DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 10/03/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1, the applicant argued that Applicant submits that the assertion that ZTE teaches claim element (1.1) is in error because claim element (1.3) requires that the "relay assistance threshold” of claim element (1.1) he be a time based value since it is used to determine a condition that a total time is greater than the "relay assistance threshold." First, Zhang is inapplicable to the present claims because it teaches sending information to a server, whereas the present claims require sending to a base station; a distinction that a person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate. Second, the preset threshold recited in Zhang is different than the claimed "relay assistance threshold" in not only the plaining meaning of the words, but in how each term is used and explained from their respective sources.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. ZTE/R2-153764 clearly discloses that a Relay UE/relay wireless transmit received unit is receiving configuration information from the eNB, the configuration information includes a minimum and/or a maximum Uu link quality (RSRP/RSRQ) thresholds i.e., a relay assistance threshold since the eNB is broadcasting a minimum and/or a maximum Uu link quality (RSRP/RSRQ) thresholds i.e., the relay assistance threshold if UEs are configured as Relay UE via broadcast signaling (see ZTE/R2-153764, page 8 Proposal 2a lines 1-3 and Proposal 2b lines 1-3).
ZTE/R2-153764 also discloses that the Relay UE/relay wireless transmit received unit is broadcasting/sending the data signal to the eNB base station using the grant of resources since the Relay UE/relay wireless transmit received unit is relaying data message by receiving the data message from the remote UE via the sidelink e.g., UE information message, whereby the eNB explicitly grant the request and allow the UE to start when conditions broadcasted are met ....and the eNB control the use of its resources (see ZTE/R2-153764, page 10 lines 3-7, and page 9 lines 10-14 to lines 37-42).
Additionally, Zhang discloses the user terminal is sending a help route acquisition request i.e., assistance indication to the indoor server if the time duration is greater than a preset time threshold since the user terminal is sending a help route acquisition request i.e., assistance indication at step S204 for obtaining a help-seeking route to the indoor server if the time duration is greater than a preset time threshold, the request for obtaining help-seeking route includes the current geographic location indoors where the user terminal is located, so as to trigger the indoor server e.g., base station to determine the route between the current geographic location and the pre-stored location of the help-seeking platform; (see Zhang, Fig.2-4 page 3/10 lines 32-34, Fig.2-4 page 4/10 lines 15-17, Fig.2-4 page 6/10 lines 1-5, Fig.3-4 page 7/10 lines 46-48 and Fig.3-4 page 8/10 lines 24-27)
Claim 7, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 1. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1: ZTE (RAPPORTEUR): "Report of email discussion [90#25][LTE/ProSe] Relay UE initiation, discovery and selection/re-selection", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-153764 REPORT OF 90#25 RELAY UE, vol. RAN WG2, no. Beijing, China; 20150824 - 20150828 23 August 2015 (2015-08-23) in view of Hosseini et al. (provisional application No. 62/990286 filed on 03/16/2020) [hereinafter as Hosseini], US 2021/0289529 A1 in view of Zhang et al. [hereinafter as Zhang], CN 105,222,786 A further in view of Min et al. [hereinafter as Min], KR 20100028723 A.
Regarding claim 1, ZTE/R2-153764 discloses wherein a method implemented by a relay wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) (page 1 section 2.1.1. Relay discovery model lines 1-7, a method implemented by a Relay UE/relay wireless transmit received unit), the method comprising:
receiving configuration information from a base station, wherein the configuration information includes a relay assistance threshold (page 8 Proposal 2a lines 1-3, receiving configuration information from the eNB, the configuration information includes a minimum and/or a maximum Uu link quality (RSRP/RSRQ) thresholds i.e., a relay assistance threshold);
receiving resource information indicating a grant of resources from the base station (page 9 lines 37-42, receiving resource information indicating a grant of resources from the eNB base station, whereby the eNB explicitly grant the request and allow the UE to start when conditions broadcasted are met ....and the eNB control the use of its resources); and
relaying data by receiving the data from the remote WTRU via the sidelink and sending the data to the base station using the grant of resources (page 9 lines 10-14 to lines 37-42, relaying data message by receiving the data message from the remote UE via the sidelink e.g., UE information message, whereby the eNB explicitly grant the request and allow the UE to start when conditions broadcasted are met ....and the eNB control the use of its resources and page 10 lines 3-7, broadcasting/sending the data signal to the eNB base station using the grant of resources).
