DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 5/5/2026. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, 14, 15, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Salim et al. “Salim” US 2022/0272727.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Salim teaches a method and a first user equipment (UE) in a sidelink communication system, the first UE comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor (Paragraph 67) configured to:
generate first information associated with inter-UE coordination related to sidelink communication, wherein the first information provides sidelink resources for a second UE (Paragraph 26 teaches coordination information with respect to vehicles. These vehicles have UEs incorporated into them. As this is V2X, one can see UE coordination with respect to sidelink (i.e. inter-UE coordination) and allocating resources amongst each other. First stage SCI includes scheduling information (i.e. first information) and also information regarding the MCS corresponding to the second stage SCI; Paragraph 12. The scheduled information includes time/frequency resources; Paragraph 32);
determine resources for the sidelink communication in a resource allocation mode 2, (mode 2 is used for resource reservation for UEs; Paragraphs 30-34. Thus resources are determined for the information/SCI using resource allocation mode 2. Second stage SCI, which is indicated by the first SCI which can include time/frequency and MCS information; Paragraphs 12-18.);
transmit, to the second UE, the first information in 2nd stage SCI based on the determined resources, wherein the 2nd stage SCI is transmitted on a PSSCH and the 2nd stage SCI indicates that the first information is carried in the 2nd stage SCI (SCI information from paragraphs 12-18 above, (which includes dual stage and is based on the resources used for transmission between UE1 and UE2) is transmit; Paragraph 30. Thus the first information is transmit in the 2nd stage. Paragraphs 54-57 show the second stage SCI is transmit on the PSSCH and is used for resource scheduling. As the information is carried in the 2nd stage, the 2nd stage SCI is viewed as indicating the first information is carried in the 2nd stage SCI as that’s where it is located);
wherein the first information includes time-frequency locations information configured for indicating to the SL resources (the first stage SCI indicates resources it schedules or reserves; Paragraph 43. This is the third information which indicates resources. Every message/thing that occurs in a system is “associated” with everything else. Thus the third information is associated with the first information as claimed. Time-frequency information are indicated for the second stage SCI; Paragraphs 53 and 55).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Salim teaches resources for the first information are determined by channel sensing or configured by a third UE except the first UE (paragraphs 41 and 46. The third UE is defined to be a UE that isn’t the first UE, therefore the second UE is viewed as the claimed third UE here).
Regarding claims 4 and 22, Salim teaches the first information associated with inter-UE coordination is related to resource pool parameters or priority (paragraphs 41 and 46 disclose allocation of resource pools which are utilized for the SCI information (i.e. first information)).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Salim teaches a method and a second user equipment (UE) in a sidelink communication system, the second UE comprising: a transceiver; and at least one a processor (Paragraph 67) configured to:
receive, from a first UE, first information associated with inter-UE coordination in 2nd stage SCI, wherein the 2nd stage SCI is recewived on a PSSCH, 2nd stage SCI indicates that first information is carried in a 2nd stage sidelink control information (SCI) and the first information provides SL resources for the second UE (Paragraph 26 teaches coordination information with respect to vehicles. These vehicles have UEs incorporated into them. As this is V2X, one can see UE coordination of resources being allocated with respect to sidelink. First stage SCI includes first information such as scheduling information and MCS corresponding to the second stage SCI; Paragraph 12. SCI (which includes dual stage) is transmit; Paragraph 30). Thus the second UE receives this information. Second stage SCI, which is indicated by the first SCI which can include MCS information; Paragraphs 12-18. Thus one can see time/frequency and MCS information (from the first stage SCI/first information) is included in the 2nd stage SCI. Paragraph 26 teaches coordination information with respect to vehicles. These vehicles have UEs incorporated into them. As this is V2X, one can see UE coordination with respect to sidelink. First stage SCI includes scheduling information and also information regarding the MCS (i.e. first information) corresponding to the second stage SCI; Paragraph 12. Paragraphs 54-57 show the second stage SCI is transmit on the PSSCH which is for resources scheduling);
identifying the sidelink resources indicated time-frequency locations information included in the first information (the first stage SCI indicates resources it schedules or reserves; Paragraph 43. This is the information which indicates resources. Time-frequency information is indicated for the second stage SCI; Paragraphs 53 and 55. As the information is carried in the 2nd stage, the 2nd stage SCI is viewed as indicating the first information is carried in the 2nd stage SCI as that’s where it is located);
transmitting, to the first UE, data based on the SL resources (Figure 2 link 156 shows back and forth communications between the vehicles (Which include the UEs). Thus information is received from the second UE based on the SCI information that it decodes; Paragraphs 53-54),
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 17, 18, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salim in view of Sun et al. “Sun” US 20230171792.
