Applicants' arguments, filed 10/31/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103--Previous
1a) Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11, 15-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cooper et al., (WO 2020/112939, cited in IDS).
Cooper et al. teaches, “the use of 2-((4S)-6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-4H- benzo [c] isoxazolo [4,5-e] azepin-4-yl) acetamide, and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, for treating myelofibrosis” (Compound 1; Abstract).
Cooper et al. describes a treatment regimen wherein a “Patient 247” was “suspected” as having “essential thrombocytosis” (p. 19, para. [0092]). “Within 2 months on Compound 1 monotherapy, the patient’s severe headaches had resolved; their night sweats were less frequent; and a 37% reduction in symptoms was assessed by the Myeloproliferative Neoplasm Symptom (MNS) score” (p. 19-20, para. [0094]). It should be noted here the MNS score is used to evaluate the symptom burden in individuals with essential thrombocythemia (ET). Subject was previously administered “hydroxyrurea” (p. 19, para. [0092]) and had a platelet count of 895 x 109/L at baseline (p. 19, para. [0093]).
Concerning claims 2-7, 11, 15-22, Cooper et al. does not delineate the essential thrombocytosis patient. Accordingly, the artisan would have been expected to administer Compound 1 to essential thrombocytosis patient, simply because they present with essential thrombocytosis. Patients designated as “high risk” for essential thrombocythemia, according to the instant specification, “possesses any one of the following characteristics: 1) are age 60 years or older; 2) have a platelet count of greater than 1500 x 109/L (at any point during the patient’s disease); 3) have a previous documented thrombosis (including transient ischemic attack (TIA), erythromelalgia or migraine (severe, recurrent, requiring medications, and felt to be secondary to the MPN) either after diagnosis or within 10 years before diagnosis and considered to be disease-related; 4) have a previous hemorrhage related to ET; 5) have diabetes or hypertension requiring pharmacological therapy for greater than 60 months” [emphasis added](p. 5, para. [0021]).
In the prior art, patients treated with “Compound 1” would have been considered “high risk”, as claimed, insofar as the patients of the prior art were older than 60 years of age, e.g., “Patient 245” was “a 66 year-old female” (p. 18, para. [0088]), “Patient 248” was “a 76 year-old male” (p. 20, para. [0094]), and patients were,“At baseline, median age: 69 years” (p. 21, para. [00102]).
The dosing regimen “for any particular patient will depend upon a variety of factors, including the activity of the specific compound employed, the age, body weight, general health, sex, diet, time of administration, rate of excretion, drug combination, and the judgment of the treating physician and the severity of the particular disease being treated” (p. 14-15, para. [0079]). “For example, in monotherapies, Compound 1 may be administered at a dosage of 50 mg to 300 mg/day . . . “ (p. 15, Id.).
The prior art is anticipatory insofar as it teaches administering the claimed compound to a patient with essential thrombocythemia (ET), including high risk patients. Assuming for the sake of argument that the teaching is insufficient to rise to the level of anticipation, it would have been obvious to administer the compound to ET patients in need thereof, since ET is a myeloproliferative disorder and the compound is useful for treating myeoloproliferative disorders.
1b) Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cooper et al., (WO 2020/112939, cited in IDS) as evidenced by Hall, (US 9,969,747).
In regard to the crystallin form of the claimed compound, Cooper et al. teaches, “Crystalline forms of Compound 1 are disclosed in U.S. 9,969,747, the entire contents of which are incorporated by reference herein” (p. 7, para. [0047]).
U.S. 9,969,747 to Hall teaches, “a novel hydrated (e.g., monohydrate) crystalline Form A” (col. 2, lines 26-38) of said compound “which has improved properties and displays advantages characteristics over the prior disclosed amorphous form” such as “improved relative humidity stability, ease of isolation, favorable pharmacokinetic parameters, and process reproducibility” (Id.).
Accordingly, it would have been within the scope of Cooper et al. to use the crystalline monohydrate forms of the claimed compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103--Previous
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11, 15-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (WO 2015/195862) and further in view of Jiang et al., (Cancer Cell, 2018).
Hall teaches “a crystalline form of 2-((4S)-6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-4H- benzo [c] isoxazolo [4,5-e] azepin-4-yl) acetamide, which is useful as an inhibitor of bromodomain-containing proteins” (Abstract). The compound is also described as “a novel hydrated (e.g., monohydrate) crystalline Form” (p. 2, para. [0007]), as per claims 24-25.
Hall teaches, “Provided compositions may be formulated such that a dosage of between 0.001-100 mg/kg body weight/day of the inhibitor can be administered to a patient receiving these compositions” (p. 9, para. [0046]), as per claim 23.
Hall does not teach high risk essential thrombocythemia (ET).