However, ZTE/R2-153764 does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving remote WTRU assistance information via a sidelink from a remote WTRU.
In the same field of endeavor, Hosseini teaches wherein receiving remote WTRU assistance information via a sidelink from a remote WTRU (Fig.6 [0081], the relay UE 120 is receiving the sidelink-assisted feedback i.e., remote UE assistance information via PC5 sidelink from a remote UE 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified ZTE/R2-153764 to incorporate the teaching of Hosseini in order to provide for improving the robustness of sidelink-assisted feedback. It would have been beneficial to receive the sidelink-assisted feedback i.e., remote UE assistance information via PC5 sidelink from a remote UE 120 as taught by Hosseini to have incorporated in the system of ZTE/R2-153764 to provide for improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs and improving services. (Hosseini, Fig.1 [0005], Fig.1 [0036] and Fig.6 [0084])
However, ZTE/R2-153764 and Hosseini do not explicitly disclose wherein sending an assistance indication to the base station on a condition that a total time is greater than the relay assistance threshold, wherein the total time is determined from the remote WTRU assistance information.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein sending an assistance indication to the base station on a condition that a total time is greater than the relay assistance threshold (Fig.2-4 page 3/10 lines 32-34, sending a help route acquisition request i.e., assistance indication to the indoor server if the time duration is greater than a preset time threshold; Fig.2-4 page 4/10 lines 15-17 and Fig.2-4 page 6/10 lines 1-5, step S204 sending a help route acquisition request i.e., assistance indication for obtaining a help-seeking route to the indoor server if the time duration is greater than a preset time threshold, the request for obtaining help-seeking route includes the current geographic location indoors where the user terminal is located, so as to trigger the indoor server to determine the route between the current geographic location and the pre-stored location of the help-seeking platform; Fig.3-4 page 7/10 lines 46-48 and Fig.3-4 page 8/10 lines 24-27), wherein the total time is determined from the remote WTRU assistance information (Fig.2-4 page 3/10 lines 32-34, the duration time/ total time is determined from the help-seeking guidance assistance information of the help-seeking platform; Fig.2-4 page 4/10 lines 15-17, Fig.2-4 page 6/10 lines 1-5, Fig.3-4 page 7/10 lines 46-48 and Fig.3-4 page 8/10 lines 24-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified ZTE/R2-153764 and Hosseini to incorporate the teaching of Zhang in order to provide for improving user experience. It would have been beneficial to send a help route acquisition request i.e., assistance indication to the indoor server if the time duration is greater than a preset time threshold as taught by Zhang to have incorporated in the system of ZTE/R2-153764 and Hosseini to provide for improving a service platform capable of providing help. (Zhang, Fig.2-4 page 3/10 lines 32-34, Fig.2-4 page 4/10 lines 15-17 Fig.1-2 page 5/10 lines 20-25, Fig.2-4 page 6/10 lines 1-5, Fig.3-4 page 7/10 lines 46-48 and Fig.3-4 page 8/10 lines 24-27)
Even though ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini and Zhang disclose wherein the total time is determined from the remote WTRU assistance information, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches wherein the total time is determined from the remote WTRU assistance information (Fig.2 page 4/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-11, total time e.g., a help signal/assistance information during a random section T1 and a response signal during a random section T2 is determined from the remote terminal A 200 help signal/WTRU assistance information and Fig.2 page 12/19 paragraph 4-6 lines 1-3, Fig.9 processor 904-908 and transceiver 900 and Fig.10 page 8/19 paragraph 6 lines 1-4 to page 9/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-4, the total time is determined from the remote terminal help signal information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini and Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Min in order to provide for improving the probability of detecting a help signal. It would have been beneficial to use the terminal A 200/remote WTRU which repeatedly transmits a help signal/ assistance information during a random section T1 and searches for a relay amble that is a response signal during a random section T2 i.e., total time is determined from the remote WTRU assistance information as taught by Min to have incorporated in the system of ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini and Zhang to provide for improving the transmission performance of the help signal. (Min, Fig.2 page 4/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-11 and Fig.2 page 5/19 paragraph 4 lines 1-20, Fig.2 page 7/19 paragraph 7 lines 1-4, Fig.2 page 8/19 paragraph 5 lines 1-10 and Fig.10 page 8/19 paragraph 6 lines 1-4 to page 9/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-4)