Regarding claim 12, Salim does not expressly disclose excluding unavailable sidelink resources from candidate resources and performing resource reselection; however, Sun teaches resource pools for UEs operating in mode 2; Paragraph 54. Further, the UE can determine if sidelink resources are available or unavailable based on SCI information (i.e. including first information); Paragraph 59. Sun further teaches excluding unavailable resources and performs resource selection; Paragraphs 89 and 93.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include excluding unavailable resources and performing resource selection as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on decoded SCI information, the UE can make a proper resource selection based on available resources as taught by Sun; Paragraphs 89 and 93.
Regarding claim 17, Salim does not teach SL resource indication using bitmaps; however, Sun teaches that one UE can signal a set of resources to another UE using bitmaps; Paragraph 70.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include the use of bitmaps with respect to indicating SL resources as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system known if the UE is going to receive or transmit on a given slot as taught by Sun; Paragraph 70.
Regarding claim 18, Salim does not disclose determining availability of resources in an interval and if they are in the interval, they are available, and if the resources are not in the interval they are unavailable. Sun teaches that a UE sends/receives indicators of sidelink resources with respect to time slots (interval). A Bitmap is used to associate bits to indicate sidelink resources in an associated time slot being available or unavailable; Paragraphs 99 and 107. One can see timeslots can have available or unavailable resources. The Examiner is viewing the timeslot with available resources to be “resources are in the interval” and the other timeslot (i.e. outside the interval) has unavailable resources).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include resources being available or not based on intervals as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determining the availability of resources to use as taught by Sun; Paragraphs 99 and 107.
Regarding claim 17, Salim does not teach SL resource indication using bitmaps; however, Sun teaches that one UE can signal a set of resources to another UE using bitmaps; Paragraph 70.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include the use of bitmaps with respect to indicating SL resources as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system known if the UE is going to receive or transmit on a given slot as taught by Sun; Paragraph 70.
Regarding claim 25, Salim does not expressly disclose excluding unavailable/overlapping sidelink resources from candidate resources and performing resource reselection; however, Sun teaches resource pools for UEs operating in mode 2; Paragraph 54. Further, the UE can determine if sidelink resources are available or unavailable based on SCI information (i.e. including first information); Paragraph 59. Sun further teaches excluding unavailable resources and performs resource selection; Paragraphs 89 and 93.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include excluding unavailable resources and performing resource selection as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on decoded SCI information, the UE can make a proper resource selection based on available resources as taught by Sun; Paragraphs 89 and 93.
Regarding claim 26, Salim does not disclose determining availability of resources in an interval and if they are in the interval, they are available, and if the resources are not in the interval they are unavailable. Sun teaches that a UE sends/receives indicators of sidelink resources with respect to time slots (interval). A Bitmap is used to associate bits to indicate sidelink resources in an associated time slot being available or unavailable; Paragraphs 99 and 107. One can see timeslots can have available or unavailable resources. The Examiner is viewing the timeslot with available resources to be “resources are in the interval” and the other timeslot (i.e. outside the interval) has unavailable resources).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include resources being available or not based on intervals as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determining the availability of resources to use as taught by Sun; Paragraphs 99 and 107.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues Salim is directed to transmission of data decoding information whereas the amended limitations are directed to transmitting resource information for inter-UE coordination through 2nd stage SCI and that the 2nd stage SCI itself indicates the existence of the information which is not taught by Salim expressly or impliedly.
Salim teaches UEs communicating SCI information between them in order to allocate resources (i.e. inter-UE coordination); Paragraph 26. This information can include time-frequency resource information which is carried in the 2nd stage SCI; Paragraphs 53-55. Thus one can see there is a coordination between UEs (i.e. inter-UE) with respect to resource allocation. Further as this information is carried in the 2nd stage SCI, the 2nd stage SCI is viewed as indicating the first information is carried in the 2nd stage SCI since that’s where it is located. Therefore, the prior art properly reads on the broad claim limitations. The Examiner suggests better defining what exactly in the 2nd stage SCI indicates the first information is carried in the 2nd stage SCI to potentially overcome the prior art of record. Paragraph 160 of the as-filed specification appears to discuss the potential novelty with respect to a specific field which does not exist in the prior art. Further details/definition to what this field is may help overcome the cited art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411