Jiang et al. teaches treating Myeloproliferative neoplasms (MPNs), which includes “polycythemia vera (PV), essential thrombocythemia (ET), and myelofibrosis (MF)” (p. 3, 1st column). Further, “The identification of an activating point mutation, JAK2V617F, in 97% of patients with PV and 50% of patients with ET and MF provided the impetus for the rapid development of JAK kinase inhibitors” (Id. through 2nd column).
Jiang et al. tested whether JQ1 “a BET bromodomain inhibitor, can attenuate MPN phenotype in MPLW515L and JAK2V617F mouse models” (p. 4, 2nd column).
In summary, Juang et al. discovered that “BET inhibitors could prove to be useful in treating patients with MPNs and also provide insights into inflammation-dependent and -independent oncogenic transforming events in other cancer types” (p. 5, last paragraph).
JQ1 alone was able to reduce platelets (p. 4, 2nd column), which would be beneficial in ET patients insofar as overproduction of platelets is a characterization of ET.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to administer the claimed compound to ET patients since the claimed compound functions as a bromodomain inhibitor, and bromodomain inhibition has been linked to attenuation of disease states such as overproduction of platelets, which is a hallmark of ET. Patients with high risk ET, nevertheless present with ET, and thus would have included in the ET discussion of Jiang et al.
Nonstatutory Obvious-type Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
1) Claims 1-5, 7, 11, 15-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 10,918,646 in view of Passamonti et al., (Haematologica 2008). The instant application and the ‘646 patent each claim administration of 2-((4S)-6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-4H- benzo [c] isoxazolo [4,5-e] azepin-4-yl) acetamide to a patient. The ‘646 patent claims a broader patient population, i.e., patients with myelofibrosis, which would have included the instant claimed patient population, i.e., essential thrombocythemia, in view of Passamonti et al. teaching, “Essential thrombocythemia is a chronic myeloproliferative disorder; patients with this disorder have a propensity to develop thrombosis, myelofibrosis, and leukemia” (Abstract).
2) Claims 1-5, 7, 11, 15-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,070,464 in view of Passamonti et al., (Haematologica 2008). The instant application and the ‘464 patent each claim administration of 2-((4S)-6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-4H- benzo [c] isoxazolo [4,5-e] azepin-4-yl) acetamide to a patient. The ‘464 patent claims a broader patient population, i.e., patients with myelofibrosis, which would have included the instant claimed patient population, i.e., essential thrombocythemia, in view of Passamonti et al. teaching, “Essential thrombocythemia is a chronic myeloproliferative disorder; patients with this disorder have a propensity to develop thrombosis, myelofibrosis, and leukemia” (Abstract).
Response to Arguments
i. Applicant argues, “Cooper does not disclose each and every element of the claims required under §102” (p. 6), insofar as “Cooper, however, does not disclose that patient 247 has ET, much less high-risk ET” (Id.).
The Examiner disagrees.
Again, as stated above, patients considered “high risk” for ET are age 60 and older and the prior art describes a study where several patients treated with the compound of the instant claim1, i.e., “Compound 1” of the prior art presented “At baseline, median age: 69 years” (p. 21, para. [00102]).
The prior art also teaches treating patients with abnormally high platelet counts “thrombocytemic”, i.e., above “450,000 platelets/µL” and “more than 600,000 platelets/µL” (see Cooper et al. at p. 12, para. [0064]) which is a hallmark of high risk essential thrombocythemia (ET). Note: 450,000 platelets/µL is equivalent to 450 x 109 platelets/L.
ii. Applicant argues treating myelofibrosis is not necessarily equal to treating essential thrombocythemia. Applicant describes data presented in a poster by the American Society of Clinical Oncology showing that the claimed compound was able to normalize platelet and white blood cell (WBC) counts as well as reduce spleen to normal size (see p. 7 of Response). Applicant postulates that these results “could not have been reasonably predicted from the teachings of Cooper.
The Examiner disagrees.
Cooper teaches, “Compound 1 increased hemoglobin levels, normalized platelet counts, and reduced spleen size” (p. 4, para. [0048]). The patient population of Cooper also includes those with abnormal white blood cell counts (p. 12, para. [0065]). Accordingly, the poster does not provide evidence of unexpected results insofar as the effects shown therein were known at the time of applicant’s filing.
iii. Applicant argues, “Nothing in Hall or Jiang support a conclusion that high-risk ET could be treated, much less with the clinical results obtained by Applicant” (p. 10).
ET may be characterized based on risk, but the patients still present with ET. Note that in the instant specification, the treatment for ET is the same as high-risk ET (see p. 2, para. [0007]).
ET disclosed in Jiang is a generalized designation. Patients with ET may be high or low risk yet present with similar symptoms, such as high platelet count. Thus, the patient population of Jiang et al. would have included high-risk patients.
iv. In regard to the Double Patenting rejections, Applicant argues that high-risk ET is distinct from myelofibrosis.
However, essential thrombocythemia is a chronic myeloproliferative disorder. Patients with high risk ET would have been reasonably expected to be part of that patient population. Nothing on record has been presented to show otherwise.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Walter E. Webb /WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612