Regarding claim 2, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein ZTE/R2-153764 further discloses the remote WTRU assistance information includes an expected latency time of the sidelink and data volume information (page 34 section 2.4.1. Start time for transmitting data over the PC5 link lines 1-8, the remote UE “assistance message” information includes an expected latency time of the PC5 sidelink and data capacity volume information).
Additionally, Min discloses the total time comprises a first time plus a second time (page 4/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-11, the total time comprises a first time T1 plus a second time T2), wherein the first time is determined from the expected latency time of the sidelink, and wherein the second time is determined from the data volume information (page 4/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-11, a random section T1 the first time is determined from the expected latency time of the uplink e.g., time interval in consideration of the SCH reception sensitivity and a random section T2 the second time is determined from the data volume information e.g., measurement of each relay amble reception).
Regarding claim 3, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein ZTE/R2-153764 further discloses the grant of resources includes one or more time slots (page 9 lines 37-42, the grant of resources includes one or more time slots and page 19 lines 43-45, the grant of resources includes one or more time slots).
Regarding claim 4, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein ZTE/R2-153764 further discloses the configuration information is control information received in a control channel transmission (page 8 Proposal 2a lines 1-3, the configuration information from the eNB is control information received in a Uu control channel transmission and page 9 section 2.1.3 lines 1-4, the radio level can control whether the UE acts as a relay).
Regarding claim 5, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein ZTE/R2-153764 further discloses the remote WTRU assistance information is received in sidelink control information or a sidelink medium access control (MAC) control element (page 34 section 2.4.1. Start time for transmitting data over the PC5 link lines 1-8, remote UE “assistance message” information is received in PC5 sidelink control information from a remote UE).
Regarding claim 6, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein ZTE/R2-153764 further discloses
the resource information indicating the grant of resources is received in response to sending the assistance indication (page 9 lines 37-42, page 9 lines 37-42, the resource information indicating the grant of resources is received from the eNB base station in response to sending the UE “assistance message” information indication).
Regarding claim 7, ZTE/R2-153764 discloses wherein a relay wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (page 1 section 2.1.1. Relay discovery model lines 1-7, a Relay UE/relay wireless transmit received unit), the WTRU comprising:
a processor connected to a transceiver (page 1 section 2.1.1. Relay discovery model lines 1-7, a processor coupled to a transceiver, inherently implied),
the processor and transceiver configured to receive configuration information from a base station, wherein the configuration information includes a relay assistance threshold (page 8 Proposal 2a lines 1-3, the processor and transceiver of the Relay UE/WTRU is receiving configuration information from the eNB, the configuration information includes a minimum and/or a maximum Uu link quality (RSRP/RSRQ) thresholds i.e., a relay assistance threshold);
the processor and transceiver configured to receive resource information indicating a grant of resources from the base station (page 9 lines 37-42, the processor and transceiver of the Relay UE/WTRU is receiving resource information indicating a grant of resources from the eNB base station, whereby the eNB explicitly grant the request and allow the UE to start when conditions broadcasted are met ....and the eNB control the use of its resources); and
the processor and transceiver configured to relay data by receiving the data from the remote WTRU and sending the data to the base station using the grant of resources (page 9 lines 10-14 to lines 37-42, the processor and transceiver of the Relay UE/WTRU is relaying data message by receiving the data message from the remote UE via the sidelink e.g., UE information message, whereby the eNB explicitly grant the request and allow the UE to start when conditions broadcasted are met ....and the eNB control the use of its resources and page 10 lines 3-7, broadcasting/sending the data signal to the eNB base station using the grant of resources).
