CTFR 18/019,513 CTFR 79472 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-31-01 Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites inter alai “…a first sub-wireless communication system including a first access point apparatus for managing a first radio resource and a second sub- wireless communication system including a second access point apparatus for managing a second radio resource…”. Claim 2 recites inter alia “… the identifier is valid only in the first sub- wireless communication system…”. The underlined portions of the limitations are not disclosed in the specifications and/or drawings to allow one skilled in the art to make and use the invention as intended and therefore constitutes as new matter and rejected accordingly. Similarly, independent claims 4 and 7 recites features similar to claim 1 and therefore rejected for same reasoning as claim 1. Similarly, dependent claims 3, 5-6, 8-9 recite features similar to claim 2 and therefore rejected for same reasoning as claim 2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1,4,7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Phan et al (US 20190045583 A1) hereinafter as Van Phan in view of MARTIN et al (US 20200296640 A1) hereinafter as MARTIN . Regarding claim(s) 1,4,7, Van Phan discloses a terminal apparatus in a wireless communication system comprising a first sub-wireless communication system including a first access point apparatus for managing a first radio resource and a second sub- wireless communication system including a second access point apparatus for managing a second radio resource, the terminal apparatus being associated with the first access point apparatus ( See Fig(s) . 1,7, See ¶ abstract, 22-23 A cluster of access points is determined for a terminal device for multi-connectivity, Fig. 1 shows terminal device TD1 with subsets of APs with first and second configurations), wherein the terminal apparatus comprises: a transmitter; and a receiver ( See Fig(s) . 14), the receiver is configured to receive control information from the first access point apparatus ( See ¶ 112, The targeted multi-connectivity anchor node may be determined by a forwarding access point in the cluster based on terminal device-specific control information preconfigured to the access points in the cluster of the terminal device using a network signaling procedure). Van Phan fails to discloses the control information indicates that the second radio resource is associated with an identifier identifying the terminal apparatus, and when the control information indicates the second radio resource, the transmitter is configured to transmit frames using the second radio resource. MARTIN discloses the control information indicates that the second radio resource is associated with an identifier identifying the terminal apparatus ( See Fig(s) . 3, See ¶ 58, a synchronisation offset, associated with the second network infrastructure element/second communication cell 302 ; an indication of an identifier to be used by the terminal device for communicating with the second network infrastructure element), and when the control information indicates the second radio resource, the transmitter is configured to transmit frames using the second radio resource (see Van Phan disclose transmission via frames See Fig(s) . 10, See ¶ 68, 88 the access point may decide not to monitor scheduling assignments if the scheduling assignment is to be sent in a preconfigured time slot or a sub-frame). Terminal identifier ensures data is transmitted by any given AP is transferred to the correct terminal within a given sub system based on the terminal identifier. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of MARTIN within Van Phan, so as to ensure data is transmitted by an given AP is transferred to the correct terminal within a given sub system . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-3,5-6,8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Phan et al (US 20190045583 A1) hereinafter as Van Phan in view of MARTIN et al (US 20200296640 A1) hereinafter as MARTIN further in view of Takabatake et al (US 7158483 B1) hereinafter as Takabatake . Regarding claim(s) 2,5,8 Takabatake discloses the identifier of the terminal apparatus is valid only in the first sub wireless communication system. ( See Fig(s) . 1,6, See ¶ 50, a communication resource information reception function for receiving the communication resource information in the other communication node to which that communication terminal has been connected up until it is connected to the own node, from that communication terminal, a resource identifier notification function for notifying an identifier of the communication resource on the second network which is reserved by that radio terminal for the purpose of communicating with a node on the second network (IEEE 1394 bus, for example), to that radio terminal, and a resource identifier reception function for receiving the identifier of the communication resource that is notified to that radio terminal by the resource identifier notification function. Resource identification ensures that the particular resource is not allocated to another UE thus preventing collision and/or loss of data. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Takabatake within Shin, so as to ensure that the particular resource is not allocated to another UE thus preventing collision and/or loss of data. Regarding claim(s) 3,6,9 Takabatake discloses the identifier of the terminal apparatus is valid in the wireless communication system( See Fig(s) . 1,6, See ¶ 50, a communication resource information reception function for receiving the communication resource information in the other communication node to which that communication terminal has been connected up until it is connected to the own node, from that communication terminal, a resource identifier notification function for notifying an identifier of the communication resource on the second network which is reserved by that radio terminal for the purpose of communicating with a node on the second network (IEEE 1394 bus, for example), to that radio terminal, and a resource identifier reception function for receiving the identifier of the communication resource that is notified to that radio terminal by the resource identifier notification function. Resource identification ensures that the particular resource is not allocated to another UE thus preventing collision and/or loss of data. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Takabatake within Shin, so as to ensure that the particular resource is not allocated to another UE thus preventing collision and/or loss of data. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because based on new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicants amendments. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RAJ JAIN whose telephone number is (571)-272-3145. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th 8-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Derrick Ferris can be reached 571-272-2123. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center for authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to Patent Center, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form. /RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/019,513 Page 2 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/019,513 Page 3 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/019,513 Page 4 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/019,513 Page 5 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/019,513 Page 6 Art Unit: 2411