DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment dated 8/5/2026 has been considered and entered into the record. Claim 1, from which all active claims depend, has been amended to require a reactant that is ethyl acetate or glycerol acetate. This new limitation is not provided for in the combined teachings of Daubresse, Lee, and Vassilevsky. Accordingly, the previous rejection based upon these references is hereby withdrawn.
Claims 10, 53, 55, 100, and 101 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 12, 15, 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 64, 65, and 70 remain pending, while claims 44, 45, 47, 49, 50, 64, 65, and 70 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 12 and 15 are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daubresse (US 2019/0256421 A1) in view of Lee (KR 10 20120110694 A) and McDonald (US 2017/0130116 A1).
Daubresse teaches the creation of a composition comprising a binder comprising a silicate, a bio-aggregate, and a surfactant. Daubresse abstract. The silicate used in the binder may include sodium silicates, potassium silicates, and combinations thereof. Id. ¶ 155. The bio-aggregate may include chopped sunflower stalks. Id. ¶ 252. The claimed weight percentages of the binder and bio-aggregate are presented in the Examples. See id. ¶ 399.
Daubresse fails to teach the binder comprises at least 50 weight percent silicate.
Lee teaches the creation of a panel comprising a pearl rock particle and an expandable vermiculite particle mixed with a composition comprising an inorganic binder, wherein the inorganic binder composition is 70% sodium silicate and 10% hemp fiber. Lee abstract.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to have looked to Lee for guidance as to suitable weight percentages of silicate in order to successfully practice the invention of Daubresse.
Daubresse also fails to teach a binder further comprising a reactant that chemically reacts with the silicate, wherein the reactant is ethyl acetate or glycerol acetate.
McDonald teaches the use of a sealant composition that includes alkali silicate, such as sodium or potassium silicate, and a setting agent like ethyl acetate, and filler like walnut hulls. McDonald abstract, ¶¶ 20, 31, 34.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have added the ethyl acetate of McDonald to the Daubresse composition motivated by the desire to react and set the composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 12, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D MATZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786