set in a packet header to indicate the configuration to be used by the receiving device when transmitting a second packet and that the second packet may be feedback, including HARQ feedback such as ACK/NACK).
Li, Leibel, and Hong are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, and Hong to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. The reception unit is configured to receive, from another terminal, a response related to a retransmission control corresponding to the signal, and the terminal further includes a control unit configured to select either of information including a positive response or information including a negative response, based on the response related to the retransmission control. The transmission unit is configured to transmit the selected information to the base station. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
However, Hong fails but 3GPP teaches the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request configuration comprises a minimum communication range (MCR) value (Section 8.1 pg. 149-150, Section 8.3 pg. 158; specifies that the transmitting UE sets (in SCI format 2-B) both (i) the HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator and (ii) a communication range requirement field as indicated by higher layers; that communication range requirement is the minimum communication range (MCR) value being carried as part of the sidelink HARQ-related configuration/signaling) .
Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and 3GPP to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Claims 5-9 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Leibel, in further view of Hong as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (US20220166558) (hereinafter "Zhang").
Regarding claim 5, Li and Hong fails to teach but Leibel teaches the apparatus wherein the second sidelink device multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface according to a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink HARQ configuration, and transmits the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface ((pg. 1942 (3) discloses geographic based feedback configuration where different UEs employ different HARQ feedback (NACK-only vs. ACK/NACK) based on geographic zones (distance from a terminal/device/UE), behavior (feedback mode) is conditioned on geographic zones configured in HARQ supports the concept that transmission behavior can be zone-based, the second sidelink device configures its feedback behavior based on zone and it could also initiate transmission of a transport block based on that same zone configuration).
Li, Leibel, and Hong are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, and Hong to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
But Leibel fails to teach wherein the second sidelink device multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices and transmits the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the second sidelink device multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices and transmits the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface ([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 6, Li and Hong fail to teach but Leibel teaches the apparatus wherein the sidelink HARQ configuration further comprises a sidelink HARQ feedback enable indicator or sidelink HARQ feedback options, wherein the second sidelink device receives a same zone identifier from the plurality of devices, and transmits the multiplexed data and requests to receive HARQ feedback over the second sidelink communication interface based on the same zone identifier (pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
But Leibel fails to teach transmits the multiplexed data and requests to receive hybrid automatic repeat request feedback over the second sidelink communication interface based on the same zone identifier (([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 7, Li and Hong fail to teach the apparatus wherein the second sidelink device receives different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and the multiplexed data is not transmitted based on a zone identifier.
However, Leibel teaches wherein the second sidelink device receives different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and the multiplexed data is not transmitted based on a zone identifier ((pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
But Leibel fails to teach the multiplexed data is not transmitted.
However, Zhang teaches the multiplexed data is not transmitted (([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the apparatus wherein the second sidelink device receives different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and transmits the multiplexed data and requests to receive HARQ feedback based on a zone identifier of the second sidelink device ([0130], [0111] suggest base station can configure HARQ rules by region/zone, infer that a terminal follows its own HARQ configuration regardless of what others use, zone-based feedback enablement that could vary by device).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the apparatus wherein the sidelink HARQ configuration further comprises a sidelink HARQ feedback disable indicator or sidelink HARQ feedback options wherein the second sidelink device receives different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and disables HARQ feedback over the second sidelink communication interface ([0111], [0130], describe disabling HARQ feedback based on zones, extended to device receive sone identifiers from other devices, based on zone-dependent HARQ feedback disablement).
Regarding claim 18, Li and Hong fail to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to multiplex data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface according to a geographic zone indicated in the sidelink HARQ, and transmit the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface.
However, Leibel teaches geographic zone indicated in the sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request ((pg. 1942 (3) discloses geographic based feedback configuration where different UEs employ different HARQ feedback (NACK-only vs. ACK/NACK) based on geographic zones (distance from a terminal/device/UE), behavior (feedback mode) is conditioned on geographic zones configured in HARQ supports the concept that transmission behavior can be zone-based, the second sidelink device configures its feedback behavior based on zone and it could also initiate transmission of a transport block based on that same zone configuration).
Li, Leibel, and Hong are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, and Hong to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
But Leibel fails to teach wherein the second sidelink device multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices and transmits the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the second sidelink device multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices and transmits the multiplexed data over the second sidelink communication interface ([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 19, Li and Hong to teach the apparatus wherein the sidelink HARQ configuration further comprises a sidelink HARQ feedback enable indicator or sidelink HARQ feedback options, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive a same zone identifier from the plurality of devices, and transmit the multiplexed data and requesting to receive hybrid automatic repeat request feedback over the second sidelink communication interface based on the same zone identifier.
However, Leibel teaches wherein the sidelink HARQ configuration further comprises a sidelink HARQ feedback enable indicator or sidelink HARQ feedback options (pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present), wherein the second sidelink device receives a same zone identifier from the plurality of devices, and transmits the multiplexed data and requests to receive hybrid automatic repeat request feedback over the second sidelink communication interface based on the same zone identifier (pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
But Leibel fails to teach but Zhang teaches transmits the multiplexed data and requests to receive HARQ feedback over the second sidelink communication interface based on the same zone identifier (([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Regarding claim 20, Li and Hong fail to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and not transmit the multiplexed data based on a zone identifier.
However, Leibel teaches wherein the second sidelink device receives different zone identifiers from the plurality of devices, and the multiplexed data is not transmitted based on a zone identifier ((pg. 1942 (3) describes a scenario where all receivers are implicitly classified into the same feedback region (zone)—either “inside the line (green) or “outside the line” (red), this implies that zone identity could be known or shared among multiple UEs; shared zone-based HARQ behavior could imply that a device is aware of its own and other UEs zones; concept of zone identifiers being common among a group of UEs is present).
But Leibel fails to teach the multiplexed data is not transmitted.
However, Zhang teaches the multiplexed data is not transmitted (([0080], [0087], [0097]-[0102], [0104]-[0108], second sidelink device—device MAC PDU multiplexing and transmission is a UE acting as a relay, multiplexes data received from a plurality of devices over the first sidelink communication interface—multiplexing of data (MAC SDUs) into a MAC PDU, the SDUs received from different devices over sidelink communication).
Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of structured HARQ configuration transmission in sidelinks and multi-hop D2D communication with HARQ configuration parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li, Leibel, Hong, and Zhang to create a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request.
Li discloses a general method and device for configuring HARQ feedback configuration between terminal (devices) nodes. Leibel discloses HARQ feedback solutions in the context of group communications (multiple devices such as multi-hop D2D communication). Furthermore, Hong teaches the indicator causes the second sidelink device to use the same configuration for return/response HARQ feedback traffic, including ACK/NACK over V2X sidelink/PC5 communications. Lastly, 3GPP discloses a MCR value in SL-HARQ or HARQ feedback enabled/disabled indicator…and communication range requirement field. Combining the combination of Li, Leibel, and Hong would yield a method and subsequent apparatus for configuring a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request. Furthermore, Zhang discloses a method of operating a wireless device providing sidelink communication specifically multiplex data in sidelink communications. The motivation for making such a combination would be facilitate flexible and context-aware HARQ feedback mechanisms in sidelink (direct D2D) communications, enabling hierarchical and possibly geographically-aware propagation of data.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419