DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7, 12, 14-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims recite the first and second information is transmit in the 2nd stage SCI. The Examiner was unable to find support for this limitation. In particular that both first and second information are in the 2nd stage SCI. The specification supports the idea of first information being carried in a 2nd stage SCI; however, there does not appear any mention of both the first and second information being carried in the 2nd stage SCI. Thus this appears to be new matter.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 14, 15, 17, 20-22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Salim et al. “Salim” US 2022/0272727.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Salim teaches a method and a first user equipment (UE) in a sidelink communication system, the first UE comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor (Paragraph 67) configured to:
generate first information associated with inter-UE coordination related to sidelink communication (Paragraph 26 teaches coordination information with respect to vehicles. These vehicles have UEs incorporated into them. As this is V2X, one can see UE coordination with respect to sidelink (i.e. inter-UE coordination). First stage SCI includes scheduling information and also information regarding the MCS (i.e. first information) corresponding to the second stage SCI; Paragraph 12);
determine resources for the first information and second information in a resource allocation mode 2, wherein second information indicates whether the first information associated with the inter-UE coordination is carried in a 2nd stage sidelink control information (SCI) (mode 2 is used for resource reservation for UEs; Paragraphs 30-34. Thus resources are determined for the information/SCI using resource allocation mode 2. Second stage SCI, which is indicated by the first SCI which can include MCS information; Paragraphs 12-18. Thus one can see MCS information (from the first stage SCI/first information) is included in the 2nd stage SCI. The second stage SCI is received/decoded and the MCS is in the second stage being decoded, thus the MCS carries this information, and the information that it carries was indicated);
transmit, to a second UE, the first information and the second information in the 2nd stage SCI based on the determined resources on a PSSCH (SCI information from paragraphs 12-18 above, (which includes dual stage) is transmit; Paragraph 30. Thus the first and second information is transmit in the 2nd stage. Paragraphs 55-57 show the second stage SCI is transmit on the PSSCH);
receiving, from the second UE, data based on the first information (Figure 2 link 156 shows back and forth communications between the vehicles (Which include the UEs). Thus information is received from the second UE based on the SCI information that it decodes; Paragraphs 53-54),
wherein a set of sidelink resources associated with the first information is indicated by third information including time-frequency locations information related to the set of SL resources (the first stage SCI indicates resources it schedules or reserves; Paragraph 43. This is the third information which indicates resources. Every message/thing that occurs in a system is “associated” with everything else. Thus the third information is associated with the first information as claimed. Time-frequency information (i.e. third information) are indicated for the second stage SCI; Paragraphs 53 and 55).
Regarding claim 2, Salim teaches the first information is carried in 2nd stage SCI including in the PHY signaling (Paragraph 52 teaches physical layer transmission with respect to the SCI).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Salim teaches resources for the first and second informatoin are determined by channel sensing or configured by a third UE except the first UE (paragraphs 41 and 46. The third UE is defined to be a UE that isn’t the first UE, therefore the second UE is viewed as the claimed third UE here).