However, ZTE/R2-153764 does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor and transceiver configured to receive remote WTRU assistance information via a sidelink from a remote WTRU.
In the same field of endeavor, Hosseini teaches wherein the processor and transceiver configured to receive remote WTRU assistance information via a sidelink from a remote WTRU (Fig.6 [0081], the relay UE 120 is receiving the sidelink-assisted feedback i.e., remote UE assistance information via PC5 sidelink from a remote UE 120 and Fig.1 [0036], processor component and memory component of the relay UE 120);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified ZTE/R2-153764 to incorporate the teaching of Hosseini in order to provide for improving the robustness of sidelink-assisted feedback. It would have been beneficial to receive the sidelink-assisted feedback i.e., remote UE assistance information via PC5 sidelink from a remote UE 120 as taught by Hosseini to have incorporated in the system of ZTE/R2-153764 to provide for improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs and improving services. (Hosseini, Fig.1 [0005], Fig.1 [0036] and Fig.6 [0084])
However, ZTE/R2-153764 and Hosseini do not explicitly disclose wherein the processor and transceiver configured to send an assistance indication to the base station on a condition that a total time is greater than the relay assistance threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the processor and transceiver configured to send an assistance indication to the base station on a condition that a total time is greater than the relay assistance threshold (Fig.2-4 page 3/10 lines 32-34, sending a help route acquisition request i.e., assistance indication to the indoor server if the time duration is greater than a preset time threshold; Fig.2-4 page 4/10 lines 15-17 and Fig.2-4 page 6/10 lines 1-5, step S204 sending a help route acquisition request i.e., assistance indication for obtaining a help-seeking route to the indoor server if the time duration is greater than a preset time threshold, the request for obtaining help-seeking route includes the current geographic location indoors where the user terminal is located, so as to trigger the indoor server to determine the route between the current geographic location and the pre-stored location of the help-seeking platform; Fig.3-4 page 7/10 lines 46-48 and Fig.3-4 page 8/10 lines 24-27), wherein the total time is determined from the remote WTRU assistance information (Fig.2-4 page 3/10 lines 32-34, the duration time/ total time is determined from the help-seeking guidance information of the help-seeking platform; Fig.2-4 page 4/10 lines 15-17, Fig.2-4 page 6/10 lines 1-5, Fig.3-4 page 7/10 lines 46-48 and Fig.3-4 page 8/10 lines 24-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified ZTE/R2-153764 and Hosseini to incorporate the teaching of Zhang in order to provide for improving user experience. It would have been beneficial to send a help route acquisition request i.e., assistance indication to the indoor server if the time duration is greater than a preset time threshold as taught by Zhang to have incorporated in the system of ZTE/R2-153764 to provide for improving a service platform capable of providing help. (Zhang, Fig.2-4 page 3/10 lines 32-34, Fig.2-4 page 4/10 lines 15-17 Fig.1-2 page 5/10 lines 20-25, Fig.2-4 page 6/10 lines 1-5, Fig.3-4 page 7/10 lines 46-48 and Fig.3-4 page 8/10 lines 24-27)
Even though ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini and Zhang disclose wherein the total time is determined from the remote WTRU assistance information, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches wherein the total time is determined from the remote WTRU assistance information (Fig.2 page 4/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-11, total time e.g., a help signal/assistance information during a random section T1 and a response signal during a random section T2 is determined from the remote terminal A 200 help signal/WTRU assistance information and Fig.2 page 12/19 paragraph 4-6 lines 1-3, Fig.9 processor 904-908 and transceiver 900 and Fig.10 page 8/19 paragraph 6 lines 1-4 to page 9/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-4, the total time is determined from the remote terminal help signal information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini and Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Min in order to provide for improving the probability of detecting a help signal. It would have been beneficial