DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The election is noted. Claim 17 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is unclear what the protector is. Is it an apparatus feature or an infeed material? What is being protected? What activity is meant? The last two lines are unclear. What two things are being contacted, or does the claim try to say that contact is avoided?
The repeated use of ‘and’ in claim 15 and 20 makes it unclear as to what the (two?) choices are. They should be listed separately and separated by the word ‘or’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Kuhn et al. 10946362.
Kuhn teaches, especially in col. 4-8 and fig 8, a redox cycle of a metal oxide material treated with H2 and water. Also taught are CO2 and input feed lines with their own preheater and two reactors which can be alternated between oxidation and reducing cycles, with the outlets being merged.
For claim 2, this is a process limitation which does not limit the apparatus. However, see col. 9, in which the temperatures can be chosen to be the same.
For claim 13, see fig. 2.
For claim 14, Mn and Fe can be in the metal oxide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 16, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhn et al. 10946362.
Kuhn, above, does not explicitly teach the features of these claims.
For claim 6, initial pressurization is obvious to create a fluidized bed if that embodiment is desired; see col. 8 lines 55-65.
For claim 7, assuring that the infeed gas is free of contaminants is obvious to preserve the vacancies of the catalyst; see col. 15-16.
For claim 16, col. 3 teaches any CO2 source, so using an exhaust pipe is obvious to reduce greenhouse gas.
For claim 18, this is a process limitation which does not limit the apparatus. See col. 9, in which the temperatures can be chosen to be the same.
For claim 19, see fig. 2.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guyomarc’h 9327986.
Guyomarc’h teaches in the figure initial heat exchange with infeed gas, in a chemical looping scheme. Using it in the process of Kuhn is obvious to provide the desired temperature for initiation of the process.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shekhawat et al. 20190282992.
For claims 9-11, Shekhawat teaches, especially on pg. 4, microwave heating of a catalyst during cyclic processing. Using it in the process of Kuhn is obvious to heat the catalyst when necessary and minimize damaging it.
Claims 4, 5, 12, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhn as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of JP 201516467.
For claims 15, 20, ‘467 teaches outlet gas purifier/compressor/dryer paras 7, 8, 14 to separate CO2 in a chemical looping system. Using a ‘cylinder’ is obvious given that it is the shape of a normal pipe. Using the separator in the process of Kuhn is obvious to separate out the CO2 for use in further looping.
For claim 4, CO2 is made from combustion; see para 13.
For claims 5 and 12, oxygen and CO are contaminants in the product, thus removing them is obvious. See para 20.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16, 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-13 of copending Application No. 18/019561 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common subject matter; the switching conditions are a process consideration, not an apparatus one.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-16, 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/019554 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common subject matter.
See claim 3 of the copending case.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The copending case has been allowed but not patented.
Claims 1-16, 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-7, 14, 16 of copending Application No. 17/277962 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common subject matter.
Note that present clam 4 provides the initial gas feed of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
17/277962 is allowed but not patented.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736