Regarding claims 4 and 22, Salim teaches the first information associated with inter-UE coordination is related to resource pool parameters or priority (paragraphs 41 and 46 disclose allocation of resource pools which are utilized for the SCI information (i.e. first information)).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Salim teaches a method and a second user equipment (UE) in a sidelink communication system, the second UE comprising: a transceiver; and at least one a processor (Paragraph 67)configured to:
receive, from a first UE, first information associated with inter-UE coordination and second information in 2nd stage SCI, on a PSSCH, wherein the second information indicates whether first information carried in a 2nd stage sidelink control information (SCI) (Paragraph 26 teaches coordination information with respect to vehicles. These vehicles have UEs incorporated into them. As this is V2X, one can see UE coordination with respect to sidelink. First stage SCI includes scheduling information and also information regarding the MCS (i.e. first information) corresponding to the second stage SCI; Paragraph 12. SCI (which includes dual stage) is transmit; Paragraph 30). Thus the second UE receives this information. Second stage SCI, which is indicated by the first SCI which can include MCS information; Paragraphs 12-18. Thus one can see MCS information (from the first stage SCI/first information) is included in the 2nd stage SCI. Paragraph 26 teaches coordination information with respect to vehicles. These vehicles have UEs incorporated into them. As this is V2X, one can see UE coordination with respect to sidelink. First stage SCI includes scheduling information and also information regarding the MCS (i.e. first information) corresponding to the second stage SCI; Paragraph 12. Paragraphs 55-57 show the second stage SCI is transmit on the PSSCH);
identifying a set of sidelink resources indicated by third information, wherein the set of SL resources is associated with the first information wherein third information including time-frequency locations information related to the set of SL resources (the first stage SCI indicates resources it schedules or reserves; Paragraph 43. This is the third information which indicates resources. Every message/thing that occurs in a system is “associated” with everything else. Thus the third information is associated with the first information as claimed. Time-frequency information (i.e. third information) are indicated for the second stage SCI; Paragraphs 53 and 55);
transmitting, to the first UE, data based on the SL resources associated with the first information (Figure 2 link 156 shows back and forth communications between the vehicles (Which include the UEs). Thus information is received from the second UE based on the SCI information that it decodes; Paragraphs 53-54),
Regarding claim 17, Salim teaches the information for inter-UE coordination includes time-frequency location of the sidelink resources (Paragraphs 28, 32, 43, 46 disclose information about the resource pools which includes time frequency information for sidelink).
Regarding claim 20, Salim teaches the first information associated with inter-UE coordination is carried in 2nd stage SCI including in the PHY signaling (Paragraph 52 teaches physical layer transmission with respect to the SCI).
Regarding claim 24, Salim teaches the information for inter-UE coordination includes time-frequency location of the sidelink resources (Paragraphs 28, 32, 43, 46 disclose information about the resource pools which includes time frequency information for sidelink).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 16, 18, 19, 23, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salim in view of Sun et al. “Sun” US 20230171792.
Regarding claim 12, Salim does not expressly disclose excluding unavailable sidelink resources from candidate resources and performing resource reselection; however, Sun teaches resource pools for UEs operating in mode 2; Paragraph 54. Further, the UE can determine if sidelink resources are available or unavailable based on SCI information (i.e. including first information); Paragraph 59. Sun further teaches excluding unavailable resources and performs resource selection; Paragraphs 89 and 93.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include excluding unavailable resources and performing resource selection as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on decoded SCI information, the UE can make a proper resource selection based on available resources as taught by Sun; Paragraphs 89 and 93.
Regarding claim 16, Salim teaches sending first information in 2nd stage SCI (second stage SCI, which is indicated by the first SCI which can include MCS information; Paragraphs 12-18. Thus one can see MCS information (from the first stage SCI/first information) is included in the 2nd stage SCI). Salim does not expressly disclose using MAC-CE; however, Sun teaches sidelink information is transmit using stage 2 SCI and MAC-CE; Paragraph 100.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include transmitting information in stage 2 and MAC-CE as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the first UE can receive the set of sidelink resources as taught by Sun; Paragraph 100.
Regarding claim 18, Salim does not disclose determining availability of resoruces in an interval and if they are in the interval, they are available, and if the resources are not in the interval they are unavailable. Sun teaches that a UE sends/receives indicators of sidelink resources with respect to time slots (interval). A Bitmap is used to associate bits to indicate sidelink resources in an associated time slot being available or unavailable; Paragraphs 99 and 107. One can see timeslots can have available or unavailable resources. The Examiner is viewing the timeslot with available resources to be “resources are in the interval” and the other timeslot (i.e. outside the interval) has unavailable resources).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include resources being available or not based on intervals as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determining the availability of resources to use as taught by Sun; Paragraphs 99 and 107.
Regarding claim 19, Salim teaches sending first information in 2nd stage SCI (second stage SCI, which is indicated by the first SCI which can include MCS information; Paragraphs 12-18. Thus one can see MCS information (from the first stage SCI/first information) is included in the 2nd stage SCI). Salim does not expressly disclose using MAC-CE; however, Sun teaches sidelink information is transmit using stage 2 SCI and MAC-CE; Paragraph 100.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include transmitting information in stage 2 and MAC-CE as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the first UE can receive the set of sidelink resources as taught by Sun; Paragraph 100.