to use the terminal A 200/remote WTRU which repeatedly transmits a help signal/ assistance information during a random section T1 and searches for a relay amble that is a response signal during a random section T2 i.e., total time is determined from the remote WTRU assistance information as taught by Min to have incorporated in the system of ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini and Zhang to provide for improving the transmission performance of the help signal. (Min, Fig.2 page 4/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-11 and Fig.2 page 5/19 paragraph 4 lines 1-20, Fig.2 page 7/19 paragraph 7 lines 1-4, Fig.2 page 8/19 paragraph 5 lines 1-10 and Fig.10 page 8/19 paragraph 6 lines 1-4 to page 9/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-4)
Regarding claim 8, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 7 as stated above wherein ZTE/R2-153764 further discloses the remote WTRU assistance information includes an expected latency time of the sidelink and data volume information (page 34 section 2.4.1. Start time for transmitting data over the PC5 link lines 1-8, the remote UE “assistance message” information includes an expected latency time of the PC5 sidelink and data capacity volume information).
Additionally, Min discloses the total time comprises a first time plus a second time (page 4/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-11, the total time comprises a first time T1 plus a second time T2), wherein the first time is determined from the expected latency time of the sidelink, and wherein the second time is determined from the data volume information (page 4/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-11, a random section T1 the first time is determined from the expected latency time of the uplink e.g., time interval in consideration of the SCH reception sensitivity and a random section T2 the second time is determined from the data volume information e.g., measurement of each relay amble reception).
Regarding claim 9, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 7 as stated above wherein ZTE/R2-153764 further discloses the grant of resources includes one or more time slots (page 9 lines 37-42, the grant of resources includes one or more time slots and page 19 lines 43-45, the grant of resources includes one or more time slots).
Regarding claim 10, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 7 as stated above wherein ZTE/R2-153764 further discloses the configuration information is control information received in a control channel transmission (page 8 Proposal 2a lines 1-3, the configuration information from the eNB is control information received in a Uu control channel transmission and page 9 section 2.1.3 lines 1-4, the radio level can control whether the UE acts as a relay).
Regarding claim 11, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 7 as stated above wherein ZTE/R2-153764 further discloses the remote WTRU assistance information is received in sidelink control information or a sidelink medium access control (MAC) control element (page 34 section 2.4.1. Start time for transmitting data over the PC5 link lines 1-8, remote UE “assistance message” information is received in PC5 sidelink control information from a remote UE).
Regarding claim 12, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 7 as stated above wherein ZTE/R2-153764 further discloses the resource information indicating the grant of resources is received in response to sending the assistance indication (page 9 lines 37-42, the resource information indicating the grant of resources is received from the eNB base station in response to sending the UE “assistance message” information indication).
Regarding claim 13, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Min further discloses the second time is further determined from an amount of data in a buffer of the relay WTRU (page 4/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-11, a random section T2 the second time is determined from an amount of data volume information in a buffer of the relay terminal UE).
Regarding claim 14, ZTE/R2-153764, Hosseini, Zhang and Min disclosed all the elements of claim 2 as stated above wherein Min further discloses the second time is further determined from an amount of data in a buffer of the relay WTRU (page 4/19 paragraph 1 lines 1-11, a random section T2 the second time is determined from an amount of data volume information in a buffer of the relay terminal UE).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414