Regarding claim 23, Salim teaches sending first information in 2nd stage SCI (second stage SCI, which is indicated by the first SCI which can include MCS information; Paragraphs 12-18. Thus one can see MCS information (from the first stage SCI/first information) is included in the 2nd stage SCI). Salim does not expressly disclose using MAC-CE; however, Sun teaches sidelink information is transmit using stage 2 SCI and MAC-CE; Paragraph 100.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include transmitting information in stage 2 and MAC-CE as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the first UE can receive the set of sidelink resources as taught by Sun; Paragraph 100.
Regarding claim 25, Salim does not expressly disclose excluding unavailable/overlapping sidelink resources from candidate resources and performing resource reselection; however, Sun teaches resource pools for UEs operating in mode 2; Paragraph 54. Further, the UE can determine if sidelink resources are available or unavailable based on SCI information (i.e. including first information); Paragraph 59. Sun further teaches excluding unavailable resources and performs resource selection; Paragraphs 89 and 93.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include excluding unavailable resources and performing resource selection as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that based on decoded SCI information, the UE can make a proper resource selection based on available resources as taught by Sun; Paragraphs 89 and 93.
Regarding claim 26, Salim does not disclose determining availability of resources in an interval and if they are in the interval, they are available, and if the resources are not in the interval they are unavailable. Sun teaches that a UE sends/receives indicators of sidelink resources with respect to time slots (interval). A Bitmap is used to associate bits to indicate sidelink resources in an associated time slot being available or unavailable; Paragraphs 99 and 107. One can see timeslots can have available or unavailable resources. The Examiner is viewing the timeslot with available resources to be “resources are in the interval” and the other timeslot (i.e. outside the interval) has unavailable resources).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include resources being available or not based on intervals as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can determining the availability of resources to use as taught by Sun; Paragraphs 99 and 107.
Regarding claim 27, Salim teaches the first information is carried in 2nd stage SCI including in the PHY signaling (Paragraph 52 teaches physical layer transmission with respect to the SCI). Salim does not expressly disclose using MAC-CE; however, Sun teaches sidelink information is transmit using stage 2 SCI and MAC-CE; Paragraph 100.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Salim to include transmitting information in stage 2 and MAC-CE as taught by Sun.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the first UE can receive the set of sidelink resources as taught by Sun; Paragraph 100.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112a rejection, Applicant points to paragraph 125 of the as filed spec for support. The Examiner respectfully disagrees that this paragraph supports the notion of first and second information being in the second stage SCI. At best, this paragraph supports the notion that there is an indication in the SCI (possibly the second information) indicating whether the first information is carried in SCI. However, SCI indicating something and information being carried in SCI does not inherently mean the first and second information are in the 2nd stage SCI. Therefore, the specification does not support the claims that first and second information are transmitted in the 2nd stage SCI. The 112a rejection is maintained.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues Salim teaches transmission of SCI in SL for reservation of resources and the MCS of the second stage SCI may be indicated in the first stage SCI, however, Salim does not teach the second information indicates whether the first information is carried int eh 2nd stage SCI as claimed.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Salim teaches the use of second stage SCI and information that is in the second stage SCI can be indicated by information in the first SCI. This information can include MCS information (Paragraphs 12-13). This information is later decoded by a receiving UE. Thus one can see the first stage would indicate there is MCS for the second stage (i.e. second stage carries MCS information).
Applicant argues Salim does not teach the transmission being on a PSSCH, however as shown in the newly formed rejection, Salim teaches at paragraphs 55-57 the second stage SCI is transmit on the PSSCH.
Applicant argues the art does not teach third information associated with the first information providing time-frequency information because the third information must also be associated with the 2nd stage SCI. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Just because the first information is claimed to be carried in the 2nd stage SCI does not necessarily require the 3rd information to be associated with the 2nd stage SCI. As shown in the updated rejection, time-frequency information (i.e. third information) are indicated for the second stage SCI; Paragraphs 53 and 55). This information is with respect to the resources pools that are used for transmitting the various information. In light of the 112a rejection being maintained and updated rejection, the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411